Jump to content


Photo

no sim error on streak droid 1.4.6


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1
dufster

dufster

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S4
Hi

I updated to 1.4.6 from 1.1.1 & updated amss without any problems - I had working reception, unfortunately I re installed all my apps from a dodgy mybackup back up which caused no end of force closes. Unhappy with this I reflashed 1.4.6 & amss to start from scratch. Now I have all my apps working perfectly & no force closures. Unfortunately I have a NO SIM CARD error now & cannot get rid of it. I've tried reflashing again, rebooting in airplane mode, fiddling with sim card slot, sticking other sim cards in & still have this problem. Wifi & everything else works great.

Can anyone help me with my NO SIM CARD error & help me get mobile reception back

Thanks
Andrew

  • 0

#2
XsCode

XsCode

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 227 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak
  • Twitter:@XsCode
have you tried going back to Official 2.2 to see if you get reception? if not then it's hardware..

Hi

I updated to 1.4.6 from 1.1.1 & updated amss without any problems - I had working reception, unfortunately I re installed all my apps from a dodgy mybackup back up which caused no end of force closes. Unhappy with this I reflashed 1.4.6 & amss to start from scratch. Now I have all my apps working perfectly & no force closures. Unfortunately I have a NO SIM CARD error now & cannot get rid of it. I've tried reflashing again, rebooting in airplane mode, fiddling with sim card slot, sticking other sim cards in & still have this problem. Wifi & everything else works great.

Can anyone help me with my NO SIM CARD error & help me get mobile reception back

Thanks
Andrew


  • 0

#3
dufster

dufster

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S4

have you tried going back to Official 2.2 to see if you get reception? if not then it's hardware..



Thanks for the advice XsCode - I've just tried official 2.2 & still have NO SIM CARD error. Can flashing amss files & new roms blow the hardware associated with reading sim cards?

  • 0

#4
XsCode

XsCode

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 227 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak
  • Twitter:@XsCode
Only if the hardware was on it's way out already, it would accelerate the problem... 2.2 flashes amss and all other partitions so it's a good way of checking if it's a custom rom problem


Thanks for the advice XsCode - I've just tried official 2.2 & still have NO SIM CARD error. Can flashing amss files & new roms blow the hardware associated with reading sim cards?


  • 0

#5
nanostreak

nanostreak

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Location:New Haven, CT, USA
  • Devices:Dell Streak

Thanks for the advice XsCode - I've just tried official 2.2 & still have NO SIM CARD error. Can flashing amss files & new roms blow the hardware associated with reading sim cards?


So how did you fix it? My wife has the same problem. No sim card error out of the blue while the device was sitting on her desk.

She reverted back to 1.4.6 because her Streak froze often and rebooted all the time with 1.5.0. I just reflashed the 1.4.6 but same issue.

  • 0

#6
nanostreak

nanostreak

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Location:New Haven, CT, USA
  • Devices:Dell Streak

So how did you fix it? My wife has the same problem. No sim card error out of the blue while the device was sitting on her desk.

She reverted back to 1.4.6 because her Streak froze often and rebooted all the time with 1.5.0. I just reflashed the 1.4.6 but same issue.


So apparently, SIM cards can just die like that. No physical action required. The card came with the Streak so it was really quite new. I had an ATT 3G SIM sitting around that I wanted to put into the cell phones of my European visiting relatives but their Nokia Xpress is not liking the ATT SIMs...

We just called ATT and they simply activated a new SIM stating that it is not unusual that they fail like that.

  • 0

#7
thanh_gsm

thanh_gsm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:null
Hi,
I have same problem NO SIM CARD like you, dufster.
At first I receive dead boot phone, after repair it by jtag I update 2.2 official rom. Phone is working normally except it does not signal and get error NO SIM CARD.
It's new phone and i don't touch simcard area in mainboard, so i'd like to know is it software problem or hardware problem before i repair simcard ic on mainboard.
Thanks much.

  • 0

#8
Niraj Kumar

Niraj Kumar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak

Hi,
I have same problem NO SIM CARD like you, dufster.
At first I receive dead boot phone, after repair it by jtag I update 2.2 official rom. Phone is working normally except it does not signal and get error NO SIM CARD.
It's new phone and i don't touch simcard area in mainboard, so i'd like to know is it software problem or hardware problem before i repair simcard ic on mainboard.
Thanks much.


Any Update after this?...I am stuck with the same issue and so are couple of other people on different forums. No SIM Card after the JTAG.

  • 0

#9
jmhalder

jmhalder

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts
it will do this intermittently if you are running a LCD density other than 160.

  • 0

#10
Lettre531

Lettre531

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak
Then nobody knows how to correct this issue error?

I've also this error "no sim card". After many attempts to factory reset, reinstall all official stock also Stev's version ... nothing change :P .
Now, when i restart my phone, it says "network locked" and asks me if i want to unlock my phone but i don't understand because my phone is unlocked (i dont use rebel sim).
Try to unlock in the magasin (GSM service in France) but they can't. I've to call the operators service to unlock but 've to wait 3 weeks :rolleyes: .

This is my situation, anyone have the same?

  • 0

#11
Niraj Kumar

Niraj Kumar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak

Then nobody knows how to correct this issue error?

I've also this error "no sim card". After many attempts to factory reset, reinstall all official stock also Stev's version ... nothing change :P .
Now, when i restart my phone, it says "network locked" and asks me if i want to unlock my phone but i don't understand because my phone is unlocked (i dont use rebel sim).
Try to unlock in the magasin (GSM service in France) but they can't. I've to call the operators service to unlock but 've to wait 3 weeks :rolleyes: .

This is my situation, anyone have the same?



Do You remember what did you do that it changed from 'NO SIM CARD' to 'NETWORK LOCKED'. I have the same problem and I know few more ppl who have the same problem. I have the Unlock code but I am not getting the prompt. If you can please tell us what did you do to get that Network Locked message it will be very helpful.
There's Dell Unlocker software which one can buy for $ 29 and get the phone unlocked.

  • 0

#12
Lettre531

Lettre531

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak

Do You remember what did you do that it changed from 'NO SIM CARD' to 'NETWORK LOCKED'. I have the same problem and I know few more ppl who have the same problem. I have the Unlock code but I am not getting the prompt. If you can please tell us what did you do to get that Network Locked message it will be very helpful.
There's Dell Unlocker software which one can buy for $ 29 and get the phone unlocked.


I'm not sure about it but i think:
- initially, i was on 1.9.0 and suddenly i had the problem "no sim card", then try to factory reset, reinstall ...
- then i moved to official 3.51, 3.19 ...etc and then i've this "network locked".

Now this message arrive with any version installed. But perhaps, the problem becomes serious because with 'NETWORK LOCKED' they say also "0 attempt remain" and i've never typed the code :P . I went to a store which usually unlock the phone, they can't fix it because of "0 attempt remain". I don't know if i can use the unlocker software or not because the store do the same, i suppose.

  • 0

#13
Techneut

Techneut

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Everything!
  • Devices:Dell Streak 5

I'm not sure about it but i think:
- initially, i was on 1.9.0 and suddenly i had the problem "no sim card", then try to factory reset, reinstall ...
- then i moved to official 3.51, 3.19 ...etc and then i've this "network locked".

Now this message arrive with any version installed. But perhaps, the problem becomes serious because with 'NETWORK LOCKED' they say also "0 attempt remain" and i've never typed the code :P . I went to a store which usually unlock the phone, they can't fix it because of "0 attempt remain". I don't know if i can use the unlocker software or not because the store do the same, i suppose.


You might send an email to:

www. mobile un locked. co.uk (remove spaces)

and try to explain your problem to them...
Perhaps they can help you, although it will cost some money.
Success!

Edited by Techneut, 23 May 2011 - 08:20 AM.

  • 0
Techneut®
Are you the dove or the statue?

#14
Lettre531

Lettre531

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak

You might send an email to:

www. mobile un locked. co.uk (remove spaces)

and try to explain your problem to them...
Perhaps they can help you, although it will cost some money.
Success!


Thanks for ur suggest :P but i'm in France with SFR (not O2) so may i try it?

  • 0

#15
Techneut

Techneut

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Everything!
  • Devices:Dell Streak 5

Thanks for ur suggest :P but i'm in France with SFR (not O2) so may i try it?


Why not??? Every bit of information you get from them will be welcome...
Just don't subscribe or send any money until you are sure they can help you out.

By the way, 'unlocking' means: being undependent from ANY provider, be it SFR or O2 or T-mobile or whatever.
I really hope they will be able to help you!
Success.

  • 0
Techneut®
Are you the dove or the statue?

#16
Lettre531

Lettre531

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak

Why not??? Every bit of information you get from them will be welcome...
Just don't subscribe or send any money until you are sure they can help you out.

By the way, 'unlocking' means: being undependent from ANY provider, be it SFR or O2 or T-mobile or whatever.
I really hope they will be able to help you!
Success.


Okie, i understand, i'll try it and give u all if success. Thanks very much :P .

  • 0

#17
iT iS Me

iT iS Me

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Dell Streak, HTC TP2
  • Twitter:@aalahdal
I have the same issue, but my phone was locked and I used a code to unlock it. Now it shows 0 attempts to unlock and the Service Tag is 0000000 and this is the exact problem, because if there is a Service Tag there are many services to unlock. Moreover, one of the experts in JTAG said on this case that "SIM_Secure" Partition is damaged and it might be fixed later with an update for JTAG. So, I am waiting.

I'm not sure about it but i think:
- initially, i was on 1.9.0 and suddenly i had the problem "no sim card", then try to factory reset, reinstall ...
- then i moved to official 3.51, 3.19 ...etc and then i've this "network locked".

Now this message arrive with any version installed. But perhaps, the problem becomes serious because with 'NETWORK LOCKED' they say also "0 attempt remain" and i've never typed the code :P . I went to a store which usually unlock the phone, they can't fix it because of "0 attempt remain". I don't know if i can use the unlocker software or not because the store do the same, i suppose.


Edited by iT iS Me, 25 May 2011 - 06:34 AM.

  • 0
"The only thing worse than being blind is having sight but no vision." - Helen Keller

#18
Lettre531

Lettre531

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak

I have the same issue, but my phone was locked and I used a code to unlock it. Now it shows 0 attempts to unlock and the Service Tag is 0000000 and this is the exact problem, because if there is a Service Tag there are many services to unlock. Moreover, one of the experts in JTAG said on this case that "SIM_Secure" Partition is damaged and it might be fixed later with an update for JTAG. So, I am waiting.


Thanks for this news, do u know where can i find this update? Now, just waiting for this JTAG.

Edited by Lettre531, 25 May 2011 - 12:41 PM.

  • 0

#19
iT iS Me

iT iS Me

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Dell Streak, HTC TP2
  • Twitter:@aalahdal

Thanks for this news, do u know where can i find this update? Now, just waiting for this JTAG.


Definitely, any working update will be posted here.

  • 0
"The only thing worse than being blind is having sight but no vision." - Helen Keller

#20
Yequan

Yequan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
The card with a winning streak so it really new. I have an ATT 3G SIM card in my sitting I hope to visit relatives in Europe, but they do not like the Nokia Xpress is a mobile phone in the ATT SIM card ...

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users