Jump to content


Photo

GPS crashes with CM7 Gen2

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
91 replies to this topic

#1
JobSup

JobSup

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Devices:ZTE-1001 (German ZTE Blade)
Hi,

This is to collect more information on the (new) GPS reboot problem on Gen2 phones. Not the old temperature related one (that has been fixed), but the one that makes Google Maps, GPS Status and many other GPS applications reboot the phone after a few seconds. CoPilot and Navigon also have been reported to crash.

The only GSP application I have found working so far was SportsTracker. This works fine and only reboots the phone after the recording has been finished. Somebody else mentioned Sygic Maps working, I can't verify that.


Update: GPS Problems (might) have been fixed with the 7.0.2 Update, or check post #67 for clockwork flashable alternate gps libraries.

Edited by JobSup, 29 April 2011 - 08:25 AM.

  • 0

#2
JobSup

JobSup

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Devices:ZTE-1001 (German ZTE Blade)
One thing that seems to work on my Gen2 Blade:

- flash CM7 Nightly39 (Gen1)
- flash cm7_gen2_converter_ver3.zip right after

Google Maps and other GPS Apps are working fine. The only thing I need to replace (or better include in the gen2_converter) is the current lobaudio.so for the SIP routing fix.

If that works out, I'll be a happy bunny for the upcoming easter holidays :-)

  • 0

#3
slivabox

slivabox

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:Orange SF
I have the same issue tested with Navitel and Yandex maps
Ther're some of my logs http://slivabox.org.ua/android/log.zip

Edited by slivabox, 19 April 2011 - 11:24 AM.

  • 0

#4
dibbles

dibbles

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 812 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth, for now
  • Interests:Life and family :)
  • Devices:Moto G Excite Pro Nexus 7
Even though I do not have Google maps installed, and my map routing application works fine, have you thought of placing a bug report for this as now we have a n41 it might be worth considering...?

It has not happened to me but, as noted, my mobile maps works fine.

  • 0

#5
Matthew Ferguson

Matthew Ferguson

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco/ZTE Blade

Hi,

This is to collect more information on the (new) GPS reboot problem on Gen2 phones. Not the old temperature related one (that has been fixed), but the one that makes Google Maps, GPS Status and many other GPS applications reboot the phone after a few seconds. CoPilot and Navigon also have been reported to crash.

The only GSP application I have found working so far was SportsTracker. This works fine and only reboots the phone after the recording has been finished. Somebody else mentioned Sygic Maps working, I can't verify that.

My blade is from Base/Germany and is a TFT with 5MP camera. Converted to Gen2 a few days ago. GPS is not really usable with CM7 at the moment.

Somebody suggested to disable GPS and enable it again, that did not help on my phone. Maybe we can collect more information to help finding the cause.


What Nightly are you running?

  • 0
Orange San Francisco Black OLED Gen2
SanDisk 16GB Class 2 SD
Recovery: ClockworkMod 4.0.1.5
System: Simple Stir Fry Full b27

#6
JobSup

JobSup

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Devices:ZTE-1001 (German ZTE Blade)

What Nightly are you running?


Any Gen2 build so far had the same problem, Jacobs first build, N40 and N41.

Only flashing N39 with the Gen2 conversion files flashed afterwards is working better. GPS Status still seems to crash but after a few minutes compared to a few seconds.

I will post a bug report if more people are affected. That's what I am trying to find out with that topic.

So long

  • 0

#7
slivabox

slivabox

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:Orange SF

Any Gen2 build so far had the same problem, Jacobs first build, N40 and N41.

Only flashing N39 with the Gen2 conversion files flashed afterwards is working better. GPS Status still seems to crash but after a few minutes compared to a few seconds.

I will post a bug report if more people are affected. That's what I am trying to find out with that topic.

So long

Have the same symptoms on all listed firmwares
Phone is English Orange SF

Edited by slivabox, 19 April 2011 - 02:28 PM.

  • 0

#8
Matthew Ferguson

Matthew Ferguson

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco/ZTE Blade
Mine were gone for a long while on N41. Originally on Jacob's Gen2 build he posted here, I had reboots every time Fancy Widget refreshed, but now only Google Maps causes it. Strange.

  • 0
Orange San Francisco Black OLED Gen2
SanDisk 16GB Class 2 SD
Recovery: ClockworkMod 4.0.1.5
System: Simple Stir Fry Full b27

#9
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b

Mine were gone for a long while on N41. Originally on Jacob's Gen2 build he posted here, I had reboots every time Fancy Widget refreshed, but now only Google Maps causes it. Strange.


Use the wifi to get the location and disable the gps when getting the location in Fancy Widget (I use it the pro version)

For settings > Location & Security Settings > Use Wireless networks for 'My Location'.

In Fancy Widget, manually set the location and forget about GPS - odd bug alright - saw someone mention on IRC that the qcom libs replacements solved the gps bug.... :S who knows...

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }

#10
sm4tik

sm4tik

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Jyväskylä
  • Devices:Blade

In Fancy Widget, manually set the location and forget about GPS - odd bug alright - saw someone mention on IRC that the qcom libs replacements solved the gps bug.... :S who knows...

Just found this post from xda.
http://forum.xda-dev...postcount=17883

edit: Note that the post is in EVO 4G section of the forum, I don't know if it affects blade?

Edited by sm4tik, 19 April 2011 - 06:08 PM.

  • 0

#11
JobSup

JobSup

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Devices:ZTE-1001 (German ZTE Blade)

Just found this post from xda.
http://forum.xda-dev...postcount=17883

edit: Note that the post is in EVO 4G section of the forum, I don't know if it affects blade?


I think this GPS driver mentioned there won't work, different hw. But the problem might very well be in one of the two diver files in /system/lib/hw gps.blade.so or gps.goldfish.so.

  • 0

#12
OckoTomBrok

OckoTomBrok

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (German BASE lutea)
  • Twitter:@OckoTomBrok
Hi,

just found this thread and originally reported it to the "General CM7 thread".

I have the same problem here with literally all GPS programs.
It pretty much co-incidence with the GPS lock. All programm work fine with GPS DISabled.

I can confirm crashes a few seconds after teh GPS symbol appeared with these programs:
Navigon
Maps
Layar
Wikitude
Google goggles

It also crashes with SportsTracker. It takes much longer to crash the phone, probably until it really gets a fix. Does it use A-GPS?

Disabling and enabling +/- reboot doesn't solve anything for me. My phone is "no-gps" in the moment.

Jan

PS: It's a BASE Lutea.

EDIT: "Crash" means "Reboots"

Edited by OckoTomBrok, 21 April 2011 - 10:49 AM.

  • 0

#13
campyr

campyr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Devices:zte blade

Hi,

just found this thread and originally reported it to the "General CM7 thread".

I have the same problem here with literally all GPS programs.
It pretty much co-incidence with the GPS lock. All programm work fine with GPS DISabled.

I can confirm crashes a few seconds after teh GPS symbol appeared with these programs:
Navigon
Maps
Layar
Wikitude
Google goggles

It also crashes with SportsTracker. It takes much longer to crash the phone, probably until it really gets a fix. Does it use A-GPS?

Disabling and enabling +/- reboot doesn't solve anything for me. My phone is "no-gps" in the moment.

Jan

PS: It's a BASE Lutea.

you can add co-pilot to your list as well :)

  • 0

#14
pellonet

pellonet

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:San Francisco B05 OLED

Hi,

just found this thread and originally reported it to the "General CM7 thread".

I have the same problem here with literally all GPS programs.
It pretty much co-incidence with the GPS lock. All programm work fine with GPS DISabled.

I can confirm crashes a few seconds after teh GPS symbol appeared with these programs:
Navigon
Maps
Layar
Wikitude
Google goggles

It also crashes with SportsTracker. It takes much longer to crash the phone, probably until it really gets a fix. Does it use A-GPS?

Disabling and enabling +/- reboot doesn't solve anything for me. My phone is "no-gps" in the moment.

Jan

PS: It's a BASE Lutea.


Well I have been running Maps on N41 for a couple of hours with no problems, the change I made was to replace the gps.conf with one published by wbaw when we were having issues with FLB 10, I changed the server to the UK entry. CM running on my test phone at the moment so I don't have any other apps other than GPS Test+ to test it with but going in & out of Maps with a quick & stable 30ft. lock without any crashes or reboots.

  • 0
Peter
Do Androids dream of electric sheep?

Posted Image

Phone 1: Orange San Francisco B05 OLED Gen 1, SS5
Phone 2: Orange San Francisco B08 TFT Gen 2 (converted), CM7.02
Phone 3: OMC/Skate CM7


#15
TheDOC1

TheDOC1

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

One thing that seems to work on my Gen2 Blade:

- flash CM7 Nightly39 (Gen1)
- flash cm7_gen2_converter_ver3.zip right after

Has anyone else tried this and can confirm it? (I doubt that it works in N35 since there weren't changes to the GPS libs since N35)

  • 0

#16
Matthew Ferguson

Matthew Ferguson

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco/ZTE Blade

Has anyone else tried this and can confirm it? (I doubt that it works in N35 since there weren't changes to the GPS libs since N35)


I can confirm this does not work.

  • 0
Orange San Francisco Black OLED Gen2
SanDisk 16GB Class 2 SD
Recovery: ClockworkMod 4.0.1.5
System: Simple Stir Fry Full b27

#17
Matthew Ferguson

Matthew Ferguson

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco/ZTE Blade

Well I have been running Maps on N41 for a couple of hours with no problems, the change I made was to replace the gps.conf with one published by wbaw when we were having issues with FLB 10, I changed the server to the UK entry. CM running on my test phone at the moment so I don't have any other apps other than GPS Test+ to test it with but going in & out of Maps with a quick & stable 30ft. lock without any crashes or reboots.


Could you link this please? :)

  • 0
Orange San Francisco Black OLED Gen2
SanDisk 16GB Class 2 SD
Recovery: ClockworkMod 4.0.1.5
System: Simple Stir Fry Full b27

#18
pellonet

pellonet

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:San Francisco B05 OLED

Could you link this please? :)

Couldn't find a link but would this do?
### GPS FIX - Modified by wbaw - http://wbaw.net ###

### NTP Time server, use a local one for best response time ###

NTP_SERVER=0.europe.pool.ntp.org
# NTP_SERVER=0.uk.pool.ntp.org
# NTP_SERVER=0.asia.pool.ntp.org
# NTP_SERVER=0.oceania.pool.ntp.org
# NTP_SERVER=0.north-america.pool.ntp.org
# NTP_SERVER=0.south-america.pool.ntp.org
# NTP_SERVER=0.africa.pool.ntp.org

XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
DEBUG_LEVEL = 3
INTERMEDIATE_POS=1
ACCURACY_THRES=5000
ENABLE_WIPER=1
SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
SUPL_PORT=7276
CURRENT_CARRIER=common
DEFAULT_AGPS_ENABLE=TRUE
DEFAULT_SSL_ENABLE=FALSE
DEFAULT_USER_PLANE=TRUE

  • 0
Peter
Do Androids dream of electric sheep?

Posted Image

Phone 1: Orange San Francisco B05 OLED Gen 1, SS5
Phone 2: Orange San Francisco B08 TFT Gen 2 (converted), CM7.02
Phone 3: OMC/Skate CM7


#19
sm4tik

sm4tik

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Jyväskylä
  • Devices:Blade

Could you link this please? :)

How about http://www.google.co...q=wbaw gps.conf :)

  • 0

#20
Matthew Ferguson

Matthew Ferguson

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco/ZTE Blade

How about http://www.google.co...q=wbaw gps.conf :)


Thanks, I used the forum search and couldn't find it :)

  • 0
Orange San Francisco Black OLED Gen2
SanDisk 16GB Class 2 SD
Recovery: ClockworkMod 4.0.1.5
System: Simple Stir Fry Full b27




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users