Jump to content


Photo

11 Nov: SmartFlash stock baseband release: 1035.21_20110725 (V20l version)

* * * * * 4 votes

  • Please log in to reply
394 replies to this topic

#301
temasek

temasek

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

actually u don't need to wipe the cache. And regarding he procedure, after u smartflash, make sure u start the phone it at least once, then restore nandroid. Usually u don't need to get the RIL again, because as far as i know nandroid backup doesn't backup RIL. But if using LG GetRIL and u get wrong RIL, u can always download and install RIL through this app. Mine is fine using this procedure. I didn't do any wipes.

Nandroid backup does backup your ril as the ril is residing in /system/lib. So if u are restoring a nandroid backup, you will restore the ril in that backup too.

Fyi

  • 1

#302
fifi139

fifi139

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Devices:LG O2x

Nandroid backup does backup your ril as the ril is residing in /system/lib. So if u are restoring a nandroid backup, you will restore the ril in that backup too.

Fyi


strange thing is, after i smartflashed and nandroid restored, RIL version stayed the same. In fact i was testing 614 from 622 (fr19), i smartflashed 614, then restored, it stayed 614 i/o 622. hmmm... then i used LG GetRIL to install 725 RIL, then I flashed 725 BB, restored nandroid (which was 614), and LG Get RIL and LG RIL version showed my RIL is still 725. MD5 checksum also confirms it is 725. That means, restoring nandroid didn't touch the RIL?

  • 0

#303
el_Charlie

el_Charlie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maracaibo, Venezuela
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@el_Charlie

Nandroid backup does backup your ril as the ril is residing in /system/lib. So if u are restoring a nandroid backup, you will restore the ril in that backup too.

Fyi


I was aware of that, thanks!

My phone is working fine so far with the new BB and RIL.

Although, I think I'll flash the complete 10d and restore my data partition of my nandroid and my backup of the internal SD. I'll do that tomorrow.

Cheers!

  • 0

#304
gaww1

gaww1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:MT4G

Try to delete the SmartFlash.ini file. Remember to open SmartFlash BEFORE you plug-in the phone! This solution has worked for some!

And if you're still wondering about these forums, just think that you never even got this far as getting an error, you would have been stuck with you PERFECTLY working LG STOCK ROM!




Thanks for the reply, but the device i was working on is back to TMo and I have a replacement.

I am pretty sure I did what you suggested a number of times. Again, it restored the AP.bin file, but just would not do the CP.bin file.

  • 0

#305
el_Charlie

el_Charlie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maracaibo, Venezuela
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@el_Charlie
I don't know if this is the right place but after using the 725 Baseband and then after upgrading the whole firmware to 10d (with its 725 BB, too) I'm experiencing some problems with WiFi.

It disconnects sometimes and other times when I turn the screen on I get low WiFi signal and then it boosts to maximum signal and get internet access. My router is on the same room as my phone and I should always get high coverage.

Does this has something to do with the Baseband????

Cheers!

  • 1

#306
fifi139

fifi139

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Devices:LG O2x

I don't know if this is the right place but after using the 725 Baseband and then after upgrading the whole firmware to 10d (with its 725 BB, too) I'm experiencing some problems with WiFi.

It disconnects sometimes and other times when I turn the screen on I get low WiFi signal and then it boosts to maximum signal and get internet access. My router is on the same room as my phone and I should always get high coverage.

Does this has something to do with the Baseband????

Cheers!


Not sure, I believe it has something to do with RIL. It's actually trying to save power. I experience low WIFI signal (though never disconnected) when phone is sleeping w/o downloading anything. But after it wakes up in a few sec it's normal again. But then again, I also use Automatic Memory Killer which also tweaks battery usage.

  • 0

#307
el_Charlie

el_Charlie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maracaibo, Venezuela
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@el_Charlie

Not sure, I believe it has something to do with RIL. It's actually trying to save power. I experience low WIFI signal (though never disconnected) when phone is sleeping w/o downloading anything. But after it wakes up in a few sec it's normal again. But then again, I also use Automatic Memory Killer which also tweaks battery usage.


Exactly,

The low wifi signal is only when the phone is sleeping but it results on missing whatsapp messages / emails or anything else that needs data connection.

I set the wifi policy to never but it doesn't help on anything.

Cheers!

  • 0

#308
gaww1

gaww1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:MT4G

I don't know if this is the right place but after using the 725 Baseband and then after upgrading the whole firmware to 10d (with its 725 BB, too) I'm experiencing some problems with WiFi.

It disconnects sometimes and other times when I turn the screen on I get low WiFi signal and then it boosts to maximum signal and get internet access. My router is on the same room as my phone and I should always get high coverage.

Does this has something to do with the Baseband????

Cheers!


I don't think it is the baseband.

From my earlier posts, you can see that I had a totally fried baseband (on my G2X thanks to the LG Updater). I could not connect to the network, but WiFi only worked fine. Just couldn't leave the house with it - lol.

  • 0

#309
mankian

mankian

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Location:Macclesfield
  • Devices:LG Optimus X2
WiFi driver is in the Kernel i think!

  • 0

#310
deep750

deep750

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Optimus 2X
Does anyone have any experience with the 725 BB/RIL regarding batterylife?

I upgraded a week ago, but also to a new kernel, and im experiencing lower batterylife (at least it feels like) than when I was on 622. Im unsure if it has to do with 622 vs 725 or with the new kernel.
Any experiences, good or bad, regarding the battery life would be nice

  • 0

#311
pfueldner

pfueldner

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Does anyone have any experience with the 725 BB/RIL regarding batterylife?

I upgraded a week ago, but also to a new kernel, and im experiencing lower batterylife (at least it feels like) than when I was on 622. Im unsure if it has to do with 622 vs 725 or with the new kernel.
Any experiences, good or bad, regarding the battery life would be nice


My experience with 725 BB/RIL is actually negative regarding battery life. With my normal use, I could not get more than 18-20 hrs, while on 530 I could get around 30-36 hrs with the same use. I'm now trying 622 to see how this one goes.

  • 0

#312
el_Charlie

el_Charlie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maracaibo, Venezuela
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@el_Charlie

My experience with 725 BB/RIL is actually negative regarding battery life. With my normal use, I could not get more than 18-20 hrs, while on 530 I could get around 30-36 hrs with the same use. I'm now trying 622 to see how this one goes.


Totally agree with you.

I can see hoy the battery drains with this BB. With the 622 I had better battery life and no wifi disconnects.

How should I downgrade consdering I have a kernel that converted my partitions to EXT4???

Cheers!

  • 0

#313
deep750

deep750

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Optimus 2X

Totally agree with you.

I can see hoy the battery drains with this BB. With the 622 I had better battery life and no wifi disconnects.

How should I downgrade consdering I have a kernel that converted my partitions to EXT4???

Cheers!


I don't think baseband will interfere with partition type (ext3 or 4) - can someone please confirm this?

I have figured out that it is the mobile data that drains the battery....it can use as much as 30% in an hour - while im not using the phone at all...and the phone gets real warm when the mobile data connection is active. Guess this has to do with BB725

Edited by deep750, 19 August 2011 - 10:33 AM.

  • 0

#314
pfueldner

pfueldner

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
Yes, for the baseband it does not matter whether you're on EXT3 or EXT4. You can flash them irrespectively.

Cheers!

  • 0

#315
pfueldner

pfueldner

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
Yes, for the baseband it does not matter whether you're on EXT3 or EXT4. You can flash them irrespectively.

Cheers!

  • 0

#316
deep750

deep750

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Optimus 2X
I have made a log, so that any usage of the device causing battery use is shown:

mobile internet enabled
1258 - 100%
1301-1312 - phone call, when finished 96%
1313 - 95%
1403 - 74% - disabled internet when checking status
1418 - 74%
1418-1426 - phone call, when finished 71%
1440 - 71 %

Attached File  2011-08-19 14.39.51.png   117.47KB   30 downloads

  • 0

#317
el_Charlie

el_Charlie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maracaibo, Venezuela
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@el_Charlie
Thanks for your replies!

I will dowgrade soon and then restore my nandroid and change the RIL using the app.

622 was a great BB for me although someone on XDA is using 405 because it works best for him.

Thanks again guys.

Cheers!

  • 0

#318
Henkepenke

Henkepenke

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2X
is there any software for changing baseband on my phone for (linux) opensuse?

  • 0

#319
yusuf00786

yusuf00786

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:Optimus 2x


Edited by yusuf00786, 25 August 2011 - 08:20 AM.

  • 0

#320
yusuf00786

yusuf00786

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:Optimus 2x
To use P990 flash to flash this baseband:

  • Download the utility file below
  • Download the driver file below
  • Download the baseband file below
  • Run the SmartFlashTool_P990.exe application on your PC
  • Turn device off, remove battery, plug device in while holding volume down - you should see a software update message on screen and the COM port should be filled automatically in the flash application below after installing the drivers if required.
  • Select the 'ROM Copy D/L' tab
  • Ensure 'Normal Mode' is selected
  • Ensure 'Erase CAL' is NOT selected
  • Click the browse button next to 'CP Bin:' and select the baseband (FLS) file
  • Click 'Start' and wait for the flash to complete ..........................
Hi Dev, I followed the complete instruction of yours but still get on a LG boot logo thats it nothing else, need some help here, Actually i am very new to this Amazing world of android.... i am confused actually in your instruction
" Click the browse button next to 'CP Bin:' and select the baseband (FLS) file
Click 'Start' and wait for the flash to complete .......................... "
Am i missing something here i downloaded the baseband 1035.21_20110622, but there is also an AP BIN : _______________ . WHAT DOES this means, cause i got Download complete but after i start my phone i only get LG logo..


Need some help here.


Rgds,
Yusuf00786

  • 0




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users