Jump to content


Photo

ZTE V9 Tablet

* * * * * 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
490 replies to this topic

#461
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

Hi Sebastian,

I block all foreign IP's since the beginning on March as we do not have the forum to support global community, only for Australian and New Zealand users. Its unique in that we run it ourselves, me mainly, but there are a few other staff on there that I ask to respond based on their particular knowledge and area of focus. We wanted feedback on our local devices and the issues that users find on a platform we could manage / control.

The control term sounds strong but we want people to give us the details and not rants so thats what I control.

Reason for the block was half our traffic was foreign and as our site and knowledge base is only on our locally released devices we don't want users asking for things we can't help with. Plus there is a number of tools and drivers etc that we went to the effort to get for our local users and the foreign markets have to support their devices and users with their own mechanisms and not our site / tools. There is no use in a Russian user upgrading their device with Australian firmware...They will find it difficult for warranty claims.


Working for the company I work for, it is not too much a problem for me to access the forum, but I was puzzled that you just BLOCK anyone outside of .AU I do understand you are not able to support external users, but could you not implement a read only mode?

I know, policy policy :D

  • 0

#462
Biti

Biti

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei U8230

it would seem that ZTE have edited the kernel, or something else on the devices to remove FTM, or do 'something' with it that causes problems. I cant say any more because:

1) ZTE have not released the source code for the 'new' kernel (yet).
2) Neither I or anyone else knowledgeable seems to got hands on one of the new devices to experiment with.
That is fairly common for ZTE, its on all the devices I've looked at, its stuff left over from debugging and if you look at the comment above that line it actually states that it should be removed prior to release...

If you keep it to your self tho.... one way forward is to flash clockwork recovery to your BOOT partition and then your expirmental boot images to the recovery partition, that way you will allways be able to boot into recovery, and use ADB to a 'boot recovery' and find out if your phone would boot 'normally'...
That is nothing to do with the button you have pressed, if you read the comments, it is a NASTY NASTY hack to get phone OUT of FTM mode and into recovery mode, hence the dual reboot.



Thanks for your informations This boot/recover change good to test. Maybe easier to use fastboot and skip recovery and flash new boot images to recovery partition and use adb to reboot in that if anything wrong just off/on battery and I don't play with the working boot.

Edited by Biti, 23 March 2011 - 11:20 PM.

  • 0

#463
Biti

Biti

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei U8230
dupe again, :S :D

Edited by Biti, 23 March 2011 - 11:20 PM.

  • 0

#464
slapnuts

slapnuts

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Devices:htc desire zte v9, galaxy tab
well this thread died quite suddenly.

  • 0
No.

#465
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404
Until we get an updated KERNEL source from ZTE, or up-grader (like the blade version) there is not a lot more of development to be had :D

  • 0

#466
XeKToReX

XeKToReX

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Devices:HTC Trophy, i8000, V9 MyTab
From the ZTE AU Forums after I requested a working source:

Hi,

We locally don't have access to source code in any way.

Also I am not 100% on what source code that is legally required as in the past (before working with ZTE) I have seen that while GPL required the altered source code used to create the device there is low level code that belongs to chipset owners and is usually not released (ie. layer under the kernal). Don't quote me as I got out of software a very long time ago and went down the hardware path so I don't know the correct terms to use off the top of my head.

Can you write simply highlighting examples of what is missing or incorrect in the available source code?

I can then forward that to the team who are able to take action in China.

Regards,

D.


Sebastian404 - You'd be the best to answer these questions and I can forward them on..

XeKToReX

  • 0

#467
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

From the ZTE AU Forums after I requested a working source:
Sebastian404 - You'd be the best to answer these questions and I can forward them on..

XeKToReX



The issue is that the kernel source code currently available on ZTE's support site is incomplete, Using the source from and a .config from my device, I get the following error during building:

CHK	 include/linux/compile.h
  UPD	 include/linux/compile.h
  CC	  init/version.o
  LD	  init/built-in.o
  LD	  .tmp_vmlinux1
/android/android-ndk-r5b/toolchains/arm-eabi-4.4.0/prebuilt/linux-x86/bin/arm-eabi-ld: no machine record defined
/android/android-ndk-r5b/toolchains/arm-eabi-4.4.0/prebuilt/linux-x86/bin/arm-eabi-ld: no machine record defined

Using the same source I have managed to build a working kernel for the Blade & Racer, so I know my build environment is ok. Looking at the kernel source, I was unable to find a v9 board file in arch/arm/mach-msm/ , or a v9 defconfig file in arch/arm/configs/


While it is beyond of the scope of the .AU guys, the 2.2 version of the V9/Light is currently shipping in other territory's, and there is still no sign of the source for a 2.6.32 kernel....

Edited by Sebastian404, 06 April 2011 - 07:24 PM.

  • 0

#468
XeKToReX

XeKToReX

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Devices:HTC Trophy, i8000, V9 MyTab
I've forwarded these on mate, let's see how we go getting it resolved!

XeKToReX

  • 0

#469
Sifudean

Sifudean

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:V9 V2.2, Blade V2.2 & others

I've forwarded these on mate, let's see how we go getting it resolved!

XeKToReX


Hi,

I also have sent it to the right people to respond.

Regards,

D.

  • 0

#470
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404
It seems ZTE have got their finger out and released the 2.2 update for the v9...

if you feel brave, your looking for a file named V9_GENERICV1.0.0B03.rar


EDIT: you might want to hold on a bit, I cant get my V9 OUT of FTM mode now...

EDIT2: Not sure whats going on here, if i hold VOL+ it boots up into 2.2.... very odd

EDIT3: hmm, and now it wont come out of Airplane mode



It looks like I've fallen into the same trap as the Blade guys, I've managed to corrupt my IMEI number...

I'd REALLY not recommend anyone else try this...

Edited by Sebastian404, 13 April 2011 - 09:59 PM.

  • 0

#471
camo.b

camo.b

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Location:adelaide australia
  • Devices:HD2 and Galaxy Tab
  • Twitter:@camscustom
Hello all have bee watching this since it started.eventually sold my tab a few weeks ago.i have a question.on a rooted mytab with super one click. . . If you factory reset the device will it loose root rights?and will there be any trace of rooting after.since my recovery was never changed from stock and after the reset should it not just go dack to stock ie no root at all.the person who purchased it is now complaining that it has altered.he wants a refund.thought i would check it out before i do so.

  • 0

#472
slapnuts

slapnuts

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Devices:htc desire zte v9, galaxy tab

It seems ZTE have got their finger out and released the 2.2 update for the v9...

if you feel brave, your looking for a file named V9_GENERICV1.0.0B03.rar
EDIT: you might want to hold on a bit, I cant get my V9 OUT of FTM mode now...

EDIT2: Not sure whats going on here, if i hold VOL+ it boots up into 2.2.... very odd

EDIT3: hmm, and now it wont come out of Airplane mode
It looks like I've fallen into the same trap as the Blade guys, I've managed to corrupt my IMEI number...

I'd REALLY not recommend anyone else try this...



worked for me.

  • 0
No.

#473
Gaz14

Gaz14

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Devices:ZTE V9, Huawei U8300

Hello all have bee watching this since it started.eventually sold my tab a few weeks ago.i have a question.on a rooted mytab with super one click. . . If you factory reset the device will it loose root rights?and will there be any trace of rooting after.since my recovery was never changed from stock and after the reset should it not just go dack to stock ie no root at all.the person who purchased it is now complaining that it has altered.he wants a refund.thought i would check it out before i do so.



Just get it back if you can and flash the stock rom onto it, it should b just as new then.

  • 0

#474
camo.b

camo.b

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Location:adelaide australia
  • Devices:HD2 and Galaxy Tab
  • Twitter:@camscustom

Just get it back if you can and flash the stock rom onto it, it should b just as new then.

any ideas if root acess would ever show up after a reset?
i would have to refund to get it back....dont want it back now

but it might come to that if i want to keep my account running smoothly.....dam you paypal and your item not as described policy.

  • 0

#475
Gaz14

Gaz14

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Devices:ZTE V9, Huawei U8300

any ideas if root acess would ever show up after a reset?
i would have to refund to get it back....dont want it back now

but it might come to that if i want to keep my account running smoothly.....dam you paypal and your item not as described policy.


a factory reset data wipe, yes it'll still be rooted.

reflashing the stock rom, no because it replaces the system, recovery and boot

  • 0

#476
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404
So now that the offical 2.2 update is out..... how long before we can get the kernel source??? :)

  • 0

#477
sentroy

sentroy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei U8220

So now that the offical 2.2 update is out..... how long before we can get the kernel source??? :mellow:


I've been looking in to getting a Light, wanted to ask if you believe that development will continue or just another dead end.

  • 0

#478
gibbyman

gibbyman

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, ZTE V9
Now that Telia (a swedish carrier) dumped the prices on the ZTE V9 - also known as ZTE Light - in Sweden to a mere 110€ (converted from the Swedish 995SEK) I suspect that the user base for this goodie will grow quite rapidly... I think it more or less sold out in just over a day in the Stockholm Area, with more buyers around Sweden as well as online.

One question though... I fail to find any other information on an "Official 2.2 update" being out anywhere else... did I miss that part or where does that info come from?
All I find is the file that was mentioned earlier, hosted by Filesonic


Seems I found the answer myself - kinda: http://android.modac...-now-available/

Sorry about that...

Edited by gibbyman, 28 April 2011 - 01:00 PM.

  • 0

#479
schtek1

schtek1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Galaxy S, ZTE Light V9
I bought an ZTE Light V9 earlier today in a store from Telia (Sweden), unlocked. It ran 2.1 when I got it.
So i rooted, installed clockworkmod, flashed first with the modified clockwork and then the altered blade 2.2 for this pad. I am now stuck in a reboot loop. No way to get into clockwork or the FTM state or whatever it's called. Is my pad completely bricked? Is there any way to reset or reinstall everything on it? Help is greatly appreciated!

  • 0

#480
alpha xs

alpha xs

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
  • Devices:Boston + ZTE V9
  • Twitter:@alphaxs
I all!

Been busy starting a new businnes...

Good progress, with the pach for the ftm software!

I tryed your recory sebastian, the mod gen2, but in my case the revory v3 was no working (could not select nay option noly navigate, tried power, and touch... and nothing)

So decide to go the hard way, after many trial and error, use Quick boot, rebooted in bootloader and with the ZTE sreen forced the ADB driver to install and it did.

No adb shell.... but fastboot devices returned "?" so used fastboot flash recovery

Now my question is. I tried all the combinations i could think off but did not manage to boot in to clockwork recovery.... but if i normal boot and select recovery in Quick boot, it boots in clockwork recovery...

I used the *.img to flash

any ideas?

PS - Full tutorial in here
Use google translator, by now just ended and don't have the time to translate rigth now sorry

Edited by alpha xs, 29 April 2011 - 01:49 AM.

  • 0




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users