Jump to content


Photo

Vega internals


  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1
morchuboo

morchuboo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
Ok I was curious....

The Vega is nice and easy to take apart and great to work with internally.

Remove the rubber feet and there are 4 small phillips screws:
Posted Image

The back is held in place by small clips arround the edges but a gentle prise and it comes off:
Posted Image
As you can see the internals are dominated by the battery and motherboard

Speaking of the battery:
Posted Image
I am trying to find where replacements can be obtained but no luck yet. If anyone finds them or suitable swapouts then let us know!

Motherboard contains everything you would expect and I have labeled what I knew...
Posted Image

Finally I disconnected a few bits from the motherboard so I could take a look underneath. Couldn't get a photo as I didnt turn the motherboard over in fear of disturbing the LCD and touch screen ribons.

After that I chickened out and put it all back together. Still working! :P

  • 0

#2
MarkoUK

MarkoUK

    Regular

  • Validating
  • PipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One
Something wrong with the images. They don't show up. You got the pictures set to private on Flickr?

  • 0

#3
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
They show fine for me!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#4
T4ylor

T4ylor

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 208 posts
  • Location:Derbyshire
  • Devices:iphone, Advent Vega
  • Twitter:@ro8taylor
Fine for me aswell

  • 0

#5
hmsq82

hmsq82

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy S4, iPhone5, Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@hmsq82
I wonder where the optional 3G SIM slot would sit.

  • 0

#6
MarkoUK

MarkoUK

    Regular

  • Validating
  • PipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One

Fine for me aswell

Think it's cos I'm at work. Must block flickr in here :P

  • 0

#7
morchuboo

morchuboo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

I wonder where the optional 3G SIM slot would sit.


My guess is here:
Posted Image

There are spare riser screw holes and the edge along the red rectangle that sits on the edge of the machine corresponds with the little plastic rectangle on the back and is removable when you take the back off.

  • 0

#8
hmsq82

hmsq82

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy S4, iPhone5, Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@hmsq82
May have a quick look if DHL driver decides to deliver it to me!

I was reading on a viewsonic thread about hardware mod to add 3G modem.

  • 0

#9
decpvr

decpvr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

I was reading on a viewsonic thread about hardware mod to add 3G modem.


Any chance of a link?

If it was possible and reliable (wonder if you could do GPS with 3G?) I'd be 100% sold!

  • 0

#10
hmsq82

hmsq82

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy S4, iPhone5, Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@hmsq82

Any chance of a link?

If it was possible and reliable (wonder if you could do GPS with 3G?) I'd be 100% sold!


I think it was this one on XDA .
G Tablet Breakdown

  • 0

#11
decpvr

decpvr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

I think it was this one on XDA .
G Tablet Breakdown


Thanks. I'll have a read.

  • 0

#12
MarkoUK

MarkoUK

    Regular

  • Validating
  • PipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One

Thanks. I'll have a read.

Perfect. Hardware modable too.
I love this puppy.

  • 0

#13
debs626

debs626

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 223 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Yorkshire, UK
  • Devices:SanFran, iPad v1
  • Twitter:@Debs626
sorry, posted in error

too many windows LOL :P

Edited by debs626, 27 November 2010 - 03:32 PM.

  • 0

#14
decpvr

decpvr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
I don't know if it was a good idea or not, but I've started a dedicated thread for adding 3G+GPS here.

  • 0

#15
morchuboo

morchuboo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
Forgot to mention yesterday - when you disconnect the battery the date reverts to epoch so no battery backed clock.
I assume that allowing the battery to drain completely will have the same effect.

  • 0

#16
Advent Vega

Advent Vega

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Forgot to mention yesterday - when you disconnect the battery the date reverts to epoch so no battery backed clock.
I assume that allowing the battery to drain completely will have the same effect.


Hi,

The 3G slot would probably sit at the top on the rear of the unit, in the middle.

Regards,
Advent Vega Team

  • 0

#17
MarkoUK

MarkoUK

    Regular

  • Validating
  • PipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One

Hi,

The 3G slot would probably sit at the top on the rear of the unit, in the middle.

Regards,
Advent Vega Team

You going to give details of when the 3G model is going to be available?

Any ideas where I can get a PDMI connector too?

  • 0

#18
warriorscot

warriorscot

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Devices:Advent Vega
Is it possible to remove the LCD and replace it? I was thinking it might be worth replacing it somewhere down the line with a better LCD or an AMOLED screen if they become cheaply avaiable and in the right size.

  • 0

#19
SilentMobius

SilentMobius

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 275 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Reading
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, ASUS Transformer
  • Twitter:@SilentMobius

Is it possible to remove the LCD and replace it? I was thinking it might be worth replacing it somewhere down the line with a better LCD or an AMOLED screen if they become cheaply avaiable and in the right size.


In general I'd say no, as most LCD's aren't interchangeable (and AMOLED is totally different), _but_ the Pixel QI replacement 10.1 inch transreflective screen for some netbooks may well work. But it's a lot of money for a maybe...

Hmm, GTab teardown show their screen to be a B101AW06
http://forum.xda-dev...ad.php?t=842354

That is used in "Acer Lenovo M13 S10-3" according to
http://www.alibaba.c...1_inch_LCD.html

According to engadget It will go in the S10-2
http://www.engadget....etbook-and-why/

Damn, the s10-2 and the s10-3 have different screens :P well there is still hope, the Vega may not use the same screen as the GTab

Ok the s10-2 and the Samsung N130 use the same screen and here are a list of compatable part numbers (AKA things the 3QI screen can replace)

AU Optronics: B101AW01, B101AW01 V.0, B101AW01 V.2, B101AW01 V3
Chi Mei: N101L6-L02, N101N6-L01, N101N6-L02 Rev C.1
LG Philips: LP101WS1, LP101WS1(TL)(B1), LP101WS1(TL)(B3)
Samsung: LTN101NT02

Is the Vega screen is any of those? Dare I take mine apart to find out?

EDIT Well I ook mine apart, chickened out at the same place as the OP though, too worried about those grounding foil strips. But I believe I can confirm that the Pixwl QI display _won't_ fint in the Vega, I should have noticed from the pics above, but the cable port for the QI screen is about 1inch up the back of the panel where the vega panel has it's port at the very bottom :D

Other thought's though. I'm betting that large connector carries mini-PCIE, there are too many connectors for simple USB. however the solderpads below that? They could be USB, so there is the possibility there of using the top covered slot as a USB host maybe?

Edited by SilentMobius, 02 December 2010 - 08:38 PM.

  • 0

#20
behnaam

behnaam

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPip
  • 259 posts
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  • Interests:Android, UX and interaction design, tech and last but not least; Beer :D
  • Devices:Google Nexus One
  • Twitter:@benocharm
Long story short:

I got an unbranded Vega directly from it's manufacturer in HK. I ended up with a Vega, but with a non working MicroSD slot. Contacted the manufacturer and told them the sample I got has a broken MicroSD card slot, and they told me they'll fix it, but I need to cover the shipping costs back to HK, which has a pretty high pricetag.

Handy as I am I chose to do it myself (bad move) but also explore if it's possible to change the touch screen (stock one literally sucks in terms of viewing angle capabilities) amongst many enhancements that can be done.

I came to the part of removing the battery connecter from the mother board and this happens (which was the last connector left to remove:
Posted Image

All this for the cause of science I thought.... not really, bad move by me and I wasn't patient enough to crack this thing open.

So I'm basically screwed now since I'll probably wont find a replacement battery. So if you guys have anything you want me to check under the hood of this beast, tell me :( I'm all for the community work so I'm more than happy to try to find out how we can enhance this thing hardware wise ;)

Edited by behnaam, 29 December 2010 - 12:23 AM.

  • 0
Follow me @benocharm on twitter for latest update on my work :)

Like my work? Consider buying me a beer :)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users