Jump to content


Photo

new new new

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#21
fredewis

fredewis

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 440 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london,Tower bridge
  • Devices:GALAXY SII
  • Twitter:@@fredewis

Exactly where i'm getting confused!

lol o boy this is so painfull ....lol and noone is here to sorta guide us i been reading on xda and boy im even more lost and i think i got the 2.51.1 so cant downgrade but if you follow this other steps you can but then you cant then so on im just lost and wanting 2.2 lol

  • 0
From GALAXY SII....+ 16 class 10 sdcard.

#22
bugeyes

bugeyes

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 257 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kettering UK
  • Interests:Long distance walker

lol o boy this is so painfull ....lol and noone is here to sorta guide us i been reading on xda and boy im even more lost and i think i got the 2.51.1 so cant downgrade but if you follow this other steps you can but then you cant then so on im just lost and wanting 2.2 lol



Great isnt it two reasonably hardcore phone geeks completely and hoplessly lost and confused!!!!

LMAO!!!!!!! :D :D :D B) ;)

  • 0
walk wild walk free! and die living!

#23
Diggedy

Diggedy

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 255 posts
  • Devices:Desire, Wildfire, Defy, Arc
  • Twitter:@RichyNeal
Correct, 2.51 is the build number which is android version 2.1 (eclair)

if you want to upgrade and dont care about downgrading then go ahead and flash any UK froyo rom but make sure its not one with the LED bug which I think is limited to the chinese ones as they are actually for a different model number.

To keep downgradeability you need to flash "fixed" sbf`s. Dont ask me why or what that means, I just accept this is the case and do it. Then you can restore a nandroid of the version of froyo that goes with that sbf. If you have come from another android phone then this might seem odd to you but its because motorola have the bootloader locked and this is the only way to work around it.

Try my guide here, Ive got a t-mobile UK defy and this worked for me. I can still downgrade my phone as ive tested it.


http://android.modac...p...t&p=1648898

  • 0

#24
fredewis

fredewis

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 440 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london,Tower bridge
  • Devices:GALAXY SII
  • Twitter:@@fredewis

Correct, 2.51 is the build number which is android version 2.1 (eclair)

if you want to upgrade and dont care about downgrading then go ahead and flash any UK froyo rom but make sure its not one with the LED bug which I think is limited to the chinese ones as they are actually for a different model number.

To keep downgradeability you need to flash "fixed" sbf`s. Dont ask me why or what that means, I just accept this is the case and do it. Then you can restore a nandroid of the version of froyo that goes with that sbf. If you have come from another android phone then this might seem odd to you but its because motorola have the bootloader locked and this is the only way to work around it.

Try my guide here, Ive got a t-mobile UK defy and this worked for me. I can still downgrade my phone as ive tested it.
http://android.modac...p...t&p=1648898

what is your phone vertion im on 2.51.1 will it work ......
when i try flashing the system of the file given it says md5 mis match .....so it aboarts iti downloaded the file alot of time with same outcome any help on how to flash the syste, like you mention.

Edited by fredewis, 05 April 2011 - 02:17 AM.

  • 0
From GALAXY SII....+ 16 class 10 sdcard.

#25
Diggedy

Diggedy

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 255 posts
  • Devices:Desire, Wildfire, Defy, Arc
  • Twitter:@RichyNeal

what is your phone vertion im on 2.51.1 will it work ......
when i try flashing the system of the file given it says md5 mis match .....so it aboarts iti downloaded the file alot of time with same outcome any help on how to flash the syste, like you mention.


Im not sure about 2.51.1 but my understanding is it shouldnt matter, mine was 2.51. Try redownloading, its possible your download is corrupt?

have a read through this and see if it can help you

http://forum.xda-dev...ad.php?t=714114

Edited by Diggedy, 05 April 2011 - 05:48 AM.

  • 0

#26
fredewis

fredewis

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 440 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london,Tower bridge
  • Devices:GALAXY SII
  • Twitter:@@fredewis

Im not sure about 2.51.1 but my understanding is it shouldnt matter, mine was 2.51. Try redownloading, its possible your download is corrupt?

have a read through this and see if it can help you

http://forum.xda-dev...ad.php?t=714114

yea i keep re downloading it and same thing i placed the back up folder in my recovery back up and when i go to restore advance i put restore system and it keeps saying md5 miss match every time...
can U post a new back up for me.

Edited by fredewis, 05 April 2011 - 09:18 AM.

  • 0
From GALAXY SII....+ 16 class 10 sdcard.

#27
Diggedy

Diggedy

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 255 posts
  • Devices:Desire, Wildfire, Defy, Arc
  • Twitter:@RichyNeal

yea i keep re downloading it and same thing i placed the back up folder in my recovery back up and when i go to restore advance i put restore system and it keeps saying md5 miss match every time...
can U post a new back up for me.


try this one here


http://forum.xda-dev...ad.php?t=977989

  • 0

#28
fredewis

fredewis

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 440 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london,Tower bridge
  • Devices:GALAXY SII
  • Twitter:@@fredewis

try this one here
http://forum.xda-dev...ad.php?t=977989

am i ment to flash the whole back up you gave me ot jut the system ? for example flash the whole backup then flash fix or flash the backup system partition then the fixed ?

  • 0
From GALAXY SII....+ 16 class 10 sdcard.

#29
Diggedy

Diggedy

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 255 posts
  • Devices:Desire, Wildfire, Defy, Arc
  • Twitter:@RichyNeal

am i ment to flash the whole back up you gave me ot jut the system ? for example flash the whole backup then flash fix or flash the backup system partition then the fixed ?



afaik its just the system you flash

  • 0

#30
fredewis

fredewis

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 440 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london,Tower bridge
  • Devices:GALAXY SII
  • Twitter:@@fredewis
I want the official uk froyo with blur ....can I have the back up and the fixed for it ....?

  • 0
From GALAXY SII....+ 16 class 10 sdcard.

#31
fredewis

fredewis

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 440 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london,Tower bridge
  • Devices:GALAXY SII
  • Twitter:@@fredewis
How can I get the original 2.2 blur tmobile one with the ability to flash to 2.1(2.51.1)

  • 0
From GALAXY SII....+ 16 class 10 sdcard.

#32
Higgsy

Higgsy

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 433 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4+5, Moto G
  • Twitter:@jhiggaman

I want the official uk froyo with blur ....can I have the back up and the fixed for it ....?


There is no official uk froyo yet, they are all dev builds.

Newest UK is 34.30.11

deodex/optimised framework/app: http://j.mp/dVMiSZ
fixed sbf: http://j.mp/gd7oLR
nandroid: http://j.mp/gy8gCG

\enjoy :D

Edited by Higgsy, 06 April 2011 - 12:48 AM.

  • 0

#33
fredewis

fredewis

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 440 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london,Tower bridge
  • Devices:GALAXY SII
  • Twitter:@@fredewis
ooo one last question do i just restore nandroid then flash the fix ...? thanks what is the deodex bit about?

  • 0
From GALAXY SII....+ 16 class 10 sdcard.

#34
Higgsy

Higgsy

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 433 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4+5, Moto G
  • Twitter:@jhiggaman

ooo one last question do i just restore nandroid then flash the fix ...? thanks what is the deodex bit about?


nandroid in clockworkmod/backup folder on sd
boot into recovery
wipe data/cache
backup/restore - advanced restore - choose the nandroid choose system only
Once complete pull battery
Power/vol up to get into bootloader
flash the fixed sbf via RSD lite
it will reboot automatically and one booted its done

The deodexed files can be flashed via CWM, you can integrate it into the above process and flash after the system restore before you pull the battery.

http://www.droidforu...t-deodexed.html - gives a basic overview to what it means - personally I deodex/optimise framework/app on every rom I use.

  • 0

#35
fredewis

fredewis

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 440 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london,Tower bridge
  • Devices:GALAXY SII
  • Twitter:@@fredewis

nandroid in clockworkmod/backup folder on sd
boot into recovery
wipe data/cache
backup/restore - advanced restore - choose the nandroid choose system only
Once complete pull battery
Power/vol up to get into bootloader
flash the fixed sbf via RSD lite
it will reboot automatically and one booted its done

The deodexed files can be flashed via CWM, you can integrate it into the above process and flash after the system restore before you pull the battery.

http://www.droidforu...t-deodexed.html - gives a basic overview to what it means - personally I deodex/optimise framework/app on every rom I use.

oke so i didnt flash it befor the fix can i still flash the deidex zip after ... will have to install clockwork again...?

  • 0
From GALAXY SII....+ 16 class 10 sdcard.

#36
Higgsy

Higgsy

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 433 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4+5, Moto G
  • Twitter:@jhiggaman

oke so i didnt flash it befor the fix can i still flash the deidex zip after ... will have to install clockwork again...?


yes you can flash it at any time, and no you wont need to reinstall clockworkmod as unless you are manually placing it in /system/app it will install into /data/app. All this will do is replace everything in /system/app+framework. If you have removed anything from system/app or added anything in then you will need to redo that

  • 0

#37
fredewis

fredewis

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 440 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london,Tower bridge
  • Devices:GALAXY SII
  • Twitter:@@fredewis
ok great just did it ......now im on 2.2 sow by following does step its possible to downgrade.

  • 0
From GALAXY SII....+ 16 class 10 sdcard.

#38
Higgsy

Higgsy

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 433 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4+5, Moto G
  • Twitter:@jhiggaman

ok great just did it ......now im on 2.2 sow by following does step its possible to downgrade.


yup should be
all depends what you were on before though doesn't it

  • 0

#39
fredewis

fredewis

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 440 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london,Tower bridge
  • Devices:GALAXY SII
  • Twitter:@@fredewis

yup should be
all depends what you were on before though doesn't it

i was on 2.51.1 is that ok .

  • 0
From GALAXY SII....+ 16 class 10 sdcard.

#40
Diggedy

Diggedy

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 255 posts
  • Devices:Desire, Wildfire, Defy, Arc
  • Twitter:@RichyNeal

i was on 2.51.1 is that ok .


the best way to test this is to flash the official stock 2.51 software and see if its downgraded. If that works then just put 2.2 back on the same way you just have then you will be happy in the knowledge you can downgrade

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users