Jump to content


Photo

Could be possible to receive TV broadcast?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1
davidevinavil

davidevinavil

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,005 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Crevoladossola (VB)
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal
I'm locking into kernel source and I'm noting a lot of source file that are builded by makefile to build radio FM stuff
The interesting stuff is that those file that are about radio FM are also about TV..
Those file are into driver/media/common/tuners folder..
I'm not sure about that, but if it's right ours metal could receive TV broadcast :/
This is an extract of tuner-simple.c contents..

[codebox]static inline char *tuner_param_name(enum param_type type)
{
char *name;

switch (type) {
case TUNER_PARAM_TYPE_RADIO:
name = "radio";
break;
case TUNER_PARAM_TYPE_PAL:
name = "pal";
break;
case TUNER_PARAM_TYPE_SECAM:
name = "secam";
break;
case TUNER_PARAM_TYPE_NTSC:
name = "ntsc";
break;
case TUNER_PARAM_TYPE_DIGITAL:
name = "digital";
break;
default:
name = "unknown";
break;
}
return name;[/codebox]..

Edited by davidevinavil, 22 March 2011 - 11:22 PM.

  • 0
If you like my work, offer me a beer

#2
vache

vache

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,038 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer CloudMobile
  • Twitter:@vachounet
There is also a mdp_dma_tv.c in drivers/video/msm, referenced to a TV_PANEL. Look into this for a long time now.

At begining i thought it was the cause of the 30FPS limit, like the HTC Evo had, 30FPS was reserved for the HDMI output. Now i doubt.

Dunno what Acer did, it's really strange, many references to an external output we don't have.

  • 0

#3
davidevinavil

davidevinavil

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,005 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Crevoladossola (VB)
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal
I think Acer has used source without edit it to get the best for hours metal.
I mean that sources are wrote for Ic that could done a lot of thinks like radio and TV receiver, but we haven't all hardware stuff to receive TV.. And Acer used that sources for general purpose..

  • 0
If you like my work, offer me a beer

#4
vache

vache

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,038 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer CloudMobile
  • Twitter:@vachounet

I think Acer has used source without edit it to get the best for hours metal.
I mean that sources are wrote for Ic that could done a lot of thinks like radio and TV receiver, but we haven't all hardware stuff to receive TV.. And Acer used that sources for general purpose..


Compared Acer source and the Streak source, it's the same. Streak, that have a HDMI output, was also limited to 30FPS at begining, fixed by Stephen Hyde (Topic).

Looks like Acer did not removed the HDMI output support from Streak source.

I sended him a PM to ask how he fixed that.

  • 0

#5
davidevinavil

davidevinavil

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,005 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Crevoladossola (VB)
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal
I don't understand..
FPS limit should be bypassed by disabling vsync in panel drivers right?
In fact running neocore I've score 43 after disable vsync..

  • 0
If you like my work, offer me a beer

#6
vache

vache

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,038 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer CloudMobile
  • Twitter:@vachounet

I don't understand..
FPS limit should be bypassed by disabling vsync in panel drivers right?
In fact running neocore I've score 43 after disable vsync..


It just push the limit to 43, it does not remove the limit. Scores could be really better, and the phone could be really smoother.

  • 0

#7
davidevinavil

davidevinavil

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,005 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Crevoladossola (VB)
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal

It just push the limit to 43, it does not remove the limit. Scores could be really better, and the phone could be really smoother.


Ok.. Hope we'll be able to remove that stupid limit :D
Maybe future gingerbread's kernel will be without this issue :/
And what do you think about adreno driver?
Seems that are for adreno 200 instead 205..

Edited by davidevinavil, 23 March 2011 - 05:03 PM.

  • 0
If you like my work, offer me a beer

#8
dieghito

dieghito

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Devices:acer liquid
  • Twitter:@none
sorry but the thread is call "TV brodcast"

why you're speaking about hdmi????

  • 0

#9
davidevinavil

davidevinavil

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,005 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Crevoladossola (VB)
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal

sorry but the thread is call "TV brodcast"

why you're speaking about hdmi????


Because TV and HDMI are stuff inside kernel source apparently whitout needs to be..
And about HDMI could be cause of fps limit..
sorry for bad english :/
I'm not able to active TV but I would understand because there is it in kernel source..

  • 0
If you like my work, offer me a beer

#10
davidevinavil

davidevinavil

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,005 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Crevoladossola (VB)
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal
@Vache
Look at makefile into drivers/video/msm take from desire z source...
[codebox]# Yamato GL driver
ifeq ($(CONFIG_GPU_MSM_KGSL_ADRENO205),y)
obj-$(CONFIG_GPU_MSM_KGSL) += gpu/kgsl_adreno205/
else
obj-$(CONFIG_GPU_MSM_KGSL) += gpu/kgsl/
endif

obj-$(CONFIG_MSM_HDMI) += hdmi/
obj-$(CONFIG_VIDC_720P) += vidc/[/codebox]

Into this makefile there is something about adreno 205..
There 's also a gpu/kgsl_adreno205 folder..
In ours source there isn't :D
I doubt that right driver for adreno 205 in 2.6.29 kernel there isn't :/

Edited by davidevinavil, 23 March 2011 - 11:09 PM.

  • 0
If you like my work, offer me a beer




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users