Jump to content


Photo

Survey to make sense of GEN2 advantages

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
63 replies to this topic

#41
bhf

bhf

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 382 posts
  • Devices:Base Lutea (German ZTE Blade)
Supplier / Model:.....................Base Lutea
Original ROM:..........................B03
ROM Used after going to GEN2:.CM7 Nightly 55
Network Provider / Country:.....Vodafone Germany
HSUPA:...................................No
850MHz:..................................Not applicable. Vodafone doesn't use this frequency in 2G.

As expected, no HSUPA support. Nevertheless, my provider/carrier supports with the same SIM in an UMTS Modem (ZTE MF190 to be precise) up to 7.2 Mbit down and up to 1.5 Mbit upstream. The cell reception in 2G is minimal better, at best. In 3G it is quite better. Reception improved from 6 to 8 ASU up to 12 ASU at the same spot. I will recheck this regularly the next days at various times.

Edited by bhf, 25 April 2011 - 05:08 AM.

  • 0

#42
tyrol_gangster

tyrol_gangster

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Czech Republic
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (Orange SF OLED)
Supplier / Model Orange San Francisco / OLED G1
Original ROM SS RLS5
ROM Used after going to GEN2 SS RLS5
Network Provider / Country Vodafone / Czech Republic
HSUPA NO (360 kbps)
850MHz Not Supported

  • 0

#43
shmizan

shmizan

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 574 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
I wonder how to tell if im running 850 after upgrading to gen2. I know my network supports it but i get really bad reception in other part of my country which i had good reception with my old nokia..
So how do i find out?

  • 0

Orange San Francisco, Upgraded to Gen 2 with TPT Helper (custom partition layout: 150-sys, 302-data, 4-cache)
CyanogenMod 10


#44
zerosignull

zerosignull

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 382 posts

I wonder how to tell if im running 850 after upgrading to gen2. I know my network supports it but i get really bad reception in other part of my country which i had good reception with my old nokia..
So how do i find out?


GOOGLE:

http://www.reddit.co..._gsm_frequency/

Havent tried it but sounds says it will tell you what GSM frequency you are using.

  • 0

#45
Ralph Martin

Ralph Martin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 251 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cardiff
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
But it seems people cannot get FieldTest.apk working on Blades (any ROM). Maybe it is hardware specific?

  • 0

#46
KACE_231

KACE_231

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 305 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco (White)
Supplier / Model: Orange UK / Orange San Francisco
Original ROM: B10
ROM Used after going to GEN2: CM7
Network Provider / Country: Orange UK
HSUPA: Yes (well I get the H-sign on status bar in a location that I previously did not, speeds are untested)
850MHz: Not supported by my provider

Other notes: a small but noticable improvement in wifi signal strength

Edited by KACE_231, 02 May 2011 - 08:09 AM.

  • 0
<a href="http://giffgaff.com/...ffiliate/gagira" target="_blank"><img src="http://giffgaff.com/...r/06_250x52.png" width="250" height="52" alt="Get a free Giffgaff Sim" /></a>

#47
KonstaT

KonstaT

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,557 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Devices:Moto G, ZTE Open C
  • Twitter:@konstatuomio
Supplier / Model ZTE Blade 5mpix
Original ROM EFIN_P729BV1.0.0B02
ROM Used after going to GEN2 SS RLS5 + CM7.0.2
Network Provider / Country Saunalahti Finland
HSUPA NO
850MHz Not supported

This thread is completely useless and should be removed. Atleast some sort of test protocol should be described in the first post. People are reporting untested results! For the last time, H-sign in statusbar doesn't stand for hsUpa (u=upload), it stands for hsDpa (d=download).

  • 0

#48
JCola

JCola

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Supplier / Model ZTE Blade 5mpix
Original ROM EFIN_P729BV1.0.0B02
ROM Used after going to GEN2 CM7 N57
Network Provider / Country Saunalahti Finland
HSUPA Probably no (Speedtest ~384 kbps, Xtremelabs ~1.5 Mbps)
850MHz Not supported

I'd like to point out that SS5 only gave me upload speeds of <400 kbps and on CM7 the results were the same with Ookla Speedtest.net. However, when I tested with the Xtremelabs Speedtest, I got upload speeds of 1.1-1.6 Mbps. Also the latency results of 90-120 ms (vs. 150-200 ms with SS5) with Net Ping indicate that HSUPA might be working.

From my experience Ookla Speedtest.net (especially the new version) is too unreliable to say anything about the upload speed. Also please note that typically networks need some data before switching from 3G to HSPA and will revert back to 3G if there is no data traffic during a short period of time (e.g. 3-8 sec in Finland). This is also why e.g. Net Ping requires you to run some data consuming application just before measuring the latency and could also be the problem with the Speedtest.net measurements.

Edit: alx007 below is probably right. However, I'm still wondering about the ping results, is it possible to achieve 90-120 ms latencies without HSUPA?

Edited by JCola, 13 May 2011 - 10:49 AM.

  • 0

#49
alx007

alx007

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Supplier / Model ZTE Blade 5mpix
Original ROM EFIN_P729BV1.0.0B02
ROM Used after going to GEN2 CM7 N57
Network Provider / Country Saunalahti Finland
HSUPA Yes (~1.5 Mbps)
850MHz Not supported

I'd like to point out that SS5 only gave me upload speeds of <400 kbps and on CM7 the results were the same with Ookla Speedtest.net. However, when I tested with the Xtremelabs Speedtest, I got upload speeds of 1.1-1.6 Mbps. Also the latency results of 90-120 ms (vs. 150-200 ms with SS5) with Net Ping indicate that HSUPA is working.

From my experience Ookla Speedtest.net (especially the new version) is too unreliable to say anything about the upload speed. Also please note that typically networks need some data before switching from 3G to HSPA and will revert back to 3G if there is no data traffic during a short period of time (e.g. 3-8 sec in Finland). This is also why e.g. Net Ping requires you to run some data consuming application just before measuring the latency and could also be the problem with the Speedtest.net measurements.


Sorry, I think the Xtremelabs Speedtest is faulty there, it just gave me 1mbit/sec download 3mbit/sec upload on my Wifi connection which should be 8mbit down 768 kbit up. I've never noticed any upload speed higher then 600-700 on my PC. Same test with ookla gave me 4mbit/600kbit which is very reasonable. It really depends which server you will use on the ookla version.

So I don't think we have any confirmed HSUPA phones until now. I've not seen any speedtest pic with 500kbit or more on upload, so I think HSUPA is not possible. Please correct me if I am wrong on this.

On the reception I've noticed a quite good connection behaviour (reconnect after lost signal) on the radio which was included in the GEN2 TPT update, after testing with the SS RLS5 radio the connection behaviour was not as good. Signal strength on 3G seemed identical.

  • 0

#50
Ralph Martin

Ralph Martin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 251 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cardiff
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

At least some sort of test protocol should be described in the first post. ... For the last time, H-sign in statusbar doesn't stand for hsUpa (u=upload), it stands for hsDpa (d=download).


If you read the first post carefully (and I agree quite a few posters don't seem to do so), there IS a protocol, at least for HUSPA: HSUPA equates to upload speed of > 400kbps.

On the other hand I cannot give a protocol for 850MHz other than use of a mobile provider who only supports 850MHz. If you know a better way of testing this definitely, let us know, and I will modify the first post.

For the last time, H-sign in statusbar doesn't stand for hsUpa (u=upload), it stands for hsDpa (d=download).


I have added that to the first post.

Edited by Ralph Martin, 08 May 2011 - 07:21 PM.

  • 0

#51
drobson67

drobson67

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Devices:ZTE Blade San Francisco
  • Twitter:@drobson67
Supplier / Model - Orange San Francisco
Original ROM - CM 7.0.0 gen1
ROM Used after going to GEN2 - CM7 N64 TPT
Network Provider / Country - Giffgaff which uses O2 network UK
HSUPA - No, only managed an upload speed test of 368kbps
850MHz - not tested

After upgrade device is running faster, a more responsive touch screen and with no noticable increase in signal strength but one random reboot while doing a speed test.

  • 0

#52
shmizan

shmizan

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 574 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Supplier / Model - Orange San Francisco
Original ROM - SS RLS5
ROM Used after going to GEN2 - SS RLS5
Network Provider / Country - Pelephone / Israel (provider supports 850 MHz)
HSUPA - untested (have no internet package)
850MHz - NO, see my post here: http://android.modac...p...t&p=1695029

Edited by shmizan, 10 May 2011 - 05:10 PM.

  • 0

Orange San Francisco, Upgraded to Gen 2 with TPT Helper (custom partition layout: 150-sys, 302-data, 4-cache)
CyanogenMod 10


#53
sane?

sane?

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 110 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2X, Pulse, ZTE v9
If the Blade can be made to support 850Mhz AND 900Mhz it would be hellishly useful in Australia.

In the cities you tend to avoid Helstra because of their poor customer service. Therefore you want 900Mhz for the other providers. However if you have occasion to go into the country then a backup Telstra SIM that can access their 850Mhz "NextG" network is the only option and extremely useful.

The only way I can see to test is for someone in Oz with a Blade to drive out into the wilds and give a Telstra SIM a go. You can't check in town since Telstra also use 2100Mhz.

And while we're at it, a GEN2 ROM for the ZTE v9 (which seems to be based on the Blade) would be great. They have been selling these cheap and a hack that would enable Telstra compatibility would go down well.

  • 0

#54
Oldbarzo

Oldbarzo

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Location:N. Ireland
  • Interests:Computers (Home Builder)<br />Wargaming (WWII Tabletop miniatures)<br />Hacking and general modifcations to Mobile Phones<br />PCs and electronics.
  • Devices:HTC Wildfire, ZTE Blade (SF)
Supplier/Model Orange San Francisco
Original Rom: B10 (TFT)
Rom used after going to Gen 2: CM7 Nightly 68
Network Provider/Country: Orange (UK)
HSUPA: Yes (Ookla 1626kps) This was the better of 2 Servers (Derry/Dundalk)
850Mhz: Not supported by provider.


Oldbarzo
(Douglas)

  • 0
Advent Vega CM 10.1 (Unofficial) Alpha 9b OC 1504
ZTE Blade (Orange San Fran) CM 9 CFX Coldfusion Rel: 15/06
Motorola RAZRi Unlocked, Rooted Homemade Fastboot JB 4.1.2
Commtiva N700 (FM6) Stock Rom w/tjstyle kernal overclocked 864Mhz
Orange Tahiti (Huawei Mediapad) HWMOD ICS Rom w/3.0.42 Kernal (XDA Devs) OC 1550
Nexus 7 Modaco r9 Nightlies.

#55
wbaw

wbaw

    account closed

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,885 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Supplier/Model Orange San Francisco
Original Rom: B10 (TFT)
Rom used after going to Gen 2: CM7 Nightly 68
Network Provider/Country: Orange (UK)
HSUPA: Yes (Ookla 1626kps) This was the better of 2 Servers (Derry/Dundalk)
850Mhz: Not supported by provider.
Oldbarzo
(Douglas)


How did you upgrade to Gen2? Looks like that might be important.

  • 0

#56
Richard_Arkless

Richard_Arkless

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 928 posts
Supplier / Model: Orange San Francisco
Original ROM: B08
ROM Used after going to GEN2: CM7
Network Provider / Country: Giff Gaff, UK
HSUPA: Get around 380kbps so maybe
850MHz: Dunno

  • 0

#57
admanirv

admanirv

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 417 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Galaxy S3

Supplier / Model Orange UK / Orange San Francisco
Original ROM B05
ROM Used after going to GEN2: CM7
Network Provider / Country TPG Mobile (Uses the Optus Network) / Australia
HSUPA No (Speedtest consistently shows about 350kbps
850MHz Not supported by my provider


I'm on Telstra mate, and always get 'H' for internet usuage, i found optus to be crap compared to Telstra.

Where in Australia are you?, I found in W.A my friend couldn't get a signal when i could.

  • 0

#58
hedgepigdaniel

hedgepigdaniel

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 850 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, ZTE Blade (OLED)

I'm on Telstra mate, and always get 'H' for internet usuage, i found optus to be crap compared to Telstra.

Where in Australia are you?, I found in W.A my friend couldn't get a signal when i could.


Telstra still provides its old 2100Mhz UMTS network as well as the 850Mhz NextG network, so getting reception on Telstra doesn't prove anything. Your friend may not get reception because his phone's radio is not as sensitive. If you downgrade to Gen1 and cannot get reception where you can now get it on Gen2, or if you get upload speeds above 400kb/s on speedtest, then you will prove something.

  • 0

#59
cpg

cpg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
I've been doing some research of my own and while i have more to test, here's what i came up with. For most of these tests i used the Telia amss.mbn (since it has the latest build date), but they all share the same default settings for this.

HSPA (= HSDPA+HSUPA):
HSDPA is covered in 3GPP release 5, while HSUPA is part of release 6.
While references to HSUPA and HSPA in amss.mbn can be found, in all gen2 versions i have seen, only release 5 is exposed by the Radio Resource Control (RRC). With some specific settings in the non-volatile memory (where IMEI and other things are stored), it was possible to force this to 6.
While the phone worked normally, every time HSPA would be activated, it would reboot and the logs don't really show what goes wrong (it stops at different spots with different tries).
For example, from the radio log (adb logcat -b radio):
E/QCRIL   (  191): UMTS System: srv domain 3 , srv capability 3, egprs supp 0
E/QCRIL   (  191): HSPA System
E/QCRIL   (  191): Registration State: Registered (Home network), RadioTech: HSPA, LAC: xxxx, CID: xxxxxxxx, BSID: (null), BSLat: (null), BSLong: (null)
E/QCRIL   (  191):					 CCS: (null), SID: (null), NID: (null), RoamStatus: (null), PRL: (null), DefRoamStatus: (null), RejReason: 0
[...]
D/GSM	 (  309): radio tech is 11
[reboot]
(radio tech 11 = HSPA, 9 = HSDPA)
This doesn't necessarily mean it will reboot for anyone, but with the currently available firmware, it is always put back to release 5 when you start up your phone, so HSUPA shouldn't work. (If you think it does, the radio log should show it.)

850MHz:
The current amss.mbn's don't enable 850 for either 2G or 3G. From code, it seems only the Chinese amss.mbn unlocks both 2G and 3G 850, but i haven't been able to get that one to work.
Enabling 2G 850 seems fairly easy (my phone is running with it, but i have no way to test it atm!); from a log:
rr_general.c  01922  UE supports EGSM900 and PGSM900
rr_general.c  01941  UE supports DCS1800
rr_general.c  01950  UE supports PCS1900
rr_general.c  01958  UE supports GSM850	   [this line is new]
No luck on 3G 850 yet.

  • 0

#60
shmizan

shmizan

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 574 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
cpg, great work! thank you. I'll refer to the 850 MHz part since hsUpa doesn't concern me so much right now.
few questions: what happens if I flash the Chinese amss.mbn to my phone? what are the testing options? (revertible or not?)
is it possible to edit the amss.mbn file to add the lines needed for the 3G 850 to work on the Telia amss.mbn
what did you mean by "but i haven't been able to get that one to work.", do you mean the Chinese amss.mbn or...?
and lastly, how did you enable 2G 850 ?

once again, great work! :P

  • 0

Orange San Francisco, Upgraded to Gen 2 with TPT Helper (custom partition layout: 150-sys, 302-data, 4-cache)
CyanogenMod 10





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users