Jump to content


Photo

SIM unlock code algorithm

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#1
Arr Too

Arr Too

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 622 posts
I've finally cracked the algorithm to the SIM unlock code generation! The cheeky blighters have thrown in a bit of MD5, which is maybe why it was tough. My current code is in Java and seems ripe for hosting -- I'd be happy for MoDaCo to have their own calculator if they want to. Although NckCodes' thinly veiled threats have lead to nothing so far and the free calculators are still running...

More intriguingly, I suspect the phone itself can generate this code and unlock itself if you throw the right thing at the right app. Obviously that will be much simpler, so that's what I'm trying to work out now.

  • 0

#2
theInquisitor

theInquisitor

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Devices:Motorola Milestone

More intriguingly, I suspect the phone itself can generate this code and unlock itself if you throw the right thing at the right app. Obviously that will be much simpler, so that's what I'm trying to work out now.

Creating Android apps is pretty easy. Also reading the phone's IMEI is just few lines of code. I fear unlocking the phone automatically by an app is more complicated, as the interface is undocumented.

  • 0

#3
xzyk

xzyk

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 249 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:U.K.
  • Interests:mobiles, Winmo, Android
  • Devices:various
Well done Arr Too. Might not be a bad idea to publish a windows/linux standalone app (or some script) that can do this. I have a suspicion that those 'free' sites may one day stop working !

  • 0
May your jouney be uneventful !
Nexus 4......SlimMako-4.3
ZTE Blade Blade Mix V2.2.
Advent VEGA VegaComb 3.2 9n.
SGS2 -Insanity JB 0.83
Asus FonePad...stock
Huawei Y300 Stock (B186) with CWM recovery.
Arnova 7G3 -stock.
Alcatel OT-983....stock

#4
Raspa

Raspa

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 105 posts
Great work Arr Too!

I agree with xzyk, a small PC app would be even better than a java app on some website. Not muchh that can be done with an IMEI, but would still be nice not having to give it out.

  • 0

#5
Lew247

Lew247

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 830 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK
  • Devices:Galaxy S3
I actually disagree
although I'm Fully in favour of unlocking it free

If you make the calculator available as an app, or have it on "too many" websites then ZTE may implement much stronger algorithms when they update the phone to the next model
or may implement it into newer builds of this phone
Especially if you released the algorithm to the public.

Have it on one or two web servers yes, but dont do an app or anything that would make them think twice about changing the lock to a stronger one.

  • 0

#6
JCPren

JCPren

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:T-Mobile Vivacity
I'm sure ZTE are well aware that the Blade is selling well because people know it can be unlocked. They probably only include the lock because mobile operators insist on it; in fact, I wouldn't be surprised if ZTE themselves arranged a leak of the algorithm in the first place, to get unlocking websites on the go and to achieve a boost in sales.

It's a bit like multi-region DVD players - it wasn't long before multi-region hacks were appearing all over the internet for most makes of player.

  • 0

#7
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

I've finally cracked the algorithm to the SIM unlock code generation! The cheeky blighters have thrown in a bit of MD5, which is maybe why it was tough. My current code is in Java and seems ripe for hosting -- I'd be happy for MoDaCo to have their own calculator if they want to. Although NckCodes' thinly veiled threats have lead to nothing so far and the free calculators are still running...

More intriguingly, I suspect the phone itself can generate this code and unlock itself if you throw the right thing at the right app. Obviously that will be much simpler, so that's what I'm trying to work out now.

Nifty! ;)

Care to share?

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#8
Magnets

Magnets

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 227 posts

Have it on one or two web servers yes, but dont do an app or anything that would make them think twice about changing the lock to a stronger one.


I wouldn't think they (ZTE) care too much, they are selling a lot of phones at the end of the day.
If orange detect that so many are moving off their network then they'll probably just avoid ZTE in future and use another cheap manufacturer.

Edited by Magnets, 08 December 2010 - 11:17 AM.

  • 0

#9
super san francisco

super san francisco

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Devices:San Francisco
I'd be interested in knowing two stats in this whole situation:
#1: how much orange gets out of the SF sales anyways, no matter whether the people use their network.
#2: how high are their expectations on profit off the use of their prepaid cards.

if #1 outranges #2, then they are fine anyway. if they get the SF for say 55 pounds and sell it for 99, they really make some profit, or am i wrong. haven't checked on their prizes on networking/calls though...

  • 0

#10
theInquisitor

theInquisitor

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Devices:Motorola Milestone

I'm sure ZTE are well aware that the Blade is selling well because people know it can be unlocked. They probably only include the lock because mobile operators insist on it; in fact, I wouldn't be surprised if ZTE themselves arranged a leak of the algorithm in the first place, to get unlocking websites on the go and to achieve a boost in sales.

I totally agree! Just look at Huawei, who keep releasing new 3G modems, that still use the same unlock code algorythm, that has been cracked two years ago. I really wonder why operators still order this so easily unlockable stuff.

  • 0

#11
Aranathos

Aranathos

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

I'd be interested in knowing two stats in this whole situation:
#1: how much orange gets out of the SF sales anyways, no matter whether the people use their network.


In the UK at least, Orange receive £2 for every handset sold.

Edited by Aranathos, 08 December 2010 - 11:58 AM.

  • 0

#12
90180360

90180360

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 261 posts
  • Devices:N/A
  • Twitter:@N/A

I wouldn't think they (ZTE) care too much, they are selling a lot of phones at the end of the day.
If orange detect that so many are moving off their network then they'll probably just avoid ZTE in future and use another cheap manufacturer.

ZTE may want to avoid losing orange obviously...

  • 0
.

#13
Arr Too

Arr Too

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 622 posts

Care to share?

I've converted it to PHP and I'm just testing a crappy little HTML wrapper and test script -- would you like me to email you a copy? I think it's more appropriate for this site to have its own calculator, and you never know it might generate some extra visitors.

  • 0

#14
fonix232

fonix232

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 942 posts
  • Location:Hungary, Debrecen
  • Devices:ZTE Blade [TFT 512RAM]
  • Twitter:@fonix232

I've converted it to PHP and I'm just testing a crappy little HTML wrapper and test script -- would you like me to email you a copy? I think it's more appropriate for this site to have its own calculator, and you never know it might generate some extra visitors.


I would be happy if you would be so kind to share the unlock code generation formula - who knows, maybe it has some more in it ;)

  • 0
If you like my work, invite me for a drink or two!

Also, take a look at my Blade-dedicated site too! fonix232.co.cc

#15
asadji

asadji

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:Imate Jasjam
Absolutely MAN!!!!

Desperately need the code.... it would help a great deal especially for people like me living in Pakistan where we really have no way of unlocking streak.... Please do help us out.

Thanks

  • 0

#16
thomas01155

thomas01155

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Gender:Male

Absolutely MAN!!!!

Desperately need the code.... it would help a great deal especially for people like me living in Pakistan where we really have no way of unlocking streak.... Please do help us out.

Thanks


How will this help unlock the streak O.o? Does this generator unlock anything?

Edited by thomas01155, 08 December 2010 - 08:06 PM.

  • 0

#17
Arr Too

Arr Too

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 622 posts
I've emailed the (very basic) PHP script to Paul (I think!), but I suspect he's busy doing important stuff. :) I've uploaded the same script here, in case anyone wants to try it:

http://arrtoo.x10.mx/unlockBlade.php

Next plan is to do my first app, which will generate the code for you for your specific phone.

  • 0

#18
rjm2k

rjm2k

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,096 posts

I've emailed the (very basic) PHP script to Paul (I think!), but I suspect he's busy doing important stuff. :) I've uploaded the same script here, in case anyone wants to try it:

http://arrtoo.x10.mx/unlockBlade.php

Next plan is to do my first app, which will generate the code for you for your specific phone.

Any chance you can upload the code so we can all learn how this stuff works?

  • 0

#19
oh!dougal

oh!dougal

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
  • Location:England
  • Devices:DX2 FroYo San Francisco

I've emailed the (very basic) PHP script to Paul (I think!), but I suspect he's busy doing important stuff. :) I've uploaded the same script here, in case anyone wants to try it:

http://arrtoo.x10.mx/unlockBlade.php ...



Well it generated the same code that unlocked my phone a few weeks ago, so I'd say it works! Congratulations!

One small thing, it farted first time because there was an extra space at the end (after I'd copied and pasted it).
Might be a good idea to mug-trap the input -- remove all spaces, ensure all numbers and the right number of digits ... :)

Edited by oh!dougal, 10 December 2010 - 12:52 PM.

  • 0

#20
ricer

ricer

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Have you e-mailed an Admin/Moderator to contact someone who runs the site?
If MoDaCo had their own calculator it would be hugely beneficial to them.

Could you tell us the process on how to unravel the algorithm even in basic terms, I'm deathly curious.

  • 0
Symbian Life:Nokia Navigator, Nokia 5800

Android Life: ZTE Blade, Google Nexus One, Samsung Galaxy S2




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users