Jump to content


Photo

The G2X compatability topic - G2X owners read this!

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#21
rangerlt

rangerlt

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:nexus one, g2x
  • Twitter:@na

The consensus is that it has them, but they are not enabled. A poster over there got a response from TMo that appeared to confirm that, but went on with their terms and conditions that said they have the right to restrict access to certain features - and apparently did.

The thinking is that they would be enabled with baseband (Unless the hidden menu controls access?).


Seems like without heeding the warnings I flashed smartflash to my g2x and now the baseband isn't fuctioning. Is there any way to reslash to factory if there was no boot recovery saved? Is the factory firmware available online?

  • 0

#22
kanshin

kanshin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Seems like without heeding the warnings I flashed smartflash to my g2x and now the baseband isn't fuctioning. Is there any way to reslash to factory if there was no boot recovery saved? Is the factory firmware available online?


Same to you ...It does have a G2x original firmware online. here http://www.fileserve...R-27-2011 0.zip

Edited by kanshin, 22 April 2011 - 08:03 PM.

  • 0

#23
Mrjava65

Mrjava65

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One

Seems like without heeding the warnings I flashed smartflash to my g2x and now the baseband isn't fuctioning. Is there any way to reslash to factory if there was no boot recovery saved? Is the factory firmware available online?


Has anyone determined HOW to get these files installed? I mean actually tried and succeeded?

  • 0

#24
Mrjava65

Mrjava65

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One
Is there any update on this?

I was one of (hopefully) many who confused the P990 as the same thing as the Optimus 2 @ or the G2X.
So now Im stuck ...If there was a smartflash for the P999 i could undo all this mess !
Any update would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks


Update:

G2X owners...

  • Do NOT flash a Optimus 2X baseband onto your G2X. It will remove all phone functionality (I am working on obtaining a P999 baseband so you can revert if you've done this).
  • Do NOT use my recovery installer or recovery reboot app at this time - recovery is on a different partition in the G2X. I will update the installed and app to add G2X compatability soon.
P


  • 0

#25
rangerlt

rangerlt

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:nexus one, g2x
  • Twitter:@na

Is there any update on this?

I was one of (hopefully) many who confused the P990 as the same thing as the Optimus 2 @ or the G2X.
So now Im stuck ...If there was a smartflash for the P999 i could undo all this mess !
Any update would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks


*UPDATE*UPDATE*

Sorry for not updating this topic previously. I had thought I did so however that was on xda. I was able to reinstall the factory rom from a link provided by a user on the xda forum and is also linked on this forum. Go here to download the rom. You'll need the smartflash tool for the LP9990 to flash the bin files. I was only able to successfully flash the AP.bin, I believe Paul is working on getting a working baseband. The phone will be restored to factory settings after flashing the AP.bin with full functionality. I noticed the baseband is weak and searching for networks does give errors occasionally so we'll be patiently awaiting an update to solve this issue. Albeit your phone will be functional enough to satisfy you till then. If you need any help with the steps just reply in this thread.

Edited by rangerlt, 30 April 2011 - 05:28 PM.

  • 1

#26
zabi1

zabi1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation
Guys I need some help. I have bought the g2x and am going back to the uk tommorow. I see that uk bands are : 900, 1900 and 2100 for 3g whilst my g2x is 1700 and 2100. Will my phone work on 3g in the uk? If I want to squire the uk bands can I flash a optimistic 2x baseband on my g2x to get them? Please help and thanks.

  • 0

#27
Rusty!

Rusty!

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 413 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pompey
  • Devices:Nexus 5 16GB
  • Twitter:@RussUnderhill
2100 should mean it's OK in the UK. If you flash an O2X baseband then you wont be able to use it at a phone at all.

  • 0

#28
Droid800

Droid800

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
So would flashing MCR for the Optimus 2X work then? As sick as it sounds, I'm interested in flashing the LG skin onto my G2X to try it out and see what its like.

  • 0

#29
Guest™

Guest™

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

So would flashing MCR for the Optimus 2X work then? As sick as it sounds, I'm interested in flashing the LG skin onto my G2X to try it out and see what its like.

i have one p999 hang on logo ,i did try flash with p990 then now phone no network no imei and baseand unkown , anyone has solution fix it,pl help ,thz !!!

  • 0

#30
Gryncc

Gryncc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:LG G2X

Same to you ...It does have a G2x original firmware online. here http://www.fileserve...R-27-2011 0.zip


CAN U POST A LINK FOR THE SMARTFLASH DOWNLOAD PLZ

  • 0

#31
Gryncc

Gryncc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:LG G2X

*UPDATE*UPDATE*

Sorry for not updating this topic previously. I had thought I did so however that was on xda. I was able to reinstall the factory rom from a link provided by a user on the xda forum and is also linked on this forum. Go here to download the rom. You'll need the smartflash tool for the LP9990 to flash the bin files. I was only able to successfully flash the AP.bin, I believe Paul is working on getting a working baseband. The phone will be restored to factory settings after flashing the AP.bin with full functionality. I noticed the baseband is weak and searching for networks does give errors occasionally so we'll be patiently awaiting an update to solve this issue. Albeit your phone will be functional enough to satisfy you till then. If you need any help with the steps just reply in this thread.


YES I DO NEED STEP BY STEP PLZ HELP I DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO PLZ HELP

  • 0

#32
DRWZ

DRWZ

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2X
  • Twitter:@dwrz
Asking something in forums like this one in capitals is considered not so very polite (it's like screaming).

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users