Removing unwanted apps from my Tab

Guest Mado1950

Guest Mado1950

I have my Tab two months and I want to get rid of some of the pre-installed apps I don't use. Problem is that these apps can't be removed thru the options menu. Does anybody know a way to remove these apps? (Browser, Music Hub, All Share, Readers Hub) The browser is really wacky, I use Dolphin HD, much better!

Thanks!

Edited by Mado1950

Guest Wazz999

You will need to buy Root Explorer from the market. Worth every penny.

Make sure you know what you are deleting, and have root.

To be safe, instead of deleting anything, just rename the files you want removed - eg: application.apk to application.bak.

Remember to include the .odex file associated with the apk.

Also, I believe if you remove files the system needs, you could be in trouble. Make sure you have some form of system backup in place.

Im new to android, so if anyone wants to correct me, please feel free. This is how I did it, and my Tab is still working.

Edited by Wazz999

I have my Tab two months and I want to get rid of some of the pre-installed apps I don't use. Problem is that these apps can't be removed thru the options menu. Does anybody know a way to remove these apps? (Browser, Music Hub, All Share, Readers Hub) The browser is really wacky, I use Dolphin HD, much better!

Thanks!

I'm not sure if you'll need root for this, but try using Titanium Backup (freely available on the market) and see how you do ...

kindly report back ..

Guest Mado1950

Thanks, for the advise wazz999 and alifib.

I will report back.

First I have to get my Tab going. This morning I woke up to a black screen and it seems I can't get my Tab to wake-up again.

Its charging now. Hope that works (yesterday when I went to bed it was still 3/4 charged) :(

Problem solved: keep the on-button pressed and count to ten.

My Tab is working again!

I will try to rename the apps first and keep you posted (if I still have the nerve)

Mado

Edited by Mado1950