Jump to content


Photo

[RECOVERY] : ClockworkMod Recovery for ZTE V9 Tablet

* * * * * 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404
Please find attached *MY* build of the latest version of Koush's ClockworkMod Recovery for the ZTE V9/Light Tablet. It is not officially supported by Koush, please do not bother him with support questions for this build.

I have tested it as much as I can, but I'm always open to any more constructive feedback. Please see one post down for a change log for THIS build. Koush seems not to publish a change log (unless you know of one).

To install:
  • Recovery Manager
  • fastboot method
    • Unplug the USB cable, turn off your device and take out the battery
    • Replace the battery and turn the device on holding the 'volume up' key. The device will stay at the 'green android' screen.
    • Plug the device into the PC.
    • From a command prompt run 'fastboot flash recovery <filename>.img'
    • When this finishes, from the command prompt run 'fastboot reboot'
  • update.zip methodIf you have a previous version or another recovery install, install the update.zip and restart your device.
How to Enter recovery mode:
  • restart your device holding down the 'volume down' key
  • Use the Recovery Manager application to Reboot into Recovery
  • if you have ADB configured type 'adb reboot recovery' from the command line.
Downloads:The Latest version of Clockworkmod Recovery can found here
Previous versions:
  • Older versions of Clockwork recovery can be found here.
Official release
  • The offical version of ClockworkMod Recovery if available for this device can be found here
Which version:
  • ClockworkMod Recovery now comes in 2 different versions for 1st and 2nd Generation devices, if your device originaly shipped with Android 2.1, it will usually be 1st generation, if it came with 2.2 it will usually be 2nd generation. Please note if you have used an officaly updater on a 1st generation device it will now be a 2nd generation device.
Warning:
  • Support for the old style update files that use the Amend scripting (update-script) method is no longer supported With ClockworkMod Recovery from v3 onwards, if you require support for the Amend scripting method, use v2.5.1.8.
Source
  • The Device Config to build ClockworkMod Recovery as part of CyanogenMod can be found on my GitHub.
Kernel Information
  • Information about the Kernel used in this ROM can be found on this thread.

Edited by Sebastian404, 12 May 2011 - 11:16 PM.

  • 0

#2
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404
Know issues:

none.

Build Change Log:

2011-02-07 - v2.5.1.8 b1 - Initial release

2011-02-07 - v3.0.0.5 b1 - Initial release

2011-02-16 - v3.0.0.6 b1 - Initial release

2011-03-12 - v3.0.1.4 b1 - Initial release

2011-04-01 - v3.0.2.4 b1 - Initial release
2011-04-01 - v3.0.2.4 b1 - two versions of recovery image to support Generation 1 & 2 devices
2011-04-14 - v3.0.2.4 b2 - usb problem resolved

2011-04-25 - v3.0.2.8 b1 - Initial release

Edited by Sebastian404, 08 June 2011 - 03:44 PM.

  • 0

#3
weijinfengdu

weijinfengdu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Thanks. I will download and try now.

While where could we find the Android 2.2 ROM?

  • 0

#4
yuden

yuden

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greece
  • Devices:ZTE V9
Hello, a noob question here. :D
Can I revert the changes from ClockworkMod and revert to the stock condition if i want?
Thank you.

  • 0

#5
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

Hello, a noob question here. :D
Can I revert the changes from ClockworkMod and revert to the stock condition if i want?
Thank you.


If you have a device thats the same as one of the 3 stock roms we've found so far, you can install that and it will overwrite the recovery with the stock one.... if you have a different model then you should use romdump and pm me a link to resulting file so I can create your a stock recovery

  • 0

#6
yuden

yuden

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greece
  • Devices:ZTE V9
It's the greek version with the following info

Firmware version: 2.1-update1
Baseband Version:V9B01
Kernel version:2.6.29 zte-kernel@zdroid-SMT
Build number: COSMOTE_V9V1.0.0B06

I will try to do a romdump later today.

Thanks again. :D

  • 0

#7
Biti

Biti

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei U8230
Tested all only White screen with ZTE logo when try to reboot in recovery.

Firmware version: 2.2
Baseband Version:V9B01
Kernel version:2.6.32.9 zte-kernel@Zdroid-SMT
Build number: TELENOR_V9V1.0.0B01

My romdump: http://www.mediafire...2cyqkddw64z5247

Edited by Biti, 16 March 2011 - 08:05 PM.

  • 0

#8
andremio8

andremio8

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Zte v9
  • Twitter:@nil
Hi Sebastien404 can you please tell me step by step, how to resore or back-up my ZTE V9 firmware, because i had a serious problems with my device, just after i installed ( mobile shell V5.0) then after restart .. something happended ( sorry The application SPB Mo-shell Has stopped unexpectedly please try again.....) its keep continues apeared on screen.. so i couldnot get inside main manu to remove

thanks buddy cheers...

  • 0

#9
Biti

Biti

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei U8230
g2 works great on my device, but voldown+poweron still not goes to recovery.

  • 0

#10
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

g2 works great on my device, but voldown+poweron still not goes to recovery.


That unfortunately seems to be something that ZTE have removed from the gen2 devices across the board, I'm still trying to get hold on a gen2 device to see what I can find out.

  • 0

#11
Milamber_29

Milamber_29

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:samsung gt-i8000
ok im really annoyed and confused at this point.....

this is whats happening. i have optus mytab edition of the v9 light. 2.2 went on fine. no problems there.

but it refuses to root properly. i tryed z4root which worked when it did a temp root but when it did a perminent root it installed the stuff but they didnt actually function and androot just fails. however through the temp z4root i managed to install the gen2 recovery which DOES boot instead of the FTM when i vol down +power but the volume keys DONT work so its pointless.
also now i have the recovery installed i dont need the recovery-clockwork-3.0.2.4-v9-gen2-update_signed version of the file at all do i thats only for when you already have CWM installed yes?


am i just an idiot and have done something wrong?

  • 0

#12
Nicke

Nicke

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire
How do i know if i have gen1 or gen2?

No branding. ZTE Light.

This unit is beeing sold in sweden for 165 USD or 99 GBP unbranded and unlocked so its becoming quite popular over here.

Edited by Nicke, 29 April 2011 - 12:42 PM.

  • 0

#13
ololizoz

ololizoz

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2X P990
  • Twitter:@ololizoz

How do i know if i have gen1 or gen2?

No branding. ZTE Light.

This unit is beeing sold in sweden for 165 USD or 99 GBP unbranded and unlocked so its becoming quite popular over here.

This is just a wild guess, but try this https://market.andro...e=search_result . It's for the ZTE Blade, but they are very similar.

  • 1

#14
Nicke

Nicke

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire

This is just a wild guess, but try this https://market.andro...e=search_result . It's for the ZTE Blade, but they are very similar.


Well.. i used the gen2-files.

I cant get into recovery in any other way but using "Recovery Manager". Holding vol down and booting just shows the white ZTE-screen, no boot. Holding vol up just boots the phone.

Edited by Nicke, 29 April 2011 - 10:20 PM.

  • 0

#15
destroyerGT540

destroyerGT540

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus GT540, Optus My Tab
Never mind.

Edited by destroyerGT540, 09 May 2011 - 03:43 AM.

  • 0

#16
destroyerGT540

destroyerGT540

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus GT540, Optus My Tab
Posted this in the Recovery Manager thread but I'll put it here as well.

Got it working on a stock My Tab upgrade to 2.2. At first it fc when I clicked 'Install Recovery', then I installed Rom Manager and did a fix permissions, reboot. Copied the gen 2 img version to sdcard and it worked!

WOOHOO!

Now to try a new rom..... :unsure:

Cheers Sebastien404!!!

Edited by destroyerGT540, 09 May 2011 - 03:43 AM.

  • 0

#17
navodroid

navodroid

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:zte v9 (mytab)

Hi Sebastien404 can you please tell me step by step, how to resore or back-up my ZTE V9 firmware, because i had a serious problems with my device, just after i installed ( mobile shell V5.0) then after restart .. something happended ( sorry The application SPB Mo-shell Has stopped unexpectedly please try again.....) its keep continues apeared on screen.. so i couldnot get inside main manu to remove

thanks buddy cheers...

did you find out how to flash it back?
i'm having a problem
my tablet has the ftm working but no boot after the optus logo and i want to flash it back to 2.1 please help i'm going to die.
i tries using the optus upgrade tool but after it finishes it won't boot more than the optus logo.

  • 0

#18
modacool

modacool

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
Guys.
Is there anything to bring the stock recovery back without having to flash the whole thing back to stock?
I believe i've seen this somewhere but can't remember where now :-(

  • 0

#19
Nemesis2k9

Nemesis2k9

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:ZTE V9 LIGHT
Hey dude, installed the zte v9 clockwork recovery mod to my zte v9, works after it installs, and automatically runs.. but it wont start when i hold the volume 'down' key.. just sits at the green android screen.. i MUST access recovery, have cyanogen 7 mod for zte installed, but "boot loop" it rebooted my phone after update, could'nt access clockwork to wipe cache/ data.. Any other way around this? or a way to wipe cache/ data and reflash? i cant access anything..

  • 0

#20
Gaz14

Gaz14

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Devices:ZTE V9, Huawei U8300
Hey Sebastian. Don't know if it's just me or not but if I run a fix permissions in recovery I get segmentation error after showing log happens in every build of 4.x.x.x not just v9 for your u8160 builds too

Sent from CM7 V9 using Tapatalk

  • 0




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users