Jump to content


Photo

[ROM] [froyo] Japanese Jellyfish RLS9 [2011-01-24] [OLED+TFT]

* * * * * 36 votes

  • Please log in to reply
4107 replies to this topic

#41
PeaNut_HU

PeaNut_HU

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:OSF/G1/OLED/3MP/512MB/[G2/TPT]
  • Twitter:@@PeaNut_hu

Great.. I backed up everything (Fillyjonk RLS4) before installing the Japanese Jellyfish. And now when I restored files from back up the Google Maps app is gone. :(

You can separately reinstall from the market, or reinstall from apk.
Here's the latest APK: http://www.wuala.com...eMaps-5.0.0.apk

  • 0

#42
klx

klx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
Thanks but I'd like to know why the app is gone. Shouldn't the backup be 100%?

The Google Maps apk won't install. The phone asks should the previous be replaced - yes - and it says the app can't be installed. Sorry about this...

Edited by klx, 27 December 2010 - 04:30 PM.

  • 0

#43
PeaNut_HU

PeaNut_HU

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:OSF/G1/OLED/3MP/512MB/[G2/TPT]
  • Twitter:@@PeaNut_hu

Thanks but I'd like to know why the app is gone. Shoudn't the backup be 100%?

I always do a fresh install, so it did not happen to me. I had problems with titanium backup always after going to a newer/other firmware, so i really don't know about a safe backup solution.
I use astro file manager to backup the programs to APK form on the SD card for reinstalling but that does not save any settings, but again don't have to download programs from market when changing firmwares.

  • 0

#44
klx

klx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
I used clockwork Recovery to make backup/recovery.

  • 0

#45
RicardoPed

RicardoPed

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Is this better than MoDaCo Custom Froyo A3?

  • 0

#46
dadashi

dadashi

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,157 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:MonteCarlo + HTC EVO 3D

I used clockwork Recovery to make backup/recovery.

he means backing up the apps from previous rom into the new (froyo) rom...
for example with Titanium...

Edited by dadashi, 27 December 2010 - 04:45 PM.

  • 0
MonteCarlo + HTC EVO 3D

#47
klx

klx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
"Backup/recovery" I ment backup/restore naturally. And I got this the maps working again applying the Fillyjonk brut maps zip. Thanks for your quick help. The Maps app failing might be due to the use of sd card as maps tile cache. And it seems that the Clockwork backup isn't 100%.

Edited by klx, 27 December 2010 - 04:46 PM.

  • 0

#48
tom619

tom619

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Devices:t-mobile pulse
guys this might seem like a dumb question but im really confused as to why we dont have a stable 2.2 now what with wellbeing uploading the dump of his rom?

  • 0

#49
PeaNut_HU

PeaNut_HU

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:OSF/G1/OLED/3MP/512MB/[G2/TPT]
  • Twitter:@@PeaNut_hu

guys this might seem like a dumb question but im really confused as to why we dont have a stable 2.2 now what with wellbeing uploading the dump of his rom?

All current new releases by Kalt_kaffe (Japanese Jellyfish) and Sebastian404 (de-softened ROM for ZTE Blade / Orange San Francisco [froyo] [OLED+TFT]) are based upon this rom uploaded by Wellbeing, but using the older kernel of Paul's Froyo ROM at the moment, because there are still problems getting the dumped new kernel to work, but the devs should know better.

Edited by PeaNut_HU, 27 December 2010 - 04:58 PM.

  • 0

#50
dadashi

dadashi

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,157 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:MonteCarlo + HTC EVO 3D

guys this might seem like a dumb question but im really confused as to why we dont have a stable 2.2 now what with wellbeing uploading the dump of his rom?


we still don't have a proper "kernel" for the SF, needed to finish any rom for our SFs...ZTE have been draging their feet on this for months...

Edited by dadashi, 27 December 2010 - 04:58 PM.

  • 0
MonteCarlo + HTC EVO 3D

#51
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

but using the older kernel of Paul's Froyo ROM at the moment


I can speak for Jellyfish,, but my firmware has nothing to do with Pauls ROM... I'm using the kernal that came from the previously leaked V880 development device.

  • 0

#52
PeaNut_HU

PeaNut_HU

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:OSF/G1/OLED/3MP/512MB/[G2/TPT]
  • Twitter:@@PeaNut_hu
Aaah, so that was the boot.img update yesterday? Things do change fast...

  • 0

#53
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

Aaah, so that was the boot.img update yesterday? Things do change fast...


I've always been using that kernel.. upto the other day I've not tried any version of 2.2, I have enough problems being accused of stealing other peoples work that I don't even want to look at Pauls :(

  • 0

#54
PeaNut_HU

PeaNut_HU

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:OSF/G1/OLED/3MP/512MB/[G2/TPT]
  • Twitter:@@PeaNut_hu

I've always been using that kernel.. upto the other day I've not tried any version of 2.2, I have enough problems being accused of stealing other peoples work that I don't even want to look at Pauls :(

Sorry i had this misconcept in my mind, but i don't think anyone steals work where these are open source modules, but in the end, i am happy for a good working release of your ROM, no matter what kernel it is based on ;) ;)

  • 0

#55
Carlos Abel Chavez Slim

Carlos Abel Chavez Slim

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Devices:Your Mum
Looks good so far, love the Gingerbread keyboard.

  • 0

#56
Azurren

Azurren

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,964 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cornwall
  • Devices:Dell Streak
  • Twitter:@Azurren

I've always been using that kernel.. upto the other day I've not tried any version of 2.2, I have enough problems being accused of stealing other peoples work that I don't even want to look at Pauls ;)

Sorry i had this misconcept in my mind, but i don't think anyone steals work where these are open source modules, but in the end, i am happy for a good working release of your ROM, no matter what kernel it is based on ;) ;)

I really hope "Leeching" and "Stealing" doesn't come to the SF community

The end user would be happier if a complete codding numpty (Like me) came along and just merged every good rom into one ;)
Imagine if the guys at Intel refused to let anyone use a 3rd party GPU and you were forced to use a GMA :(
Tbh I don't even know who's accusing who and by no means am I calling anyone a thief

Edited by Azurren, 27 December 2010 - 05:17 PM.

  • 0

#57
rockglass

rockglass

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Titanium Backup(v3.6.2) can not get root rights...

  • 0

#58
Jet-Ace

Jet-Ace

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Devices:ZTE Blade, N900

It is unlocked already. Finnish Blade TFT/512MB/5MP.


Same thing here. And never has been locked. Think I skip this one so far.


r0.2_update_de_softened_blade_signed made same thing.

Edited by Jet-Ace, 27 December 2010 - 05:23 PM.

  • 0

#59
oh!dougal

oh!dougal

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
  • Location:England
  • Devices:DX2 FroYo San Francisco

guys this might seem like a dumb question but im really confused as to why we dont have a stable 2.2 now what with wellbeing uploading the dump of his rom?



One point that you might have missed out on is that WellBeing's phone is not identical with the SF/Blade.
Similar, but not identical.
Therefore the software, as dumped, cannot simply be loaded straight into an SF/Blade to make a clone of an 003Z.

  • 0

#60
Carlos Abel Chavez Slim

Carlos Abel Chavez Slim

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Devices:Your Mum
Perhaps a stupid question - How do I remove applications like APNdroid and AdFree after installing the ROM?
The uninstall button is greyed out in Manage Applications.

In an unrelated note the O2 network is showing up as Telefonica O2 UK Limited.

Edited by Carlos Abel Chavez Slim, 27 December 2010 - 05:29 PM.

  • 0




3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users