Jump to content


Photo

Update : ZTE IMEI flash tool for "IMEI ALL 0" machine

* * * * * 3 votes

  • Please log in to reply
55 replies to this topic

#41
dibbles

dibbles

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 812 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth, for now
  • Interests:Life and family :)
  • Devices:Moto G Excite Pro Nexus 7

I wonder what the effects will be of so many blades with the same IME,surely it cannot be good.
My IME is also 00003948564271 :mellow:


What you have to consider is that in the UK, AFAIK, it is illegal to change your IMEI number from the one that came with the phone. Whether it was an intentional change or not I would doubt that would alter the position you are in. How and if that would be noticed I'm not sure but I did make it a priority to get it back to what it should be. I would suggest that others do the same.

  • 0

#42
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD

What you have to consider is that in the UK, AFAIK, it is illegal to change your IMEI number from the one that came with the phone. Whether it was an intentional change or not I would doubt that would alter the position you are in. How and if that would be noticed I'm not sure but I did make it a priority to get it back to what it should be. I would suggest that others do the same.


since I dont have channel1 backed up,the only option I have is the ZTE tool,and that wont even see my blade
so it would seem I am stuck with it for now unless one of the great blade minds comes up with a flashable zip fix.lol

  • 0

#43
dibbles

dibbles

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 812 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth, for now
  • Interests:Life and family :)
  • Devices:Moto G Excite Pro Nexus 7

since I dont have channel1 backed up,the only option I have is the ZTE tool,and that wont even see my blade
so it would seem I am stuck with it for now unless one of the great blade minds comes up with a flashable zip fix.lol


You could create a channel1.nvm file with your correct IMEI number in it (from burstlam) and then use the Windows flashing tool to get to GEN 2 but replace the channel1.nvm file at around 7% (after the phone first boots) then, providing you made the nvm file correctly, it should be GEN 2 with a correct nvm file.

I did the above but with my original nvm file.

Then I used nv backup to then backup the nv files after I installed SS rls4b which then confirmed the correct IMEI number.

At that stage I had a correct nv set of files to restore later.

Then I downgraded back to GEN 1 and installed SS RLS4b which confirmed a messed up IMEI number. I then used the NV restore option which then replaced the nv files I had backed up. This then gave me a GEN 1 phone with the correct IMEI number.

Of course the restore_stock_recovery file has to be used at the appropriate times.

There are risks to the above but I was in a position of having the phone with the wrong IMEI at one time and also I wanted to undo the Windows type flashing of getting to GEN 2 and then later apply the TPT method, which is a much safer method to get to GEN 2. This I did with my own partition layout and then applied the SS RLS 5 LanceH remix ROM.

BUT when you are at GEN 1 with the correct IMEI you then have to ask yourself do you really need to bother going to GEN 2...?

Edited by dibbles, 29 April 2011 - 03:04 PM.

  • 0

#44
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD

You could create a channel1.nvm file with your correct IMEI number in it (from burstlam) and then use the Windows flashing tool to get to GEN 2 but replace the channel1.nvm file at around 7% (after the phone first boots) then, providing you made the nvm file correctly, it should be GEN 2 with a correct nvm file.

I did the above but with my original nvm file.

Then I used nv backup to then backup the nv files after I installed SS rls4b which then confirmed the correct IMEI number.

At that stage I had a correct nv set of files to restore later.

Then I downgraded back to GEN 1 and installed SS RLS4b which confirmed a messed up IMEI number. I then used the NV restore option which then replaced the nv files I had backed up. This then gave me a GEN 1 phone with the correct IMEI number.

Of course the restore_stock_recovery file as to be used at the appropriate times.

There are risks to the above but I was in a position of having the phone with the wrong IMEI at one time and also I wanted to undo the Windows type flashing of getting to GEN 2 and then later apply the TPT method, which is a much safer method to get to GEN 2. This I did with my own partition layout and then applied the SS RLS 5 LanceH remix ROM.

BUT when you are at GEN 1 with the correct IMEI you then have to ask yourself do you really need to bother going to GEN 2...?


That sounds like a plan,just need the idiots guide to creating channel1 and put my IME in it.
The windows flashing part is easy enough for me,just struggling with the channel1 stuff.

  • 0

#45
dibbles

dibbles

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 812 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth, for now
  • Interests:Life and family :)
  • Devices:Moto G Excite Pro Nexus 7
See the bottom of post #1 here...

http://android.modac...-also-the-imei/

I did not need to use a HEX editor but if you look at the example shown it should be easy enough..? Easy to write that as I did not need it.!


Read post # 41....

http://android.modac...e-imei/page/40/

and post # 7 here...

http://android.modac...ndows-flashing/

with all of that information I had enough detail to make some sense of what I needed to do to get a working IMEI back on my phone. However remember to read those posts / threads in great detail, and understand the risks of what you are doing, as you can end up with a bricked phone.

Even though I'm suggesting to read those posts do be aware that the entire threads deal with aspects not related with what you want to do with your phone so do not be confused with all the information there.

Edited by dibbles, 29 April 2011 - 01:55 PM.

  • 0

#46
eczanet

eczanet

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:zte blade

See the bottom of post #1 here...

http://android.modac...-also-the-imei/

I did not need to use a HEX editor but if you look at the example shown it should be easy enough..? Easy to write that as I did not need it.!
Read post # 41....

http://android.modac...e-imei/page/40/

and post # 7 here...

http://android.modac...ndows-flashing/

with all of that information I had enough detail to make some sense of what I needed to do to get a working IMEI back on my phone. However remember to read those posts / threads in great detail, and understand the risks of what you are doing, as you can end up with a bricked phone.

Even though I'm suggesting to read those posts do be aware that the entire threads deal with aspects not related with what you want to do with your phone so do not be confused with all the information there.



thanks a lot... i got my imei back.... yupiiiiiiii :D :D ;) :D :mellow: :o :D

  • 0

#47
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD

See the bottom of post #1 here...

http://android.modac...-also-the-imei/

I did not need to use a HEX editor but if you look at the example shown it should be easy enough..? Easy to write that as I did not need it.!
Read post # 41....

http://android.modac...e-imei/page/40/

and post # 7 here...

http://android.modac...ndows-flashing/

with all of that information I had enough detail to make some sense of what I needed to do to get a working IMEI back on my phone. However remember to read those posts / threads in great detail, and understand the risks of what you are doing, as you can end up with a bricked phone.

Even though I'm suggesting to read those posts do be aware that the entire threads deal with aspects not related with what you want to do with your phone so do not be confused with all the information there.


Nice one dude,I will get on that ASAP :o

edit: ok getting somewhere.

1) backed up nv on gen2,done
2) TPT back to gen1,done
3) Now I need to edit channel1 with hex editor to input my IME into the channel1,then run the program used to backup nv to now restore. Have I got that all right ?

Just one thing how do I edit channel1 so that it contains my true IME ?
cant find instructions for this part.





just opened channel1 with a hex editor and its like the matrix in there :mellow:

Edited by jikobutsu, 29 April 2011 - 04:25 PM.

  • 0

#48
dragon2611

dragon2611

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts

What you have to consider is that in the UK, AFAIK, it is illegal to change your IMEI number from the one that came with the phone. Whether it was an intentional change or not I would doubt that would alter the position you are in. How and if that would be noticed I'm not sure but I did make it a priority to get it back to what it should be. I would suggest that others do the same.


I think even having the tools to change the IMIE is considered Illegal in the UK, doesn't really surprise me given a few years back it was rather easy to change the IMIE I seem to remember a lot of the Nokia flashing tools for DCT3 could do it.

Although lets face it if you're using the tool as a one off to repair your own phone it's unlikely you'd ever get prosecuted for it, not like they monitor every connection in the country to see if someone downloaded some IMIE changing tool. (Well at least not yet anyway, although if the government get their way I can see them trying to monitor what everyone is doing online)

  • 0

#49
dibbles

dibbles

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 812 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth, for now
  • Interests:Life and family :)
  • Devices:Moto G Excite Pro Nexus 7

Nice one dude,I will get on that ASAP :o

edit: ok getting somewhere.

1) backed up nv on gen2,done
2) TPT back to gen1,done
3) Now I need to edit channel1 with hex editor to input my IME into the channel1,then run the program used to backup nv to now restore. Have I got that all right ?

Just one thing how do I edit channel1 so that it contains my true IME ?
cant find instructions for this part.
just opened channel1 with a hex editor and its like the matrix in there :mellow:



you should have done this part, like I had written, at the very start...

You could create a channel1.nvm file with your correct IMEI number in it (from burstlam) and then use the Windows flashing tool to get to GEN 2 but replace the channel1.nvm file at around 7% (after the phone first boots) then, providing you made the nvm file correctly, it should be GEN 2 with a correct nvm file.


there is absolutely no point in backing up your nv files if the IMEI number is not correct as you will then try and restore them and they will be wrong. You need to hex edit the channel1.nvm file as noted and at offset 1215 insert your IMEI as explained in the linked post. Then do as I have quoted top insert the newly created channel1.nvm file with your correct IMEI into your phone using the Windows flashing method to GEN 2, as explained.

Until you create for yourself a working channel1.nvm file with your correct IMEI and insert it as noted everything that you will do will be wasted and just adds to the possibility of bricking your phone.

  • 0

#50
garfin

garfin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Devices:Optus MyTab (ZTE V9)

I wonder what the effects will be of so many blades with the same IME,surely it cannot be good.
My IME is also 00003948564271 :rolleyes:


+1 for yet another 000039485642710

awaiting patiently for that 'idiots guide to fixing your IMEI' :)


*edit* ... think i figured it out ...

Edited by garfin, 01 July 2011 - 07:16 AM.

  • 0

#51
groogrs

groogrs

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
I did everything as the instructions but I have not the same as the last digit

  • 0

#52
sgtdaz

sgtdaz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
i have followed all the steps above but having problems with the command part

RequestNVItemWrite meid 0xA00000XXXXXXXX that X should be the MEID

from the menu it will bring up the terminal with a success message.

I have tried all ways to put my imei number in and it doesent say success could someone please tell me what to type after

RequestNVItemWrite meid

as i dont know what X it means to take away and put y imei number

thanks for any help i can get

  • 0

#53
ebooyens

ebooyens

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Samsumg Galaxy Gio

thanks a lot... i got my imei back.... yupiiiiiiii :D :D ;) :D :mellow: :o :D


Hi all, I'm a complete novice but just wondered if you could run me through the process of changing the IMEI please, I tried getting a custom ROM on my Galaxy Gio and somehow ended up with an all 0 IMEI so no mobile signal...

At first glance I thought downloading this ZTE tool would just do it, but how do I get the phone connected to it? Should it be in download mode and how do I know which COM port to use?

Sorry but if you could just elaborate which process worked please, I'm finding it very frustrating reading through all these and other forum posts but missing a few key (I'm sure very basic) steps so I can get this sorted! Any help would be highly appreciated!!

Thanks!

  • 0

#54
youngsta2010

youngsta2010

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tamworth, UK
  • Devices:ZTE Blade, JoyTAB, Moto G 8GB
I'm no expert (in fact the opposite) but I'm pretty sure ZTE tool won't work on a Samsung phone?

  • 1

#55
ebooyens

ebooyens

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Samsumg Galaxy Gio

I'm no expert (in fact the opposite) but I'm pretty sure ZTE tool won't work on a Samsung phone?


I didn't even realise ZTE is a phone brand... doh! So yeah you'd be right. Anyone have any suggestion for a Samsung phone?

Thanks!

Edited by ebooyens, 11 February 2012 - 09:25 PM.

  • 0

#56
RAMAN PAWAR

RAMAN PAWAR

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:INDIA
  • Devices:OMNIA W,IDEA BLADE
i restored my imei with your guide but phone still showing RADIO OFF..
PLESE HELP..

Edited by RAMAN PAWAR, 22 August 2012 - 09:28 AM.

  • 0




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users