Jump to content


Photo

Using Gingerbread Internet Calling (SIP) without WiFi

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Internet Calling (SIP) is pretty cool, I'm using it with sipgate and it works great.

One thing that is slightly annoying is that it works over WiFi only and disables itself over 3G. Thankfully, this is easily resolved! In the framework-res APK there is the following setting...

<bool name="config_sip_wifi_only">false</bool>
I think you can guess what changing this option does! :(

I'm going to build this option into the Nexus S MCR.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#2
RinTinTigger

RinTinTigger

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Internet Calling (SIP) is pretty cool, I'm using it with sipgate and it works great.

One thing that is slightly annoying is that it works over WiFi only and disables itself over 3G. Thankfully, this is easily resolved! In the framework-res APK there is the following setting...

<bool name="config_sip_wifi_only">false</bool>
I think you can guess what changing this option does! ;)

I'm going to build this option into the Nexus S MCR.

P


Cant wait! Thanks for your hard work, though ya sick :(

  • 0

#3
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Caveat: The problem with doing this on a completely stock ROM is that if you change this setting using the various tools available, you'll break the framework-res signature. Not an issue on MCR or AOSP builds where the core libraries are re-signable, but a problem on stock.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#4
chowdarygm

chowdarygm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:dusseldorf
  • Devices:Galaxy S4, Galaxy Note 2
  • Twitter:@chowdarygm
Thank you thank you.......was waiting for this....

  • 0
Current device estate:
Samsung Galaxy S4
Samsung Galaxy Note 2
Asus Transformer Pad TF300T

#5
roggin

roggin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 241 posts
Hi Paul,

Cool, I have searched it for a long time.
Would you mind if I add it in my gingerbread ROM of Acer Liquid? :(

Thanks.

  • 0

#6
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Of course not! Go for it! :(

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#7
roggin

roggin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 241 posts

Of course not! Go for it! ;)

P


Hi Paul,

Big thanks to you. :(

Thanks.

  • 0

#8
markzh

markzh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Devices:Google Nexus One
Hi Paul
Thanks a lot.
Markus

Edited by markzh, 03 January 2011 - 05:29 PM.

  • 0

#9
bemymonkey

bemymonkey

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Milestone
Hi there!

Has anyone here gotten this working on 3G without massive power drain? On WiFi the power drain is the same as Sipdroid, but as soon as I switch to 3G, the power drain during standby spikes up to about 180-200 mA (normal is about 5mA).

I'm using an early CyanogenMod 7 build, which seems to have Paul's tweak from the first post enabled, because I can place and receive calls over 3G. It's just the power drain that's killing me... has anyone got it working properly?

Edited by bemymonkey, 12 January 2011 - 04:36 PM.

  • 0

#10
bemymonkey

bemymonkey

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Milestone
Wow, nobody? Isn't anyone using Gingerbread's built-in SIP over 3G with this hack?

  • 0

#11
Gyurci

Gyurci

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
Hi,

can you tell me how to implement SIP on a Nexus One? If I modify the ROM as described, does it not break the signature of my microMod v20 rom?
Or else, is there a ready-made ROM that includes this feature?
Any advice would be appreciated.


Caveat: The problem with doing this on a completely stock ROM is that if you change this setting using the various tools available, you'll break the framework-res signature. Not an issue on MCR or AOSP builds where the core libraries are re-signable, but a problem on stock.

P


  • 0
Navigálj Gyurcival! www.navigyurci.hu

#12
Gyurci

Gyurci

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
Thanks for your help! ;)

  • 0
Navigálj Gyurcival! www.navigyurci.hu

#13
kaiya

kaiya

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
thats awsome... gonna try this out as soon as i can figure out how to set up a sip that will work properly on here...
anyone got a good link to how to set this up properly? or if theres anyway to set up google voice account as my primary sip?

  • 0

#14
david007

david007

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Is it possible to add native sip support to samsung galaxy s2(android 2.3.3) ? How ?

Edited by david007, 01 June 2011 - 02:15 AM.

  • 0

#15
asadi.alireza

asadi.alireza

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
hi there,

I have developed a SIP based voip application, I have a Server(Written in c# and two android client application(which is written based on the Native Sip Stack of Android 2.3).

The SIP registration works perfect and beside that streaming and playing of my voice also works perfect over WiFi network but when i switch my network to 3G I cannot hear the voice(the SIP registration works without any problem).

I trace the network, and I found out that stream passes my 3G network, but the android clients cannot play it, and one more thing that I tested was that If I change one of my client from android to a simple c# desktop application, even in 3G network everything works fine(it shows that my 3g network does not have any problem) and streaming and playing the voice works without any problem.

please someone help me how can i hear this stream which is created by Native SIP Stack in a 3G network?

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE HELP ME, I GOOGLED, TESTED EVERY THING in the past 3 weeks but could not find any solution

  • 0

#16
IBTECH

IBTECH

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Devices:Omnia II
Is there anyone here who can help be de-compile the new galaxy tab 7 plus framework-res.apk to enable SIP over 3G?
The tab plus comes with SIP enabled stock, but not over 3g.
My file is located here: http://www.multiupload.com/3A96VGBMG1
For some reason i can't get this to de-compile as APK tool just errors out.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users