Jump to content


Photo

Is there a 2.2 ROM with a working proximity sensor?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1
tonydl

tonydl

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 105 posts
I could'nt find detailled information about this. Is the proximity sensor not working for all of you or is it just me?
Sometimes I accidentally hang up because it seems that I touch the phone with my ear while calling somebody.
The proximity sensor tester from the market wasn't able to detect anything at all. I hope my device is not broken :lol:
Or is it just the JJ ROM which somehow breaks the proximity sensor?

----

Oh and there's another thing:
Does somebody know a ROM (or a fix) with a working accellerometer while the screen is in standby? Would be great for apps like step-counters (while jogging) and sleep-phase alarms (to save some battery).



thanks in advance,
tony

  • 0

#2
wbaw

wbaw

    account closed

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,885 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
The proximity sensor works fine on my phone with JJ & all the other roms I've tried. Your phone may be broken.

No known fix, as far as I'm aware, a lot of things seem to get killed in standby. The only workaround might be to keep the phone from going into sleep mode, but that's going to hurt your battery life a lot.

  • 0

#3
ThrashMan

ThrashMan

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Miserable old git!
  • Devices:ZTE Blade [UK 512MB TFT]
All sensors working for me with Pauls 2.2 R4

  • 0

#4
doubleluckstur

doubleluckstur

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 144 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, England
  • Devices:Nexus 4
  • Twitter:@doubleluckstur
The proximity sensor works for me in every rom apart from JJ. It's strange... I've tried out most roms on here on my white SF TFT screen and only JJ proximity does not work.

I don't think it's broken. Why don't you try a different rom to see if we are having the same problem with JJ?

Edited by doubleluckstur, 27 January 2011 - 06:33 PM.

  • 0
Nexus 4. That is all.

#5
The Soup Thief

The Soup Thief

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,047 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin
  • Devices:Nexus 5 (N4 etc retired)
  • Twitter:@TheSoupThief

All sensors working for me with Pauls 2.2 R4


fine on paul's r11 also

  • 0

#6
oh!dougal

oh!dougal

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
  • Location:England
  • Devices:DX2 FroYo San Francisco

...
Oh and there's another thing:
Does somebody know a ROM (or a fix) with a working accellerometer while the screen is in standby? Would be great for apps like step-counters (while jogging) and sleep-phase alarms (to save some battery).
thanks in advance,
tony


Tony you are confusing two different phone states

- screen save (screen off, touch locked, front buttons wake the screen to lockscreen, but everything else available)
and
- "proper" sleep, when everything except the phone radio (and thus mobile data), and the power button are disabled. So, in "proper sleep" there is no gps, no wifi, no missed call led and no accelerometer either. That (for now) is the way the hardware works, whatever rom you use.

Lots of apps (music players, MyTracks (GPS tracking), etc, etc) can keep the phone awake and doing stuff with the screen off.
And when its on charge its in screen-save, and NOT in "proper sleep", don't be fooled like so many are by that behaviour.
Oh yeah, you also need to know (before you post on the subject) that when it times out and 'goes to sleep', the phone goes into screen-save for a few seconds on its way into proper sleep ...

Nothing is going to be able to talk to the accelerometer while in "proper sleep", because the sensor is not going to be getting any power.
Shouldn't be a problem (apart from power consumption) in screen-save though.


Bitch at ZTE like the rest of us, and use search to find lots of discussion of this power management stuff (but not specifically about the accelerometer) going back to October. Notification LEDs, waking from the front buttons and wifi not staying alive are the main headings you'll find this under ...

  • 0

#7
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,253 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Moto E

I could'nt find detailled information about this. Is the proximity sensor not working for all of you or is it just me?
Sometimes I accidentally hang up because it seems that I touch the phone with my ear while calling somebody.
The proximity sensor tester from the market wasn't able to detect anything at all. I hope my device is not broken :lol:
Or is it just the JJ ROM which somehow breaks the proximity sensor?


could you please enter engineering mode

put the phone into "Engineering Mode" first, by dialling *ZTE*OPENEM# (*983*673636#) -- this action will be confirmed by a quick pop-up.


dial *ZTE*CHIPINFO# (or *983*24474636#) and post the information presented

To close this mode, dial *ZTE*CLOSEEM# (*983*2567336#) -- this then prompts whether you want to do a Factory Reset, which you do not have to do (you can simply Back away from this screen).


there are 3 different screen types out there

2 TFTs Truly and Lead,

and one OLED, Samsung.

If we can find out which one you have, it can be reported back and looked at.

  • 0

#8
doubleluckstur

doubleluckstur

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 144 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, England
  • Devices:Nexus 4
  • Twitter:@doubleluckstur
edit*

what are you looking for? (I got the screen up right now)

Edited by doubleluckstur, 27 January 2011 - 10:16 PM.

  • 0
Nexus 4. That is all.

#9
tonydl

tonydl

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 105 posts

Tony you are confusing two different phone states

- screen save (screen off, touch locked, front buttons wake the screen to lockscreen, but everything else available)
and
- "proper" sleep, when everything except the phone radio (and thus mobile data), and the power button are disabled. So, in "proper sleep" there is no gps, no wifi, no missed call led and no accelerometer either. That (for now) is the way the hardware works, whatever rom you use.

Lots of apps (music players, MyTracks (GPS tracking), etc, etc) can keep the phone awake and doing stuff with the screen off.
And when its on charge its in screen-save, and NOT in "proper sleep", don't be fooled like so many are by that behaviour.
Oh yeah, you also need to know (before you post on the subject) that when it times out and 'goes to sleep', the phone goes into screen-save for a few seconds on its way into proper sleep ...


thanks for your clarification. but while the "screen save" the phones display is completely off, isnt it?
Because this is what this app tries to do - truning the screen off - the accelerometer won't work then. I have to use a "dim only" option - which will let the display "glow" a little during the night.
(I am referring to this app).


2 TFTs Truly and Lead,

and one OLED, Samsung.

If we can find out which one you have, it can be reported back and looked at.


I got the Samsung OLED display.



I am going to wipe and reinstall the current JJ9 ROM. Maybe I'll test another ROM when the proximity meter still won't work - but actually I like the JJ - seems quite good.




thank you all for your replies :-)

tony

Edited by tonydl, 27 January 2011 - 10:20 PM.

  • 0

#10
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,253 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Moto E
I'm samsung oled as well, and my proximity sensor works fine. I'd reflash

  • 0

#11
Maringer

Maringer

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 474 posts
I've encountered the proximity sensor problems in the past with one of kk's FinnishFillyjonk ROMs.

If you can manage to enter engineering mode, you can recalibrate the sensor quite easily and this will sort the problem out.

However, I'm using JJ9, and I can't access the engineering mode using the codes.

I understand that you may need to install some files to be able to access this engineering mode.

As I'm not sure what these are, personally, I'd install a FinnishFillyjonk ROM (which I know supports the EM), recalibrate the sensors, check it is working correctly and then reinstall JJ9.

A little time-consuming, but worth a try, I'd have thought!

  • 0

#12
doubleluckstur

doubleluckstur

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 144 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, England
  • Devices:Nexus 4
  • Twitter:@doubleluckstur
ive reflashed twice.. rls7 was fine but rls8 had the same problem. i think mine has a tft screen but im not sure how to find out.

  • 0
Nexus 4. That is all.

#13
doubleluckstur

doubleluckstur

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 144 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, England
  • Devices:Nexus 4
  • Twitter:@doubleluckstur

I've encountered the proximity sensor problems in the past with one of kk's FinnishFillyjonk ROMs.

If you can manage to enter engineering mode, you can recalibrate the sensor quite easily and this will sort the problem out.

However, I'm using JJ9, and I can't access the engineering mode using the codes.

I understand that you may need to install some files to be able to access this engineering mode.

As I'm not sure what these are, personally, I'd install a FinnishFillyjonk ROM (which I know supports the EM), recalibrate the sensors, check it is working correctly and then reinstall JJ9.

A little time-consuming, but worth a try, I'd have thought!


all you have to do is download the zte dialer from rls 7 (its on the JJ download page) and flash that; this will give the zte functions back to the device. can you please tell me how to recalibrate the sensors? that would be much appreciated :lol:

  • 0
Nexus 4. That is all.

#14
Maringer

Maringer

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 474 posts
I don't remember the exact procedure but, as I recall, once you have entered engineering mode you can scroll down the screen and there should be a sensors section. I think that there is a button to switch between light and proximity sensors with another button to recalibrate the selected sensor. This worked with my girlfriend's SF (an LCD one).

  • 0

#15
_amano

_amano

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
My sensor is fine with JJ RSL9. Austrian Blade (Truly display).

  • 0

#16
punkmilitia

punkmilitia

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Location:South England
  • Devices:San Francisco
  • Twitter:@shaunhoare

Tony you are confusing two different phone states

- screen save (screen off, touch locked, front buttons wake the screen to lockscreen, but everything else available)
and
- "proper" sleep, when everything except the phone radio (and thus mobile data), and the power button are disabled. So, in "proper sleep" there is no gps, no wifi, no missed call led and no accelerometer either. That (for now) is the way the hardware works, whatever rom you use.

Lots of apps (music players, MyTracks (GPS tracking), etc, etc) can keep the phone awake and doing stuff with the screen off.
And when its on charge its in screen-save, and NOT in "proper sleep", don't be fooled like so many are by that behaviour.
Oh yeah, you also need to know (before you post on the subject) that when it times out and 'goes to sleep', the phone goes into screen-save for a few seconds on its way into proper sleep ...

Nothing is going to be able to talk to the accelerometer while in "proper sleep", because the sensor is not going to be getting any power.
Shouldn't be a problem (apart from power consumption) in screen-save though.


Bitch at ZTE like the rest of us, and use search to find lots of discussion of this power management stuff (but not specifically about the accelerometer) going back to October. Notification LEDs, waking from the front buttons and wifi not staying alive are the main headings you'll find this under ...


hmm. well... I'm on JJ8 and when I press the power button once so everything is still running in the background - but so I cant touch the screen by accedent and when I use CardioTrainer and go for a walk it doesn't track it, it only does it when the screen is left 100% on, OP, don't worry, your phone is ok.

Edited by punkmilitia, 27 January 2011 - 11:53 PM.

  • 0
http://shaunsdomain.tk
if any of my posts help you, why not look into getting a GG simcard? free UNLIMITED internet, unlimited texts and 250mins a month for just a £10 topup, by signing up for a sim with the sim pic below we both get £5 free! :DPosted Image

#17
Rotmann

Rotmann

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,019 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One, ZTE Blade
CardioTrainer/RunKeeper/Endomondo work perfectly on FLB R6 and Seb's de-softened when you put the phone to sleep (press Power once). Proximity sensor also. I think there is a bug in JJ.

  • 0

#18
tonydl

tonydl

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 105 posts

CardioTrainer/RunKeeper/Endomondo work perfectly on FLB R6 and Seb's de-softened when you put the phone to sleep (press Power once). Proximity sensor also. I think there is a bug in JJ.


thanks - I think I have to give FLB a try. As far as I know both ROMs won't get continued at the moment ;)


Edit: Just read that fibblesan is planning to release rls7 within this week. Great news - gonna wait for this release then ;)

Edited by tonydl, 29 January 2011 - 06:28 PM.

  • 0

#19
Rotmann

Rotmann

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,019 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One, ZTE Blade
Flibblesan is back again, he will release RLS7 next week ;) Please share your thoughts when you switch compared to JJ.

Edited by Rotmann, 29 January 2011 - 06:25 PM.

  • 0

#20
wtel

wtel

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
My proximity sensor work well from JJ RLS 4 to 7 and 9. But I just found it not working after I install A2SD.

### added ###

I removed A2SD and it doesn't work. And I also reinstall phone.apk (extracted from JJ RLS's ROM) which makes no difference. Too bad...

Edited by wtel, 29 January 2011 - 07:52 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users