Jump to content


Photo

Boot Logo / Animation in 2.1?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1
adamguest1985

adamguest1985

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Devices: ZTE Blade (San Fran)
I've created a bootanimation.zip and a Logo.bmp, but as far as I can tell the zip trick only works in (system/media) for 2.2 users.
What do you do in 2.1?
Anyone with some quick and simple instructions would be nice.
I have created my images, and have rootexplorer.

Cheers all.

  • 0
Posted Image

#2
Lew247

Lew247

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 830 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK
  • Devices:Galaxy S3
Logo.bmp? I presume you mean the splash imagine at startup before the animation?
http://android.modac...slight-problem/ 1st post (read the edited note at the end of that post)
more information here http://android.modac...ash-image-size/
Read it carefully - the splash image must be upside down, the right format, and also named correctly!

The boot animation is part of the framework-res.apk - it can be modified but the file names cannot be changed nor the amount of animations.

I know on some other roms it can me put in the /media section but I don't think it works on the 2.1 blade roms

Why not just change to a better 2.2 rom? they are much faster, give much better battery life, and you can change the bootanimation simply.

If you do flash a new rom then the bootanimation goes in /system/media
The splash image stays the same and does not get changed with the new rom

  • 0

#3
adamguest1985

adamguest1985

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Devices: ZTE Blade (San Fran)
Thanks pal.

Logo.bmp? I presume you mean the splash imagine at startup before the animation?

I do indeed, and that file isn't the problem. I can fix that one.

The boot animation is part of the framework-res.apk - it can be modified but the file names cannot be changed nor the amount of animations.

I know on some other roms it can me put in the /media section but I don't think it works on the 2.1 blade roms


That's my problem, the boot animation from 2.2 doesn't exist, so where do I put the 24 files? Looking in my framework, I still can't find them.
Also, once done, what's the recommended way to get the edited framework over to the system? Stick it in an update and flash?

Why not just change to a better 2.2 rom? they are much faster, give much better battery life, and you can change the bootanimation simply.

Short answer to this one. A touch of the OCD. I've tried various builds, but as they all have bugs (albeit minor ones) I cannot stomach them for more than a couple of hours, and end up reflashing. At least the bugs in 2.1 came with the handset, and they're what I asked for, and paid for.

If an official 2.2 build was released, I'd jump on it.

Edited by adamguest1985, 03 February 2011 - 03:40 PM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#4
Lew247

Lew247

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 830 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK
  • Devices:Galaxy S3
Cant help you at the moment,I'm on holiday in Ireland and dont have my comp with me, will be back Wed so if nobody has gi8en you the info i'll post it then

  • 0

#5
Lew247

Lew247

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 830 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK
  • Devices:Galaxy S3
Back at last :P

To change the animation in the old roms
the pictures are in framework-res.apk and in the folder /assets/images
There are 24 of them
They MUST be named OUK_480x800_01.png
to OUK_480c800_24.png

Simply open the framework-res.apk with 7-zip or winrar or even winzip but winrar or 7-zip is easier
and just drop the new pictures in the right folder and it will overwrite the existing ones
Make sure you select "store" not compress when using winrar and they will work fine.

once done simply push the framework-res.apk over using adb
once you have command prompt open put the framework-res.apk in the same folder as your adb file then type adb push framework-res.apk /system/framework/framework-res.apk press enter
then type adb shell reboot and you should see it work when it reboots



Also for information only and because someone else may look for it
to change the "splash" picture follow this

nbimg -F Creating an Image to Flash

1.Get the image conversion program of your choice, I used nbimg.exe
2.In your image creation/manipulation program, create a new image. Set the image size to 480x800. (If you already have an image in mind, open that and resize it)
3.Create/modify/customize the image however you like.
4.Save the image as splash.bmp file. Ensure that you are saving the file as a 24bit RGB color bitmap. To make things easy, save the image in the same folder where you extracted the nbimg tool.
5.Open a command or terminal window and CD to your nbimg folder.

6.Type in the following command: nbimg -F splash.bmp -w 480 -h 800

7.If successful, nbimg should have created an nb file called 'splash1.bmp.nb'.
8.Rename 'splash.bmp.nb' to 'splash.rgb565'
9.Boot your San Francisco into Bootloader and connect it to your computer (hold power button UP while turning power on)
10.Open a command or terminal window and browse to the Tools folder which should reside in your Android SDK folder when you unzipped it.
11.Type in the following command: fastboot flash splash splash.rgb565
12.The output should be something like this:

CODE:
C:\Android\AndroidSDK\android-sdk-windows\tools>fastboot flash splash splash.rgb565
sending 'splash' (750 KB)... OKAY [ 0.125s]
writing 'splash'... OKAY [ 0.218s]
finished. total time: 0.3fas43s

  • 0

#6
adamguest1985

adamguest1985

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Devices: ZTE Blade (San Fran)
Worked great. Cheers pal.

  • 0
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users