Jump to content


Photo

Mobile Broadband dongles


  • Please log in to reply
215 replies to this topic

#1
dukla2000

dukla2000

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 44 posts
  • Location:reading.uk.eu
  • Devices:Advent Vega
The 3G thread meandered a little off-topic in parts discussing how to get 3G dongles to work. Without reaching a result, so figured running this thread to try collect/collate knowledge to try get a mobile broadband dongle up and running.

Having spent a bit researching this here is my 6p
1) We need Android to create /dev/ttyUSB* devices
2) We need some software & config stuff - Network Manager would be handy, ppp config otherwise.

I have a 3 (UK) ZTE MF112 dongle that fails on step 1. So nothing to contribute regarding step 2! In short the ttyUSB devices aren't created after it is inserted (or if the Vega is booted with the dongle already inserted). 99.99% certain this is the dreaded CD-ROM feature of the thing - need either usb_modeswitch or to flash the damn thing to get rid of the 'feature'. As far as I can tell on my PC, usb_modeswitch is standard on 2.6.34 - we can dream that Google will drag Android up to date at some stage!

First note - the dongle lights red, then green. All this means is it has power and is finding a mobile network, it is no indicator that the Vega/Android has done anything other than provide power.

OK - over to you!

Edited by dukla2000, 10 February 2011 - 11:22 PM.

  • 0

#2
ptbw

ptbw

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Suffolk, UK
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & Nexus 7 (2013)

We need some software & config stuff - Network Manager would be handy, ppp config otherwise.


My Vega reports that ppp is not in the kernel, which requires source to fix.

  • 0

Official Field Guide of the Paranormal Database
smallbanner.png

Still playing with:

Nexus 4
Nexus 7 (2103)

 

 


#3
Bobbler

Bobbler

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega

My Vega reports that ppp is not in the kernel, which requires source to fix.


If they are bringing out a 3G equipped model (which IIRC is on the cards for the future, unless of course this falls by the wayside) then that could be addressed that way - as long as the device recognises

  • 0

#4
huwwatkins

huwwatkins

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
I have a few 3g dongles I can test so hopefully will be able to help when needed - AFAIK nothing can happen untill source is released

  • 0

#5
inberno

inberno

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Devices:Vega Corvus 0.5 / LG O2X :-D
  • Twitter:@inberno
I have found a post on the forum Folio100 about using 3G modems. I could not try because my modem is ZTE and Huawei operate only. The file would have to remove the boot image and perhaps work if someone has a Huawei could comment.

XDA DEVELOPERS

  • 0

#6
Melted

Melted

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One & Advent Vega
  • Twitter:@pmanosa
it could be a massive improvement to this tablet if someone can make 3g dongles work on the vega!

I'm going to look my 3g dongles to see the models I have around, but as I don't have the ClockworkMod installed I've no idea of how to update my vega to try it.

Thx!

Edited by Melted, 23 January 2011 - 01:37 PM.

  • 0
My devices:
Nexus One CyanogenMod 7 Posted Image Point Of view Mobii VegaComb AlphaPosted Image

#7
Bobbler

Bobbler

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega
Can't make this work. But I don't really have much idea what I should be doing to make it work with the Vega.

I have clockwork installed, took a backup etc first

When you attempt to install the update.zip then you just get an error
assert failed: write_raw_image("cache/boot.img", "linux")
E: Error in /sdcard/update.zip
Status 7
Installation Aborted

I added the boot.img from the official firmware - thinking that it was this that caused the issue.
But same thing again.

So can't get to install it let alone try it with my 3G modem.

  • 0

#8
simonta

simonta

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,298 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton
  • Devices:Vega. HTC Desire
Sorry all, you're just going to have to be patient.

If you replace the boot.img, you also replace the kernel (that's why replacing boot.img makes this work).

Many have tried other kernels but there's so much broken (wifi, sound, camera and others) that this is a dead end until the kernel source is released.

Happy to be proved wrong!!!!

  • 0
If I've helped you, you want to say "thanks" and you do not use Dropbox (it's enormously useful, especially with mobile devices), please consider signing up for it using my reference. You'll get 2GB of disk space for files available anywhere, any time on any device. They give us both an extra 250MB if you do sign up!

Sign up for Dropbox

Apple? I'd rather eat my own kidneys!

#9
inberno

inberno

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Devices:Vega Corvus 0.5 / LG O2X :-D
  • Twitter:@inberno
Same error. We have to wait somebody that he know how to install dongle drivers in vega.

  • 0

#10
lucas02538

lucas02538

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
push

  • 0

#11
gingercat

gingercat

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, Advent Vega

push

I think you mean "bump" ;)
Could the OP please change the sub-title of this thread to "Guide needed to get your 3G dongle working"
("needed" added) - the current text is somewhat misleading and will keep leading people here expecting to find a solution ready for them, somewhat like the misleading keyword spamming used on eBay to lure in customers!

  • 0

#12
BakedBeans

BakedBeans

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega +r7 ROM
I have a working, surfing conection via an Huawei E220 3G dongle on my Vega.

Details:

1. Installed theMoDaCo Custom ROM for the Advent Vega r7
2. Enabled USB Host Mode (USB Mode --> USB Host (required reboot)
3. Inserted the Huawei E220 USB Dongle (mine was a t-mobile PAYG dongle)
4. If USB Host Mode is enabled, the dongle will flash green, then blue

*Interesting bit*:
5a. Go to Settings --> Accounts & Sync --> Add Account
5b. Select 'Google'
5b. Hold down the back button (the physical button) for 2-5 seconds until a 'Wireless Settings' icon appears at the bottom of the screen
5c. Select 'Wireless Settings'
5d. Select '3G Service enabled'
5e. Select 'Data enabled'
5f. Select 'Network Operators' ... You may need to wait 10-30 seconds as the Vega configures itself to read the USB dongle, makes a connection and identifies what providers are available... the light on my USB Dongle went solid blue at this point (if I recall correctly)
5g. Choose your network operator
5h. The Vega notification bar will change to show a "3G" icon, which is animated to show upload/download action; and a signal strenth icon.
6. Ensure WiFi is off and surf to a website... In my case, I got the t-mobile top-up page, which showed me my dongle's phone number and the fact that I had no further credit on my account.

When you unplug the dongle, the notification bar will change to a red triable for 'No Service: Selected network unavailable).

At this point I don't know whether this is chewing my battery or not when not connected.. as the "No Service" notification does not go away, even though I've disabled '3G Service'.


This is my first post here, so if I've posted in the wrong please, let me know and I'll happily move it.

Cheers,
BB.

  • 0

#13
rferrett

rferrett

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 529 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Plymouth
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S3, Advent Vega
  • Twitter:@ralphferrett
Not at all. Great stuff!

  • 0
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 Omega 6.0
Tablet: Nexus 7 MCR Jr5
Twitter: @ralphferrett
Google+: http://gplus.to/rferrett
URL: http://lunchtimelegend.co.uk

#14
wi-fli

wi-fli

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South West
  • Devices:Desire S+Vega Viewcomb3.2b6.3
Wow!

Can't wait to try this tonight...

  • 0

#15
ptbw

ptbw

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Suffolk, UK
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & Nexus 7 (2013)

I have a working, surfing conection via an Huawei E220 3G dongle on my Vega.
...


Excellent I have the exact same dongle so will give this a try, it will make the Vega a very powerful device.

  • 0

Official Field Guide of the Paranormal Database
smallbanner.png

Still playing with:

Nexus 4
Nexus 7 (2103)

 

 


#16
abrown601

abrown601

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
WOW - Yes Works

Thanks Bakedbeans :P :D :huh:

Works with my O2 Broadband Dongle which is a HUAWEI E169

  • 0

#17
debs626

debs626

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 223 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Yorkshire, UK
  • Devices:SanFran, iPad v1
  • Twitter:@Debs626

I have a working, surfing conection via an Huawei E220 3G dongle on my Vega.

Details:

1. Installed theMoDaCo Custom ROM for the Advent Vega r7
2. Enabled USB Host Mode (USB Mode --> USB Host (required reboot)
3. Inserted the Huawei E220 USB Dongle (mine was a t-mobile PAYG dongle)
4. If USB Host Mode is enabled, the dongle will flash green, then blue

*Interesting bit*:
5a. Go to Settings --> Accounts & Sync --> Add Account
5b. Select 'Google'
5b. Hold down the back button (the physical button) for 2-5 seconds until a 'Wireless Settings' icon appears at the bottom of the screen
5c. Select 'Wireless Settings'
5d. Select '3G Service enabled'
5e. Select 'Data enabled'
5f. Select 'Network Operators' ... You may need to wait 10-30 seconds as the Vega configures itself to read the USB dongle, makes a connection and identifies what providers are available... the light on my USB Dongle went solid blue at this point (if I recall correctly)
5g. Choose your network operator
5h. The Vega notification bar will change to show a "3G" icon, which is animated to show upload/download action; and a signal strenth icon.
6. Ensure WiFi is off and surf to a website... In my case, I got the t-mobile top-up page, which showed me my dongle's phone number and the fact that I had no further credit on my account.

When you unplug the dongle, the notification bar will change to a red triable for 'No Service: Selected network unavailable).

At this point I don't know whether this is chewing my battery or not when not connected.. as the "No Service" notification does not go away, even though I've disabled '3G Service'.
This is my first post here, so if I've posted in the wrong please, let me know and I'll happily move it.

Cheers,
BB.



I'm 99.9999% sure this is also working on the E160g (3 network) cant say for sure as I dont have any credit on the sim to pull up a web page but I get the 3G signal strength icon :P

Thanks for sharing your find :D

  • 0

#18
carl rose

carl rose

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 247 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Advent Vega
Can't wait to try this out. Thank you

  • 0

#19
wi-fli

wi-fli

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South West
  • Devices:Desire S+Vega Viewcomb3.2b6.3
Mine is a Huawei e1752 on Orange, so fingers crossed eh!

  • 0

#20
Melted

Melted

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One & Advent Vega
  • Twitter:@pmanosa
Been searching for my 3g Dongle for a month now... It's some around the house, but no at clue where. Willing to try this method asap.
If this works, you are the MAN.

  • 0
My devices:
Nexus One CyanogenMod 7 Posted Image Point Of view Mobii VegaComb AlphaPosted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users