Jump to content


Photo

3 quick questions RE: JapJellyfish RLS8 flashing

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1
Cardyology

Cardyology

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North, UK
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, iPad
  • Twitter:@Cardyology
Hey guys, sorry if this is in the wrong thread, I just need a quick bit of advice from one of the more seasoned members of this fantastic community.
I'm by no means an android noob, had a UK G1 from day 1 & went through all the cyanogenmod roms , even had 2.2 on it at one stage! Then I went over to the dark side for 12 months (iphone) but now im back to Android & loving it again!

I recently purchased an orange san fransico in white & im really impressed. The only area that laets it down is tha camera, but for £100, whos complaining>? not meh!

Since buying it i;ve rooted/unlocked/installed clockwork on it & i;ve tried JJrls6, 7 & im now at rls8. Its a fantastic rom, combined with launcher pro it does everything i need, & very quickly! I jsut need a bit of advice with what to flash/what nto to flash to it.

SO, my questions are as follows......

In the JJfish from thread there are a tonne of .zip files, I need a little help understanding what they all are. For the sake of easiness i;ve copied/pasted here....

Japanese_Jellyfish_RLS8.zip (for normal Clockwork install) (119.2Mb system) - This is the actual ROM. I understand this & have flashed it (actually just re-flashed it to kinda start from scratch to be honest) flashes using latest clockwork mod. I also have NAND backups made to be safe.
Japanese_Jellyfish_RLS8_image.zip (for repartitioning and install) - I know i dont need this (or im pretty sure I dont) as I dont use Apps2SD, or dont make a point of using it so thats fine. That correct?
Japanese_Jellyfish_RLS8_ahb_overclocked.zip (50% AHB bus overclocking at speeds above 600MHz addon) - What is this? DOes this actually increase the clock speed of the phone? Do i need to flash this? I do want the best possible performance?
Japanese_Jellyfish_RLS8_hw_ui.zip (Addon to enable hardware accellerated UI) - Again, what is this? I;ve read that it improves performance when playing 3D games etc which I just dont really do (apart from angry birds) at the expense of battery life. DO i need this? Will it increas the overall performance of my phone?
Japanese_Jellyfish_RLS8_circle_battery.zip (Addon to enable circle battery indicator) - I know what this is & LOVE it, thanks :)
Japanese_Jellyfish_RLS8_deskclock.zip (Addon to replace Alarm Clock with Desk Clock) - Again, I know what this is & love it! Thanks :D

Japanese_Jellyfish_RLS8_smartdialer_addon.zip (Restore Smart Dialer and RLS7 version of Contacts)[/color] - i may flash this, not too sure/bothered yet.

I want the best possible performance out of my phone, is it right to assume that I can overclock using setCPU? DO i need that AHB patch installed? or is it better without?

Thanks guys ;) sorry again if this is in the wrong place.

  • 0

#2
Swimmerboy

Swimmerboy

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
Shouldn't this be in the dedicated Japanese Jellyfish thread?

  • 0
Posted Image

#3
_amano

_amano

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

Japanese_Jellyfish_RLS8_image.zip (for repartitioning and install) - I know i dont need this (or im pretty sure I dont) as I dont use Apps2SD, or dont make a point of using it so thats fine. That correct?


This is just an alternative way to flash your ROM. A way that doesn't require clockwork. If you did the clockwork method, you can just ignore this image ROM.

Edited by _amano, 20 January 2011 - 11:35 AM.

  • 0

#4
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad

Japanese_Jellyfish_RLS8_image.zip (for repartitioning and install) - I know i dont need this (or im pretty sure I dont) as I dont use Apps2SD, or dont make a point of using it so thats fine. That correct?

No, this does not have anything to do with A2SD. The repartitioning is that it repartitions your NAND from 208Mb system and 207Mb data to 128Mb system and 287Mb data. It will make your choices limited to small slimmed ROMs but also give you another 80Mb for apps on /data.

Japanese_Jellyfish_RLS8_ahb_overclocked.zip (50% AHB bus overclocking at speeds above 600MHz addon) - What is this? DOes this actually increase the clock speed of the phone? Do i need to flash this? I do want the best possible performance?

Both the standard kernel and the AHB version is overclockable. However the AHB version also overclocks AHB bus which increase the speed of memory access. Works for most people but not for all.

Japanese_Jellyfish_RLS8_hw_ui.zip (Addon to enable hardware accellerated UI) - Again, what is this? I;ve read that it improves performance when playing 3D games etc which I just dont really do (apart from angry birds) at the expense of battery life. DO i need this? Will it increas the overall performance of my phone?

Some people like it, some not. I don't use it myself. Propably uses more battery as it turns the GPU on more often.

Japanese_Jellyfish_RLS8_smartdialer_addon.zip (Restore Smart Dialer and RLS7 version of Contacts)[/color] - i may flash this, not too sure/bothered yet.

Unless you really miss the ZTE dialer I'd stay away from it.

I want the best possible performance out of my phone, is it right to assume that I can overclock using setCPU? DO i need that AHB patch installed? or is it better without?

Yes, No and No.

  • 0
Blog - App

#5
Cardyology

Cardyology

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North, UK
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, iPad
  • Twitter:@Cardyology

Shouldn't this be in the dedicated Japanese Jellyfish thread?

Possibly - I'm not sure. Thanks for the heads up.

This is just an alternative way to flash your ROM. A way that doesn't require clockwork. If you did the clockwork method, you can just ignore this image ROM.

Ahh, ok. I have clockwork installed, did it via fastboot-mac the day i got the phone so I wont be needing this ;) Thanks!



No, this does not have anything to do with A2SD. The repartitioning is that it repartitions your NAND from 208Mb system and 207Mb data to 128Mb system and 287Mb data. It will make your choices limited to small slimmed ROMs but also give you another 80Mb for apps on /data.
Ok. I;m fine with the standard NAND partitions (at least i have been so far) so i'll leave that well alone!

Both the standard kernel and the AHB version is overclockable. However the AHB version also overclocks AHB bus which increase the speed of memory access. Works for most people but not for all.

So it is worth installing this then using setCPU to increase max clock speed?


Some people like it, some not. I don't use it myself. Propably uses more battery as it turns the GPU on more often.

I'll leave this alone


Unless you really miss the ZTE dialer I'd stay away from it.

ZTE dialer is fine so i'll leave that too.


Yes, No and No.


So what would be the best min/max setCPU settings? Can anyone provide a link for setCPU & Blade-specific settings?

Thanks for all your help guys. Love this community. Much love to all.

  • 0

#6
Swimmerboy

Swimmerboy

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

So what would be the best min/max setCPU settings? Can anyone provide a link for setCPU & Blade-specific settings?


If you're looking for performance - stick it up as high as it'll go. If you're looking for battery savings set it as low as you can cope with (it'll get very sluggish at slow speeds).

Best bet is to play with it and find out what suits your personal preferences

  • 0
Posted Image

#7
tonydl

tonydl

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 105 posts

So it is worth installing this then using setCPU to increase max clock speed?


As far as I know I think nothing will happen - if you re not using setCPU as well. So this mod won't change the default behaviour if the CPU is not overclocked by setCPU.


By the way:
When I am installing these mods - do I have to reboot the phone after each one or can I install them directly after each other? And do they need a date or factory wipe?

  • 0

#8
Cardyology

Cardyology

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North, UK
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, iPad
  • Twitter:@Cardyology

As far as I know I think nothing will happen - if you re not using setCPU as well. So this mod won't change the default behaviour if the CPU is not overclocked by setCPU.
By the way:
When I am installing these mods - do I have to reboot the phone after each one or can I install them directly after each other? And do they need a date or factory wipe?

Thanks for that mate.

I;ve installed the ROM itself & the AHB overclock patch, the ROM required a wipe of both cache & Data, the overclock one didnt require a wipe of any kind (As far as i can tell).

  • 0

#9
sensory

sensory

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leeds, UK
  • Devices:HTC Desire, Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@PopeTackler
I've got my Blade overlocked to 700Mhz which makes it nice and zippy. It's only an extra 100Mhz over the default and I haven't seen any battery loss but I've definitely noticed the increase in speed.

  • 0

#10
madnav

madnav

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Need to clear this query since we are on this topic.

the AHB overclocked variant.. Do is pre-overclock it of is it upto the user to do that? I mean, the AHB Bus.

What i understand so far.

Standard variant: CPU = Stock Clock settings, Overclockable with SetCPU; AHB = Stock Clock settings

AHB OC variant: CPU = Stock Clock settings, Overclockable with SetCPU; AHB = Already Overclocked

Please correct me if i'm wrong.

  • 0

#11
90180360

90180360

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 261 posts
  • Devices:N/A
  • Twitter:@N/A

Shouldn't this be in the dedicated Japanese Jellyfish thread?

Yes, the original JJ thread is totally not cluttered enough already.
Imo it would be much better to separate newbie questions from ROM development, but maybe that's just me.

  • 0
.

#12
Cardyology

Cardyology

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North, UK
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, iPad
  • Twitter:@Cardyology

I've got my Blade overlocked to 700Mhz which makes it nice and zippy. It's only an extra 100Mhz over the default and I haven't seen any battery loss but I've definitely noticed the increase in speed.

How did you do that? setCPU? WHat exactly did you do to get it to 700mhz, just turn up max cpu clock to 700mhz? whats the low-end setting>? cos that sounds great :lol: ! x

Need to clear this query since we are on this topic.

the AHB overclocked variant.. Do is pre-overclock it of is it upto the user to do that? I mean, the AHB Bus.

What i understand so far.

Standard variant: CPU = Stock Clock settings, Overclockable with SetCPU; AHB = Stock Clock settings

AHB OC variant: CPU = Stock Clock settings, Overclockable with SetCPU; AHB = Already Overclocked

Please correct me if i'm wrong.


The AHB as far as i know is an addon once you;ve flashed the ROM iteslf. Judging by the other replies in this thread, it helps with overclocking as it speeds up access to the memory. WIthout the patch, setCPU will only raise the mx clock speed? amirite?

Yes, the original JJ thread is totally not cluttered enough already.
Imo it would be much better to separate newbie questions from ROM development, but maybe that's just me.

Ya, the jellyfish thread has over 9000 replies, i felt a bit guilty about starting a new thread but i think these are pretty basic questions that a lot of people wanted the answer to. Thanks to everyone for their input, im learning very quickly & loving my phone more & more everyday!
Cardz x

  • 0

#13
Tobriand

Tobriand

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
Thanks for starting this one! Exactly the same questions were running through my mind - knew I wanted to go the slimmed down partition route, but wasn't sure how.

How exactly do you go about using the addons anyway, though? Is it exactly like flashing a rom (except possibly you get away without wiping data)? Or is there a different option to choose in Clockwork?

Was particularly confused about how to use the "image" file properly... think I've got it now :lol:

  • 0

#14
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
I set a Profile on my CPU as

When Screen OFF

248 > 460

And on the main Screen

480-710

This stops the Lag when you try to do something and the cpu is at 248mhz keeping it a bit higher makes it feel more responsive.

The lower top-end when the screen is off stops background apps using more power when I am not using it.

  • 0

#15
umster

umster

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts

I set a Profile on my CPU as

When Screen OFF

248 > 460

And on the main Screen

480-710

This stops the Lag when you try to do something and the cpu is at 248mhz keeping it a bit higher makes it feel more responsive.

The lower top-end when the screen is off stops background apps using more power when I am not using it.



Excellent, that was my next question and you have just answered it!!! I'll have a go right now

thank you once again

  • 0

#16
umster

umster

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
Ok :lol: so I've now used SetCPU V2.1.0 to overclock the OSF

addon installed

Japanese_Jellyfish_RLS8_ahb_overclocked.zip

did not install , do I need to install this???

Japanese_Jellyfish_RLS8_hw_ui.zip

Please correct me if i'm wrong, thanks

Load up SetCPU

you have 5 tabs at the top of the screen
1. main
2. profiles
3.advanced
4. info
5. about

click on main
Scaling = on demand
tick set on boot
Max = 710400 ( I can't seem to set it to an exact number of my choice)
Min = 480000

Click on profile
Click on add profile
you will now be on the edit profile screen

Profile= off screen
max = 480000
min = 245760 (I can't seem to set it to an exact number of my choice on both, why?)
Scaling = on demand
Priority = 50 (don't know what this is for)
click on save

click on enable

all done, I think!!

on Quadrant Standard - Full Benchmark

score = 549

Good or Bad not sure?

your comments please

Thanks again :)

Edited by umster, 22 January 2011 - 01:23 PM.

  • 0

#17
Cardyology

Cardyology

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North, UK
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, iPad
  • Twitter:@Cardyology

Thanks for starting this one! Exactly the same questions were running through my mind - knew I wanted to go the slimmed down partition route, but wasn't sure how.

How exactly do you go about using the addons anyway, though? Is it exactly like flashing a rom (except possibly you get away without wiping data)? Or is there a different option to choose in Clockwork?

Was particularly confused about how to use the "image" file properly... think I've got it now :lol:

No problem mate. Both me & my housemate were wondering so I decided to pose the questions.
I installed the ahb overclcock, then setCPU at 710max, 480min & found that I kept getting random lockups then rebooting.
I also have the hw uinaddon installed. Not sure if that makes a difference. Short bench takes 450 -ish ms.

To flash them, reboot into recovery (i recommend also flashing the reboot option to your power button as found here http://android.modac...-in-power-menu/ I love this, thanks creator! ) , Then jut flash the zip as you would a ROM. A NAND backup is recommended first.

Edited by Cardyology, 23 January 2011 - 09:26 PM.

  • 0

#18
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

No problem mate. Both me & my housemate were wondering so I decided to pose the questions.
I installed the ahb overclcock, then setCPU at 710max, 480min & found that I kept getting random lockups then rebooting.
I also have the hw uinaddon installed,


All CPU's are different - some can go quicker some can not - its just luck.

  • 0

#19
umster

umster

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts

All CPU's are different - some can go quicker some can not - its just luck.


Steven,

Have I done it right!! Please let me know,

I didnt install Japanese_Jellyfish_RLS8_hw_ui.zip do I need to ???

My battery seems to die very quickly... doesnt last a day!!

what is your quadrant score?

Edited by umster, 23 January 2011 - 09:35 PM.

  • 0

#20
Cardyology

Cardyology

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North, UK
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, iPad
  • Twitter:@Cardyology
Using the settings in the post by urmster I have noticed a real good speed increase. Can't comment on the battery life yet but I've got 585 in quant as opposed to the 500 ish I have been getting.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users