Jump to content


Photo

ZTE V9/Light 2.2 Update now available..

* * * * * 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
291 replies to this topic

#121
slickric

slickric

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:zte v9

Does anyone confirm that there will be official upgrade eventually (or even better with a schedule)? If so, I'd probably just wait for it.


there is an offical update frlom Optus for their prepaid my tab's out already and is available from the zte website. post paid device update will likely be another week or 2

  • 0

#122
slickric

slickric

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:zte v9

The quick and dirty install guide:

0) download file and copy to your SD card
1) use z4root to root your device
2) use Recovery Manager to install a gen2 version of clockworkmod recovery


my turn for a stupid question... how do i use recovery manager?

  • 0

#123
AndersTornberg

AndersTornberg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Light

Just checked myne and the imei changed to, so it must be the NV step!!!!
In my case it didn't want to do it so i was forced to skip it...
the second time it did created a NV file with no problem... but i figured now that it was it the wrong imei this time...
So try to make the NV backup

my imei now ends with: 642710 and yours any change?

And about the hardware buttons to start in recovery? anyone can use them?


Check http://android.modac...also-the-imei/#

Gonna try it later tonight.
Maybe it is not in the same position in the V9 file, but since you know your present IMEI, you could reverse engineer it and find out.

I don´t have my V9 here, it´s at home, so I can´t check my IMEI right now.

//Anders.

  • 0

#124
AndersTornberg

AndersTornberg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Light

Check http://android.modac...also-the-imei/#

Gonna try it later tonight.
Maybe it is not in the same position in the V9 file, but since you know your present IMEI, you could reverse engineer it and find out.

I don´t have my V9 here, it´s at home, so I can´t check my IMEI right now.

//Anders.


Quoting myself :-)

I managed to get my IMEI back using the Hex-edit method.
Have to reinstall all SW though :-)

The offset for the Light is 0x1215.

1) Prepare edited Channel1.nvm
2) Start the update process according to the guide in this thread
3) When you get to the "Backup NV" part, put your V9 into FTM mode by holding down VOL - until the FTM-sign shows.
4) Now use Multisales, make sure radio button "Restore NV" is marked, make sure that the edited Channel1.nvm is in same directory as Multisales.
5) Click start all, FTM mode will allow you to do both backup and restore, but you want to do a restore with your new IMEI, right.
6) wait for it to finish, disconnect, remove battery, put battery back and start up with vol + pushed. Do not release Vol + until the Light reboots.
7) Love and behold, your IMEI has been restored, if you made everything right with the HEX edit.

I´ll upload the file that I got when I did a backup NV after succesfully downloading Firmware, you can use this and edit it, or make your own "raw" hex file with the same method.
Rename file to .nvm before trying to do the restore. (Wasn´t allowed to upload .nvm file)

Best regards
Anders.

Attached Files


Edited by AndersTornberg, 03 May 2011 - 04:16 PM.

  • 0

#125
fredgo

fredgo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:iPhone 4, zte light
Hi and thanks for the guide. After a whole lot of reading I tried to update to 2.2.

One thing I had problems with was that the pad was locked in the "FTM" mode and however I tried to hold down the volumebuttons while booting the device I couldnt go pass the FTM mode.

But after I read a little bit more i tried to hold down the volume + and wait until the lights rebooted I got it to work. Thx anderstornberg.

Thanks again everybody who have helped in this thread.

Edit: ZTE light Sweden with telia works fine with the upgrade and the touchscreen got better than before

Edited by fredgo, 03 May 2011 - 05:39 PM.

  • 0

#126
AndersTornberg

AndersTornberg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Light

Just checked myne and the imei changed to, so it must be the NV step!!!!
In my case it didn't want to do it so i was forced to skip it...
the second time it did created a NV file with no problem... but i figured now that it was it the wrong imei this time...
So try to make the NV backup

my imei now ends with: 642710 and yours any change?

And about the hardware buttons to start in recovery? anyone can use them?


Mine was also 000039485642710 probably some internal ZTE testing IMEI.

//A

  • 0

#127
fredgo

fredgo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:iPhone 4, zte light

Flashed BACK my V9 Successfully!!!! THANKS TO EVERYONE HERE, AND NOW I'VE GOT MY V9 WORKING AGAIN..... The part about the one blink of the LED when the volume '+' and '-' then the power switch was a saviour to my Reflash.... then the part of using the flasher was Brill!!!! However, to root the device, I need to thanks this person (hariz9511) of whom I found him placing a blog all alone here...
hariz9511 Blog

He has shared some really crucial info in Rooting your V9 SUCESSFULLY, he was using VISIONary PLUS which is found here amongst all the posting.
VISIONary PLUS

I now have a Rooted V9 with Android 2.2, and with backup and recovery this time..... I will look into how to increase my internal phone memory and attempt to overclock the cpu to at least 800MHz, so that you can run the Adobe Flash Player 10.1

I can see some of the people here is struggling to install and run Adobe Flash Player 10.1 this could be reason why (the device is only 600 Mhz). Here is a reply from the supplier of the device in Hong Kong when I question them why I can not install Adobe Flash Player 10.1 when I thought when you upgraded the Android 2.2, you can use Flash Player 10.1, here is what they have said:-

"Dear Dave,

Thanks for your enquiry.

According to Adobe flash 10.1 system requirement, apart from OS 2.2, the CPU required 800MHz CPU for WVGA display.

ZTE Light only have 600MHz CPU, it is not possible to support adobe flash 10.1.

adobe flash 10.1 "

So do you think if we can overclock the device to at least 800Mhz which May will allow us to Run Adobe Flash Player 10.1 ()? Any reliable App out there that can overclock our ZTE Lighe V9?

I will explore around.

And Thanks again,



Have you found a way to overcklock the cpu? Heard of anyone doing it?

Does anyone know how to do this? Is it even possible?
Does it work with other androiddevices?

  • 0

#128
KJ75

KJ75

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:ZTE V9
What are the differences with the official 2.2 update from ZTE released a few days ago, and the 2.2 release released here (earlier ZTE release ) with Sebastians update ?

Playing Angry Birds RIO is somewhat lagging in some stages and hoping for an update that will improve things.

I was thinking of trying the official release (currently using the earlier ZTE release with Sebastian update) but FTE no longer works.


KJ75

  • 0

#129
BuckNaked

BuckNaked

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

I will do a real post at somepoint soon when I get time... I'm hella busy with work, lots BIG projects going on.... we are out of beta and releasing on time.

But here is my 'custom' ROM:

r2_update_de-branded_blade_gen2-update-signed.zip - MD5: 10b0bae0f834c7010f995c705d64f960

There really was not much to 'fix' from the stock, but I've removed the usual ZTE mess, fixed the wrongly mounted file system, the ADB problems for windows users, updated all the google apps, rooted, added SuperUser, etc, etc..

it will only work on gen2 devices, so updated v9's only.

The quick and dirty install guide:

0) download file and copy to your SD card
1) use z4root to root your device
2) use Recovery Manager to install a gen2 version of clockworkmod recovery
3) reboot into ClockworkMod Recovery
4) install update.zip
5) reboot
6) ...
7) ...
8) profit!


I'm quite the noob so forgive for asking this, but when I boot into ClockworkMod (after following the other steps in this thread succesfully, i.e. updated to 2.2, rooted, installed CWM 3.0.2.8 and copied the file from above (both zipped and unzipped..) to the sdcard), it says it can't open /sdcard/update.zip (no such file or directory).. Which is correct because there is no such file. So my question is, how do I create this file? :mellow:

Thanks for all the hard work Sebastian404 and others have put in btw, great stuff!

  • 0

#130
mrradmir

mrradmir

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Location:Luton
  • Devices:OSF [GEN2]

Just checked myne and the imei changed to, so it must be the NV step!!!!

If you do not want to lose IMEI just start flashing when phone in FTM mode!!!

  • 0

#131
dylan_r

dylan_r

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Hey, i bought a ZTE v9 (my tab version) 2 days ago.
and i have been trying to Root it so i can install clockworks etc.
I'm on official ZTE/Optus Froyo 2.2.
i have tried z4root and superoneclick with gingerbreak.
any care to help?

  • 0

#132
psychbiz

psychbiz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:ZTE-V9
I have an Optus Mytab and in preparing for installation of official Froyo 2.2 release, thought that I would try installing the clockworkmod recovery (Thinking it might be "better" than the standard recovery environment) (I'm new at this! :mellow:

I wanted to do a full image backup before updating to 2.2. But unable to get to that stage.

Now my system will not boot into recovery mode nor can I access it using USB. Boots into normal mode OK.

The process I undertook was to:
(Have already rooted the tab)
1. Install RecoveryManager v0.36beta by sebastian404
2.Downloaded recovery-clockwork-3.0.2.8-v9-gen1.img to SD card
3. Used Recovery Manager to find and install this recovery image.

Then tried to boot into recovery mode by powering off, restarting and holding down the vol- button. The result was a screen with the little green android and that's as far as it got.

I tried reinstalling the clockworkmod again, but no change.

For reasons that may or may not be related to this I have been unable connect via usb to the computer. Have tried several computers with both XP and Linux. None detect a USB device at all.

I have usb debugging turned on and used the power manager widget to enable pc connection.

edit: lsusb in a linux terminal does not show the optus tab device as connected.

Is there any way I can recover this situation? I'm new to Android, but have used Linux for many years, but don't know what I am doing here.

Many thanks for any assistance.

  • 0

#133
slapnuts

slapnuts

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Devices:htc desire zte v9, galaxy tab

I have an Optus Mytab and in preparing for installation of official Froyo 2.2 release, thought that I would try installing the clockworkmod recovery (Thinking it might be "better" than the standard recovery environment) (I'm new at this! :mellow:

I wanted to do a full image backup before updating to 2.2. But unable to get to that stage.

Now my system will not boot into recovery mode nor can I access it using USB. Boots into normal mode OK.

The process I undertook was to:
(Have already rooted the tab)
1. Install RecoveryManager v0.36beta by sebastian404
2.Downloaded recovery-clockwork-3.0.2.8-v9-gen1.img to SD card
3. Used Recovery Manager to find and install this recovery image.

Then tried to boot into recovery mode by powering off, restarting and holding down the vol- button. The result was a screen with the little green android and that's as far as it got.

I tried reinstalling the clockworkmod again, but no change.

For reasons that may or may not be related to this I have been unable connect via usb to the computer. Have tried several computers with both XP and Linux. None detect a USB device at all.

I have usb debugging turned on and used the power manager widget to enable pc connection.

edit: lsusb in a linux terminal does not show the optus tab device as connected.

Is there any way I can recover this situation? I'm new to Android, but have used Linux for many years, but don't know what I am doing here.

Many thanks for any assistance.


Unfortunately, the whole exercise is a moot point, since when you upgrade to 2.2 you will not be able to go back to 2.1 again.

  • 0
No.

#134
psychbiz

psychbiz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:ZTE-V9

Unfortunately, the whole exercise is a moot point, since when you upgrade to 2.2 you will not be able to go back to 2.1 again.


Because I cannot get usb to work I am unable to update to 2.2!

Have since contacted Optus and they think its probably a faulty usb port after I tried different computers and different cables.

  • 0

#135
slapnuts

slapnuts

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Devices:htc desire zte v9, galaxy tab

Because I cannot get usb to work I am unable to update to 2.2!

Have since contacted Optus and they think its probably a faulty usb port after I tried different computers and different cables.



Just out of curiosity how did you install the recovery image from Sebastian if you couldn't push it through adb due to no USB? Or did you rename and move the image file on the device to the correct directory using the file manager after running rom manager overwriting the one it downloaded?

  • 0
No.

#136
psychbiz

psychbiz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:ZTE-V9

Just out of curiosity how did you install the recovery image from Sebastian if you couldn't push it through adb due to no USB? Or did you rename and move the image file on the device to the correct directory using the file manager after running rom manager overwriting the one it downloaded?


I now have a working USB connection! (Third cable I tried)

In answer to your query, I copied recovery-clockwork-3.0.2.8-v9-gen1.img file onto my sd card in the "download" folder and then let ROM Manager "find it". It seemed to go through the install process, except that recovery doesn't boot properly and FTM is gone. Now have no way of installing Froyo update.

I don't really understand how to use ABD to (re)install the recovery image. Perhaps this is possible now with the usb connection? Can you point me to a how to? Do i need a different recovery image? Is there somewhere I can get the original FTM image for Optus Mytab (ZTE v9)?

Edited by psychbiz, 05 May 2011 - 06:09 AM.

  • 0

#137
slapnuts

slapnuts

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Devices:htc desire zte v9, galaxy tab

I now have a working USB connection! (Third cable I tried)

In answer to your query, I copied recovery-clockwork-3.0.2.8-v9-gen1.img file onto my sd card in the "download" folder and then let ROM Manager "find it". It seemed to go through the install process, except that recovery doesn't boot properly and FTM is gone. Now have no way of installing Froyo update.

I don't really understand how to use ABD to (re)install the recovery image. Perhaps this is possible now with the usb connection? Can you point me to a how to? Do i need a different recovery image? Is there somewhere I can get the original FTM image for Optus Mytab (ZTE v9)?

Just to clarify, that is the reason cwm won't work for you. Rom manager doesn't "find" the file. It downloads it. Now that it has, you need to replace the file it downloaded with the one you did. After you rename it to match. If in doubt, go back through the thread at xda it is in there.

After replacing the file which will be in the clockworkmod / downloads / .... directory on your SD card run rom manager again to install recovery and try of again. The yellow bar up top is it downloading again, if it does, you'll need to replace those files with your special copy too.

Hope this helps.

  • 0
No.

#138
sicksand

sicksand

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Hey, i bought a ZTE v9 (my tab version) 2 days ago.
and i have been trying to Root it so i can install clockworks etc.
I'm on official ZTE/Optus Froyo 2.2.
i have tried z4root and superoneclick with gingerbreak.
any care to help?

try the z4root and click temp root, while you at root, install the clockwork recovery via adb/fastboot. then boot into recovery, if success you should boot in clockwork recovery, then, you can install the update.zip

  • 0

#139
slapnuts

slapnuts

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Devices:htc desire zte v9, galaxy tab

Hey, i bought a ZTE v9 (my tab version) 2 days ago.
and i have been trying to Root it so i can install clockworks etc.
I'm on official ZTE/Optus Froyo 2.2.
i have tried z4root and superoneclick with gingerbreak.
any care to help?


Or, you can read the thread from the beginning and find out a better way.

  • 0
No.

#140
psychbiz

psychbiz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:ZTE-V9

Just to clarify, that is the reason cwm won't work for you. Rom manager doesn't "find" the file. It downloads it. Now that it has, you need to replace the file it downloaded with the one you did. After you rename it to match. If in doubt, go back through the thread at xda it is in there.

After replacing the file which will be in the clockworkmod / downloads / .... directory on your SD card run rom manager again to install recovery and try of again. The yellow bar up top is it downloading again, if it does, you'll need to replace those files with your special copy too.

Hope this helps.


Many thanks for your input. It seems I made an error. I used Recovery Manager, NOT ROM Manager to install the recovery-clockwork-3.0.2.8-v9-gen1.img file, which I mentioned above. It said it was installed but would not boot into recovery, but it has clearly overwritten the FTM recovery option. Do I have the wrong image file? It 'seemed' to be the right one by the name.

The reason i wasn't able to use ROM manager was that it asked for me to select the model of my device when I selected the "Flash CWM Recovery" option, but the ZTE v9 was not listed. Just a few devices. So i was stuck. Then tried Recovery manager.

Edited by psychbiz, 05 May 2011 - 08:26 AM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users