Jump to content


Photo

08 Aug Gr15 GRJ22: MoDaCo Custom ROM for the Samsung Nexus S with Online Kitchen

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
421 replies to this topic

#81
Matchstick

Matchstick

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPip
  • 233 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northamptonshire
  • Devices:SGS3, Note, Transformer
I'm hoping there's no need for a wipe moving from r3 to r4 ?

  • 0

#82
Chicaned

Chicaned

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
  • Location:Sheffield, UK
  • Interests:Nexus S ;-)<br /><br />Last three phone :-<br /><br />Nexus One<br />HTC Hero<br />Nokia N95 8gig (God that phone has aged ;-)
  • Devices:Nexus S
  • Twitter:@Chicaned_UK

At the moment, the only changes are adding the TUN and CIFS modules and a couple of config tweaks. Going forward though, I will be trying out various tuning options to see what we can achieve. :D

P


Good stuff! I'll do a wipe and give it a test tonight.

  • 0

#83
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

I'm hoping there's no need for a wipe moving from r3 to r4 ?

Correct! :D

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#84
ALouie

ALouie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Devices:Nexus S
  • Twitter:@antz

Correct! :D

P


Hi Paul, did you already include STK in this release? Thanks.

  • 0

#85
ryan562

ryan562

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:nexus s, vibrant, dell streak
  • Twitter:@boloe562
greetings paul, just flashed your latest rom r4 over r3. so far so good. only problem when trying to run quadrant is that it crashes or just stops when it hits the 2d/3d test part. score never comes up,. tried several times including reinstalling quadrant. this never happened before.

btw, what improvements does the custom kernel bring about?

at any rate, thanks again for your hard work and am a big fan of your roms. i will be testing out this rom tomorrow at work i.e. battery bluetooth, etc etc.

thanks,

Ryan

  • 0
t-mobile us

google nexus s
modaco's latest rom
gingerbread 2.3.1/gr78

dell streak unlocked
dj_steve's streakdroid 1.6 rom
froyo [email protected]

#86
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Quadrant isn't fully GB friendly yet! Keep trying and it will eventually benchmark (it's what i'm using).

Custom Kernel is just CIFS and TUN atm... more to come.

STK to follow too.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#87
ryan562

ryan562

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:nexus s, vibrant, dell streak
  • Twitter:@boloe562

Quadrant isn't fully GB friendly yet! Keep trying and it will eventually benchmark (it's what i'm using).

Custom Kernel is just CIFS and TUN atm... more to come.

STK to follow too.

P


cool, thanks for the quick reply! can't wait to see what you've got in store for that kernel in the future :D

  • 0
t-mobile us

google nexus s
modaco's latest rom
gingerbread 2.3.1/gr78

dell streak unlocked
dj_steve's streakdroid 1.6 rom
froyo [email protected]

#88
ascito

ascito

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
  • Devices:HTC ONE
  • Twitter:@ascito
@ Paul
one question, even if not related to the ROM itself but to an application in the kitchen: I was not able to create an update.zip file of my application. I signed it with zipsigner as suggested by Titanium backup, but when I try to flash it via Clockwork Recovery, it gives an error of compatibilty, not sure if related to the signing operation and gingerbread, but I can't flash my back up.
Can You sugget me a solution to have it working?
THX!
BTW the rom runs fine!

Edited by ascito, 11 January 2011 - 10:46 AM.

  • 0

#89
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Phew, FINALLY got the transparent pull down working properly. Coming to the next release! :D

P

Posted Image

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#90
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

@ Paul
one question, even if not related to the ROM itself but to an application in the kitchen: I was not able to create an update.zip file of my application. I signed it with zipsigner as suggested by Titanium backup, but when I try to flash it via Clockwork Recovery, it gives an error of compatibilty, not sure if related to the signing operation and gingerbread, but I can't flash my back up.
Can You sugget me a solution to have it working?
THX!
BTW the rom runs fine!

You don't need to sign ZIPs to use with CWM, so that's not the issue.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#91
ascito

ascito

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
  • Devices:HTC ONE
  • Twitter:@ascito

You don't need to sign ZIPs to use with CWM, so that's not the issue.

P

@Paul
Uhm, yes of course, CWM doesn't need the zip to be signed. I have tried right now, first to back up all my apps, and than to create an update.zip. Well, whatever apps I have to back up, I always get an update.zip file of 1.17 MB that, once I try to flash it via CWM, it gives me an error and it won't install. Please, if you can, would you verify this function since it would be very useful?
THX!

Edited by ascito, 11 January 2011 - 11:09 AM.

  • 0

#92
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
I'm confused what you mean... :D

Where are you creating the zip?

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#93
ascito

ascito

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
  • Devices:HTC ONE
  • Twitter:@ascito

I'm confused what you mean... :D

Where are you creating the zip?

P


@Paul

LOL...Sorry I try to explane it better...
With Titanium Back up you can create an update.zip file of your application, that can be flashed via CWR.
I tried to do it, each time with a different ammount of applications. The result is always an update.zip file of about 1.17 Mb that, when I try to flash via CWR gives me the following error report:

Amend scripting (update-script) is no longer supported. Amend scripting was deprecated by google in Android 1.5. It was necessary to remove it when upgrading to the CWR 3.0 Gingerbread based recovery. Please switch to Edify scripting (updater--script and update binary) to create a working update zip packages.
Installation aborted.


Edited by ascito, 11 January 2011 - 11:29 AM.

  • 0

#94
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Sounds like a Titanium problem rather than a ROM problem tbh?

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#95
ascito

ascito

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
  • Devices:HTC ONE
  • Twitter:@ascito

Sounds like a Titanium problem rather than a ROM problem tbh?

P


Right! I've posted a question to Titanium Backup devs right a moment ago!
I will keep you informed.
:D

  • 0

#96
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Changelog

r5 11/Jan
  • Semi-transparent notification pull-down
  • STK from Gingerbread AOSP
  • Updated Gingerbread Spare Parts

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#97
monkeydrufy

monkeydrufy

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
just flashed r5 from r3 without wipe, everything seems ok

I hope you will add extended power menu

thanks

  • 0

#98
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Changelog

r5 refresh (kitchen builds only until r6) 11/Jan
  • Added MoDaCo reboot utility

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#99
ascito

ascito

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
  • Devices:HTC ONE
  • Twitter:@ascito
@Paul
what does "kitchen builds only until r6" mean?

  • 0

#100
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
The reboot app will be in the r7 prebakes. i.e. it's in the kitchen already, i'm not doing new prebakes just for the reboot app.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users