Jump to content


Photo

Paul's Modaco Custom Rom OLED+TFT

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b
I am not attaching the rom as I'm respecting the rules...

Here's what I did,
  • Downloaded Froyo Source
  • Amended changes to arm/mach-msm/Kconfig, line 353 to change from 0x00260000 to 0x002A00000
  • Used kernel configuration changing the PHYS_OFFSET to match that on previous line
  • Cross compiled to arm
  • Extracted boot.img
  • Replaced boot.img-kernel.gz with freshly built kernel by renaming it from zImage to boot.img-kernel.gz
  • mkbootimg --base 0x2A00000 --kernel boot.img-kernel.gz --ramdisk boot.img-ramdisk.gz -o boot.img
  • Rezipped up the rom
  • Went into clockwork 2.1.5.8, and installed fresh zip
  • Result: Kernel is hung - Green man appears and locks up with red button on (no blinking)
Am I missing something? a incompatibility with the memory segment address?

Cheers :unsure:

Edited by t0mm13b, 07 January 2011 - 02:30 AM.

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }

#2
vbo

vbo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
kallt_kaffe wrote in the kernel thread http://android.modac...e-code/page/40/

Change CONFIG_PHYS_OFFSET to 0x02A00000.
Change the 0x02500000 address in arch/arm/mach-msm/board-zte-blade.c to 0x02900000 (I keep forgetting the name but it should be easy to find).
Also change the 0x0260xxxx references in arch/arm/mach-msm/Makefile.boot to 0x02A0xxxx
(this is all from guessing what they have changed as I haven't looked at the new code yet.


So have you changed the c files?

  • 0

#3
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b

kallt_kaffe wrote in the kernel thread http://android.modac...e-code/page/40/
So have you changed the c files?


I have used Japanese configuration as per flibblesan's posting on another thread....

arch/arm/configs/msm7627_blade_defconfig

--- arch/arm/configs/msm7627_blade_defconfig 2011-01-07 12:41:14.056000001 +0000
+++ arch/arm/configs/msm7627_blade_defconfig.t0mm13b 2011-01-07 12:40:41.119000001 +0000
@@ -209,7 +209,7 @@
# CONFIG_MACH_MOONCAKE is not set
CONFIG_ZTE_FTM_FLAG_SUPPORT=y
# CONFIG_MSM_STACKED_MEMORY is not set
-CONFIG_PHYS_OFFSET=0x02A00000
+CONFIG_PHYS_OFFSET=0x02600000
CONFIG_MSM_AMSS_VERSION=6225
# CONFIG_MSM_AMSS_VERSION_6210 is not set
# CONFIG_MSM_AMSS_VERSION_6220 is not set


arch/arm/mach-msm/Makefile.boot

--- arch/arm/mach-msm/Makefile.boot 2011-01-07 11:51:14.026000001 +0000
+++ arch/arm/mach-msm/Makefile_boot.t0mm13b 2011-01-07 11:50:40.690000000 +0000
@@ -10,7 +10,7 @@

# MSM7x27
zreladdr-$(CONFIG_ARCH_MSM7X27) := 0x02608000
-params_phys-$(CONFIG_ARCH_MSM7X27) := 0x02A00100
+params_phys-$(CONFIG_ARCH_MSM7X27) := 0x02600100
initrd_phys-$(CONFIG_ARCH_MSM7X27) := 0x0A000000

# MSM7x30


arch/arm/mach-msm/board-zte-blade.c

--- arch/arm/mach-msm/board-zte-blade.c 2011-01-07 11:50:10.687000002 +0000
+++ arch/arm/mach-msm/board-zte-blade.t0mm13b 2011-01-07 11:49:39.329000001 +0000
@@ -106,7 +106,7 @@
#endif

#ifdef CONFIG_ANDROID_RAM_CONSOLE
-#define MSM_RAM_CONSOLE_PHYS 0x02900000
+#define MSM_RAM_CONSOLE_PHYS 0x02500000
#define MSM_RAM_CONSOLE_SIZE SZ_1M
#endif


arch/arm/mach-msm/Kconfig

--- arch/arm/mach-msm/Kconfig 2011-01-07 01:14:16.606000001 +0000
+++ arch/arm/mach-msm/Kconfig.t0mm13b 2011-01-07 01:12:24.108000001 +0000
@@ -350,7 +350,7 @@
#ZTE_BOOT_HUANGYANJUN_20100903_01 0x2A00000 ->0x02600000
config PHYS_OFFSET
hex
- default "0x02A00000" if !MSM_STACKED_MEMORY
+ default "0x02600000" if !MSM_STACKED_MEMORY
default "0x00000000" if ARCH_QSD8X50 && MSM_SOC_REV_A
default "0x20000000" if ARCH_QSD8X50
default "0x40200000" if ARCH_MSM8X60


The above are the diff's to reflect the changes...

When using the Japanese configuration I get weird crap prompting for drivers for this part specifically:

t0mm13b@tribbles:~/mydroid/kernel$ make ARCH=arm CROSS_COMPILE=$CCOMPILER
HOSTCC scripts/basic/fixdep
HOSTCC scripts/basic/docproc
HOSTCC scripts/basic/hash
HOSTCC scripts/kconfig/conf.o
HOSTCC scripts/kconfig/kxgettext.o
SHIPPED scripts/kconfig/zconf.tab.c
SHIPPED scripts/kconfig/lex.zconf.c
SHIPPED scripts/kconfig/zconf.hash.c
HOSTCC scripts/kconfig/zconf.tab.o
HOSTLD scripts/kconfig/conf
scripts/kconfig/conf -s arch/arm/Kconfig
*
* Restart config...
*
*
* Video capture adapters
*
Video capture adapters (VIDEO_CAPTURE_DRIVERS) [Y/n/?] y
Enable advanced debug functionality (VIDEO_ADV_DEBUG) [N/y/?] n
Enable old-style fixed minor ranges for video devices (VIDEO_FIXED_MINOR_RANGES) [N/y/?] n
Autoselect pertinent encoders/decoders and other helper chips (VIDEO_HELPER_CHIPS_AUTO) [Y/n/?] y
Virtual Video Driver (VIDEO_VIVI) [N/m/y/?] n
CPiA Video For Linux (VIDEO_CPIA) [N/m/y/?] n
SAA5246A, SAA5281 Teletext processor (VIDEO_SAA5246A) [N/m/y/?] n
SAA5249 Teletext processor (VIDEO_SAA5249) [N/m/y/?] n
SoC camera support (SOC_CAMERA) [N/m/y/?] n
*
* Qualcomm MSM Camera And Video
*
*
* Camera Sensor Selection
*
Sensor mt9t013 (BAYER 3M) (MT9T013) [N/y/?] n
Sensor mt9d112 (YUV 2M) (MT9D112) [N/y/?] n
Sensor mt9p012 (BAYER 5M) (MT9P012) [N/y/?] n
Sensor mt9v113 (YUV 0.3M) (MT9V113) [N/y/?] n
Sensor mt9p111 (YUV 5.0M) (MT9P111) [N/y/?] n
Sensor mt9t111 or mt9t112 (YUV 3.1M) (MT9T11X) [Y/n/?] y
Sensor mt9t111 or mt9t112 (YUV 3.1M) of FPC, Module QTECHGLOBAL or MCNEX (MT9T11X_QTECH_MCNEX_FPC) [Y/n/?] y
Sensor mt9t111 or mt9t112 (YUV 3.1M) of socket, Module QTECHGLOBAL or MCNEX (MT9T11X_QTECH_MCNEX_SOCKET) [N/y/?] (NEW)


I say no to these lot and then compared the differences after the re-generated config which is different to the original japanese configuration, here's the diff:

t0mm13b@tribbles:~/mydroid/kernel$ diff -u .config JPN-10-12-2010config
--- .config 2011-01-07 13:43:18.596000001 +0000
+++ JPN-10-12-2010config 2011-01-06 22:55:56.992000001 +0000
@@ -1,7 +1,7 @@
#
# Automatically generated make config: don't edit
# Linux kernel version: 2.6.32.9
-# Fri Jan 7 13:43:18 2011
+# Fri Dec 10 17:34:12 2010
#
CONFIG_ARM=y
CONFIG_SYS_SUPPORTS_APM_EMULATION=y
@@ -208,6 +208,14 @@
CONFIG_F3_LOG=y
CONFIG_MACH_BLADE=y
# CONFIG_MACH_BLADE_CAMERA5MP is not set
+# CONFIG_MACH_MOONCAKE is not set
+# CONFIG_MACH_V9 is not set
+# CONFIG_MACH_RAISE is not set
+# CONFIG_MACH_JOE is not set
+# CONFIG_MACH_R750 is not set
+# CONFIG_MACH_IBOX is not set
+# CONFIG_MACH_AMIGO is not set
+# CONFIG_MACH_SMOOTH is not set
CONFIG_ZTE_FTM_FLAG_SUPPORT=y
# CONFIG_MSM_STACKED_MEMORY is not set
CONFIG_PHYS_OFFSET=0x02A00000
@@ -724,6 +732,7 @@
# CONFIG_BT_HCIUART_LL is not set
# CONFIG_BT_HCIUART_IBS is not set
CONFIG_BT_MSM_SLEEP=y
+# CONFIG_BT_MSM_BCM is not set
# CONFIG_BT_HCIVHCI is not set
# CONFIG_BT_MRVL is not set
CONFIG_MSM_BT_POWER=y
@@ -969,6 +978,7 @@
# CONFIG_WLAN_80211 is not set
CONFIG_LIBRA_SDIOIF=m
# CONFIG_BCM4329 is not set
+# CONFIG_DHD is not set

#
# Enable WiMAX (Networking options) to see the WiMAX drivers
@@ -1240,7 +1250,6 @@
# CONFIG_MT9P111 is not set
CONFIG_MT9T11X=y
CONFIG_MT9T11X_QTECH_MCNEX_FPC=y
-# CONFIG_MT9T11X_QTECH_MCNEX_SOCKET is not set
CONFIG_OV5642=y
CONFIG_OV5642_GLOBALOPTICS=y
# CONFIG_MT9D115 is not set
@@ -1492,6 +1501,7 @@
#
# MMC/SD/SDIO Card Drivers
#
+# CONFIG_WIFI_AR6003 is not set
CONFIG_MMC_BLOCK=y
# CONFIG_MMC_BLOCK_BOUNCE is not set
# CONFIG_MMC_BLOCK_DEFERRED_RESUME is not set
@@ -1543,6 +1553,7 @@
CONFIG_RTC_HCTOSYS=y
CONFIG_RTC_HCTOSYS_DEVICE="rtc0"
CONFIG_RTC_DEBUG=y
+# CONFIG_ZTE_FIX_ALARM_SYNC is not set

#
# RTC interfaces


Either way, something is definitely missing....

Cheers :unsure:

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }

#4
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b

kallt_kaffe wrote in the kernel thread http://android.modac...e-code/page/40/
So have you changed the c files?


I have used Japanese configuration as per flibblesan's posting on another thread....

arch/arm/configs/msm7627_blade_defconfig

--- arch/arm/configs/msm7627_blade_defconfig 2011-01-07 12:41:14.056000001 +0000
+++ arch/arm/configs/msm7627_blade_defconfig.t0mm13b 2011-01-07 12:40:41.119000001 +0000
@@ -209,7 +209,7 @@
# CONFIG_MACH_MOONCAKE is not set
CONFIG_ZTE_FTM_FLAG_SUPPORT=y
# CONFIG_MSM_STACKED_MEMORY is not set
-CONFIG_PHYS_OFFSET=0x02A00000
+CONFIG_PHYS_OFFSET=0x02600000
CONFIG_MSM_AMSS_VERSION=6225
# CONFIG_MSM_AMSS_VERSION_6210 is not set
# CONFIG_MSM_AMSS_VERSION_6220 is not set


arch/arm/mach-msm/Makefile.boot

--- arch/arm/mach-msm/Makefile.boot 2011-01-07 11:51:14.026000001 +0000
+++ arch/arm/mach-msm/Makefile_boot.t0mm13b 2011-01-07 11:50:40.690000000 +0000
@@ -10,7 +10,7 @@

# MSM7x27
zreladdr-$(CONFIG_ARCH_MSM7X27) := 0x02608000
-params_phys-$(CONFIG_ARCH_MSM7X27) := 0x02A00100
+params_phys-$(CONFIG_ARCH_MSM7X27) := 0x02600100
initrd_phys-$(CONFIG_ARCH_MSM7X27) := 0x0A000000

# MSM7x30


arch/arm/mach-msm/board-zte-blade.c

--- arch/arm/mach-msm/board-zte-blade.c 2011-01-07 11:50:10.687000002 +0000
+++ arch/arm/mach-msm/board-zte-blade.t0mm13b 2011-01-07 11:49:39.329000001 +0000
@@ -106,7 +106,7 @@
#endif

#ifdef CONFIG_ANDROID_RAM_CONSOLE
-#define MSM_RAM_CONSOLE_PHYS 0x02900000
+#define MSM_RAM_CONSOLE_PHYS 0x02500000
#define MSM_RAM_CONSOLE_SIZE SZ_1M
#endif


arch/arm/mach-msm/Kconfig

--- arch/arm/mach-msm/Kconfig 2011-01-07 01:14:16.606000001 +0000
+++ arch/arm/mach-msm/Kconfig.t0mm13b 2011-01-07 01:12:24.108000001 +0000
@@ -350,7 +350,7 @@
#ZTE_BOOT_HUANGYANJUN_20100903_01 0x2A00000 ->0x02600000
config PHYS_OFFSET
hex
- default "0x02A00000" if !MSM_STACKED_MEMORY
+ default "0x02600000" if !MSM_STACKED_MEMORY
default "0x00000000" if ARCH_QSD8X50 && MSM_SOC_REV_A
default "0x20000000" if ARCH_QSD8X50
default "0x40200000" if ARCH_MSM8X60


The above are the diff's to reflect the changes...

When using the Japanese configuration I get weird crap prompting for drivers for this part specifically:

t0mm13b@tribbles:~/mydroid/kernel$ make ARCH=arm CROSS_COMPILE=$CCOMPILER
HOSTCC scripts/basic/fixdep
HOSTCC scripts/basic/docproc
HOSTCC scripts/basic/hash
HOSTCC scripts/kconfig/conf.o
HOSTCC scripts/kconfig/kxgettext.o
SHIPPED scripts/kconfig/zconf.tab.c
SHIPPED scripts/kconfig/lex.zconf.c
SHIPPED scripts/kconfig/zconf.hash.c
HOSTCC scripts/kconfig/zconf.tab.o
HOSTLD scripts/kconfig/conf
scripts/kconfig/conf -s arch/arm/Kconfig
*
* Restart config...
*
*
* Video capture adapters
*
Video capture adapters (VIDEO_CAPTURE_DRIVERS) [Y/n/?] y
Enable advanced debug functionality (VIDEO_ADV_DEBUG) [N/y/?] n
Enable old-style fixed minor ranges for video devices (VIDEO_FIXED_MINOR_RANGES) [N/y/?] n
Autoselect pertinent encoders/decoders and other helper chips (VIDEO_HELPER_CHIPS_AUTO) [Y/n/?] y
Virtual Video Driver (VIDEO_VIVI) [N/m/y/?] n
CPiA Video For Linux (VIDEO_CPIA) [N/m/y/?] n
SAA5246A, SAA5281 Teletext processor (VIDEO_SAA5246A) [N/m/y/?] n
SAA5249 Teletext processor (VIDEO_SAA5249) [N/m/y/?] n
SoC camera support (SOC_CAMERA) [N/m/y/?] n
*
* Qualcomm MSM Camera And Video
*
*
* Camera Sensor Selection
*
Sensor mt9t013 (BAYER 3M) (MT9T013) [N/y/?] n
Sensor mt9d112 (YUV 2M) (MT9D112) [N/y/?] n
Sensor mt9p012 (BAYER 5M) (MT9P012) [N/y/?] n
Sensor mt9v113 (YUV 0.3M) (MT9V113) [N/y/?] n
Sensor mt9p111 (YUV 5.0M) (MT9P111) [N/y/?] n
Sensor mt9t111 or mt9t112 (YUV 3.1M) (MT9T11X) [Y/n/?] y
Sensor mt9t111 or mt9t112 (YUV 3.1M) of FPC, Module QTECHGLOBAL or MCNEX (MT9T11X_QTECH_MCNEX_FPC) [Y/n/?] y
Sensor mt9t111 or mt9t112 (YUV 3.1M) of socket, Module QTECHGLOBAL or MCNEX (MT9T11X_QTECH_MCNEX_SOCKET) [N/y/?] (NEW)


I say no to these lot and then compared the differences after the re-generated config which is different to the original japanese configuration, here's the diff:

t0mm13b@tribbles:~/mydroid/kernel$ diff -u .config JPN-10-12-2010config
--- .config 2011-01-07 13:43:18.596000001 +0000
+++ JPN-10-12-2010config 2011-01-06 22:55:56.992000001 +0000
@@ -1,7 +1,7 @@
#
# Automatically generated make config: don't edit
# Linux kernel version: 2.6.32.9
-# Fri Jan 7 13:43:18 2011
+# Fri Dec 10 17:34:12 2010
#
CONFIG_ARM=y
CONFIG_SYS_SUPPORTS_APM_EMULATION=y
@@ -208,6 +208,14 @@
CONFIG_F3_LOG=y
CONFIG_MACH_BLADE=y
# CONFIG_MACH_BLADE_CAMERA5MP is not set
+# CONFIG_MACH_MOONCAKE is not set
+# CONFIG_MACH_V9 is not set
+# CONFIG_MACH_RAISE is not set
+# CONFIG_MACH_JOE is not set
+# CONFIG_MACH_R750 is not set
+# CONFIG_MACH_IBOX is not set
+# CONFIG_MACH_AMIGO is not set
+# CONFIG_MACH_SMOOTH is not set
CONFIG_ZTE_FTM_FLAG_SUPPORT=y
# CONFIG_MSM_STACKED_MEMORY is not set
CONFIG_PHYS_OFFSET=0x02A00000
@@ -724,6 +732,7 @@
# CONFIG_BT_HCIUART_LL is not set
# CONFIG_BT_HCIUART_IBS is not set
CONFIG_BT_MSM_SLEEP=y
+# CONFIG_BT_MSM_BCM is not set
# CONFIG_BT_HCIVHCI is not set
# CONFIG_BT_MRVL is not set
CONFIG_MSM_BT_POWER=y
@@ -969,6 +978,7 @@
# CONFIG_WLAN_80211 is not set
CONFIG_LIBRA_SDIOIF=m
# CONFIG_BCM4329 is not set
+# CONFIG_DHD is not set

#
# Enable WiMAX (Networking options) to see the WiMAX drivers
@@ -1240,7 +1250,6 @@
# CONFIG_MT9P111 is not set
CONFIG_MT9T11X=y
CONFIG_MT9T11X_QTECH_MCNEX_FPC=y
-# CONFIG_MT9T11X_QTECH_MCNEX_SOCKET is not set
CONFIG_OV5642=y
CONFIG_OV5642_GLOBALOPTICS=y
# CONFIG_MT9D115 is not set
@@ -1492,6 +1501,7 @@
#
# MMC/SD/SDIO Card Drivers
#
+# CONFIG_WIFI_AR6003 is not set
CONFIG_MMC_BLOCK=y
# CONFIG_MMC_BLOCK_BOUNCE is not set
# CONFIG_MMC_BLOCK_DEFERRED_RESUME is not set
@@ -1543,6 +1553,7 @@
CONFIG_RTC_HCTOSYS=y
CONFIG_RTC_HCTOSYS_DEVICE="rtc0"
CONFIG_RTC_DEBUG=y
+# CONFIG_ZTE_FIX_ALARM_SYNC is not set

#
# RTC interfaces


Either way, something is definitely missing....

Anyway, kernel is still hanging on the green man on boot....

Thanks be to Clockwork for backup/restore :unsure:

Cheers B)

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }

#5
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b
Apologies for the double post - Konqueror is messed!!! Meh! :unsure:

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }

#6
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b

Apologies for the double post - Konqueror is messed!!! Meh! B)


Good news....

the latest kernel source from github is working....

Now officially on kernel 2.6.32.9 kernel.... :P

LED's work, Wifi reconnects after sleep....

Guilty as verdict.... added too many zeros to the base address... meh :D

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }

#7
IronDoc

IronDoc

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 522 posts
  • Devices:Blade
You know there is an edit button right? :D

  • 0

#8
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b

You know there is an edit button right? :D


lulz!!!! ah well .... it's working anyway.... :P

mind you - I copied/pasted the address from another posting.... :P (so not really my fault..... :P )
B)

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }

#9
csholmq

csholmq

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Sony Xperia P
  • Twitter:@csholmq

Good news....

the latest kernel source from github is working....

Now officially on kernel 2.6.32.9 kernel.... :P

LED's work, Wifi reconnects after sleep....

Guilty as verdict.... added too many zeros to the base address... meh :D

Would you mind writing up the whole procedure so we don't fall in the same pits?

  • 0

#10
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b

Would you mind writing up the whole procedure so we don't fall in the same pits?


Sure... no bother....
* everything italicized is the command your type in your terminal....
* everything in bold is the filename
* boot-tools utilities are located in $HOME/bin and is in your PATH
* Java 1.5 is present and installed and executable (that is one lil snag - its very hard to obtain 1.5, by yours truly Oracle!!!)

Am using Slackware Linux 13.0, for starters so your mileage will vary....
Make sure you have developer tools including git installed...

First... obtain the android sdk by going here...
I installed it into $HOME/ANDROID

Then...
pull down the android source repo from here
I cloned the repository into $HOME/mydroid, this will take a while...3.5Gb or thereabouts...
follow the instructions on that linky...
Reason: to obtain the pre-built toolchains

Finally...
Pull down the git repo for the kernel source, I have $HOME/repository where all source from github gets cloned into...
git clone https://github.com/Z...LADE-2.6.32.git

Using your own rom, unzip it into somewhere, I have a $HOME/myrom,
$HOME/myrom: unzip your_rom
there should be a META-INF folder, boot.img, system folder

Using the tool from http://forum.android...al-rom-faq.html, grab boot-tools.zip.

The tool in that zip is called split_bootimg.pl
$HOME/myrom: split_bootimg.pl boot.img
there should be kernel and ramdisk files present. It is the kernel that we're interested in.

Now go to $HOME/repository/ZTE-BLADE-2.6.32.
export CCOMPILER=$HOME/mydroid//prebuilt/linux-x86/toolchain/arm-eabi-4.4.0/bin/arm-eabi-

Then to build.... have a cuppa...
make ARCH=arm CROSS_COMPILE=$CCOMPILER

Lots of compile messages will appear.... no need to do a config or anything as it's already done for you!
The kernel will reside in $HOME/repository/ZTE-BLADE-2.6.32/arch/arm/boot/zImage
Also: the modules will be built as well, the file to watch out for is $HOME/repository/ZTE-BLADE-2.6.32/modules.order
That will contain the list of modules required...

Go back to your $HOME/myrom
Navigate into the system/lib/modules sub-folder, and
cat $HOME/repository/ZTE-BLADE-2.6.32/modules.order | sed s/^kernel\//g | awk '{ system(sprintf("cp $HOME/repository/ZTE-BLADE-2.6.32%s .\n", $0)); }'
navigate back to $HOME/myrom and copy the kernel with the one found in $HOME/repository/ZTE-BLADE-2.6.32/arch/arm/boot/zImage
$HOME/myrom: cp $HOME/repository/ZTE-BLADE-2.6.32/arch/arm/boot/zImage .

Then, recreate the boot.img file... (mkbootimg is in your $HOME/bin)
mkbootimg --base 0x2A00000 --kernel zImage --ramdisk boot.img-ramdisk.cpio.gz -o boot.img

Note the underlined base address, be sure you get this right, if not, your handset will freeze and hang!

Now, last step, re-zip up your new rom
zip -r my_new_rom.zip META-INF boot.img system

Finally, sign the new_rom... again, testsign.jar is available here underneath this post for your benefit...(tar xvfz testsign.gz)
java -classpath $HOME/bin/testsign.jar testsign my_new_rom.zip my_new_rom_signed.zip

Using adb, push that across to your sdcard, I have a folder there called roms.
adb push my_new_rom_signed.zip /sdcard/roms

Reboot, go into Clockwork recovery, wipe data, wipe cache, install the rom, pick my_new_rom_signed.zip and let it work away installing...
then reboot and pray! :D

Feel free to point out any errors or omissions...

Attached Files


  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }

#11
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
Great info here - thanks

  • 0

#12
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b

Great info here - thanks


Cheers, any chance of stickying this to enable others for their benefit in tinkering? :D

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }

#13
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

Cheers, any chance of stickying this to enable others for their benefit in tinkering? :P


I am just an Addict not a MOD :D

  • 0

#14
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b

I am just an Addict not a MOD :P


lulz!!!! :D

Same here.... know wot you mean... B) :P

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }

#15
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b

lulz!!!! :D

Same here.... know wot you mean... :P :P


Please rate this thread if you think it helps you to tinker with the kernel :P

Thanks B)

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }

#16
Arr Too

Arr Too

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 622 posts

I am just an Addict not a MOD :P

LIAR!!!!1111!!!!11!!






:D

  • 0

#17
Alex_P

Alex_P

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Hi,

Thanks for the guide, just an observation:

Using the tool from http://forum.android...al-rom-faq.html, grab boot-tools.zip.

The tool in that zip is called split_bootimg.pl
$HOME/myrom: split_bootimg.pl boot.img
there should be kernel and ramdisk files present. It is the kernel that we're interested in.


In the Boot-tools.zip at that address there is only extract-kernel.pl and extract-ramdisk.pl. extract-kernel.pl gets me boot.img-kernel from the rom boot.img which is what I assume we are after.


Thanks!

Edited by Alex_P, 10 January 2011 - 09:44 PM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#18
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b

Hi,

Thanks for the guide, just an observation:
In the Boot-tools.zip at that address there is only extract-kernel.pl and extract-ramdisk.pl. extract-kernel.pl gets me boot.img-kernel from the rom boot.img which is what I assume we are after.
Thanks!


Whoops, Thanks Alex_P for the glitch....

Yeah, I got split_bootimg.pl came from here...

Sorry for the hiccup... :D

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }

#19
rishie

rishie

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Location:India
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@shri
Thumbs up for the great work t0mm13b.

Can you share the working kernel (boot.img)? as it might be useful for people like me

  • 0
--
RiShiE

#20
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b

Thumbs up for the great work t0mm13b.

Can you share the working kernel (boot.img)? as it might be useful for people like me


I have amended the configuration of the kernel compile to include CIFS/SMBFS (Samba to you and me) and using it with CIFSManager found on the application market....

I cannot simply include the working kernel as there's modules that comes with it.... but look at it another way...

its the only way to get to know enough to gain experience of the process and understand it more....

I'll guarantee you will be fascinated at the process and start learning to enjoy it :D

And who knows, it could be you that end up producing your own rom....

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users