Jump to content


Photo

[ROM][GEN2]CyanogenMod 7 (Android 2.3.7)

* * * * * 72 votes

  • Please log in to reply
14806 replies to this topic

#14661
targetbsp

targetbsp

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Hudl 2, Blade V
I'm not sure I'm the best person to ask because I use a fairly narrow set of features of my phone. I make calls, I text and I play games. I never use the camera, watch video, use bluetooth, use the radio, use tethering etc.

I'm not sure there's any pro in CM10 I could single out really. It's just generally a slicker, nicer to use OS. Probably most of which comes from the new launcher design in Android 4.x
The main downside for me is that if the phone isn't clean booted, game appear to have trouble loading up textures and instead draw bits of themselves with white squares. Some games are a lot more sensitive to this than others and a couple of these games pretty much need you to reboot before you play them. It seems better than CM9 at this though with most games.
S2E doesn't appear to quite work properly if you use it. I ended up switching to Int2Ext.
The only other issue I've seen is incredibly minor - text that scrolls on the notification bar is a mess.

I am actually back on CM7 again right now because I wanted to test something. The reason I left it is my wifi was playing up despite having worked fine for about a year previously. It seems to be behaving today but if it plays up again I'll switch back to CM10 because all of its issues annoy me less than my wifi randomly dropping and needing a reboot to recover!

Edited by targetbsp, 23 September 2012 - 08:45 PM.

  • 0
My Blade site - includes vanilla KANGS's of CM7. Also available: modified GB Gapps with various market versions, mini ICS Gapps for 160mb system partitions and Flash for ARMv6
CM7 Blade changelog

#14662
azidhaka

azidhaka

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Is it possible to use the old zte-turies-35 kernel from Swedish snow in CM7 (or in CM9/10)? Every other kernel makes my WiFi act funny - APs appearing and disappearing, non-existent APs with strange symbols in the list, signal strengths up and down... This is on a EU GEN2 Blade.

  • 0

#14663
rdis

rdis

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade V880
Maybe you guys already know about factory-reset bug on most of samsung with touchwizUi. This bug also exist on htc one x and motorolla defy (with cm7). So I try to check that bug to my rom (cm7 based) and sadly they are exist.
To check, open http://dylanreeve.com/phone.php with your android device. If your dialer show your IMEI then your rom is vulnerable.
Temporary solution: install another dialer like dialer one from market.

bug detail HERE

Edited by rdis, 27 September 2012 - 04:36 AM.

  • 0

#14664
doroido

doroido

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male
Is this commit supposed to fix the issue mentioned in the post above?
I'd like to flash the latest nightly if this can be confirmed.

Do not allow intents to initiate special char sequence handling.

This is a squash of the following jellybean commits backported to GB:

- Prevent Intent from initiating special-char handling
Ic5b042f620b10931fedcaf12bb58be2405bf7390

- Remember the flag suppressing special char handling
Ie62a448675ac558ecdeea43da01082712edee35a

- Follow-up to Ie62a4486
Idea7ae599e3a217ad656a304fbae26746d9f3284


  • 0

#14665
_Nuno_

_Nuno_

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Libra (Sapo a5)

Is this commit supposed to fix the issue mentioned in the post above?
I'd like to flash the latest nightly if this can be confirmed.


Yes. The fix works and the latest nightly seems just fine!

  • 0

#14666
222nobrak

222nobrak

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Devices:ZTE BLADE / 5mp
Is it possible to install the fix pack zip, to eliminate this error?
Because I am currently using versions CM7 (targetbsp) of 5 September..

Edited by 222nobrak, 01 October 2012 - 10:35 AM.

  • 0

#14667
targetbsp

targetbsp

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Hudl 2, Blade V

I wanted to buy World of Goo for use on a future phone whilst it is cheap due to the rebranding of market to play.
So I edited a build prop to fake the Blade as an ARMv7 Nexus S using various sources on the web
You can download it here: blade.windows98.co.uk/downloads/arm7-build.prop

use root explorer or equivalent
rename your current one in the /system folder
put that in it's place using root explorer
check the permissions are the same as your old one
go to settings -> applications -> manage applications -> all
wipe data for google framework and market
reboot
start the market app

it will take several minutes for the market to recognise your 'new' phone. The same delay applies when you revert to the blade build.prop


Come up with an easier and more compatible method. Though unfortunately on the last day of the current sale! Excuse the formatiing, I copied this from another site ai posted it on.

Download and install Bluestacks: http://bluestacks.com/

From within Bluestacks, click My Apps and then Appsearch
Search for launcherpro (or your preferred launcher) and install it

Click the home button (bottom centre) and choose launcherpro. There you will find Play Store is pre-installed but hidden from the default launcher. Login with your google account.

Now the Play webstore thinks you have an SGS2 as well as a Blade.


Remember to single click on things in Bluestacks - it is Android, not Windows! It all goes a bit odd if you start double clicking.
Note also that your SGS2 is American which region retsricts some apps (notably EA stuff) and also that you should likley buy the apps from the web based play store rather than bluestacks play app so you are charegd in the correct currency!

  • 0
My Blade site - includes vanilla KANGS's of CM7. Also available: modified GB Gapps with various market versions, mini ICS Gapps for 160mb system partitions and Flash for ARMv6
CM7 Blade changelog

#14668
_Nuno_

_Nuno_

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Libra (Sapo a5)

Is it possible to install the fix pack zip, to eliminate this error?
Because I am currently using versions CM7 (targetbsp) of 5 September..

I'm not sure if it's 100% the same as installing targetbsp's builds, but sometimes I install the latest nightly and flash the Adreno Libs from his site (in his signature) and everything seems to work fine!

  • 0

#14669
targetbsp

targetbsp

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Hudl 2, Blade V

I'm not sure if it's 100% the same as installing targetbsp's builds, but sometimes I install the latest nightly and flash the Adreno Libs from his site (in his signature) and everything seems to work fine!


Yeah that would end up the same. :)

  • 0
My Blade site - includes vanilla KANGS's of CM7. Also available: modified GB Gapps with various market versions, mini ICS Gapps for 160mb system partitions and Flash for ARMv6
CM7 Blade changelog

#14670
targetbsp

targetbsp

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Hudl 2, Blade V
I didn't really pay attention to that bug but BBC News just put up an article about it. That's pretty serious! Guess I better compile a new version!

  • 1
My Blade site - includes vanilla KANGS's of CM7. Also available: modified GB Gapps with various market versions, mini ICS Gapps for 160mb system partitions and Flash for ARMv6
CM7 Blade changelog

#14671
222nobrak

222nobrak

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Devices:ZTE BLADE / 5mp
It will be nice :-) see new version of yours Cm7 rom :-)

  • 0

#14672
targetbsp

targetbsp

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Hudl 2, Blade V
Might be tomorrow now. It's hanging on the green droid for some reason.

  • 0
My Blade site - includes vanilla KANGS's of CM7. Also available: modified GB Gapps with various market versions, mini ICS Gapps for 160mb system partitions and Flash for ARMv6
CM7 Blade changelog

#14673
targetbsp

targetbsp

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Hudl 2, Blade V
CM7.2 1st Oct
http://www.mediafire...2mm5pdkqex38b1d
MD5# 809d6894132788935cffb8587b559e1e

Edited by targetbsp, 02 October 2012 - 09:20 AM.

  • 3
My Blade site - includes vanilla KANGS's of CM7. Also available: modified GB Gapps with various market versions, mini ICS Gapps for 160mb system partitions and Flash for ARMv6
CM7 Blade changelog

#14674
doroido

doroido

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male

Yes. The fix works and the latest nightly seems just fine!


Thank you for the reply.

  • 0

#14675
matcho13579

matcho13579

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia
  • Devices:Samsung i9000, ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@matcho13579
I got a serious problem over here:
I'm using a nightly build (20120909). I turned off the phone and when I turned it on, some of the apps just disappeared from my App Drawer (for about 30 apps stored on SD card - no App2SD, no ext4 partitions, just moved to SD). What could cause this?

  • 0

#14676
kjacek

kjacek

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 70 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

I got a serious problem over here:
I'm using a nightly build (20120909). I turned off the phone and when I turned it on, some of the apps just disappeared from my App Drawer (for about 30 apps stored on SD card - no App2SD, no ext4 partitions, just moved to SD). What could cause this?

The same problem with my daughter phone. SD card destroyed. I don't remember what build has been installed but the effect is the same :-(.

  • 0
CM7.2 Unofficial June 4th by Targetbsp, Sej's kernel, Soft Button Patch, ICS font

#14677
targetbsp

targetbsp

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Hudl 2, Blade V
I likely won't be compiling my versions with the faster Adreno drivers anymore because I'm beta testing an upcoming game and I can assure you those drivers are flawed. :D I've returned to the older ones.

They may be fast at Antutu but they are slower in game and glitchy.

Edited by targetbsp, 04 October 2012 - 09:08 PM.

  • 0
My Blade site - includes vanilla KANGS's of CM7. Also available: modified GB Gapps with various market versions, mini ICS Gapps for 160mb system partitions and Flash for ARMv6
CM7 Blade changelog

#14678
BladeRunner10

BladeRunner10

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philippines
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@akositakla
Ever since I had rooted my Blade, I got so excited that I almost tried all of the ROMS available for my unit. My SD card contains quiet a lot of downloaded Roms compatible for my mobile phone. Every time I get bored with the current ROM I change to the one I haven't tried yet. My only concern is will this affect the total performance of my cellphone? Will somebody give any advice about what to do? Thank you and my greatest appreciation to the developers. More power to you guys! Go bladers!!!

  • 0

#14679
matcho13579

matcho13579

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia
  • Devices:Samsung i9000, ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@matcho13579
Another problem here: after a clean install of the newest build Blade cannot obtain IP address, but it can connect with static IP, is it a router's problem or phone's?

  • 0

#14680
Snap.IT

Snap.IT

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  • Devices:ZTE Blade 3, Alcatel OT995

Ever since I had rooted my Blade, I got so excited that I almost tried all of the ROMS available for my unit. My SD card contains quiet a lot of downloaded Roms compatible for my mobile phone. Every time I get bored with the current ROM I change to the one I haven't tried yet. My only concern is will this affect the total performance of my cellphone? Will somebody give any advice about what to do? Thank you and my greatest appreciation to the developers. More power to you guys! Go bladers!!!


It won't affect performance at all.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users