Jump to content


Photo

Your VEGA is not Bricked nor Broken - This will fix it!


  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#21
Zebrahead

Zebrahead

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 317 posts
Hey all,

Updated today, it should now work no problems! I have every faith in it ^^

Before now, it built an executable from a batch file. This was kinda complicated due to the location of 7zip on 32/64 bit builds.

In removing the executable, it should now work fine!


The only thing about having removed that is (in Windows), you no longer get a stand-alone executable, the batch file DOES DEPEND on the tools directory. But this seems a fair tradeoff for a working tool ^^


Thanks and good luck ^^,
Zeb :)

  • 0

My new website - check it out for various VEGA dev stuffs and tools


I'm running out of space to host things! More space for both of us if you don't already have Dropbox! : Free Dropbox Space!!
@ZebraDroid


#22
beegee1962

beegee1962

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 379 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tokyo
  • Interests:HTC phones, Android, Japan, Softbank, Android tablets
  • Devices:HTC Desire, Galaxy Tab 10.1 3G

Hey all,

Updated today, it should now work no problems! I have every faith in it ^^

Before now, it built an executable from a batch file. This was kinda complicated due to the location of 7zip on 32/64 bit builds.

In removing the executable, it should now work fine!
The only thing about having removed that is (in Windows), you no longer get a stand-alone executable, the batch file DOES DEPEND on the tools directory. But this seems a fair tradeoff for a working tool ^^
Thanks and good luck ^^,
Zeb :)


Gotta small problem with your batch file on Windows XP.
Your batch file:

tools/nvflash.exe --bct tools/H5PS1G83EFR-S6C_V24_0625.bct --setbct --bl tools/bootloader.bin --configfile tools/flash.cfg --odmdata 0x0b0c0075 --create --go
@set /p batuserinput=Press enter to continue:

ended in the error message tools/nvflash.exe not found.
I changed the batch file to:

cd tools
nvflash.exe --bct H5PS1G83EFR-S6C_V24_0625.bct --setbct --bl bootloader.bin --configfile flash.cfg --odmdata 0x0b0c0075 --create --go
@set /p batuserinput=Press enter to continue:

What is the problem? You used / instead of \ in your batch file. I tried to change from / to \ but got an error message at the end saying bootloader.img not found. So I tried to just cd to the tools directory and continue from there.
And it works now.

  • 0

#23
Zebrahead

Zebrahead

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 317 posts

Gotta small problem with your batch file on Windows XP.
Your batch file:

ended in the error message tools/nvflash.exe not found.
I changed the batch file to:

What is the problem? You used / instead of \ in your batch file. I tried to change from / to \ but got an error message at the end saying bootloader.img not found. So I tried to just cd to the tools directory and continue from there.
And it works now.



Yeah, just changing the / \ at nvflash wouldn't work, you'd have to do it to every reference to the tools directory. I haven't had chance to alter it - I'll do it now and reupload ^^

Thanks,
Zeb

  • 0

My new website - check it out for various VEGA dev stuffs and tools


I'm running out of space to host things! More space for both of us if you don't already have Dropbox! : Free Dropbox Space!!
@ZebraDroid


#24
rferrett

rferrett

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 532 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Plymouth
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S3, Advent Vega
  • Twitter:@ralphferrett
Zebrahead Thanks very much for this is a great tool.

On the "Clean Up Forum" thread one thing I was thinking is how/if this utility could help super newbies get over the hurdles posed by getting the drivers installed OK.

Would it be possible using this tool for someone to do a totally vanilla install of a ROM plus CWM, then creat a NVFlashable update of that vanilla ROM with CWM that Newbies oculd just install via NVFlash? I am thinking that this would bypass what is the most difficult hurdle for new folks (and frankly often more experienced Android hackers TBH!)

Any milage in this?

Cheers

  • 0
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 Omega 6.0
Tablet: Nexus 7 MCR Jr5
Twitter: @ralphferrett
Google+: http://gplus.to/rferrett
URL: http://lunchtimelegend.co.uk

#25
Zebrahead

Zebrahead

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 317 posts

Zebrahead Thanks very much for this is a great tool.

On the "Clean Up Forum" thread one thing I was thinking is how/if this utility could help super newbies get over the hurdles posed by getting the drivers installed OK.

Would it be possible using this tool for someone to do a totally vanilla install of a ROM plus CWM, then creat a NVFlashable update of that vanilla ROM with CWM that Newbies oculd just install via NVFlash? I am thinking that this would bypass what is the most difficult hurdle for new folks (and frankly often more experienced Android hackers TBH!)

Any milage in this?

Cheers


So if I understand correctly, modify the tool such that it's capable of installing a rom and then creating a vanilla restore point of it effectiely?

I suppose with a vanilla ROM this would be possible. However, if the user already has data that they want to preserve whilst installing the ROM, it wouldn't really work as I'm not sure that I could export their current data (idk, maybe I could manipulate CWM... I'll have a look).

But is this the kinda thing you had in mind?

Zeb ^^

  • 0

My new website - check it out for various VEGA dev stuffs and tools


I'm running out of space to host things! More space for both of us if you don't already have Dropbox! : Free Dropbox Space!!
@ZebraDroid


#26
rferrett

rferrett

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 532 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Plymouth
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S3, Advent Vega
  • Twitter:@ralphferrett
What I meant was say Paul, or the Corvus5 people had a totally wiped "as new" Virgin Vega.

They then, without putting any data or anything onto it install CWM, then install the custom ROM. So at this stage it it is modded, has CWM on but no personal data whatsoever.

Could we then from this "nandoid" create a NVFlashanble "virgin rom" (similar ot the official Advent ones) that instead of going through all the ballache a new user could just download, go into NVFlash and install?

Ralph

  • 0
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 Omega 6.0
Tablet: Nexus 7 MCR Jr5
Twitter: @ralphferrett
Google+: http://gplus.to/rferrett
URL: http://lunchtimelegend.co.uk

#27
Zebrahead

Zebrahead

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 317 posts

What I meant was say Paul, or the Corvus5 people had a totally wiped "as new" Virgin Vega.

They then, without putting any data or anything onto it install CWM, then install the custom ROM. So at this stage it it is modded, has CWM on but no personal data whatsoever.

Could we then from this "nandoid" create a NVFlashanble "virgin rom" (similar ot the official Advent ones) that instead of going through all the ballache a new user could just download, go into NVFlash and install?

Ralph


Oh! Ok, so you mean a stock installer that installs Corvus/r8/Cyanogen etc?

Yeah, that's simple - I'll throw that together tonight when I get 5 mins ^^

Zeb

  • 0

My new website - check it out for various VEGA dev stuffs and tools


I'm running out of space to host things! More space for both of us if you don't already have Dropbox! : Free Dropbox Space!!
@ZebraDroid


#28
rferrett

rferrett

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 532 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Plymouth
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S3, Advent Vega
  • Twitter:@ralphferrett
sweet, should help new people immensely.

  • 0
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 Omega 6.0
Tablet: Nexus 7 MCR Jr5
Twitter: @ralphferrett
Google+: http://gplus.to/rferrett
URL: http://lunchtimelegend.co.uk

#29
retaliatior

retaliatior

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
After 3 days trying it looks not possible for me to do this proces.

I have the VEGA-tablet with CM7 nightly installed.
The Clockwork recovery is installed.
I flashed VTL.Launcher and I only see a bootloop.
This is now for 3 days trying with the back-button 2 seconds, then the powerbutton 2 seconds, releasing power and after 2 seconds releasing power.

There is no way that I can further.

Is there something else I can try?

  • 0

#30
Zebrahead

Zebrahead

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 317 posts

After 3 days trying it looks not possible for me to do this proces.

I have the VEGA-tablet with CM7 nightly installed.
The Clockwork recovery is installed.
I flashed VTL.Launcher and I only see a bootloop.
This is now for 3 days trying with the back-button 2 seconds, then the powerbutton 2 seconds, releasing power and after 2 seconds releasing power.

There is no way that I can further.

Is there something else I can try?



This solution is unlikely to work anyway, unless VTL flashes a different kernel, this won't fix it.

The most obvious (potential) reason for this is that VTL deletes the stock launcher and then installs itself. If your download was corrupt in some way, you may be left with no launcher.

There are a few ways to proceed.

1. Firstly, do you have the download link of VTL? If I can see what it does, I can try and see what went wrong and try and find a nice solution that doesn't involve losing data.

2. If you do not, then if it is the problem I said above, then you should still be able to drop into a shell. You could try entering the following into a terminal :

adb wait-for-device; adb install -r <A LAUNCHER APK THAT ISN'T VTL - THE STOCK ONE MAYBE?>

Enter that, plug your device in, and turn it on normally. That will try to install the other launcher providing the device can boot so far. This is a nice solution. If this works, your data will be preserved and everyone is happy :)

== (Try the above before these, these involve some description of "rolling back" your data) ==

3. Do you have a past CWM backup? If you do, you can restore that using one of the tools on my website (sig)

4. If you don't, then restoring stock is always an option ^^


Note : there's only so much I can do to help as I don't have the device any more! But I'll try my best ^^

Zeb

  • 0

My new website - check it out for various VEGA dev stuffs and tools


I'm running out of space to host things! More space for both of us if you don't already have Dropbox! : Free Dropbox Space!!
@ZebraDroid


#31
Unipete

Unipete

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 115 posts

After 3 days trying it looks not possible for me to do this proces.

I have the VEGA-tablet with CM7 nightly installed.
The Clockwork recovery is installed.
I flashed VTL.Launcher and I only see a bootloop.
This is now for 3 days trying with the back-button 2 seconds, then the powerbutton 2 seconds, releasing power and after 2 seconds releasing power.

There is no way that I can further.

Is there something else I can try?


What exactly are you trying to do?? I assume you are trying to get into recovery to flash a stock ROM? If so, the Back-2s ecs-power-2 secs etc should work. Just keep trying as you won't see anything on the vega screen to indicate it is in nvidia recovery mode until; you run the rom.

If you're trying to do something else; I'm confused.

  • 0
Advent Vega - Modaco R8
Asus Transformer- Modaco R7
HTC Sensation

#32
retaliatior

retaliatior

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

This solution is unlikely to work anyway, unless VTL flashes a different kernel, this won't fix it.

The most obvious (potential) reason for this is that VTL deletes the stock launcher and then installs itself. If your download was corrupt in some way, you may be left with no launcher.

There are a few ways to proceed.

1. Firstly, do you have the download link of VTL? If I can see what it does, I can try and see what went wrong and try and find a nice solution that doesn't involve losing data.

2. If you do not, then if it is the problem I said above, then you should still be able to drop into a shell. You could try entering the following into a terminal :

adb wait-for-device; adb install -r <A LAUNCHER APK THAT ISN'T VTL - THE STOCK ONE MAYBE?>

Enter that, plug your device in, and turn it on normally. That will try to install the other launcher providing the device can boot so far. This is a nice solution. If this works, your data will be preserved and everyone is happy :)

== (Try the above before these, these involve some description of "rolling back" your data) ==

3. Do you have a past CWM backup? If you do, you can restore that using one of the tools on my website (sig)

4. If you don't, then restoring stock is always an option ^^
Note : there's only so much I can do to help as I don't have the device any more! But I'll try my best ^^

Zeb


Thanks for answering.

I'm getting the tablet in recovery now and installed the USB-button.
I thought my tablet must go back in the CW-recovery.
Now I try to get the rom back.

I put the sd-card in pc and the vega in recovery by pushing the back and power-buttons in the right order.
I started the bat.file in vegafixer.
The result of vegafixer is scrolling a lot of statements and after that I recieve an error.
Despite there is a bootloader.bin in the downloaded vegafixertools-directory, the error says missing bootloader.bin.

The only thing I can do in that script is entering to exit.

When I replace the bin-file to the directory of the bat-file thatproblem was solved. After that I received a message that imagefile was not found etc.
All files replaced in the directory of the bat-file and it worked.

Thanks a lot m8 B)

Edited by retaliatior, 22 June 2011 - 11:42 AM.

  • 0

#33
retaliatior

retaliatior

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

What exactly are you trying to do?? I assume you are trying to get into recovery to flash a stock ROM? If so, the Back-2s ecs-power-2 secs etc should work. Just keep trying as you won't see anything on the vega screen to indicate it is in nvidia recovery mode until; you run the rom.

If you're trying to do something else; I'm confused.


Thanks a lot.
I was a little confused about the term recovery and recovery of Clockwork.

Edited by retaliatior, 22 June 2011 - 08:37 AM.

  • 0

#34
gewin

gewin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Thanks a lot.
I was a little confused about the term recovery and recovery of Clockwork.


My first retore...

Actually I had the same problem where I had to copy all the img files and the bootloader from the tools directory to the Vegafixer directory so the superVegaRestore.bat could find them.

Now when I run Supervegarestore.bat it gets most of the way through bootloader, recovery, boot and then gives me the error the the "system.img is too large for partition"

Any help would be appreciated.

  • 0

#35
Skelly

Skelly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:HTC HD2
Hi I'm new to the Vega and it's software (not android). My vega is stuck at that backlight and won't do anything and I'm relying on this tool to get me out of a sticky situation. After I've used this tool what do I do after it? Like what programs etc. should I be running and where can I get them?

The tool itself isn't letting me type in the directory of my backup though which is acting quite strange.

  • 0

#36
Zebrahead

Zebrahead

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 317 posts

My first retore...

Actually I had the same problem where I had to copy all the img files and the bootloader from the tools directory to the Vegafixer directory so the superVegaRestore.bat could find them.

Now when I run Supervegarestore.bat it gets most of the way through bootloader, recovery, boot and then gives me the error the the "system.img is too large for partition"

Any help would be appreciated.




Reflash using nvflash (i.e. stock)

You've changed the size of /system (or you're trying to flash a modified system.img that doesn't fit). Reflashing stock will fix this.

Presumably you're trying to use this coming from one of the older VegaComb versions? /system was enlarged to fit the honeycomb /system

Zeb

Edited by Zebrahead, 10 July 2011 - 10:35 AM.

  • 0

My new website - check it out for various VEGA dev stuffs and tools


I'm running out of space to host things! More space for both of us if you don't already have Dropbox! : Free Dropbox Space!!
@ZebraDroid


#37
Zebrahead

Zebrahead

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 317 posts

Hi I'm new to the Vega and it's software (not android). My vega is stuck at that backlight and won't do anything and I'm relying on this tool to get me out of a sticky situation. After I've used this tool what do I do after it? Like what programs etc. should I be running and where can I get them?

The tool itself isn't letting me type in the directory of my backup though which is acting quite strange.


You don't need to do anything after it. This just effectively flashes a clockwork backup without having to be in clockwork.

As for why it's not letting you type the directory? What do you mean? It's not being found? Is the directory mounted?

Zeb

  • 0

My new website - check it out for various VEGA dev stuffs and tools


I'm running out of space to host things! More space for both of us if you don't already have Dropbox! : Free Dropbox Space!!
@ZebraDroid


#38
DeeLon

DeeLon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
I can't get this to work - doesn't seem to be able to see the USB Drive? I've tried running this both from C Drive and F Drive (The Memory Card itself - when plugged into a USB Reader)


F:\VegaFixer>tools\nvflash.exe --bct tools\H5PS1G83EFR-S6C_V24_0625.bct --setbct
--bl tools\bootloader.bin --configfile tools\flash.cfg --odmdata 0x0b0c0075 --c
reate --go
Nvflash started
USB device not foundPress enter to continue:

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users