Jump to content


Photo

Cynanogen vs Current 2.2 Roms

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#21
admanirv

admanirv

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 417 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Galaxy S3
Rom is pretty stable for me overall, battery life is good.

Edited by admanirv, 17 February 2011 - 10:55 PM.

  • 0

#22
admanirv

admanirv

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 417 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Galaxy S3

I'm sorry, but anybody with these issues is doing something VERY wrong...


I dont have these issues, im stating the following function work fine apart from some apps located on the SD card.

Apart from that its a great ROM for an RC1.

  • 0

#23
Len Ash

Len Ash

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,009 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Isle of Tortuga
  • Devices:SGS 2, Nexus 7, Omnia 7

I dont have these issues, im stating the following function work fine apart from some apps located on the SD card.

Apart from that its a great ROM for an RC1.


WiFi reconnects are very poor. As bad as old 2.1 custom builds. Needs Blade WiFi fix (gasp) to help reconnect.

(In fact, JJ9 is the ONLY ROM that reconnects absolutely 100%)

  • 0

#24
admanirv

admanirv

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 417 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Galaxy S3
I dont have an issue with Wifi TBH.

  • 0

#25
Ron=)

Ron=)

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Zte Blade (TFT)
Does anyone else find that the general homescreen UI is slower than some of the 2.2 roms even with the same launcher

It definately has a gaming performance boost - but the phone feels less snappy to me!

  • 0

#26
admanirv

admanirv

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 417 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Galaxy S3
Switch to the stock gingerbread launcher, so dont use ADW. Its better/more snappy.

  • 0

#27
targetbsp

targetbsp

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,991 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Blade V, I9000, Blade
ADW seems fine to me if you disable the wallpaper hack as others have recommended. I use LauncherPro and it's also smooth.

  • 0
My Blade site - includes vanilla KANGS's of CM7. Also available: modified GB Gapps with various market versions, mini ICS Gapps for 160mb system partitions and Flash for ARMv6
CM7 Blade changelog

#28
Toldo

Toldo

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 99 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poznań
  • Interests:Everything around Mobile Systems
  • Devices:Samsung I9000, P7500
I like this rom very much. Still, it's too slow for me. Even with Launcher Pro Plus. Yet another con is no overclocking, even dedicated CM Cpu Governor gives an FC. Going back to good 'ol JJ RLS9 to wait for a better release.

  • 0

Samsung Galaxy S | JellyBeanRom JVT v1 Android 2.3.5 | GSM XXJVT | Sony MicroSD 8GB

Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 3G | Stock XXKG1
Modaco.PoLish


#29
Lew247

Lew247

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 830 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK
  • Devices:Galaxy S3

"today" being the operative word. I am half way through putting it back on at this minute. Until that shake app suggestion, there was just no way this was useful as *a phone*. :D

99% usable is not useful when the 1% issue is it's inability to say, navigate through an automated telephone switchboard!
I'm a software developer. I use unfinished and buggy products all the time but I do expect my phone to be able to hang up phone calls - at least most of the time. :D There can be as many bugs as they like with the rest of it and I'll put up with them fine.


If you'd used the option "Use Power button to end calls" which has been an option on EVERY rom I've seen including this you'd have had no problems at all - simply press power and it ends the call.....

  • 0

#30
targetbsp

targetbsp

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,991 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Blade V, I9000, Blade
That doesn't help with the automated switchboards though does it? :D

  • 0
My Blade site - includes vanilla KANGS's of CM7. Also available: modified GB Gapps with various market versions, mini ICS Gapps for 160mb system partitions and Flash for ARMv6
CM7 Blade changelog

#31
Ron=)

Ron=)

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Zte Blade (TFT)

ADW seems fine to me if you disable the wallpaper hack as others have recommended. I use LauncherPro and it's also smooth.


Wallpaper hack?

  • 0

#32
targetbsp

targetbsp

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,991 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Blade V, I9000, Blade
It's an option in the ADW settings. It's meant to make it faster. It makes it much slower on this.

  • 0
My Blade site - includes vanilla KANGS's of CM7. Also available: modified GB Gapps with various market versions, mini ICS Gapps for 160mb system partitions and Flash for ARMv6
CM7 Blade changelog

#33
targetbsp

targetbsp

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,991 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Blade V, I9000, Blade

It's an option in the ADW settings. It's meant to make it faster. It makes it much slower on this.


@Toldo: lack of overclocking isn't much of an issue when at stock speeds it's tons faster than an overclocked Froyo. :D Swype is just amazing on it. Angry Birds doesn't lag. ADW Ex puts the thing in IPhone territory for app drawer smoothness.

Edited by targetbsp, 18 February 2011 - 09:57 AM.

  • 0
My Blade site - includes vanilla KANGS's of CM7. Also available: modified GB Gapps with various market versions, mini ICS Gapps for 160mb system partitions and Flash for ARMv6
CM7 Blade changelog

#34
Toldo

Toldo

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 99 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poznań
  • Interests:Everything around Mobile Systems
  • Devices:Samsung I9000, P7500
Well rom seems to work less smooth, as the hw_ui wasn't enabled. LP lacks of smoothness. Maybe I'll try it later again.

  • 0

Samsung Galaxy S | JellyBeanRom JVT v1 Android 2.3.5 | GSM XXJVT | Sony MicroSD 8GB

Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 3G | Stock XXKG1
Modaco.PoLish


#35
Cythraul

Cythraul

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Could someone confirm the status of tethering on CM7? Do both USB and wifi tethering work, or are there workarounds to make them work? If not, maybe should someone file it on the bug tracker.

  • 0

#36
NisseDILLIGAF

NisseDILLIGAF

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (San Francisco)

Could someone confirm the status of tethering on CM7? Do both USB and wifi tethering work, or are there workarounds to make them work? If not, maybe should someone file it on the bug tracker.


look over here... :D
http://android.modac...p...t&p=1602687

  • 0
Running CyanogenMod 7 (Android 2.3.7) nightlie 216 on Orange San Francisco (ZTE Blade)

#37
spanner44

spanner44

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S i9000
I am thinking of switching soon, though I will wait for another release first and see what the feedback is, as there still seems like there are a few little problems that will probably get ironed out in a release or two.

  • 0
Posted Image

#38
The-One

The-One

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
Overall performance is better, numbers speaking at least.

I got Neocore running finally and got 44.6FPS overclocked @ 691mhz vs 42.2FPS i used to get on the Froyo builds with the same configs. Also Linpack is a bit better and quadrant with fixed stagefright gives a better score than Froyo.

Anyways, the tests worth almost nothing cause they do not reproduce the daily usage we do with the phone.

Edited by The-One, 19 February 2011 - 02:58 AM.

  • 0

#39
chozabu

chozabu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Cornwall, uk
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@chozabu

look over here... :D
http://android.modac...p...t&p=1602687

Over there they mention wireless - but not wired tethering.
It seems at least I am not the only one having wired tethering issues

after some searching - and fibblesan confirms: wired tethering seems not to function in cm7 rc1 for blade

Edited by chozabu, 19 February 2011 - 05:19 AM.

  • 0

#40
Len Ash

Len Ash

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,009 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Isle of Tortuga
  • Devices:SGS 2, Nexus 7, Omnia 7

Well rom seems to work less smooth, as the hw_ui wasn't enabled. LP lacks of smoothness. Maybe I'll try it later again.


Why don't you enable it then? 2 minute job.

(Although you are making unfounded assumptions about its effect.)

Edited by LanceH, 19 February 2011 - 10:57 AM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users