Jump to content


Photo

ZTE V9 Tablet

* * * * * 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
490 replies to this topic

#1
J_Martin

J_Martin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:Tablet ZTE V9
A few days ago, I bought this ZTE V9 tablet, and so far I think its a good relation price / quality.

7" screen
Phone
3G
Wi-FI
Bluetooth
GPS
3400Mah battery
Rear 3MP camera
Android 2.1



I've searched around and apparently there is nothing here ad Modaco about this tablet, tweeks, roms, etc.

If some one gets one of these and want to share experiences, just let me know.

Regards,

J_M

Edited by J_Martin, 13 December 2010 - 10:15 PM.

  • 0

#2
Fraser R

Fraser R

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Imate JAQ3

A few days ago, I bought this ZTE V9 tablet, and so far I think its a good relation price / quality.

7" screen
Phone
3G
Wi-FI
Bluetooth
GPS
3400Mah battery
Rear 3MP camera
Android 2.1
I've searched around and apparently there is nothing here ad Modaco about this tablet, tweeks, roms, etc.

If some one gets one of these and want to share experiences, just let me know.

Regards,

J_M

im considering one of these my self, did you buy it from vodafone and if so is it filled with the usual bloatware?

  • 0

#3
bugeyes

bugeyes

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 257 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kettering UK
  • Interests:Long distance walker

A few days ago, I bought this ZTE V9 tablet, and so far I think its a good relation price / quality.

7" screen
Phone
3G
Wi-FI
Bluetooth
GPS
3400Mah battery
Rear 3MP camera
Android 2.1
I've searched around and apparently there is nothing here ad Modaco about this tablet, tweeks, roms, etc.

If some one gets one of these and want to share experiences, just let me know.

Regards,

J_M



Looks nice! just one spec its missing the processor speed and type.......flash being a must for me!
out of interest where did you find it?

  • 0
walk wild walk free! and die living!

#4
J_Martin

J_Martin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:Tablet ZTE V9

Looks nice! just one spec its missing the processor speed and type.......flash being a must for me!
out of interest where did you find it?


I bought it from Vodafone in Portugal (algarve) Price was 249 euros.

The CPU is a Qualcomm MSM7227 running at 600mhz. Its the same as the ZTE blade. 512mb RAM.

And yes. It comes with Android 2.1 (upgradable for 2.2 when ZTE releases) and its got some bloatware.

I'm very surprised with the Screen, for a resistive screen is very good.

Edited by J_Martin, 15 December 2010 - 03:49 AM.

  • 0

#5
bugeyes

bugeyes

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 257 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kettering UK
  • Interests:Long distance walker

I bought it from Vodafone in Portugal (algarve) Price was 249 euros.

The CPU is a Qualcomm MSM7227 running at 600mhz. Its the same as the ZTE blade. 512mb RAM.

And yes. It comes with Android 2.1 (upgradable for 2.2 when ZTE releases) and its got some bloatware.

I'm very surprised with the Screen, for a resistive screen is very good.



Sounds perfect if you dont want flash!
Oh well i'll keep looking or wait for an archos 70 to become available!

  • 0
walk wild walk free! and die living!

#6
antoniopafs

antoniopafs

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:ZTE v9

A few days ago, I bought this ZTE V9 tablet, and so far I think its a good relation price / quality.

7" screen
Phone
3G
Wi-FI
Bluetooth
GPS
3400Mah battery
Rear 3MP camera
Android 2.1
I've searched around and apparently there is nothing here ad Modaco about this tablet, tweeks, roms, etc.

If some one gets one of these and want to share experiences, just let me know.

Regards,

J_M


just bought mine today...will be delivered next week

what apps did you install?

  • 0

#7
J_Martin

J_Martin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:Tablet ZTE V9

just bought mine today...will be delivered next week

what apps did you install?


Well I installed Evernote, Repligo PDF reader and Dolphin HQ browser. So far I've not found anything else of interest. Most android apps are designed for phones and I do not intend to use the tablet as a phone. Actually, after thinking carefully, android is definitively not a tablet OS (as google always said). I am now considering buying an apple Ipad and sell my android tablet. I've made a wrong decision. (this has nothing to do with the brand of my tablet, but with the software available)

My conclusion is that Android currently is the best OS for phones, but pretty useless for tablets (does not matter the brand).

I love android...for phones...not for tablets (android software is not ready for tablets yet)

  • 0

#8
offtel

offtel

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:i780 and i900
I'm from Portugal too, i've one zte v9 and i love it!
i've mine rooted and will use it as indash car pc. If u want to sell yours...tell me!

  • 0

#9
jotapesse

jotapesse

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
I think it would be nice to have a dedicated ZTE V9 Tablet sub-forum. Admin?

  • 0
João Pedro Santos de Sousa
-
HTC Hero, Samsung Galaxy S

#10
cnhust

cnhust

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Devices:ZTE-Blade, ZTE-U980

A few days ago, I bought this ZTE V9 tablet, and so far I think its a good relation price / quality.

7" screen
Phone
3G
Wi-FI
Bluetooth
GPS
3400Mah battery
Rear 3MP camera
Android 2.1
I've searched around and apparently there is nothing here ad Modaco about this tablet, tweeks, roms, etc.

If some one gets one of these and want to share experiences, just let me know.

Regards,

J_M


ZTE will release this product in china wihich named "ZTE Light Tab" next month.

  • 0

#11
nvidiax

nvidiax

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Devices:HTC Evo 3D, Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@nvidiax
Hey,

I've got a Blade (San Fran) and am really interested in making some roms for this tab. Does anyone know where I can get one in the UK?

  • 0

#12
Sahkari

Sahkari

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Zte LIght V9
I have this tab too and i'm happy that, but that is sad you can only install applications in phone memory, not sd card, phone memory is too small.
Some people says that fix next 2.2 version android but this moment that not maybe any fix?

  • 0

#13
Johnnyfinlandia

Johnnyfinlandia

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
Hi

I also bought this in December here in Finland. (Sonera is the provider.) :unsure:

I would also be interested in a Forum for this as there should be a facility to update and store apps on the card.

I updated my ZTE Blade (Orange San Fran) to 2.2 but had some problems .. can't make direct phone calls! (have to store no. first and then call) and it STILL can't store apps on phone.

Both my phone and ZTE Light (or V9) get a lot of "Low on Space" messages to clear.

:-(

  • 0
LAPTOP Acer 3810TG | 13.3" | C2D 1.4Ghz ULV @ 1.4 Ghz | 64GB SSD | 4GB DDR3 | ATI HD4330 | Win 7 HP x64
GAMING Sony PS3 | 320GB Slim | PSN Tag: johnnyfinlandia
TOY ZTE Light v9 | 7" | Tablet Android PC
PHONE ZTE Blade/SanFran | 2.2 Jellyfish ROM

#14
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404
I've been having a look at the romdump from this device.. interesting how similar it is to the blade, and it explains why they duplicated the stock wallpapers in both HDPI and MDPI versions on the Blade..

I'm looking into building a copy of clockwork for it, but I'm having some problems with github right now, so I'm having problems downloading the source..

  • 0

#15
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404
I noticed this has got onto Engadget... I assume that means they think it will get a US launch..


anyone know where to get pick up a device, either in the UK or the US?

  • 0

#16
BlcakFox

BlcakFox

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:Huawei U8230 + ZTE (V9) Light
  • Twitter:@lisiusblack
here's mine unbranded zte light romdump, if anybody wants to have a look at it
depositfiles.com/files/xc8kfv6g6

Edited by BlcakFox, 03 January 2011 - 09:02 PM.

  • 0

#17
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404
Well,

I've built this copy of clockworkmod recovery...

NO idea if it will work, or what way round it is...

I'd try the 'adb reboot recovery' method to ensure it works...


let me know how you get on, if it does it work...

Edited by Sebastian404, 06 January 2011 - 02:33 AM.

  • 0

#18
serialmonkey

serialmonkey

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Location:Newcastle, Australia
  • Devices:ZTE Light Tablet
Success !!! adb push, flash_image, reboot recovery and I have the ClockworkMod menu. Up/down works but I can't get any button to work as select though. There are also a couple of missing bitmap errors. I'll keep playing

  • 0

#19
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

Success !!! adb push, flash_image, reboot recovery and I have the ClockworkMod menu. Up/down works but I can't get any button to work as select though. There are also a couple of missing bitmap errors. I'll keep playing


Better than I thought :unsure:

What physical keys are there on the device?
Does restarting in FTM mode get you into recovery now?

  • 0

#20
serialmonkey

serialmonkey

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Location:Newcastle, Australia
  • Devices:ZTE Light Tablet
Yes it does. It does the double-reboot as I would expect and ends up in recovery.

USB doesn't appear to be working (nothing appears in lsusb)

As for keys, three hard buttons on the side - volumn up/down and power. Three buttons just below the touch screen - home, options and back (thats what I call them anyway).

Anything I can do to extract the key codes via a shell ? Where do they go ?

I assume you are compiling the Clockwork binaries yourself and the key codes go in there ? Is this source publically available for your build ? I can only find koush's GIT.

Edited by serialmonkey, 04 January 2011 - 08:50 AM.

  • 0




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users