Jump to content


Photo

Kernel optimization

* * * * * 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b
Please discuss:

Would it be beneficial to unset a few things that caught my eye:
  • CONFIG_DEBUG_INFO + CONFIG_DEBUG_KERNEL? (both in Kernel Hacking) - Would that see a speed gain? :D
  • CONFIG_MAGIC_SYSRQ - (Kernel Hacking) Magic SysRq key - is that really needed? Like how would you do it on a touchscreen? :P
  • CONFIG_DEBUG_BUGVERBOSE (Kernel Hacking) - That needed?
  • CONFIG_DEBUG_USER + CONFIG_DEBUG_ERRORS (both in Kernel Hacking) - necessary?, maybe, kernel panics, can be logged to flash anyway by way of this CONFIG_APANIC (Device Drivers > Misc Devices)
The way I see it is this - the last two is for if you're extremely hardcore kernel hacker, it would be handy alright, but on the face of it, we're already in an Android environment and those things would be pointless, so what if the handset is rooted or not, either way, for the average user, they're hardly going to see that...

I, myself, like to tinker and have been pondering about those in the list above....

Any worthwhile thoughts/suggestions....?

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }

#2
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b
Some more after exploring the options:
  • CONFIG_SCSI_LOGGING + SCSI_LOWLEVEL ( Device Drivers > SCSI Device Support > SCSI low-level Drivers)
  • CONFIG_SMC91X (Device Drivers > Network device support > Ethernet (10 or 100Mbit) - Have no idea - that required?)
  • CONFIG_OV5642 (Device Drivers > Multimedia Support > Video Capture adapters > Sensor ov5642 (YUV 5.0M)) - Assuming that's the camera 5Mp, not required for S.F. There's Radio Adapter - unchecked - presumably that could explain radio support not working, despite DAB set...?!
Any other ideas?!

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }

#3
Rotmann

Rotmann

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,019 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One, ZTE Blade
Nice thread, hopefully it will get the attention of the devs. Very interesting, keep up the good work! :D

  • 0

#4
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b

Nice thread, hopefully it will get the attention of the devs. Very interesting, keep up the good work! :P


Thanks :D

I have spotted a few things that's making my head spin....

Forgive the questioning of it...
  • Clockwork recovery seems to overwrite the original kernel build's command line on boot, with this one, and its different - question is "Is Clockwork recovery boot up procedure hardwired to specify this - rdinit=/init console=ttyDCC0 console=ttyMSM2,115200", I am under the impression that using ttyMSM2,115200 will allow you to somehow see the kernel boot messages whizzing by? How does one do it, this would be a useful thing to have to determine if everything is hunky-dory... nonetheless, the compile type build of the kernel has this "CONFIG_CMDLINE="init=/sbin/init root=/dev/ram rw initrd=0x11000000,16M console=ttyDCC0 mem=88M"
  • On another ROM - I think it was Customised BladeVillain (Eclair), there was a setting under Applications to not to charge the battery when plugged in, in Modaco's ROM that is not present - any chance of putting that back into it - this could be useful to be able to share files via cable without screwing up the battery by constantly plugging it in and defaulting to charging...
  • I have integrated the driver for Atheros R6000 driver for the chipset so that it can be built, the github page for the kernel... The only thing about this is, "where and how did Paul get the binary firmware and patch for that Modaco rom - is it needed as the core driver is now available and can be recompiled?" there's a wifi directory under /system, that has
  • athtcmd_ram.bin
  • athwlan.bin.z77
  • data.patch.hw2_0.bin
Would they be needed? Hmmm.... I will have to find out and re-do up the Modaco ROM for further investigation....
I will post more findings on this...

Edited by t0mm13b, 13 January 2011 - 02:40 PM.

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }

#5
oh!dougal

oh!dougal

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
  • Location:England
  • Devices:DX2 FroYo San Francisco
Two points

-- 5mp cameras are in some European Blades (eg Finland) -- don't chuck anything just because it concerns the 5mp !

-- regarding TTY and boot messages - see http://android.modac...2-on-the-blade/

AND (added)

CONFIG_MAGIC_SYSRQ - (Kernel Hacking) Magic SysRq key - is that really needed? Like how would you do it on a touchscreen? blink.gif

With host mode USB, you can connect a full usb keyboard ...
And there's more mainstream ways to attach a Bluetooth one.

Perhaps some of the 'left-over' debug facilities could be reopened to assist aftermarket devs?

Edited by oh!dougal, 13 January 2011 - 03:19 PM.

  • 0

#6
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b

Two points

-- 5mp cameras are in some European Blades (eg Finland) -- don't chuck anything just because it concerns the 5mp !

-- regarding TTY and boot messages - see http://android.modac...2-on-the-blade/

AND (added)
With host mode USB, you can connect a full usb keyboard ...
And there's more mainstream ways to attach a Bluetooth one.

Perhaps some of the 'left-over' debug facilities could be reopened to assist aftermarket devs?


Cheers +1 for that... Thanks! :D

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }

#7
Ippe H

Ippe H

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
Is is possible to get wimax working on blade?

blade-config
# CONFIG_WIMAX is not set

  • 0

#8
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b
Right, have updated github on this and included AR6000 driver and ATH6KL drivers also...

This is the configuration I used that runs against the github's kernel source in the attached...

Fingers crossed now that I'll reboot it.... ;)

Attached Files


Edited by t0mm13b, 15 January 2011 - 05:24 PM.

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }

#9
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b
Meh! Back to drawing board.... *sigh*

Something got b0rk3d :) :D

Will re-check it again... On boot up, the kernel "sort of" went into feedback loop - more likely panic'd and anyway most of debug logs etc was removed.... lulz!!! ;)

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }

#10
MDCFan

MDCFan

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:N/A

Is is possible to get wimax working on blade?

blade-config
# CONFIG_WIMAX is not set


Blade does not have any WiMAX hardware.
You can have WiMAX support in the kernel, but without the actual transceiver it is useless.

Edited by MDCFan, 14 January 2011 - 06:02 PM.

  • 0
I am selling my perfect condition OLED San Francisco here

#11
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b
Whooooooo!!!!!
Wheeeeeee!!!!!

Tweaked Modaco Rom7 with kernel from the said github repo, here's the attached

Boot up and running ok... will keep you posted.... ;)

Attached Files


Edited by t0mm13b, 15 January 2011 - 05:26 PM.

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }

#12
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b
Right, the kernel booted up successfully, so far so good....

Switch on Wifi...

Whoops, tis b0rk3d... :)

Nonetheless, the AR6000 driver is seriously out of whack and am mystified as to where Paul got the source from!! ;)

Anyhoo... I have reverted back to original rom 8 baked from the kitchen.... and reported and attached my kernel tweak in the hope Paul takes note of it...

Nonetheless, methinks its game over for me... but I hope that knowledge will be of help...

If you're really curious to see the difference:
  • Plug in the cable to your handset
  • run adb shell
  • from the adb shell prompt, issue zcat /proc/config.gz > /sdcard/current_config
  • Exit out of the adb shell
  • Issue adb pull /sdcard/current_config on your current command line
  • Finally, run a diff on the configuration used with the one I've attached in the linky above in which you have to follow to get at the attached tweaked_config.gz
You will see how much noise is generated by the kernel... am thinking, increase in performance, battery saving as those noises can cost a lot of overhead in terms of milliseconds, may not be noticeable to us mere mortals....

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }

#13
oh!dougal

oh!dougal

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
  • Location:England
  • Devices:DX2 FroYo San Francisco
Just as a side note


I was wondering whether

CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_POWERSAVE is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_USERSPACE is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_ONDEMAND is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_CONSERVATIVE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=y
# CONFIG_CPU_IDLE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_MSM=y



was of any consequence to battery run-time concerns ...

Edited by oh!dougal, 15 January 2011 - 10:12 AM.

  • 0

#14
fonix232

fonix232

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 942 posts
  • Location:Hungary, Debrecen
  • Devices:ZTE Blade [TFT 512RAM]
  • Twitter:@fonix232

  • Clockwork recovery seems to overwrite the original kernel build's command line on boot, with this one, and its different - question is "Is Clockwork recovery boot up procedure hardwired to specify this - rdinit=/init console=ttyDCC0 console=ttyMSM2,115200", I am under the impression that using ttyMSM2,115200 will allow you to somehow see the kernel boot messages whizzing by? How does one do it, this would be a useful thing to have to determine if everything is hunky-dory... nonetheless, the compile type build of the kernel has this "CONFIG_CMDLINE="init=/sbin/init root=/dev/ram rw initrd=0x11000000,16M console=ttyDCC0 mem=88M"


I would be interested in this, someone got it working? ;)

  • 0
If you like my work, invite me for a drink or two!

Also, take a look at my Blade-dedicated site too! fonix232.co.cc

#15
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b

Just as a side note
I was wondering whether


was of any consequence to battery run-time concerns ...


Good catch!!! +1...

Hmmm..... ;)

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }

#16
oh!dougal

oh!dougal

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
  • Location:England
  • Devices:DX2 FroYo San Francisco

#
# OTG and related infrastructure
#
CONFIG_USB_OTG_UTILS=y
# CONFIG_USB_GPIO_VBUS is not set
CONFIG_USB_MSM_OTG_72K=y
# CONFIG_NOP_USB_XCEIV is not set
CONFIG_MMC=y
# CONFIG_MMC_DEBUG is not set
# CONFIG_MMC_PERF_PROFILING is not set
CONFIG_MMC_UNSAFE_RESUME=y
# CONFIG_MMC_EMBEDDED_SDIO is not set
CONFIG_MMC_PARANOID_SD_INIT=y



Ummm.
Does this look like our 2.2 should actually have USB OTG as standard ? ;) :)

  • 0

#17
Quu

Quu

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Could you please add those HUGELONGCONF messages into code-box or something, it takes like 3 minutes to scroll down :<

  • 0

#18
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b

I would be interested in this, someone got it working? :)


I did manage to get the boot up messages by doing a simple job ;)
Have a look here at pastebin.com

cat /proc/last_kmsg > /sdcard/kernel_boot.msgs

Incidentally that boot up messages are from R8 Modaco Rom.... :D

Edited by t0mm13b, 15 January 2011 - 05:28 PM.

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }

#19
fonix232

fonix232

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 942 posts
  • Location:Hungary, Debrecen
  • Devices:ZTE Blade [TFT 512RAM]
  • Twitter:@fonix232

I did manage to get the boot up messages by doing a simple job ;)

cat /proc/last_kmsg > /sdcard/kernel_boot.msgs

Incidentally that boot up messages are from R8 Modaco Rom.... :)


But could these boot messages displayed at boot, instead of greendroid? Á la Android 0.1?

Also, a suggestion: use pastebin.com for these snippets, they really make the page load very slow, and scrolling is a pain in the ass!

  • 0
If you like my work, invite me for a drink or two!

Also, take a look at my Blade-dedicated site too! fonix232.co.cc

#20
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b

But could these boot messages displayed at boot, instead of greendroid? Á la Android 0.1?

Also, a suggestion: use pastebin.com for these snippets, they really make the page load very slow, and scrolling is a pain in the ass!


Sorry fonix232,

I have re-edited all the postings from moi in this thread and now... scrolling is eliminated ;)

Thanks for the heads up! :) :D

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users