Jump to content


Photo

14 Apr 3.0.1.4 r1 Beta - ClockworkMod Recovery for the Asus Eee Pad Transformer

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#1
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,221 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
For the past couple of days I have been working on creating a ClockworkMod recovery image for the Asus Eee Pad Transformer. I'm pleased to announce that the first Beta release is available! :)

Some points to note - READ THESE CAREFULLY!
  • Use at your own risk! I have successfully used the backup and restore functionality (nandroid) subject to the caveats below, and am currently testing other functions.
  • The boot and recovery partitions are currently not accessible from recovery / booted up, so this is a 'fake flash' recovery at this time. Hopefully this will change in the future.
  • The above means that boot / recovery cannot be backed up, but also cannot be edited from update zips.
  • The USB mount function does not work at this time (planned for a future update).
Download

I have packaged the recovery as a signed update zip. To use, you must put it on the External SD of your device (/Removable/MicroSD) named 'EP101_SDUPDATE.zip'.
  • 3.0.1.4 r1 Beta - DOWNLOAD (Mediafire Pro) - MD5: 5c20f78385b0232a53f0b5939c505531
Launching Recovery

To boot ClockworkMod Recovery, either:
  • Turn the device on while holding the volume down button and press the volume up button when prompted
  • Download the OPTIONAL 99p 'Transformer Recovery Boot' application from the Android Market (NOTE: This app is completely optional - if you do use it, thanks for your support!
Source / Updates

I'll be posting the device profile and source changes on my GitHub shortly, and will issue fixes / new Betas as required.

Enjoy! :)

P

Posted Image

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#2
ritdaw

ritdaw

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4, Nexus 7
Not sure what I'm doing wrong - I keep getting the android figure and the exclamation mark when trying to boot into recovery? Probably being dim, I also accidentally wiped my tab, lucky I haven't configured much yet!

  • 0

#3
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,221 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
So you downloaded the file, and put it on your External SD card as EP101_SDUPDATE.zip?

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#4
ritdaw

ritdaw

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4, Nexus 7

So you downloaded the file, and put it on your External SD card as EP101_SDUPDATE.zip?

P


Ignore me, I was being dim. Thought I'd copied it across from sdcard to removable but I hadn't.... Working now.

Apologies, feel free to delete my rubbish posts!

Edited by ritdaw, 14 April 2011 - 02:45 PM.

  • 0

#5
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,221 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
:)

Glad to hear it!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#6
DonVincenzo

DonVincenzo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London/Edinburgh, UK
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, Asus Transformer
Hey Paul,

Your link to the recovery boot app has an extra x in which is breaking the link - I'm assuming it was meant to be https://market.andro...merrecoveryboot

Thanks for the hard work on this - I'm simply stunned with the speed at which you manage to roll out these recoveries and ROMs these days!

  • 0

#7
Abnormal1

Abnormal1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, England
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S3
Does clockworkmod backup the /sdcard partition?

  • 0

#8
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,221 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

Hey Paul,

Your link to the recovery boot app has an extra x in which is breaking the link - I'm assuming it was meant to be https://market.andro...merrecoveryboot

Thanks for the hard work on this - I'm simply stunned with the speed at which you manage to roll out these recoveries and ROMs these days!

Thanks for the heads up, fixed!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#9
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,221 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

Does clockworkmod backup the /sdcard partition?

No...

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#10
JeffSmith215

JeffSmith215

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Nexus One, iPhone, Viliv X70
Hey Paul,

Just got my Transformer today and I too get the Android Exclamation mark when trying to install. File is named fine and in right place so not quite sure what I have done wrong?

As soon as I turned device on from box it did do an automatic firmware update and is now on HRI66.WW_epad-8.2.3.6-20110414 with kernel 2.6.36.3-00001-gf6b9fe9android@Mercury #1 - maybe this is causing an issue?

Welcome any thoughts!

  • 0
________________________________________________________________________________
Do not be desirous of having things done quickly. Do not look at small advantages. Desire to have things done quickly prevents their being done thoroughly. Looking at small advantages prevents great affairs from being accomplished.
Confucius - BC 551-479

#11
ritdaw

ritdaw

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4, Nexus 7

Hey Paul,

Just got my Transformer today and I too get the Android Exclamation mark when trying to install. File is named fine and in right place so not quite sure what I have done wrong?

As soon as I turned device on from box it did do an automatic firmware update and is now on HRI66.WW_epad-8.2.3.6-20110414 with kernel 2.6.36.3-00001-gf6b9fe9android@Mercury #1 - maybe this is causing an issue?

Welcome any thoughts!


The latest update stops this mod from working, please all avoid installing the update until Paul is back.

  • 0

#12
JeffSmith215

JeffSmith215

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Nexus One, iPhone, Viliv X70

The latest update stops this mod from working, please all avoid installing the update until Paul is back.



Thanks for the heads up - makes sense now I see the update is signed.

Unfortunately, the new devices are auto-updating as soon as you switch them on and run through the Android setup so not sure folk will be able to stop the update :)

I have no doubt Paul will fix when he has time....

  • 0
________________________________________________________________________________
Do not be desirous of having things done quickly. Do not look at small advantages. Desire to have things done quickly prevents their being done thoroughly. Looking at small advantages prevents great affairs from being accomplished.
Confucius - BC 551-479

#13
cas3

cas3

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero, Asus Transformer
Stupid question but do I have to keep the microsd card in after it's flashed? Bit confused because it says about not being able to write to the recovery or something :S . I can't find my spare one and the only other one I could use is in my phone but it'd need that back

  • 0

#14
kenblat

kenblat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Dear Paul,

After update to the latest ASUS OTA (correct me if i'm wrong about the method hehehe) i use the SD method... result successful boot up as epad_ww_8.2.3.9.

But after that i can't make the CM recovery from you working anymore ... after press the volume up it just show the copy progress about 2 sec and immediately change to the triangle with exclamation mark inside ... and stuck there forever...

I tried to format my sdcard and recopied your script again with the proper name EP101_SDUPDATE.zip. Even try to wipe data and redo the boot up recovery but all efforts did not WORK.

OMG i really miss your HR1 rom and now the latest HR3, NOW stuck with ASUS origin 8.2.3.9 without any methods to restore the old firmware as well.

Any suggestion from all PROs here?

TIA

EDIT: just read the posts above .... so we must wait for the fixed from Paul!

Edited by kenblat, 01 May 2011 - 11:34 AM.

  • 0

#15
kenblat

kenblat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

The latest update stops this mod from working, please all avoid installing the update until Paul is back.

do we have any methods for undo the update?

TIA

  • 0

#16
jasonf925

jasonf925

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:asus transformer
I'm confused about the update breaking this..

I am on 03/25 release..I did setup my google account, went to updates, it said there were no updates available.. just wanted to check what version i was on .

So I flashed CWM, rebooted. It had wiped /data as i was presented with the startup wizard. I clicked skip for wifi and password as i planned on flashing a rom through recovery.. so at this point there is no wifi password entered, and no open wifi available. obviously I also did not setup my google account..

I rebooted into recovery, did a backup. Then rebooted into the system. went back to recovery to flash a rom, but it no longer loads CWM. I get the ! after a few seconds. So I'm curious why it was ok but now stopped when I wasnt connected to any network for it to take an update, how could it have updated itself? Is this the same thing everyone else is experiencing?

Edit: Nevermind I guess I was doing it wrong. duh. it doesnt flash to the transformer so after I booted it in CWM I thought i could delete the file from the SD card.. put it back on and its working now.. =)

Edited by jasonf925, 04 May 2011 - 09:53 AM.

  • 0

#17
joshF

joshF

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Nexus
Ok I have root and install clockwork from this link.

http://kan.gd/frm

Now I have clockworkmod 3.0.2.8

This would be great but clockworkmod 3.0.2.8 when it tries to mount the SDcard to get a zip off it it says "E:Can't mount /sdcard".

I have tried putting EP101_SDUPDATE.zip under the external SDcard but it still boots up into 3.0.2.8.

Any suggestions?
Thanks,
Josh

  • 0

#18
joshF

joshF

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Nexus
I also bought the app and it still takes me into 3.0.2.8.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Josh

  • 0

#19
Deus_ex11

Deus_ex11

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts

Ok I have root and install clockwork from this link.

http://kan.gd/frm

Now I have clockworkmod 3.0.2.8

This would be great but clockworkmod 3.0.2.8 when it tries to mount the SDcard to get a zip off it it says "E:Can't mount /sdcard".

I have tried putting EP101_SDUPDATE.zip under the external SDcard but it still boots up into 3.0.2.8.

Any suggestions?
Thanks,
Josh


I just happened to see this on the XDA site from redmongoose. Somebody else also said to make sure your card is recognised before you reboot to CWM.

Originally Posted by jimbo2412

After doing this i tried to backup in recovery but im getting "E:Can't mount /sdcard/" what is causing this.

I actually tried 4 different cards all with the same result. Interestingly they all worked ok in my phone !

I ran fix permissions through CWM on the phone for each of the cards and now they all work fine on the transformer :-D


  • 0

#20
Abnormal1

Abnormal1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, England
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S3
@Paul
Did you post this to GitHub as I could not find it?

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users