Jump to content


Photo

Re-installing / enabling Flash on the Vega


  • Please log in to reply
106 replies to this topic

#81
echo21

echo21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leicester, UK
  • Devices:HTC Desire
Hi,

After getting the pre r7 flash and installing it with root explorer, I have an annoying issue where I have to reinstall it very regularly.

I am running MCR R8. when flash breaks, I often get random characters where there should be flash content and iplayer says that flash isn't installed. this happens almost every time I turn the vega on.

anyone else getting this?

echo21

  • 0

#82
echo21

echo21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leicester, UK
  • Devices:HTC Desire
apologies for being impatient but has anyone got any ideas?

  • 0

#83
mxbob

mxbob

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega

apologies for being impatient but has anyone got any ideas?


im having the exact same issue as echo21 im also running MCR r8

ive tried a few different versions of flash with the same results (everything works fine all flash video plays then next time i try to play flash or next time i switch on flash doesnt work and needs to be reinstalled)

  • 0

#84
echo21

echo21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leicester, UK
  • Devices:HTC Desire

im having the exact same issue as echo21 im also running MCR r8

ive tried a few different versions of flash with the same results (everything works fine all flash video plays then next time i try to play flash or next time i switch on flash doesnt work and needs to be reinstalled)



It's comforting to know I'm not the only one! I was beginning to think there was something wrong with the Vega itself. I wonder if I should try a re-flash?

  • 0

#85
mxbob

mxbob

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega

It's comforting to know I'm not the only one! I was beginning to think there was something wrong with the Vega itself. I wonder if I should try a re-flash?


I havent tried a re-flash yet so it has to be worth a go. I will give it a go in the next couple of days and report back.

  • 0

#86
FoxForceFive

FoxForceFive

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Motorola Xoom (pre-order)

It's comforting to know I'm not the only one! I was beginning to think there was something wrong with the Vega itself. I wonder if I should try a re-flash?


Mine has done the same thing.

  • 0

#87
hannibal2013

hannibal2013

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Flash support on the Vega seems a little strange. Strange in the way it's installed and strange in itself.

Upgrading or updating seems to occasionally break Flash support in the browser, as does installing an updated version from the Market (the Vega seems to have an accelerated version specifically for the Tegra hardware).

If Flash has stopped working on your machine, the fix is super easy!

Simply browse in iFileManager on the device to /system/etc/shuttle_priv and click on the APK file to install.

DONE! :D

P




Dose this work for the new 10.2 updare as I can,t find this file in the r8 rom.

  • 0

#88
harlechguy

harlechguy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega
Add me to the list. Need to reinstall flash everytime i start the tablet.

  • 0

#89
hannibal2013

hannibal2013

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Flash support on the Vega seems a little strange. Strange in the way it's installed and strange in itself.

Upgrading or updating seems to occasionally break Flash support in the browser, as does installing an updated version from the Market (the Vega seems to have an accelerated version specifically for the Tegra hardware).

If Flash has stopped working on your machine, the fix is super easy!

Simply browse in iFileManager on the device to /system/etc/shuttle_priv and click on the APK file to install.

DONE! :D

P


  • 0

#90
stew30

stew30

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:advent vega

Flash support on the Vega seems a little strange. Strange in the way it's installed and strange in itself.

Upgrading or updating seems to occasionally break Flash support in the browser, as does installing an updated version from the Market (the Vega seems to have an accelerated version specifically for the Tegra hardware).

If Flash has stopped working on your machine, the fix is super easy!

Simply browse in iFileManager on the device to /system/etc/shuttle_priv and click on the APK file to install.

DONE! :D

P


as many of us are reporting the same problem i was hoping it would all be sorted by now??
i too dont have this /shuttle_priv i get to ect scroll done and all i see is shuttle_ins.sh and there is also a shuttle.sh ,both have a picture on left of a lady bird saying data and on right side is a tick greyed out what do i do im very thick with this stuff? had a vega before and after an idiots guide to installing your rom even flash worked fine until i dropped the vega. after a 3 month wait i finally got a replacement sent and now even with flash pre-installed i cant get it working please help.

  • 0

#91
trevor432990

trevor432990

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,423 posts
Hi guys .... just seen your comments and I'd just like to say I'm in the same boat and investigating what's going on. I started a new topic (as you may have seen) cos I thought this one might be less visible. Anyway, I'll be keeping an eye on both from now on and will let you know if I find anything out. :D

  • 0
Advent Vega running Vegacomb v3.2 Build 6

#92
simonta

simonta

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,298 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton
  • Devices:Vega. HTC Desire

Hi guys .... just seen your comments and I'd just like to say I'm in the same boat and investigating what's going on. I started a new topic (as you may have seen) cos I thought this one might be less visible. Anyway, I'll be keeping an eye on both from now on and will let you know if I find anything out. :D


Hi Trevor

Can't help with what's going on but I started having the same problems and fixed it by uninstalling 10.2, rebooting, then immediately reinstalling. This is 10.2 from the market. All good now.

Good luck

Cheers

  • 0
If I've helped you, you want to say "thanks" and you do not use Dropbox (it's enormously useful, especially with mobile devices), please consider signing up for it using my reference. You'll get 2GB of disk space for files available anywhere, any time on any device. They give us both an extra 250MB if you do sign up!

Sign up for Dropbox

Apple? I'd rather eat my own kidneys!

#93
BIG24FAN

BIG24FAN

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:advent vega
Hi all total new to androids so have a few questions if anyone can help thanks :D
ive got flash issues too , ive tryed a few diffent versions of flash like some of you say sometimes it works sometimes it dont , ( vega with r8 rom and 10.2 for now ) tryed iplayer and utube etc mostly simes to work after reboot if it fails but 1 place i get cant to work, can anyone else ? is facebook games like cafe world and all but first 5-10 sec of city vile loads then crashes or locks vega , have tryed stanard shipped flash then 10,1 then the first link pepole were posting and now on 10,2, which version do i need , can anyone load and play ether of these games can someone try for me please thanks well done on super rom r8 it make the vega super cheap tablet ,
also any idea on if i can add a scroll bar to all windows to help scroll thought menus easyer without keep hitting apps i dont want , and how do u scroll lists /windows on pages that have no scroll bar visible like in cafe worlds gifts box and other flash sites ?
Thanks for any help keep up the good work you have a super forum here everyone :D

  • 0

#94
supersteve1

supersteve1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
:) I recieved my vega yseterday,and i am unable to download flash, i have tried using pauls, i carnt seem to find shuttle_pvt anywhere, could anybody please help, also when downloading flash from my advent vega, is just kept saying flash not working.

  • 0

#95
trevor432990

trevor432990

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,423 posts

:) I recieved my vega yseterday,and i am unable to download flash, i have tried using pauls, i carnt seem to find shuttle_pvt anywhere, could anybody please help, also when downloading flash from my advent vega, is just kept saying flash not working.



You seem to contradict yourself firstly saying you are 'unable' to download Flash then saying 'downloading Flash from Vega' so which is it?

Where are you trying to download Flash from? Have you installed the Modaco ROM yet and do you have access to the Android Market on your Vega?

  • 0
Advent Vega running Vegacomb v3.2 Build 6

#96
mxbob

mxbob

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega
just a quick update and a quick query

i reinstalled the modaco R8 and flash and it now seems to be working fine and not needing to be reinstalled every time i reset

out of interest (and based on what i read in another thread) has everyone who has this flash problem (flash needing a contant install) installed the cursor fix? thats the only thing i didnt do this time which i did last time before the flash broke

Edited by mxbob, 12 April 2011 - 12:24 PM.

  • 0

#97
trevor432990

trevor432990

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,423 posts

just a quick update and a quick query

i reinstalled the modaco R8 and flash and it now seems to be working fine and not needing to be reinstalled every time i reset

out of interest (and based on what i read in another thread) has everyone who has this flash problem (flash needing a contant install) installed the cursor fix? thats the only thing i didnt do this time which i did last time before the flash broke



Thanks for the update glad you got it sorted. When you say cursor fix do you mean the one for the 'mouse' cursor? If so I did apply this before the Flash problem so if it turns out to be that I'll try to reverse the fix.

Edit:- Well pending your reply I tried reversing the change by deleting the com.nvidia.graphics.jar file then rebooting but I'm afraid the browser still insisted I needed to re-install Flash :)

Edited by trevor432990, 13 April 2011 - 08:16 PM.

  • 0
Advent Vega running Vegacomb v3.2 Build 6

#98
Stevonator

Stevonator

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Galaxy Far Far Away ...
  • Interests:*Gadgets<br />*Computers<br />*Pressing Buttons to see what happens :P<br />*Playing with Tech<br />*Programming<br />*Listening to VERY loud music whilst I'm programming ! It puts me in the zone :P<br />*Having a laugh<br />*And most of all helping people :)
  • Devices:HTC Wildfire iPod Touch 4G
Hey guys,

I know this topic hasn't been replied to in a while I just thought I would add this in :mellow: I have found a fix to get Flash player working perfectly with Custom Roms. Here is a link to the thread and look at Post 6 :o

http://android.modac...o/#entry1687148

Let me know how you get on :D

  • 0
Fancy winning some cash for hacking into stuff!
Check out what Google has offered for hackers! http://android.modaco.com/content/general-discussion/340369/google-offer-money-prize-if-you-can-hack-their-systems/

#99
Malak@37

Malak@37

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Flash support on the Vega seems a little strange. Strange in the way it's installed and strange in itself.

Upgrading or updating seems to occasionally break Flash support in the browser, as does installing an updated version from the Market (the Vega seems to have an accelerated version specifically for the Tegra hardware).

If Flash has stopped working on your machine, the fix is super easy!

Simply browse in iFileManager on the device to /system/etc/shuttle_priv and click on the APK file to install.

DONE! ;)

P


I have tried to do the above but all I get is application not available, mind this happens on anything I try to open. Any ideas?

  • 0

#100
simonta

simonta

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,298 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton
  • Devices:Vega. HTC Desire

I have tried to do the above but all I get is application not available, mind this happens on anything I try to open. Any ideas?


Sorry, this thread is completely out of date (nobody bothers to help us keep stickies clean around here)

Just download flash from the market.

  • 0
If I've helped you, you want to say "thanks" and you do not use Dropbox (it's enormously useful, especially with mobile devices), please consider signing up for it using my reference. You'll get 2GB of disk space for files available anywhere, any time on any device. They give us both an extra 250MB if you do sign up!

Sign up for Dropbox

Apple? I'd rather eat my own kidneys!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users