Jump to content


Photo

Building CyanogenMod7

* * * * - 3 votes

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
143 replies to this topic

#41
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,239 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez

Well despite the fact that the recovery directory is missing ( isnt this a full image only update to an already installed cm7? How to build the whole image? ), tha app directory is missing 20MB, like adw launcher and other apps that are there in TomG´s image.

How do we build an full image for CM?

Regards,
Christian



missing from /system/app
: ADWLauncher.apk
: Androidian.apk
: AndroidTerm.apk
: CMParts.apk
: CMStats.apk
: CMUpdateNotify.apk
: CMWallpapers.apk
: Cyanbread.apk
: DSPManager.apk
: RomManager.apk
: Stk.apk
: ThemeChooser.apk
: ThemeManager.apk

missing from system/bin

Only in _update/system/bin: applypatch_static
Only in _update/system/bin: backuptool.sh
Only in _update/system/bin: check_prereq
Only in _update/system/bin: chkkineto.sh
Only in _update/system/bin: compcache
Only in _update/system/bin: dump_image
Only in _update/system/bin: e2fsck
Only in _update/system/bin: e2label
Only in _update/system/bin: erase_image
Only in _update/system/bin: fix_permissions
Only in _update/system/bin: flash_image
Only in _update/system/bin: gdbjithelper
Only in _update/system/bin: handle_compcache
Only in _update/system/bin: InputChannel_test
Only in _update/system/bin: InputDispatcher_test
Only in _update/system/bin: InputPublisherAndConsumer_test
Only in _update/system/bin: InputReader_test
Only in _update/system/bin: Looper_test
Only in _update/system/bin: lsof
Only in _update/system/bin: mke2fs
Only in _update/system/bin: resize2fs
Only in _update/system/bin: skia_test
Only in _update/system/bin: String8_test
Only in _update/system/bin: sysinit
Only in _update/system/bin: tune2fs
Only in _update/system/bin: unyaffs
Only in _update/system/bin: updater
Only in _update/system/bin: verify_cache_partition_size.sh

missing from system/etc

Only in _update/system/etc: CHANGELOG-CM.txt
Only in _update/system/etc: init.d
Only in _update/system/etc: init.local.rc
Only in _update/system/etc: mke2fs.conf
Only in _update/system/etc: profile
Only in _update/system/etc: resolv.conf
Only in _update/system/etc: sysctl.conf
Only in _update/system/etc: terminfo

and thats only a few of the files missing

  • 0

#42
metzench

metzench

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
Yes same here.

Would really be nice to know how TomG assembled his image, trying google to get a clue about building cm7 doesn´t teach me anything new. Tried anything i could find. But it´s always the same!

Regards,
Christian

  • 0

#43
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,239 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez

Yes same here.

Would really be nice to know how TomG assembled his image, trying google to get a clue about building cm7 doesn´t teach me anything new. Tried anything i could find. But it´s always the same!

Regards,
Christian


I'm going to merge the system folder in my update.zip with the cm7 beta2 zip and report back

Tom G is updating his tree today

Edited by hecatae, 10 February 2011 - 01:21 PM.

  • 0

#44
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,239 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez

IV. Building the source

Building is the final and easiest part.
In the sudo terminal, go back to CM7 root

cd ~/cm7

And now let's collect all devices in the source!
source build/envsetup.sh
This command will list all discovered devices.
Next step is, to select the build you want to make.
For this, type
lunch

in the terminal!
This will bring up a list with a lot of devices. We specifically need the ones beginning with zte_blade-*!
Usually I like to build the eng version (meaning engineer version), but you can of course try the userdebug one too!

To select the device, look at the name, and get the number of it (in my case, zte_blade-eng's number is 34). Then type that and press enter. It will set up the environment to build CM7 for the Blade.

.


building userdebug fails, and why are you using "lunch" and not "brunch"?

edit: ah brunch is for cyanogenmod official supported devices

and can the same instructions be used for cm6? -b froyo or -b froyo-stable ?

Edited by hecatae, 10 February 2011 - 07:01 PM.

  • 0

#45
metzench

metzench

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts

building userdebug fails, and why are you using "lunch" and not "brunch"?

and can the same instructions be used for cm6? -b froyo or -b froyoplus ?


Didn´t try out userdebug, but i did a build with brunch, made no difference for me! Did you had any success with that?

Regards,
Christian

  • 0

#46
fonix232

fonix232

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 942 posts
  • Location:Hungary, Debrecen
  • Devices:ZTE Blade [TFT 512RAM]
  • Twitter:@fonix232

building userdebug fails, and why are you using "lunch" and not "brunch"?

and can the same instructions be used for cm6? -b froyo or -b froyoplus ?


I don't use brunch as it did not list the blade for me.
And also, it is totally automated, so you can't hand-pick some stuff if one goes wrong.

  • 0
If you like my work, invite me for a drink or two!

Also, take a look at my Blade-dedicated site too! fonix232.co.cc

#47
metzench

metzench

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts

I don't use brunch as it did not list the blade for me.
And also, it is totally automated, so you can't hand-pick some stuff if one goes wrong.


Are the missing apps included in your build? Don´tthink so or?

Somewhere has to be the solution for that.

Regards,
Christian

  • 0

#48
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,239 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez

Are the missing apps included in your build? Don´tthink so or?

Somewhere has to be the solution for that.

Regards,
Christian


did you use unzip-files.sh or extracted-files.sh?

  • 0

#49
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,239 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez

Didn´t try out userdebug, but i did a build with brunch, made no difference for me! Did you had any success with that?

Regards,
Christian


brunch did nothing for me, going to try building cm6 and froyo-stable branch

Edited by hecatae, 10 February 2011 - 07:02 PM.

  • 0

#50
fonix232

fonix232

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 942 posts
  • Location:Hungary, Debrecen
  • Devices:ZTE Blade [TFT 512RAM]
  • Twitter:@fonix232

Are the missing apps included in your build? Don´tthink so or?

Somewhere has to be the solution for that.

Regards,
Christian


I ran into several Java errors what halted building (looks like too much sh*t on my Ubuntu) so I couldn't build, neither I tried userdebug (I like the better debug support of eng). So I can't tell what and how is ficked up.

  • 0
If you like my work, invite me for a drink or two!

Also, take a look at my Blade-dedicated site too! fonix232.co.cc

#51
madnav

madnav

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
getting stuck

username@machine:~/cm7$ repo init -u git://github.com/CyanogenMod/android.git -b gingerbread
fatal: Not a git repository (or any of the parent directories): .git
.repo/manifests/: leaving master; does not track upstream
error: .repo/manifests/: manifests checkout 335302515599d4435f39ca2e2e81cbf9e42d7b48
fatal: manifest 'default.xml' not available
fatal: manifest default.xml not found


nevermind.
deleted .repo and redid the step..

Edited by madnav, 10 February 2011 - 07:29 PM.

  • 0

#52
Pierg75

Pierg75

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
The blade source tree was updated today.
I checked it but I still get these 3 errors when running the "extract-files.sh" script:

remote object '/system/wifi/regcode' does not exist
remote object '/system/lib/libOmxAacDec.so' does not exist
remote object '/system/lib/libOmxMp3Dec.so' does not exist


I copied the libOmxAacDec.so from a JJ6 rom, I couldn't find the libOmxMp3Dec.so and the regcode is "reg_code" in the phone.
I'll try to make a new build right now.

  • 0

#53
metzench

metzench

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts

did you use unzip-files.sh or extracted-files.sh?


Both, same results there.

brunch did nothing for me, going to try building cm6 and froyo-stable branch


brunch works when called with the zte_blade-eng argument that lunch lets select you.

But remember, my main problem is not a failed build, the builds suceed, but there are files missing ( that will be build by the process itself like the CM stuff and so on ) that are included in TomGs build.#

Regards,
Christian

  • 0

#54
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,239 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez
pulled todays update and building. must remember to format system to avoid boot loop

and my recovery directory is not missing

edit oh and building froyo fails, libaudiopolicy.so mismatch, must be something in the buildspec.mk causing the error

Edited by hecatae, 10 February 2011 - 11:42 PM.

  • 0

#55
metzench

metzench

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts

pulled todays update and building. must remember to format system to avoid boot loop

and my recovery directory is not missing

edit oh and building froyo fails, libaudiopolicy.so mismatch, must be something in the buildspec.mk causing the error


Do you have the missing apk in system/app now you mentioned before?

Regards,
Christian

  • 0

#56
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,239 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez

Do you have the missing apk in system/app now you mentioned before?

Regards,
Christian


done a gitpull just now, 108 insertions, 42 deletions, just tried my ota eng rebooted to recovery, now trying cm nightly, and again reboot to recovery.

  • 0

#57
metzench

metzench

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
After investigating the make files further, i think what we are building is pure asop without cyanogen additions. Think there needs to be an mk file for cyanogen_blade in vendor/cyanogen/products

Perhaps we need to message TomG

Regards,
Christian

  • 0

#58
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,239 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez

After investigating the make files further, i think what we are building is pure asop without cyanogen additions. Think there needs to be an mk file for cyanogen_blade in vendor/cyanogen/products

Perhaps we need to message TomG

Regards,
Christian


TomG betas are cyanogen_blade, so we need a brunch mk file,, i think we should hack another mk file to suit the purpose. cyanogen_generic.mk looks a great place to start, we need a cyanogen_blade.mk in the vendor/cyanogen folder so we can brunch, lunch just gives an AOSP build

Edited by hecatae, 11 February 2011 - 10:41 AM.

  • 0

#59
metzench

metzench

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts

TomG betas are cyanogen_blade, so we need a brunch mk file,, i think we should hack another mk file to suit the purpose.


Yes, thats what i thought too. Did one, build is finished, will try to install it now.

Regards,
Christian

  • 0

#60
metzench

metzench

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts

Yes, thats what i thought too. Did one, build is finished, will try to install it now.

Regards,
Christian


s***, boot loops and then back to recovery. Tells me back to drawing board. :-(

Regards,
Christian

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users