Jump to content


Photo

28 Jul Fr19: MoDaCo Custom ROM for the LG Optimus 2X with Online Kitchen (new: custom kernel)

* * * * * 14 votes

  • Please log in to reply
4695 replies to this topic

#4601
roanitas

roanitas

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aix-en-Provence
  • Devices:SGS4 / TF300T
Hello and thanks for the link conversion ext4.

I Wiped, I flashed. 3 minutes for the first boot, all is well for now.

  • 0
SGS4 Modaco "Switch stock"
Smartwatch Sony :-) /MBW-150 Sony
TF300T 4.2.1 Root
MiNiX Neo x5 4.2.2 root (no screen miroring - hdcp miracast incompatible on S4) :(

#4602
SnowmanDK

SnowmanDK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2X
Just wanna drop my 2 cents here :)

I have been running FR19 r20 for almost a week now, and I have (so far) only had one problem.

I can't say if that is a rom or hardware problem, but here goes:
This morning I had no signal at all from the phone network. Wireless was ok.
I had to do a reboot before I got the phone network back.

The rest seems to run smooth so far :)

Great job Paul!!! You are the savior of our phones ;)

  • 0

PHONE: LG Optimus 2X <:> RECOVERY: ClockworkMod Touch 5.8.1.3 <:> ROM: NovaHD RC24-50 (ICS 4.04) <:> BB/RIL: 825/825 <:> LAUNCHER: GO Launcher EX

Clocked @800~1216mhz, lasting 1½day on a single charge. In a world without walls and fences - who needs windows and gates?


#4603
Thierry Lescot

Thierry Lescot

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:LG-P990
hello paul,

do you have any plan to update the bluetooth driver in the rom to the orginal android version (bluez) ? it's needed to connect to wiimote in some emulator...

here is the answer I got from the NES.emu emilator author...:

Hi, that message usually means you're using an alternate Bluetooth stack provided by a device vendor instead of the stock Linux one (BlueZ) used in Android. Only BlueZ can be used to communicate with Wiimotes due to the protocol they use, while the alternate stacks only provide the minimum Bluetooth functionality needed for Android. Since your device is rooted, you may be able to look for alternate ROMs that supply BlueZ if they're available for your device. I know CyanogenMod uses it but am not familiar with the others. Let me know if you're able to get it working and what ROM you used.

Regards,
Robert

Thanks,

  • 0

#4604
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
No, changing the BT stack is a non trivial task! :( Sorry...

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#4605
orlox

orlox

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Devices:optimus 2x
Because I had many problems like freezing - restarts with gr2 I had to revert to F19 since fr18 beta 2 I was using wasnt available. I flashed it 3-4 times with or withought r20 kernel and I always had a problem restoring my apps from titanium wich i dont have with stock.
It restored a few apps then it stopped. The bar was continuing to show up but it wasnt moving. I could cancel the restore thought.
The REAL problem comes now. I tryed to install an app from the market but even if I was pressing ok nothing where happening. I tryed to send the apps via pc market (https://market.android.com) The apps woudnt download but i could see them trying to do so in the notification bar.
I did a fix permisions and wipe cache - dalvik but didnt do the trik. Only wipe data and then go to the begging.

Before you ask I had lots of free space. Any ideas? Now I am in latest stock for greece 10c with the baseband 622 that came with it.

  • 0

#4606
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Just a heads up that i'm working on a few ROMs for some other devices for a few days, but don't worry, i'm still doing 2X stuff too. :)

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#4607
wapz

wapz

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 168 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x 2.2.2
I just realized that I think I haven't had a single crash or black screen since I applied the v10e kernel. I think it really works a lot better and makes it a much better phone. Another effect that hasn't been covered that LG has made large improvement to the sound area, the sound quality has increased dramatically with v10e, try it out you'll notice!

  • 0

#4608
FPSAUS4EVER

FPSAUS4EVER

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Devices:lg otimus 2x
With the online kitchen are those apps and mods pre installed onto this ROM or do i have to install them my self. AND i have base band 1035.21_20110405 SO do i HAVE to change to the latest one to work with this ROM.

Edited by FPSAUS4EVER, 04 August 2011 - 11:46 PM.

  • 0

#4609
FPSAUS4EVER

FPSAUS4EVER

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Devices:lg otimus 2x
Hi i am new to the lg optimus 2x and want a new ROM should i get this ROM(modaco fr19) or Cyanmod 7. Coz the stock lg Rom is F***KING SH**T, battery last 6 hours, a lot of FC and crashes. I have a lg optimus GT540 with CM 7 swiftdroid and it has now andoird 2.3.5. SO when can i get for the 2x android 2.3.5?. SO with this ROM is it stable enough for every day use and to play games on it. And how long does the battery last? with heavy usage. Thanks

  • 0

#4610
jon.m.knight

jon.m.knight

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 95 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@jonmknight

With the online kitchen are those apps and mods pre installed onto this ROM or do i have to install them my self. AND i have base band 1035.21_20110405 SO do i HAVE to change to the latest one to work with this ROM.


Morning. The ones that are ticked in the kitchen come pre-installed. Try downloading the default kitchen setup first and flash it. See if you like it, if not then pick and choose what you want in the kitchen.

Baseband 0405 - yes, it will work. The RIL that comes bundled with this ROM is dated 0622, so it supports more than your baseband does... much l ike having a ferarri, but capping the max speed to 90mph :-/

  • 0

#4611
jon.m.knight

jon.m.knight

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 95 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@jonmknight

Hi i am new to the lg optimus 2x and want a new ROM should i get this ROM(modaco fr19) or Cyanmod 7. Coz the stock lg Rom is F***KING SH**T, battery last 6 hours, a lot of FC and crashes. I have a lg optimus GT540 with CM 7 swiftdroid and it has now andoird 2.3.5. SO when can i get for the 2x android 2.3.5?. SO with this ROM is it stable enough for every day use and to play games on it. And how long does the battery last? with heavy usage. Thanks


This is a 2.2.2 ROM.

This is in my opinion the most stable ROM there is out there.

Battery is what you'd expect from a phone of these specs, a daily, overnight charge is still required with heavy use.

Yes, the LG stock ROM is poor. I certainly would have sold my handset a long time ago if I was forced to stick with the stock ROM.

CM7 vs FR19: all a matter of personal preference. CM7 has richer features, but is less stable (just check out the 'issues thread' over on xda for the optimus2x) Try them both! ... Flash one, make a nandoid, flash the other, make a nandroid. Switch between the two and perform like-for-like comparions.

P.S - remember that MoDaCo GR2 is still in the pipeline if you're after a Gingerbread experience

Edited by jon.m.knight, 05 August 2011 - 06:45 AM.

  • 0

#4612
wapz

wapz

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 168 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x 2.2.2

This is a 2.2.2 ROM.

This is in my opinion the most stable ROM there is out there.

Battery is what you'd expect from a phone of these specs, a daily, overnight charge is still required with heavy use.

Yes, the LG stock ROM is poor. I certainly would have sold my handset a long time ago if I was forced to stick with the stock ROM.

CM7 vs FR19: all a matter of personal preference. CM7 has richer features, but is less stable (just check out the 'issues thread' over on xda for the optimus2x) Try them both! ... Flash one, make a nandoid, flash the other, make a nandroid. Switch between the two and perform like-for-like comparions.

P.S - remember that MoDaCo GR2 is still in the pipeline if you're after a Gingerbread experience


If you want all to work fine, FR19 with new conversion to EXT4 is the best it will get for a while until nVidia releases the HALs to the CM team.

  • 0

#4613
yip123

yip123

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
HI~Paul


Can I use setcpu for OC/UV with new customer Kernel & FR19?



thanks please reply.

  • 0

#4614
fifi139

fifi139

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Devices:LG O2x
i flashed the new kernel again, this time w/o sqlite patch. looks like a bit more stable. but quadrant benchmark is only 2400. before with prev kernel fr19 and sqlite patch i could get 2800. let's see if it's more stable.

  • 0

#4615
fifi139

fifi139

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Devices:LG O2x

HI~Paul


Can I use setcpu for OC/UV with new customer Kernel & FR19?



thanks please reply.


i tried that but no. the new kernel still not recognized to be overclocked. maybe future update.

  • 0

#4616
jon.m.knight

jon.m.knight

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 95 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@jonmknight

HI~Paul


Can I use setcpu for OC/UV with new customer Kernel & FR19?



thanks please reply.


If you want to O/C then use this kernel by Imperticus

http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1200726

  • 0

#4617
FPSAUS4EVER

FPSAUS4EVER

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Devices:lg otimus 2x
Hi, if i get Modaco rom will my base band be update automatically or do i have to do it through smart flash. And will clock work recovry be still there when i wipe the device with smart flash.

  • 0

#4618
jon.m.knight

jon.m.knight

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 95 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@jonmknight

Hi, if i get Modaco rom will my base band be update automatically or do i have to do it through smart flash. And will clock work recovry be still there when i wipe the device with smart flash.


MoDaCo will not update your baseband. Yep, you'll have to do it via the flashing tool. Takes about 3minutes in total to update your baseband. Yes - Clockwork recovery will still be there

  • 0

#4619
FPSAUS4EVER

FPSAUS4EVER

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Devices:lg otimus 2x
When modaco ROM gets a new update like fr20 can i just update the ROM through CWR and still have all my data and information still there? or have to wipe all the data and restart again?

  • 0

#4620
FPSAUS4EVER

FPSAUS4EVER

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Devices:lg otimus 2x
My WIFI keeps dropping out. So how can i fix it please HELP!!!

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users