Jump to content


Photo

24/Jan 2.5.1.8: ClockworkMod for the Advent Vega


  • Please log in to reply
231 replies to this topic

#21
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Very strange, I just wiped back to 1.04 then went through the steps above and mine reboots to clockwork recovery! :P

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#22
rferrett

rferrett

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 529 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Plymouth
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S3, Advent Vega
  • Twitter:@ralphferrett
What, boots back to the new Clockwork recovery? With actual stuff on the screen and everyfink?

  • 0
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 Omega 6.0
Tablet: Nexus 7 MCR Jr5
Twitter: @ralphferrett
Google+: http://gplus.to/rferrett
URL: http://lunchtimelegend.co.uk

#23
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Yeah, exactly! :P

Confused...

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#24
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Like this...

P

Posted Image

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#25
rferrett

rferrett

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 529 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Plymouth
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S3, Advent Vega
  • Twitter:@ralphferrett
That has got to be good news mind.... surely?

(and If I can't give a feed line on the day Leslie Nielsen dies you never can :P )!

  • 0
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 Omega 6.0
Tablet: Nexus 7 MCR Jr5
Twitter: @ralphferrett
Google+: http://gplus.to/rferrett
URL: http://lunchtimelegend.co.uk

#26
JingleManSweep

JingleManSweep

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 348 posts
Tried to flash r2, but I'm getting this:

louis@quark:~/Temp/Downloads/recovery-r2$ adb shell /data/local/flash_image recovery /data/local/recovery.img
header is the same, not flashing recovery

Tried just installing the updated APK, but rebooting still just reloads Android OS. Tried with USB connected and disconnected just in case that was affecting it.

  • 0

#27
JingleManSweep

JingleManSweep

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 348 posts

That has got to be good news mind.... surely?


Yes, it is great news, and stop calling me Shirley!

  • 0

#28
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
VERY strange indeed!

I'll revert to stock again tomorrow and try again, but I already did that once! Confused!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#29
olionair

olionair

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Transformer and SGS2
  • Twitter:@OliverHaywood

So whats the point in doing this if there are no custom roms? :-s


yet?

  • 0

#30
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
If only I had a full custom ROM waiting in the wings eh! :P

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#31
JingleManSweep

JingleManSweep

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 348 posts

I'll revert to stock again tomorrow and try again, but I already did that once! Confused!


Paul,

Okay. I'll leave it for now. I don't really want to revert my Vega back to stock 1.04 as I need it for the work commute tomorrow and can't be bothered to reinstall all the apps.

I'll keep an eye on this thread for any updates.

Have a good evening.

  • 0

#32
JingleManSweep

JingleManSweep

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 348 posts

If only I had a full custom ROM waiting in the wings eh! :P


Do I detect a hint of sarcasm there? Full MCR coming soon? or are you just teasing us! Hehe!

Edited by JingleManSweep, 29 November 2010 - 09:22 PM.

  • 0

#33
Pyr0x64

Pyr0x64

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:HTC Evo 3D, Advent Vega
  • Twitter:@Pyr0x64
flashed 1.04 again and ran the recovery flashing procedure
this time it worked and booted to ClockworkMod :P
Posted Image

i think it must be a problem if we already flashed the earlier r1 image
perhaps it might save wiping again if we just reflashed the stock recovery image before r2 ?

Edited by Pyr0x64, 29 November 2010 - 09:25 PM.

  • 0

#34
JingleManSweep

JingleManSweep

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 348 posts

i think it must be a problem if we already flashed the earlier r1 image


Cool. Thanks for working that out. As I said, I'll have to wait until tomorrow as I'm lazy and can't be bothered to reinstall all my apps right now!

  • 0

#35
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet! :D

Koush has forked my device profile into the cyanogenmod repository, so the recovery image should be available in ROM Manager shortly! :P

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#36
Pyr0x64

Pyr0x64

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:HTC Evo 3D, Advent Vega
  • Twitter:@Pyr0x64

Cool. Thanks for working that out. As I said, I'll have to wait until tomorrow as I'm lazy and can't be bothered to reinstall all my apps right now!


you could always try pushing/flashing the stock recovery.img file from inside the 1.04 archive :P

Edited by Pyr0x64, 29 November 2010 - 09:26 PM.

  • 0

#37
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

flashed 1.04 again and ran the recovery flashing procedure
this time it worked and booted to ClockworkMod :D
Posted Image

i think it must be a problem if we already flashed the earlier r1 image
perhaps it might save wiping again if we just reflashed the stock recovery image before r2 ?

Not sure why that would be the case! :P

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#38
Pyr0x64

Pyr0x64

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:HTC Evo 3D, Advent Vega
  • Twitter:@Pyr0x64
did anything change in the recovery.img from r1 to r2?

Edited by Pyr0x64, 29 November 2010 - 09:28 PM.

  • 0

#39
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
No, I just fixed up the file structure in the archive (and flash_image was missing in r1 I think?)

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#40
JingleManSweep

JingleManSweep

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 348 posts

No, I just fixed up the file structure in the archive (and flash_image was missing in r1 I think?)


Strange. "flash_image" was included in r1, but just in a different folder than "recovery.img".

So, is it worth me wiping back to stock 1.04, or could it be something else that is causing my issues.

When I load the "Recovery" app, I get the "please wait" message and then my Vega reboots. I get the momentary appearance of "ANDROID" in a fixed-width terminal font, then the Advent logo appears, then Android OS loads.

Nothing I'm missing here?

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users