Jump to content


Photo

Ubuntu Linux 11.04 (natty) on Vega (update 13/4)


  • Please log in to reply
208 replies to this topic

#61
HunteronX

HunteronX

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Xperia X10; Advent Vega

I don't use windows much anymore so I can't really suggest any solutions to anyone wrt that.

However I can help if you guys are prepared to use linux, whether a live CD or full installation.
Step by step :

> Partition SD card to ext3 ( > 2gb)
> Create boot image specifying the ext3 partition you created
> Extract rootfs to partition
- On a linux box :

cd <location of ext3 partition># Change directory to partitionsudo tar -xvf <rootfs.tgz wherever it's stored># As superuser, extract FS to current director in verbose mode - this means that it'll tell you which files it's currently working on

The extraction takes a while, took me about 30/40 mins if I remember.

Once you have that....

> Flash the boot image from step 2,
> Insert memory stick
> And boot :(
> After a bunch of text which you don't need to worry about unless it goes wrong, you should get something that prompts for a
or similar.

> As you (probably) dont have a keyboard, you won't be able to log in here. Leave it for about 2 mins and the program that loads ubuntu (plymout) will fail on a lack of keyboard assertion.
> This will log in as required.
> Congratulations :(
Feel free to PM/ask more questions ^^

Zeb


@Zebrahead

nevermind41's boot.img worked with your instructions for me. Thanks to both of you. :)

  • 0

#62
Panayioti

Panayioti

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Advent Vega
Ok I want to start again how do you partition your sd card to ext3? because i took my sd card out and still comes up with the prompts. :(

  • 0

#63
Michael_llewellyn

Michael_llewellyn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:Vega
Thanks for this, I now have an ubuntu install on my vega :( I had a few issues with wireless but configured it manually and killed network-manager.

I'm gonna try compiling a few things like mupen64

  • 0

#64
Zebrahead

Zebrahead

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 317 posts

Ok I want to start again how do you partition your sd card to ext3? because i took my sd card out and still comes up with the prompts. :(



Not sure about on Windows, but if you have a live CD/linux installation, the easiest way to do it is probably by using gparted :

[code=auto:0] sudo gparted [\code]

at a prompt.


This will open the partition manager, simply partition the card as you like with a >2gb ext3 partition


Zeb ^^

  • 0

My new website - check it out for various VEGA dev stuffs and tools


I'm running out of space to host things! More space for both of us if you don't already have Dropbox! : Free Dropbox Space!!
@ZebraDroid


#65
Michael_llewellyn

Michael_llewellyn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:Vega
You can also use clockwork mod to partition your SD card if I'm not mistaken. This may be an easier bet.

  • 0

#66
Zebrahead

Zebrahead

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 317 posts

You can also use clockwork mod to partition your SD card if I'm not mistaken. This may be an easier bet.



If memory serves, this may not be a good idea if your card is > 12gb. I think that's only as big as ClockWork will format, and you'll find your SD card is smaller if it was originally greater than that.



That aside, can anyone who has wireless connections working point me in the right direction? Whenever I scan I get no results.

Thanks,
Zeb

  • 0

My new website - check it out for various VEGA dev stuffs and tools


I'm running out of space to host things! More space for both of us if you don't already have Dropbox! : Free Dropbox Space!!
@ZebraDroid


#67
Michael_llewellyn

Michael_llewellyn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:Vega
I used wpa_supplicant:
wpa_passphrase ESSID PASS >> mywireless.conf
replacing ESSID with your wireless name and PASS with your WPA password.
This creates file mywireless.conf
wpa_supllicant -i wlan0 -c mywireless.conf
Optionally add -B to run in background
dhclient wlan0


PS you might have to kill network-manager and of course this only works with WPA secured networks

  • 0

#68
dragonmasterx

dragonmasterx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:xda graphite
anyone to post a ready image for us noobs :( i would like to try it when my vega arrives :(

  • 0

#69
Zebrahead

Zebrahead

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 317 posts

I used wpa_supplicant:

wpa_passphrase ESSID PASS >> mywireless.conf
replacing ESSID with your wireless name and PASS with your WPA password.
This creates file mywireless.conf
wpa_supllicant -i wlan0 -c mywireless.conf
Optionally add -B to run in background
dhclient wlan0
PS you might have to kill network-manager and of course this only works with WPA secured networks


Hey, thanks ^^

I found a site which had some instructions on them and they worked ^^

will post them here if i get chance later on!

sent from my vega running ubuntu ;D

Zeb ^^

  • 0

My new website - check it out for various VEGA dev stuffs and tools


I'm running out of space to host things! More space for both of us if you don't already have Dropbox! : Free Dropbox Space!!
@ZebraDroid


#70
Zebrahead

Zebrahead

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 317 posts

anyone to post a ready image for us noobs :( i would like to try it when my vega arrives :(


OP did.

you can find it in the first post. although it's not something you can just flash with CWM^^

Zeb

  • 0

My new website - check it out for various VEGA dev stuffs and tools


I'm running out of space to host things! More space for both of us if you don't already have Dropbox! : Free Dropbox Space!!
@ZebraDroid


#71
vgrade

vgrade

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
Nice work guys :(, good to see progress on ubuntu

Posted Image

Meego running also.

vgrade

  • 0

#72
hybr1d

hybr1d

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
Ubuntu does manage to boot/run okay now - it is just rather slow to load X due to delays in udevd (it is forking a large number of threads and taking a long time to parse the various rules.d files)
If you give it time it will get there eventually :(
Wifi is working better now (you can use network-manager to handle connections like normal) and performance is slightly improved
I'll upload an updated root image soon.

Posted Image

  • 0

#73
hybr1d

hybr1d

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts

Ubuntu does manage to boot/run okay now - it is just rather slow to load X due to delays in udevd (it is forking a large number of threads and taking a long time to parse the various rules.d files)
If you give it time it will get there eventually :(
Wifi is working better now (you can use network-manager to handle connections like normal) and performance is slightly improved
I'll upload an updated root image soon.

Posted Image


Updated root image now up at http://www.adebenham.com/vega

  • 0

#74
Michael_llewellyn

Michael_llewellyn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:Vega

Updated root image now up at http://www.adebenham.com/vega


Thanks :(

Any changes to your kernel or just rootfs?

I've also been having some fun with slackware and debian tarballs. Gonna need a bigger SD card :(

Oo which reminds me - is it possible to boot off usb?

  • 0

#75
hybr1d

hybr1d

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts

Thanks :(

Any changes to your kernel or just rootfs?

I've also been having some fun with slackware and debian tarballs. Gonna need a bigger SD card :(

Oo which reminds me - is it possible to boot off usb?


Small changes to kernel (updated wifi module) but mostly it is updates to the rootfs.

And yes, you could boot off USB, you would just need to re-create the boot image with the new device path, and edit /etc/fstab to point to the right device as well.

  • 0

#76
unwowed

unwowed

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:advent vega, htc wildfire
Thanks for all the hard work, guys.
I followed the simple version of the guide in the first post and got this:

After the
[ 13.653349] AR6000 Reg Code = 0x60
the booting stops, and the following message is being repeated every two minutes:

INFO: task cpufreq-dvfsd:38 blocked for more than 120 seconds.
cpufreq-dvfsd D c04a747c 0 38 2 0x00000000
Backtrace:
Function entered at [<c04a716c>] from [<c00c288c>]
Function entered at [<c00c281c>] from [<c00af3ac>]
r6:00000000 r5:00000000 r4:00000000

after 15 or so minutes it finally loads into the desktop environment and runs extremely slowly. Does anyone know how to fix this?

  • 0

#77
vgrade

vgrade

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
Hi Mate,

Did you do something special to get touch working.

I can see touch events coming through when I do xinput -test and pointer moves but always to 0,0.

It seems the touch point is coming through in a[5], a[6] elements

Thanks

vgrade

Ubuntu does manage to boot/run okay now - it is just rather slow to load X due to delays in udevd (it is forking a large number of threads and taking a long time to parse the various rules.d files)
If you give it time it will get there eventually :(
Wifi is working better now (you can use network-manager to handle connections like normal) and performance is slightly improved
I'll upload an updated root image soon.

Posted Image


  • 0

#78
hybr1d

hybr1d

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts

Hi Mate,

Did you do something special to get touch working.

I can see touch events coming through when I do xinput -test and pointer moves but always to 0,0.

It seems the touch point is coming through in a[5], a[6] elements

Thanks

vgrade


This was fixed up in later X-server releases (so breaks when I try to move back to 1.6 :( )

  • 0

#79
hybr1d

hybr1d

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts

Thanks for all the hard work, guys.
I followed the simple version of the guide in the first post and got this:

After the
[ 13.653349] AR6000 Reg Code = 0x60
the booting stops, and the following message is being repeated every two minutes:

INFO: task cpufreq-dvfsd:38 blocked for more than 120 seconds.
cpufreq-dvfsd D c04a747c 0 38 2 0x00000000
Backtrace:
Function entered at [<c04a716c>] from [<c00c288c>]
Function entered at [<c00c281c>] from [<c00af3ac>]
r6:00000000 r5:00000000 r4:00000000

after 15 or so minutes it finally loads into the desktop environment and runs extremely slowly. Does anyone know how to fix this?


Are you using the most recent version of my rootfs?
There was a problem with rsyslog that needed fixing and was only fixed a day or so ago.
The slow bootis mostly due to slow IO to the root device - you may get better performance from a higher speed microSD card (I'm using a class 10 one)

  • 0

#80
vgrade

vgrade

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
I'm on latest Xorg 1.9.

Do you have a link to the fix.

This was fixed up in later X-server releases (so breaks when I try to move back to 1.6 :( )


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users