Jump to content


Photo

No USB Drives?


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1
mad.dog

mad.dog

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
Having seen in another thread, is this really true?

Seems a bit of an oversight to me, and may push me to return or sell mine

Coupled with the fact that iPlayer keeps crashing or going out of sync and Angry Birds crashing quite a bit, it may push me over to an Archos or something else

  • 0

#2
tonyyeb

tonyyeb

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 613 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hull, UK
  • Devices:HTC Desire, iPad
  • Twitter:@tonyyeb

Having seen in another thread, is this really true?

Seems a bit of an oversight to me, and may push me to return or sell mine

Coupled with the fact that iPlayer keeps crashing or going out of sync and Angry Birds crashing quite a bit, it may push me over to an Archos or something else


Yes no USB hosting by the device by the built in port. There is supposed to be a dock coming out which is claimed will have 3 USB ports to all connecting of devices.

As for iPlayer etc... have you updated to v1.04 and then downloaded the Modaco update pack? It makes a huge performance boost if you get the performance pack from the kitchen too.

Edited by tonyyeb, 29 November 2010 - 09:47 AM.

  • 0
Vega Battery For Sale: eBay
Vega Power Supply For Sale: eBay

#3
mad.dog

mad.dog

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 29 posts

Yes no USB hosting by the device by the built in port. There is supposed to be a dock coming out which is claimed will have 3 USB ports to all connecting of devices.

As for iPlayer etc... have you updated to v1.04 and then downloaded the Modaco update pack? It makes a huge performance boost if you get the performance pack from the kitchen too.



Yup - have updated to 1.04 and the update pack with the performance boost

If this lack of USB support on-the-go is confirmed then I may swap mine, as I was hoping to just use USB drives for my media needs

  • 0

#4
tonyyeb

tonyyeb

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 613 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hull, UK
  • Devices:HTC Desire, iPad
  • Twitter:@tonyyeb

Yup - have updated to 1.04 and the update pack with the performance boost

If this lack of USB support on-the-go is confirmed then I may swap mine, as I was hoping to just use USB drives for my media needs


Not sure what tablets support USB devices that you could swap yours for?

  • 0
Vega Battery For Sale: eBay
Vega Power Supply For Sale: eBay

#5
mad.dog

mad.dog

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
As I understand, the Archos does this - and they have now addresses the RAM issues in their beta 2.2 release

Shame there is no stock anywhere at the moment

  • 0

#6
pdej

pdej

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts

As I understand, the Archos does this - and they have now addresses the RAM issues in their beta 2.2 release

Shame there is no stock anywhere at the moment



I've not really looked at the Archos properly, but have seen a few comments regarding it here in the Vega section - what do you mean "addresses the RAM issues"?

  • 0

#7
emergant

emergant

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 151 posts

Having seen in another thread, is this really true?

Seems a bit of an oversight to me, and may push me to return or sell mine

Coupled with the fact that iPlayer keeps crashing or going out of sync and Angry Birds crashing quite a bit, it may push me over to an Archos or something else


I'm curious if anyone has tried a powered hdd enclosure or powered usb hub? Not very portable though

Maybe software issues too

  • 0

#8
merch

merch

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Devices:HTC TP2, Advent Vega
saw your post and plugged in my powered 1TB which was plugged into my pc. The hard drive turned off when i plugged it into the vega :P

  • 0

#9
Divvet

Divvet

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
yea i was lead to believe that it had full usb host capabilities (maybe incorrect info on non dsg websites reviewing the specs) and found that it hadnt
ive used the folio with a usb mouse so it is possible.

was a big disapointment to find it didnt have the same capabilities but wasnt a deal breaker but very interested in a hack/mod to give it this ability.

  • 0

#10
tonyyeb

tonyyeb

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 613 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hull, UK
  • Devices:HTC Desire, iPad
  • Twitter:@tonyyeb

yea i was lead to believe that it had full usb host capabilities (maybe incorrect info on non dsg websites reviewing the specs) and found that it hadnt
ive used the folio with a usb mouse so it is possible.

was a big disapointment to find it didnt have the same capabilities but wasnt a deal breaker but very interested in a hack/mod to give it this ability.


We *think* the dock might add this functionality but still awaiting confirmation.

  • 0
Vega Battery For Sale: eBay
Vega Power Supply For Sale: eBay

#11
Divvet

Divvet

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

We *think* the dock might add this functionality but still awaiting confirmation.


thing is i dont really want to carry a dock around with me.. i have several usb sticks for work and it would be handy if i could access documents off these on the go.

  • 0

#12
espariz

espariz

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire

thing is i dont really want to carry a dock around with me.. i have several usb sticks for work and it would be handy if i could access documents off these on the go.


Hi all, perhaps something throught the MicroSD could work? Is there on market some "MicroSD to USB" interface (the opposite to USB MicroSD reader)??

This is my first message, hi to all and many thanks for this forum, it´s great, I am trying to buy an Advent Vega from Spain, but I cannot find anything... I am waiting to Notion Ink from beginning of 2010 too... :P

----
Edited: I answer myself, this Micro-SD-to-USB seems to exist, what do you think?
Posted Image

http://www.elandigit.../mobidapter.php

Video

Review

One UK site to buy Mobidapter... 33,49 GBP including VAT...

Thanks all for your comments...

Edited by espariz, 30 November 2010 - 10:37 PM.

  • 0

#13
danielj58

danielj58

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:HD2, Acer A500
  • Twitter:@DJGadd
I think AdventVega tweeted something about USB host not being enabled because they couldn't figure a way for it to act as a host and a PC connection point? I'll see if I can dig it up, but I dare say it will be enabled in either a later update or through the community. If the Folio can do it, the Vega should be able to, I think they;re both using the Harmony board?

EDIT:
Here they are
http://twitter.com/#!/AdventVega/status/7713492865916928
http://twitter.com/#!/AdventVega/status/7712918472761344

Would lead me to believe the capability is there, and that we are just waiting on an official/community update :P

Edited by danielj58, 30 November 2010 - 11:08 PM.

  • 0

#14
emergant

emergant

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 151 posts

I think AdventVega tweeted something about USB host not being enabled because they couldn't figure a way for it to act as a host and a PC connection point? I'll see if I can dig it up, but I dare say it will be enabled in either a later update or through the community. If the Folio can do it, the Vega should be able to, I think they;re both using the Harmony board?

EDIT:
Here they are
http://twitter.com/#!/AdventVega/status/7713492865916928
http://twitter.com/#!/AdventVega/status/7712918472761344

Would lead me to believe the capability is there, and that we are just waiting on an official/community update :P


Yes thats what I thought initially but advent recently posted on this forum that it was a hardware limitation.

The folio is tegra but I didnt think it was the same board. Is that confirmed somewhere?

For what its worth I have an N900 phone with similar limitations on an micro usb port which was hacked for a limited host mode but I havent used it and it looks very beta. If the probem is similar on the vega I doubt it will ever happen. I dont know how similar the situation is though. Its way over my head:

http://talk.maemo.or...hlight=usb host

  • 0

#15
warriorscot

warriorscot

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Devices:Advent Vega
With any luck there may be a case for the vega that integrates the dock so you can have a keyboard and USB drive support. I'm not sure why the USB port would be hardware limited its capable of input and output so short of a power issue I can't think of why it couldn't have at least partial support for usb drives in the future.

  • 0

#16
arad85

arad85

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 258 posts

I'm not sure why the USB port would be hardware limited its capable of input and output so short of a power issue I can't think of why it couldn't have at least partial support for usb drives in the future.


Because you need a different and more complex USB controller in hardware to allow USB on-the-go (which is what is required to enable acting as both a host and client).

  • 0
Can't get the drivers right for updating the Vega? See this thread
Need to find out what Windows thinks is installed? Download and run [url="http://"http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/usb_devices_view.html"]this tool[/url]

#17
SilentMobius

SilentMobius

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 275 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Reading
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, ASUS Transformer
  • Twitter:@SilentMobius

Because you need a different and more complex USB controller in hardware to allow USB on-the-go (which is what is required to enable acting as both a host and client).


The USB chipset on the vega _does_ support USB host mode, I'm sure of that. The Folio 100 has a full USB port that is always in host mode, it was very useful.

The problem is that USB OTG needs an extra pin (Present in mini-micro usb sockets) to auto-switch into host mode, so the full usb port on the vega will never be able to switch automatically (as it lacks that pin), the question is if the board is wired up to be capable of providing power then we can probably recompile the kernel to permanently set the USB port to host mode (when we get the kernel source), switching using a software switch is harder but also possible.

Personally I'd prefer that port to be forced USB host as I hardly ever use the cable connection (Wireless adb/SMB/Dropbox for most communication) if we can't get it to switch.

Hmmm maybe I'll PM Advent Vega and ask if they can confirm that power _can_ be provided, even though it currently isn't.

  • 0

#18
pdej

pdej

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts

[snip]

Hmmm maybe I'll PM Advent Vega and ask if they can confirm that power _can_ be provided, even though it currently isn't.



Do and let us know what they say! I've cancelled one of two orders for Vegas, and was going to send the other back, but will hold off if it looks like there may be light at the end of the tunnel!

  • 0

#19
arad85

arad85

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 258 posts

The USB chipset on the vega _does_ support USB host mode, I'm sure of that.


What I was saying is that OTG requires a more complex controller than JUST a host controller as it needs to properly identify whether it is in host or peripheral mode. Unless this is on chip, then you won't be able to do both uses. Without knowing the exact way things have been connected - and to where - it will be difficult to know what can or can't be done on the Vega hardware.

  • 0
Can't get the drivers right for updating the Vega? See this thread
Need to find out what Windows thinks is installed? Download and run [url="http://"http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/usb_devices_view.html"]this tool[/url]




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users