Jump to content


Photo

A full guide to getting Android 2.2 on your phone for total newbs like me :)

* * * * * 3 votes

  • Please log in to reply
80 replies to this topic

#21
joeymk

joeymk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540
Can someone tell me is this working fine, are there any bugs that i should know, or it's working everything perfect.

  • 0

#22
arvind92

arvind92

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:lg gt540 optimus
im getting a bootloop after carrying out the first part of the instructions to enable fastboot....only the android logo is there..pls helpp!

  • 0

#23
arvind92

arvind92

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:lg gt540 optimus
im also getting a snowy screen (similar to a tv with no signal)..after getting the cyanogen mod logo..please help

  • 0

#24
arvind92

arvind92

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:lg gt540 optimus
all those ppl who are getting cyanogen mod logo along with a grainy snowy screen havnt typed this command properly
fastboot.exe -w

there is a space after the fastboot.exe..just thought it would help..

  • 0

#25
joeymk

joeymk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540

Can someone tell me is this working fine, are there any bugs that i should know, or it's working everything perfect.


Can someone please tell me

  • 0

#26
AerospaceMango

AerospaceMango

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 117 posts

Can someone please tell me


Seems to be working ok....

I installed on friday night, and all seems well, except..............

Is anyone else having problems with 3g? Not sure if it's working!

  • 0

#27
Sp1337

Sp1337

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540
Just ignore my post, haha

Only problem I've had thus far is SD card being "damaged" for some reason. Running chkdsk + format in windows to see if it fixes!

Edited by Sp1337, 08 February 2011 - 04:21 AM.

  • 0

#28
Maplefreak12345

Maplefreak12345

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Will i still be able to call people even if i use a European ROM, So say i live in the US or AUS and i install this ROM, will i still be able to call/sms friends, and will they be able to call me?

  • 0

#29
joeymk

joeymk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540
Now you want to download this file: Flashing CyanogenMod.zip and extract it to a folder called 'Android' (without the quotes '') on the C: drive (you'll probably need to make this folder yourself.


Where i can find this CyanogenMod.zip to download

  • 0

#30
inspectorgecko

inspectorgecko

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540

Now you want to download this file: Flashing CyanogenMod.zip and extract it to a folder called 'Android' (without the quotes '') on the C: drive (you'll probably need to make this folder yourself.
Where i can find this CyanogenMod.zip to download


If you type "flashing cyanogenmod.zip" into a Google search, it is the top result hosted on mediafire, inside the zip file is all the bits you need and the instructions for installation, hope this helps :P I updated a while back and it works perfectly with the exception of fm radio, also it is able to be over clocked to 787 safely.

Ryan

Edited by inspectorgecko, 09 February 2011 - 10:42 PM.

  • 0

#31
Underdog2k9

Underdog2k9

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540
For all the German users and all others who need the Files of Fastboot.exe and the Froyo Rom, i have written the Tutorial in German at www.michabilbabg.de
the files are:
Rom: http://www.mediafire...10x83w87bo4uh20
Fastboot.exe: http://www.michabilb...de/fastboot.zip

  • 0

#32
wyeko

wyeko

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Thanks for detailed tutorial, but still...i don't know. Software update (KDZ) won't recognize my phone. I'm getting message "PHONE WAS NOT FOUND".
I have rooted 2.1 android (from official update).

  • 0

#33
mistermentality

mistermentality

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus GT540
  • Twitter:@none

im getting a bootloop after carrying out the first part of the instructions to enable fastboot....only the android logo is there..pls helpp!


I found the phone would reboot in a loop when connected via usb if I tried to switch it off while still connected by usb. But if not connected by usb at this point I think maybe you missed out a fastboot command.

Dave

  • 0

#34
ragnar soa

ragnar soa

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
when i was installing europe open+fastboot installation crashed.
1TYPE_WPARAM_PROGRESSIVE_POS=5 TYPE=205 lParam(pos)=132 nResult=0
[14:08:42:263] : Error Read in WaitRsp
[14:08:42:263] : Sending Pkt Seq : 7575
[14:08:42:355] : Error Read in WaitRsp
[14:08:42:355] : Sending Pkt Seq : 7576
[14:08:42:355] : Clear
[14:08:42:355] : WM_COPYDATA øŽ½ĆĮö ŗø³æ 3 - Close Port
[14:08:42:355] : Close Port<<
[14:08:42:355] : [COM14] ERROR Dl_AsyncWrite() TYPE_LPARAM_UPGRADE_ERROR_WRITE_TO_FLASH
[14:08:42:355] : TYPE_WPARAM_UPGRADE_ERROR
[14:08:42:356] : øŽ½ĆĮö ŗø³æ - TYPE_WPARAM_UPGRADE_ERROR Error Code = 4008
[14:08:42:425] : Log finished

So i brick'd my gt540
All it does is looping LG logo

I am able to boot into fastboot (i guess)
hollding down camera and powering phone up.
Lg logo appears and disappears, screen is black and backlight illuminates.
But if i connect it trough usb, my computer doesn't recognise eany device.

Using win 7. ultimate

eany help?

  • 0

#35
mistermentality

mistermentality

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus GT540
  • Twitter:@none

when i was installing europe open+fastboot installation crashed.
1TYPE_WPARAM_PROGRESSIVE_POS=5 TYPE=205 lParam(pos)=132 nResult=0
[14:08:42:263] : Error Read in WaitRsp
[14:08:42:263] : Sending Pkt Seq : 7575
[14:08:42:355] : Error Read in WaitRsp
[14:08:42:355] : Sending Pkt Seq : 7576
[14:08:42:355] : Clear
[14:08:42:355] : WM_COPYDATA øŽ½ĆĮö ŗø³æ 3 - Close Port
[14:08:42:355] : Close Port<<
[14:08:42:355] : [COM14] ERROR Dl_AsyncWrite() TYPE_LPARAM_UPGRADE_ERROR_WRITE_TO_FLASH
[14:08:42:355] : TYPE_WPARAM_UPGRADE_ERROR
[14:08:42:356] : øŽ½ĆĮö ŗø³æ - TYPE_WPARAM_UPGRADE_ERROR Error Code = 4008
[14:08:42:425] : Log finished

So i brick'd my gt540
All it does is looping LG logo

I am able to boot into fastboot (i guess)
hollding down camera and powering phone up.
Lg logo appears and disappears, screen is black and backlight illuminates.
But if i connect it trough usb, my computer doesn't recognise eany device.

Using win 7. ultimate

eany help?

It looks like you had an error with your pc speaking to the phone. If you are booting into fastboot mode, try following the commands for the fastboot section and when the dos prompt says waiting for device reinstall the fastboot drivers that were attached to this post.

Someone more experienced can probably diagnose the error better but it does seem the error was on writing to the phone itself. You haven't bricked it though, I and others have had the reboot logo loop and it isa good sign as it means your phone is working and trying to start but usually means that there is no rom installed so it resets again (something like when a pc has no hard drive to boot from so you just get an error message).

Dave

  • 0

#36
aquilinux

aquilinux

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
nice howto! i'm up and running with 2.2.1 thanks!!!!
btw, i did a contacts backup with mybackup root... can i safely restore contacts to the phone?
for apps, i think i'd reinstall them :huh:

thanks again.

  • 0

#37
ilovelg

ilovelg

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 264 posts
  • Location:Lithuania
  • Devices:LG GT540

nice howto! i'm up and running with 2.2.1 thanks!!!!
btw, i did a contacts backup with mybackup root... can i safely restore contacts to the phone?
for apps, i think i'd reinstall them :huh:

thanks again.


Why go 2.2 when you can go 2.3.2 which is working even better then 2.2 on our phones O.o

  • 0
Using: CyanogenMod7 (2.3.5) @ GT540 Swiftdroid2 RC3 by Mur4ik.

#38
ragnar soa

ragnar soa

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Problem solved on win xp pc
but i got another one.

Phone doesn't recognise/mount sd or sd hc card

  • 0

#39
scottie1973

scottie1973

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Location:England
  • Devices:Defy
excellent post..followed it to the letter..and within 20 mins im running 2.2.1.

  • 0

#40
ragnar soa

ragnar soa

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

but i got another one.

Phone doesn't recognise/mount sd or sd hc card

This seems to be quite common error.
I've been looking all ower of forums. And there's. Hundreds of people's out there. All with same Issue on various devices. But, I haven't seen a solution.
Can someone help please?

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users