Jump to content


Photo

[APP] Recovery Manager v0.36 [BETA]

* * * - - 7 votes

  • Please log in to reply
312 replies to this topic

#41
aleckxander

aleckxander

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 91 posts
amazing work, i thought that TPT was the final resource, now you are proving me that i'm wrong. and it's not even wednesday; i'm wondering what's going to happen the day after tomorrow ;)

a lil' thought from me. since modaco is setting the standards about zte modding stuff; shouldn't we/you/the planet use a common glossary? not a big deal for me, but i can already see posts (i.e.) asking the difference between rom and firmwares. and again about the standard stuff: shouldn't we/you/the universe decide a standard flashing method and support it? i mean a decision like that would simplify a lot the community life, expecially those poor developers with a PM folder full of request and stuff.. probably i'm OT but the question dumped now and i'm an easy to forget netiquette guy -.-

Edited by aleckxander, 18 January 2011 - 06:22 PM.

  • 0

#42
buneech

buneech

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovenia
  • Devices:ZTE Blade, SE Xperia Mini
  • Twitter:@buneech

Have you done the update thing to get the latest updates?

Did you flash clockwork using fastboot or ZRM? if you use fastboot it does not fully flash the recovery image that will cause it to be unreconized by the application... try installing it from within the application

Yeah, did it with fastboot. I'll try from withing the app. When i click Install a Recovery from your SD card i get a list with five choices, and all are from TitaniumBackup, and all filenames start with com.blogspot.imapp.imgshudformarket2-sth.tar.gz, apk.gz and .properties. And the list isn't scrollable. Weird.

EDIT: Ohh, i see. It searches for img in filenames.

Okay, did it. Harumble! ;)

Edited by buneech, 18 January 2011 - 07:27 PM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#43
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

Yeah, did it with fastboot. I'll try from withing the app. When i click Install a Recovery from your SD card i get a list with five choices, and all are from TitaniumBackup, and all filenames start with com.blogspot.imapp.imgshudformarket2-sth.tar.gz, apk.gz and .properties. And the list isn't scrollable. Weird.

EDIT: Ohh, i see. It searches for img in filenames.


yeah it looks for files ending in .img...

What is the default path for Titanium backup? I'll exclude it from searches in the next version...

  • 0

#44
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404
I've pushed out another big update to the reconized firmwares....

and I wrote a very quick'n'nasty PHP so you can see if your favourite file is supported...


http://recoverymanag...m/manifest.php


I will continue my trawl around and see how many others I can find and update as I go.

  • 0

#45
buneech

buneech

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovenia
  • Devices:ZTE Blade, SE Xperia Mini
  • Twitter:@buneech

What is the default path for Titanium backup? I'll exclude it from searches in the next version...

It's /sdcard/TitaniumBackup

  • 0
Posted Image

#46
vareBlade

vareBlade

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 206 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE-Blade
  • Twitter:@varemenos
Ok, i've tested for a bit. Not many things are actually working for me now. (i guess its beta so its normal).
Posting this, incase you need feedback.

Anyway here is my report:
-Im using the Wind Stock Rom for my Greek TFT Blade (rooted with Universal Androot 1.6.1).
-On Firmware Tab
Install Firmware will show an error popup with this text: "You need to install a custom firmware before you can install a new firmware" (which is probably normal)
Download Firmware (not implemented)
Check for Firmware updates (it doesnt work since i dont have a custom rom)
Backup Current Firmware and Restore Previous Firmware (same error as "install firmware")
-On Recovery Tab
Install Recovery. It shows a popup with only a "cancel" button and stays there for ever (i have wifi connected just in case)
Download Recovery (not implemented)
Check for Recovery Updates (No new updates found. I have flashed your latest clockworks mod through adb, so i cant see if its not working or if its checking correctly)
Reboot into Recovery. It works fine

Edited by vareBlade, 18 January 2011 - 08:59 PM.

  • 0


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Varemenos.com | AKLP.gr
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#47
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

Install Recovery. It shows a popup with only a "cancel" button and stays there for ever (i have wifi connected just in case)
Download Recovery (not implemented)


You need to download a recovery image and put it onto your SD card... it will then let you install that...

The whole download & install part is coming in a future version..

  • 0

#48
dbeckett

dbeckett

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts
Downloaded the app 30mins ago, installed fine but won't open. On first run i gave it root access, and it crashed instantly, everytime i try to reopen it, it crashes again.
I'm still on modaco rom 2.1 r4, tried rebooting, reinstalling it etc with no luck. Also have superuser installed, titanium backup and other root software runs fine. Just saying this for your information, it looks great and thanks for taking the time in making it, i'll be updating to 2.2 this week anyway so it'll be working for that

EDIT- I have superuser but I used fastboot so not UniversalAndroot v1.6.1... so just me being n00bish.. apologies

EDIT2- Still having same problems after using universal androot

Edited by dbeckett, 18 January 2011 - 11:08 PM.

  • 0

#49
That-Guy

That-Guy

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,113 posts
Great job Seb, Will wait for a little more feedback before installing but love the effort you are putting in ;)

  • 0

Huawei U8800 / Ideos X5 - Rooted & Unlocked
Recovery: ClockworkMod Recovery 5.5.0.4 | Rom: Android 2.3.5 - Official Huawei Final Release
Kernel: 2.6.35.7 (un-modified) | Partitions: Stock Partition Layout

....:::: Ultimate Guide to the Huawei U8800 ::::....
Rooting | Custom ROMs | ClockworkMod | Themes | Other Hacks & Tweaks

[U8800] [How To] Root, Install ClockworkMod + Remove Bundled Apps from Official 2.3.5

Posted Image

WEBSITE - TWITTER - GOOGLE+ - BLOG


#50
leetron1

leetron1

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 352 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cumbria
  • Devices:Ascend Y300 (Orange Blade)
Still wont recognise my JJ RLS7 or 2.5.1.8>>

Thanks though are very much in order

Edited by leetron1, 18 January 2011 - 10:08 PM.

  • 0

#51
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

Still wont recognise my JJ RLS7 or 2.5.1.8>>

Thanks though are very much in order


Have you clicked the Check for Firmware Updates in the Firmware tab?

It will download the latest list that Sebastian has published (over internet)

  • 0

#52
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
If you want to see Recovery Manager in action - Video is now on my guide
http://android.modac...-the-zte-blade/

  • 0

#53
leetron1

leetron1

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 352 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cumbria
  • Devices:Ascend Y300 (Orange Blade)

Have you clicked the Check for Firmware Updates in the Firmware tab?

It will download the latest list that Sebastian has published (over internet)


Just get 'there is nothing to update'...sorry, would LOVE it to be working for me

  • 0

#54
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

Just get 'there is nothing to update'...sorry, would LOVE it to be working for me



Have you edited your /system/build.prop ?

  • 0

#55
leetron1

leetron1

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 352 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cumbria
  • Devices:Ascend Y300 (Orange Blade)

Have you edited your /system/build.prop ?


I have yeah..didnt think of that..altered vm heap & screen density to 230..guess that alters md5 sum when checked?

Reinstalled 2.5.1.8 so now thats recognised

EDIT Its now accessing my nan backups on SD when I hit Restore Prev... so making some progress..great stuff!!

Guess best way to go is to put RLS8 onto SD then allow RM to Install Firmware..should all work a treat from there now Clockwork has been recognised?

Edited by leetron1, 18 January 2011 - 11:02 PM.

  • 0

#56
shadowninty

shadowninty

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 418 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cork City, EU
  • Devices:Xperia Play, ZTE Blade
keep up the good work seb!

  • 0
Device: ZTE Blade [TFT, White] ROM: CyanogenMod 7 [Latest Nightly] Android 2.3.4
Sign up for Dropbox, and earn us both 250MB EXTRA Free Online Storage on top of 2GB you get already - The Cloud, its the future
Dropbox lets you easily sync files between your OS's (including Windows, Ubuntu and Android!)

#57
stanno

stanno

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
  • Location:London
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
This is brilliant Sebastian! I've been fannying around for weeks trying to pluck up the courage to get a new ROM in. I've now got Clockwork installed without having to open Terminal once! Thanks very much.

  • 0

#58
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
Anyone getting Force-closes - Re-install the Recovery Manager APP (from APK) - Kill all processes and re-launch.

  • 0

#59
tonydl

tonydl

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 105 posts
Hey Sebastian,

I just wanted to thank you very very much for your great work. This app looks really promising - I am totally new to this modaco and the ZTE Blade aka OSF but I am already amazed by this forum and community.
Gonna try this soon when I switch from my JJ RO.. ehrm firmware to the next one to test out which one is the best ;)

And I loved your FAQ.


Thank you,
tony

  • 0

#60
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404
A slight bump to v0.26b...

I've added a few things to the FAQ, and the change log shows what's new...

  • 0




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users