Jump to content


Photo

[HOWTO]Change the digitizer screen (ZTE Blade)

* * * * * 8 votes

  • Please log in to reply
227 replies to this topic

#61
Zandarts

Zandarts

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Although hard to see in these pictures, there are 5 little foam oval widgets, 2 down one side of the board, and three down the other, each covered with a silvery conductor. The ones on the side with 3 make contact with a lead with bare patches adjacent to these widgets. If you look carefully at Picture 5 in the first posting, you can see the lead on the side with three, running down the edge - one contact is near the mid-height of the battery housing, and the other two are roughly at each end of the battery housing.


Sorry for bumping an old topic but could those foam widgets be the reason my touchscreen is not working after I opened my phone to clean it? I managed to damage one of the oval thingies while opening the phone, the one of two not directly connected to the wire, on the other side.

  • 0

#62
Goots

Goots

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S GT-I9000
  • Twitter:@1969guy
As far as I know, the only electrical connection between the digitizer and the motherboard is the fine ribbon cable. This looks very fragile even though it is quite flexible.

  • 0

#63
Zandarts

Zandarts

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Well, then I must think of other reasons why touchscreen stopped responding.

Update: I've disconnected digitizer completely and left only motherboard/screen/battery, still no response from the touchscreen :(

Edited by Zandarts, 09 August 2011 - 07:13 AM.

  • 0

#64
JimJam707

JimJam707

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 825 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Devices:Moto G
  • Twitter:@JimJam707
I can't find any good cheap White screens from eBay or amazon :/

  • 0

Samsung Galaxy SII - CyanogenMod 10.1 Nightlies

ZTE Blade - CyanogenMod 7

Samsung Galaxy Spica i5700 - CyanogenMod 9 Alphas

------------------------------------------------

Follow Me:

Twitter


#65
JudasLucifer

JudasLucifer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,342 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Zte Blade
Ive got a windscreen style "chip" which spread from half a centrimeter to across the whole screen in a matter of moments. I literally looked away from it for 1 second and the next thing I know the whole screen is covered :P Anyone know how to stop the crack spreading?

and what is the most recent "trusted" ebay link?

I may just hold out till Xmas in hope something cheap and better than the ckate comes out with a cm7 port :P

  • 0

Sig.png


What Font Are You Using? (thats legible of course :P)


 


#66
darkado

darkado

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
any cheaper than this one?

http://cgi.ebay.com/...=item27bcb50b28

Edited by darkado, 17 August 2011 - 02:00 PM.

  • 0

#67
mikeybhoy

mikeybhoy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:exec

any cheaper than this one?

http://cgi.ebay.com/...=item27bcb50b28


I ordered one this week from GraveDigga for £24.99. Had to e-mail her to ask for the ZTE Blade digitizer to be listed again and it's now showing on ebay

http://www.ebay.co.u...#ht_2029wt_1139

Was delivered very quickly and while it says its graded stock, it was to all intents and purposes like new (although I was hoping it would say ZTE Blade rather than San Francisco)

Followed the instructions in the first post (thanks OP), took about 10 mins in all.

I tend to keep the ZTE in my back pocket which is probably why I've ended up with a cracked screen. Anyone know of a good protective case for the ZTE Blade?

  • 0

#68
stevoknevo

stevoknevo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Devices:HTC One S

  • 0

#69
r1chd

r1chd

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:orange san francisco
Hmmmm. I also bought a digitiser from Gravedigga. It looked new, no problems there. When I replaced it, I couldn't get the touchscreen to work, and now the broken one won't work either. The display comes up, but it's unresponsive. I've tried reconnecting it a few times, but it's still the same. Does anyone have any ideas? Have I broken it?

  • 0

#70
Maxsas360

Maxsas360

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 455 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Behind ya
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S i9000
Contacts could be dirty. Clean them.

  • 0
Liked my help? Buy me a big nice cup of coffee. <form action="https://www.paypal.c...cgi-bin/webscr" method="post">
<input type="hidden" name="cmd" value="_s-xclick">
<input type="hidden" name="encrypted" value="-----BEGIN PKCS7-----MIIHPwYJKoZIhvcNAQcEoIIHMDCCBywCAQExggEwMIIBLAIBADCBlDCBjjELMAkGA1UEBhMCVVMxCzAJBgNVBAgTAkNBMRYwFAYDVQQHEw1Nb3VudGFpbiBWaWV3MRQwEgYDVQQKEwtQYXlQYWwgSW5jLjETMBEGA1UECxQKbGl2ZV9jZXJ0czERMA8GA1UEAxQIbGl2ZV9hcGkxHDAaBgkqhkiG9w0BCQEWDXJlQHBheXBhbC5jb20CAQAwDQYJKoZIhvcNAQEBBQAEgYCAJh0w3bmkkajBrmWwiQIxRzGFNm1nlfGL/F1Lmom3FmN4NqsN42ZKNXlyDRbU8kPu9vd6W/tO4IFsPP8yDCtBqIwZydJErvyant7ACPXvEnzNkV34AJhqi6zH0LpQ9C758tDLZrhanj0dV7TDeMOZzdxwqH7zYkNuEBf/9aQC5DELMAkGBSsOAwIaBQAwgbwGCSqGSIb3DQEHATAUBggqhkiG9w0DBwQI143evERhoP6AgZifCV4AcwhAHCeF/uwRExEtJxtXNG4F0PuF5aYq6ChvwQC481+k6AC05c8oSkrAEe0Rp71RczJqaigmt724EY2zmgIIhB1QqQ0Xvvnz5jNyB0y8OUGM0s3haj82KIbF6XzhcXEl01pXwCKcXa0PdLBgxl8z9OHQdgUkZ5oWzX9My2mEXZHuhKo4sp5xgewMSLyBnTgfwlIyOKCCA4cwggODMIIC7KADAgECAgEAMA0GCSqGSIb3DQEBBQUAMIGOMQswCQYDVQQGEwJVUzELMAkGA1UECBMCQ0ExFjAUBgNVBAcTDU1vdW50YWluIFZpZXcxFDASBgNVBAoTC1BheVBhbCBJbmMuMRMwEQYDVQQLFApsaXZlX2NlcnRzMREwDwYDVQQDFAhsaXZlX2FwaTEcMBoGCSqGSIb3DQEJARYNcmVAcGF5cGFsLmNvbTAeFw0wNDAyMTMxMDEzMTVaFw0zNTAyMTMxMDEzMTVaMIGOMQswCQYDVQQGEwJVUzELMAkGA1UECBMCQ0ExFjAUBgNVBAcTDU1vdW50YWluIFZpZXcxFDASBgNVBAoTC1BheVBhbCBJbmMuMRMwEQYDVQQLFApsaXZlX2NlcnRzMREwDwYDVQQDFAhsaXZlX2FwaTEcMBoGCSqGSIb3DQEJARYNcmVAcGF5cGFsLmNvbTCBnzANBgkqhkiG9w0BAQEFAAOBjQAwgYkCgYEAwUdO3fxEzEtcnI7ZKZL412XvZPugoni7i7D7prCe0AtaHTc97CYgm7NsAtJyxNLixmhLV8pyIEaiHXWAh8fPKW+R017+EmXrr9EaquPmsVvTywAAE1PMNOKqo2kl4Gxiz9zZqIajOm1fZGWcGS0f5JQ2kBqNbvbg2/Za+GJ/qwUCAwEAAaOB7jCB6zAdBgNVHQ4EFgQUlp98u8ZvF71ZP1LXChvsENZklGswgbsGA1UdIwSBszCBsIAUlp98u8ZvF71ZP1LXChvsENZklGuhgZSkgZEwgY4xCzAJBgNVBAYTAlVTMQswCQYDVQQIEwJDQTEWMBQGA1UEBxMNTW91bnRhaW4gVmlldzEUMBIGA1UEChMLUGF5UGFsIEluYy4xEzARBgNVBAsUCmxpdmVfY2VydHMxETAPBgNVBAMUCGxpdmVfYXBpMRwwGgYJKoZIhvcNAQkBFg1yZUBwYXlwYWwuY29tggEAMAwGA1UdEwQFMAMBAf8wDQYJKoZIhvcNAQEFBQADgYEAgV86VpqAWuXvX6Oro4qJ1tYVIT5DgWpE692Ag422H7yRIr/9j/iKG4Thia/Oflx4TdL+IFJBAyPK9v6zZNZtBgPBynXb048hsP16l2vi0k5Q2JKiPDsEfBhGI+HnxLXEaUWAcVfCsQFvd2A1sxRr67ip5y2wwBelUecP3AjJ+YcxggGaMIIBlgIBATCBlDCBjjELMAkGA1UEBhMCVVMxCzAJBgNVBAgTAkNBMRYwFAYDVQQHEw1Nb3VudGFpbiBWaWV3MRQwEgYDVQQKEwtQYXlQYWwgSW5jLjETMBEGA1UECxQKbGl2ZV9jZXJ0czERMA8GA1UEAxQIbGl2ZV9hcGkxHDAaBgkqhkiG9w0BCQEWDXJlQHBheXBhbC5jb20CAQAwCQYFKw4DAhoFAKBdMBgGCSqGSIb3DQEJAzELBgkqhkiG9w0BBwEwHAYJKoZIhvcNAQkFMQ8XDTEyMDIxNjA4NDU0M1owIwYJKoZIhvcNAQkEMRYEFJ25fzsYLoj2EGS92mXanoHkW5RoMA0GCSqGSIb3DQEBAQUABIGAGQ807a26kI/rzZE2YsDq0w5QEdbPWa9CSb5G5wYvSXH07DUrQCBTGblw5f2okbgOyodN6gE159rBmikWHz7TEsvG5eGi0vx9K0HR2muI0xolOF3d7al8iXEdcvR6GaCijcanlbz9d0dOChvqmeWBrCjiNzeE/pTcT92MU7Y44bc=-----END PKCS7-----
">
<input type="image" src="https://www.paypalob...onateCC_LG.gif" border="0" name="submit" alt="PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!">
<img alt="" border="0" src="https://www.paypalob.../scr/pixel.gif" width="1" height="1">
</form>

#71
WAWA72

WAWA72

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 309 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade__not booting
Contact her, you get another.

  • 0

#72
Stephen1915

Stephen1915

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
Briiliant post - thank you.


Breathed new life in to my dead San Fran

Got the digitiser from here - http://links.modaco....%2Fpage__st__60


Digitiser arrived as promised within 48 hours in suitable packaging - quality of product excellent and to be recommended.

Stephen

Edited by Stephen1915, 25 August 2011 - 08:27 PM.

  • 0

#73
scoula

scoula

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
Cleaned the inside of my screen to get rid of the dust as per the instructions on page 1, but like a few other people here it has resulted in a non-working touchscreen afterwards. I haven't done any obvious damage that I can see to the ribbon cable, one of the oval shaped metal sponge things that run down both sides did fall off but I managed to wedge it into place successfully. Did anyone who had the same problem come up with a solution?

I'm not so sure it's the digitzer because even when I turned on the phone with the digitizer disconnected and tried running my finger across the actual screen itself it was still not responding to touch...or maybe that's normal with no digitizer connected?

Thanks for any help.

Edited by scoula, 26 August 2011 - 11:21 AM.

  • 0

#74
Goots

Goots

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S GT-I9000
  • Twitter:@1969guy
Just to clear up any confusion guys, the digitizer bit that I replaced has nothing to do with the actual display screen of the phone.

The display screen is the thing that actually displays graphics, text, photos, etc..

The digitizer screen is the clear bit that sits on top of the display screen, the bit that you actually touch with your finger.

They do look like one and the same piece when the phone is assembled, but they are actually two completely separate parts.

If your display screen has failed for whatever reason, changing the digitizer screen won't fix it.

  • 0

#75
anything-but

anything-but

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 457 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Higham,Kent.
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Just brought my old oled blade back to life with a digitizer from here My link , upgraded with the gen1 to gen2 gingerbread stirfry (quite impressed with that) and the old sony ericsson W205 can now go back in the draw! :D.

  • 0

#76
MrsGeek

MrsGeek

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
This is great apart from the fact the last bloody screw will not budge!!!!<_<
So now I have a working phone with a cracked screen and a new screen that can't be put on. Marvellous!

  • 0

#77
WAWA72

WAWA72

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 309 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade__not booting
You need a : Hilti

  • 0

#78
Burdock

Burdock

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:T-Mobile Vivacity
Thanks to the OP for a great thread. Really easy to follow and I've now repaired the missus' San Fran.

Got the digitiser from ebay for £17.99. Good as new now!

  • 0

#79
mrflibbles

mrflibbles

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oxford, UK
  • Devices:San Francisco
£17.25 inc postage.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/270678722160

Word of warning. There is a technique to removing the rear cover. Use a small flat blade screw driver to pull open the four wedges visible on the inside of the battery compartment to make it much easier.

Also remember to clean the inside of the replacement screen with a lint free cloth BEFORE you fit it, otherwise you'll just have to take the phone apart again to get rid of the dust :)

  • 1

#80
ojconcentrate

ojconcentrate

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
BE VERY Careful.

while opening up my OSF, everything was going ok until i was prying open the back cover with a flathead screwdriver, the actuall LCD screen is connected to the motherboard with a flex cable that is not as resistant as the cable that connects the digitizer. it almost looks like a flat piece of rubber. long story short, when prying around that area a nicked the edge of the cable that connect the lcd to the motherboard and now i have a screenless arm based linux device that can only be accessed via adb.

otherwise the guide is great.

Edited by ojconcentrate, 14 October 2011 - 12:20 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users