Jump to content


Photo

Stagefright

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1
admanirv

admanirv

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 417 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Galaxy S3
I keep hearing stagefright this, stagefright that, but what exactly is it?

I hear that its disabled in most roms, i believe that's because its broken? and thus the high quadrant score (which skips tests) which are actually not a true representation of performance?

What does stagefright do?

What is it useful/used for?

I hear some people say it helps increase smoothness of playback with divX's, games etc when its enabled even though its broken so how can it improve performance?

Can it be fixed?

Is it worth enabling it on RSL7JJ Rom etc?

Sorry for the questions but i'm sure it would benefit other users too, as there seems to be myths floating about too.

Cheers

Edited by admanirv, 14 January 2011 - 08:59 PM.

  • 0

#2
xenopod

xenopod

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Devices:zte blade (RARE OLED LOL)

I keep hearing stagefright this, stagefright that, but what exactly is it?

I hear that its disabled in most roms, i believe that's because its broken? and thus the high quadrant score (which skips tests) which are actually not a true representation of performance?

What does stagefright do?

What is it useful/used for?

I hear some people say it helps increase smoothness of playback with divX's, games etc when its enabled even though its broken so how can it improve performance?

Can it be fixed?

Is it worth enabling it on RSL7JJ Rom etc?

Sorry for the questions but i'm sure it would benefit other users too, as there seems to be myths floating about too.

Cheers



New media framework (Stagefright) that supports local file playback and HTTP progressive streaming; Continued support for OpenCore in Android 2.2

  • 0
Posted Image

#3
admanirv

admanirv

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 417 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Galaxy S3
LOL, copy and pasted from: http://developer.and...highlights.html

I was looking for a better answer(s) but thanks anyways.

  • 0

#4
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

LOL, copy and pasted from: http://developer.and...highlights.html

I was looking for a better answer(s) but thanks anyways.


Ok :

Stagefright is ment to improve performance.

However the implmentation on the blade gives double the score in benchmarks for Quadrant - this makes us suspect that its broken.

However some users say some games are better with it on.

Thats it really

  • 0

#5
Pelemane

Pelemane

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade & Huawei U8800
But are you sure its broken?
my friend has SGS and he got 950 quadrant on 2.1 and over 1500 on 2.2 so thats about 600 points more
im getting 580 on 2.1 and over 1100 when stagefright enabled so its about 600 more
so we both have about same improvement in points

  • 0

#6
admanirv

admanirv

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 417 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Galaxy S3
Thanks mate.

  • 0

#7
admanirv

admanirv

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 417 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Galaxy S3
Can't seem to find much info on it.

  • 0

#8
xenopod

xenopod

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Devices:zte blade (RARE OLED LOL)
to be fair i am not sure, in my r3 rom i turned it on and just played a divx and it played perfectly, so i have a feeling it handles divx code well, but and its a big but, it needs more experimenting with and feedback because i have not yet tried with stagefright off or on 2.1 eclair as yet

  • 0
Posted Image

#9
MrHicks

MrHicks

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 49 posts

But are you sure its broken?
my friend has SGS and he got 950 quadrant on 2.1 and over 1500 on 2.2 so thats about 600 points more
im getting 580 on 2.1 and over 1100 when stagefright enabled so its about 600 more
so we both have about same improvement in points


That's not a real score as Quadrant and stagefright in 2.2 do not play well together. When Quadrant gets to the h264 part of the tests it blips and thinks the test has completed immediately which results in a hugely inflated score as it thinks the device was powerful enough to complete the test in 0 seconds.

  • 0

#10
Pelemane

Pelemane

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade & Huawei U8800

That's not a real score as Quadrant and stagefright in 2.2 do not play well together. When Quadrant gets to the h264 part of the tests it blips and thinks the test has completed immediately which results in a hugely inflated score as it thinks the device was powerful enough to complete the test in 0 seconds.



So is it broken in SGS too or why did he get so much more points after updating to 2.2?

  • 0

#11
MrHicks

MrHicks

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 49 posts

So is it broken in SGS too or why did he get so much more points after updating to 2.2?


Yup, it is pretty much broken for every device running 2.2 and fixed in 2.2.1.

  • 0

#12
Pelemane

Pelemane

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade & Huawei U8800

Yup, it is pretty much broken for every device running 2.2 and fixed in 2.2.1.


Ok but is it bad to have it enabled? quadrant doesnt show right points but is there anything else bad it does or is there something good it does?

  • 0

#13
MrHicks

MrHicks

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 49 posts

Ok but is it bad to have it enabled? quadrant doesnt show right points but is there anything else bad it does or is there something good it does?


In my experience the broken stagefright in 2.2 can mess with the colours and adds a green bar to the top in Youtube videos. Stagefright is also a bit more CPU intensive than Opencore. Pretty much the only reason to keep stagefright on in 2.2 is to show off an incorrect Quadrant score.

  • 0

#14
xenopod

xenopod

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Devices:zte blade (RARE OLED LOL)

In my experience the broken stagefright in 2.2 can mess with the colours and adds a green bar to the top in Youtube videos. Stagefright is also a bit more CPU intensive than Opencore. Pretty much the only reason to keep stagefright on in 2.2 is to show off an incorrect Quadrant score.


well omn my R3 rom youtube is perfect no green bars and stagefright is enabled so really cannot see what you are talking about on this on cpu usage is what i would exspect pretty good really

Edited by xenopod, 14 January 2011 - 11:56 PM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#15
MrHicks

MrHicks

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 49 posts

well omn my R3 rom youtube is perfect no green bars and stagefright is enabled so really cannot see what you are talking about on this on cpu usage is what i would exspect pretty good really


Do you specifically have "media.stagefright.enable-http=true" set in build.prop as well as the other stagefright settings? otherwise you may be using opencore for Youtube. Some users have reported that stagefright has approx 10% more cpu usage in decoding h264 compared to opencore.

  • 0

#16
xenopod

xenopod

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Devices:zte blade (RARE OLED LOL)

Do you specifically have "media.stagefright.enable-http=true" set in build.prop as well as the other stagefright settings? otherwise you may be using opencore for Youtube. Some users have reported that stagefright has approx 10% more cpu usage in decoding h264 compared to opencore.



ro.com.google.clientidbase.ms=android-zte
media.stagefright.enable-player=true
media.stagefright.enable-meta=false
media.stagefright.enable-scan=true
media.stagefright.enable-http=false
net.bt.name=Android
dalvik.vm.stack-trace-file=/data/anr/traces.txt

my setting that seem to work well

i will turn everything on tomorrow and seee if i get a differance, but remember that it will flow through to player i bet when http is off, and opencore is over ridden, thats what the source seems to feel to me but i could be incorrect.

Edited by xenopod, 15 January 2011 - 12:21 AM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#17
MrHicks

MrHicks

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 49 posts

ro.com.google.clientidbase.ms=android-zte
media.stagefright.enable-player=true
media.stagefright.enable-meta=false
media.stagefright.enable-scan=true
media.stagefright.enable-http=false
net.bt.name=Android
dalvik.vm.stack-trace-file=/data/anr/traces.txt

my setting that seem to work well

i will turn everything on tomorrow and seee if i get a differance, but remember that it will flow through to player i bet when http is off, and opencore is over ridden, thats what the source seems to feel to me but i could be incorrect.


It does not 'flow through' to player, with those settings you will be using opencore for Youtube.

  • 0

#18
xenopod

xenopod

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Devices:zte blade (RARE OLED LOL)

It does not 'flow through' to player, with those settings you will be using opencore for Youtube.


we will see tomorrow

Edited by xenopod, 15 January 2011 - 01:22 AM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#19
Skillganon

Skillganon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

ro.com.google.clientidbase.ms=android-zte
media.stagefright.enable-player=true
media.stagefright.enable-meta=false
media.stagefright.enable-scan=true
media.stagefright.enable-http=false
net.bt.name=Android
dalvik.vm.stack-trace-file=/data/anr/traces.txt

my setting that seem to work well

i will turn everything on tomorrow and seee if i get a differance, but remember that it will flow through to player i bet when http is off, and opencore is over ridden, thats what the source seems to feel to me but i could be incorrect.



The Word Highlighted suppose to be True on a normal Build. I remember with the early roms when we had a problem with green bar on youtube someone came up with a solution to disable stagefright on "Player" from "true" to false". However we noticed that in doing so it lowered the quadrant score to approx half. So we changed it back and instead disabled it on "http" which managed to keep the incorrect inflated score on quadrant.

  • 0

#20
Rotmann

Rotmann

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,019 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One, ZTE Blade

i will turn everything on tomorrow and seee if i get a differance, but remember that it will flow through to player i bet when http is off, and opencore is over ridden, thats what the source seems to feel to me but i could be incorrect.

You have to leave http false and change the other ones to true. It should look like this:
media.stagefright.enable-player=true
media.stagefright.enable-meta=true
media.stagefright.enable-scan=true
media.stagefright.enable-http=false
Setting true to http will give you a green bar on HQ yoochoob ;) videos. Also if you have stagefright enabled I saw that it solved some problems with gameloft games that crashed when starting them with the message: Video can not be played.

Edited by Rotmann, 15 January 2011 - 04:22 AM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users