Jump to content


Photo

GPS crashes with CM7 Gen2

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
91 replies to this topic

#21
sm4tik

sm4tik

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Jyväskylä
  • Devices:Blade

Thanks, I used the forum search and couldn't find it :)

http://android.modac.....ite=+gps.conf :)

  • 0

#22
Matthew Ferguson

Matthew Ferguson

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco/ZTE Blade

Well I have been running Maps on N41 for a couple of hours with no problems, the change I made was to replace the gps.conf with one published by wbaw when we were having issues with FLB 10, I changed the server to the UK entry. CM running on my test phone at the moment so I don't have any other apps other than GPS Test+ to test it with but going in & out of Maps with a quick & stable 30ft. lock without any crashes or reboots.


Did you do this in the original ROM zip, as the file I've found has amend-scripting and isn't supported by the latest clockwork.

  • 0
Orange San Francisco Black OLED Gen2
SanDisk 16GB Class 2 SD
Recovery: ClockworkMod 4.0.1.5
System: Simple Stir Fry Full b27

#23
sm4tik

sm4tik

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Jyväskylä
  • Devices:Blade

Did you do this in the original ROM zip, as the file I've found has amend-scripting and isn't supported by the latest clockwork.

Just push the gps.conf file with adb. (/system/etc)

edit: remember to
$ adb remount
first, so you can write to /system

edit2: it seems that the new settings get applied if you turn gps off and then back on, so no reboot required

Edited by sm4tik, 20 April 2011 - 08:33 PM.

  • 0

#24
Matthew Ferguson

Matthew Ferguson

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco/ZTE Blade

Just push the gps.conf file with adb. (/system/etc)

edit: remember to
$ adb remount
first, so you can write to /system

edit2: it seems that the new settings get applied if you turn gps off and then back on, so no reboot required


Nope, I built it into a new ROM reflash and no dice. Maps still reboots the phone.

I think the issue lies in the kernel somewhere, as KK's kernel seems to have less reboots.

Edited by Matthew Ferguson, 20 April 2011 - 09:01 PM.

  • 0
Orange San Francisco Black OLED Gen2
SanDisk 16GB Class 2 SD
Recovery: ClockworkMod 4.0.1.5
System: Simple Stir Fry Full b27

#25
nogginthenog

nogginthenog

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Fransisco

I can confirm this does not work.

I can confirm it does work. (i.e. Nightly39 + cm7_gen2_converter_ver3)

I was running this configuration last Friday and used my Blade as a GPS on a 100 mile journey (and back).
Worked great. No reboots.

I've just reverted back to this version (remember to backup!) and gps is working perfectly. No reboots.

  • 0

#26
Matthew Ferguson

Matthew Ferguson

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco/ZTE Blade

I can confirm it does work. (i.e. Nightly39 + cm7_gen2_converter_ver3)

I was running this configuration last Friday and used my Blade as a GPS on a 100 mile journey (and back).
Worked great. No reboots.

I've just reverted back to this version (remember to backup!) and gps is working perfectly. No reboots.


The reboots are much less often but they do still happen. I was running this configuration for a few days prior to CyanogenMod going officially Gen2, and I still experienced GPS reboots caused by Fancy Widget.

Just disabled Surface Dithering (something to do with image quality) like someone somewhere recommended and the reboot seems to have gone. EDIT: I spoke too soon AGAIN.

Edited by Matthew Ferguson, 20 April 2011 - 10:21 PM.

  • 0
Orange San Francisco Black OLED Gen2
SanDisk 16GB Class 2 SD
Recovery: ClockworkMod 4.0.1.5
System: Simple Stir Fry Full b27

#27
dibbles

dibbles

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 812 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth, for now
  • Interests:Life and family :)
  • Devices:Moto G Excite Pro Nexus 7
I have not got a clue as to why this happened for me on the latest nightly.
I was using Memory Map perfectly fine with absolutely no reboots at all. Then I thought that I would try out Google Maps to see if the reboot issue occurs for me. It did.
For some reason after removing Google Maps now Memory Map will casue the phone to reboot within 30 seconds or so of launching it. Nandroiding back to my previous state (before I installed Memory Map) and it still happens.!
This was after using MM many times with zero issues. I now regret trying Google Maps as, for some reason, the fine balance of me being able to run MM is no longer in my favour.

  • 0

#28
JobSup

JobSup

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Devices:ZTE-1001 (German ZTE Blade)
As mentioned in the first post, flashing N39 with the (old) converter works best for me at the moment. I did not have a GPS related reboot with this setup.

I am just compiling a new build from the current sources and will test that with kallt_kaffe's new universal converter. If that works, then the bug is in the kernel itself, since the converter only replaces the kernel.

Still compiling...

  • 0

#29
OckoTomBrok

OckoTomBrok

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (German BASE lutea)
  • Twitter:@OckoTomBrok
I tried to "downgrade" my freshly converted Gen2 phone to N39 with the help of the Universal CM7 converter (here).

0) Start Clockwork manually
1) Wiped Cache & Dalvik Cache
2) Install CM7#39
3) Install GAPPS
4) Install Converter (w/o AHB)
5) Reboot
6) another Reboot (after first complete startup)

The system does start up into CM7 normally on my GEN2 phone. The kernel is now 2.6.32.9-perf (Kaltkaffe@ubuntu-vm). All my data were retained. Everything seems normal so far...
Started testing GPS:

I started Google Maps and ... it did crash immediately after getting a fix.
Navigon and teh rest run a little bit longer under N39 / Gen2 but they all crash in times shorter than being usefull.
I installed GPS-Test and aLogcat to get a fix on the problem, but GPS-Test worked great. After running around in Cologne for a couple of minutes with a stable fix in GPSTest I switched through all other GPS apps: Navigon, Layar, Wikitude and finally even Google maps. They all worked great in my test period. The GPS didn't loos its fits during the switches, although I ended all programs by using the back button.
After forcing the GPS to loos its fix and restarting the whole procedure, GPS-Test iniated a ReBoot after fix... So I'm pretty much lost, what's going on here. A couple of conclusions I like to draw:
1) N41 / Gen2 is a different problem to all earlier GPS problem.
2) N39 on Gen2 with KalltKaffee's Kernel gives roughly the sam bug than N41 / Gen2
3) It seems that the fix triggers something and not the GPS signal itself (weak conclusion)

I tried to generate a LogCat with aLogCat, but I unsure if it recorded the whole time... (not very familar with the system) ... at least I can't see any GPS related messages...However, I attached it here.

I haven't tried the GPS.conf trick mentioned earlier. Is it working? (read: Did more people tried it?) And does it apply for me - as being in Germany - as well?

Jan

One sidenote: I do get "H" now in areas where I got only 3G before - might be co-incidence, but perhaps that's a real benefit (the only in the moment?) for upgrading to Gen2

Attached Files


Edited by OckoTomBrok, 21 April 2011 - 09:09 AM.

  • 0

#30
OckoTomBrok

OckoTomBrok

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (German BASE lutea)
  • Twitter:@OckoTomBrok

As mentioned in the first post, flashing N39 with the (old) converter works best for me at the moment. I did not have a GPS related reboot with this setup.

I am just compiling a new build from the current sources and will test that with kallt_kaffe's new universal converter. If that works, then the bug is in the kernel itself, since the converter only replaces the kernel.

Still compiling...


What do you mean with old converter?

  • 0

#31
JobSup

JobSup

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Devices:ZTE-1001 (German ZTE Blade)

I installed GPS-Test and aLogcat to get a fix on the problem, but GPS-Test worked great. After running around in Cologne for a couple of minutes with a stable fix in GPSTest I switched through all other GPS apps: Navigon, Layar, Wikitude and finally even Google maps. They all worked great in my test period. The GPS didn't loos its fits during the switches, although I ended all programs by using the back button. After forcing the GPS to loos its fix and restarting the whole procedure, GPS-Test iniated a ReBoot after fix...


Observed that too. Once you get a GPS App running and get a fix, you can also start other GPS Apps without problem. The problem seems to be the GPS initialization.

@OckoTomBrok: Did you try N39 with the 'old' gen2 converter ver3? This worked on my Base Lutea.

  • 0

#32
bhf

bhf

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 382 posts
  • Devices:Base Lutea (German ZTE Blade)

I started Google Maps and ... it did crash immediately after getting a fix.


What do you mean, it crashed? Maps was unresponsive, it force close?

I just tried GPS with my Gen1 phone, Nightly 41 and k_k's universal converter. I got a GPS fix in roughly 45 seconds. And that's it. No crash whatsoever.

  • 0

#33
JobSup

JobSup

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Devices:ZTE-1001 (German ZTE Blade)
Ok, just finished the build from current sources (post nightly41).

On my ZTE-1001 (Base Lutea)

- wipe/factory reset, wipe dalvik, format /system
- flash post nightly41 (using wbaw's modified gps.conf)
- flash universal converter
- reboot

Test 1:
Install GPS Status from APK, no Google Apps or other stuff installed, all default settings -> crash after few seconds (even without getting a fix)

- reboot to recovery
- flash the old gen2 converter ver3 (no wipe)
- reboot

Test 2:
GPS Status started but did not seem to use GPS at first until disable/enable GPS. Could not yet get a fix since I am at work but it does not crash.

So the kernel from the old gen2 ver3 converter seems to be better.


But one question: Do we all have the German version of the ZTE Blade (Base Lutea, says ZTE-1001 under the battery)?

  • 0

#34
dibbles

dibbles

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 812 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth, for now
  • Interests:Life and family :)
  • Devices:Moto G Excite Pro Nexus 7

But one question: Do we all have the German version of the ZTE Blade (Base Lutea, says ZTE-1001 under the battery)?


Considering mine is a UK Orange SanFran I would doubt it, for me anyway, as it states ZTE-Blade.

I have gone to a variant of SS 2.2 for the time being.

When I made the bug report for the GPS issue, where it would switch off the phone after a period of time after use, I could continue to work with that and Tom and thus provide meaningful information and files to help him to resolve the issue, as did others.
With this bug I find that it now crashes for me within 30 seconds of starting to use the GPS and that makes the GPS function useless and I have almost ZERO sense of direction. I need a working GPS too much at the moment to be able to pursue this.
I have had time to nandroid my SS 2.2 and put a fresh install of n41 and memory maps, where I was before and working, but now it just reboots the phone. So I'm back to SS 2.2 and a working GPS.

  • 0

#35
OckoTomBrok

OckoTomBrok

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (German BASE lutea)
  • Twitter:@OckoTomBrok

What do you mean, it crashed? Maps was unresponsive, it force close?

I just tried GPS with my Gen1 phone, Nightly 41 and k_k's universal converter. I got a GPS fix in roughly 45 seconds. And that's it. No crash whatsoever.



Sorry, crash means a complete reboot of the phone. With this GPS bug I always get complete reboots - not really crashes...

Jan

  • 0

#36
The Soup Thief

The Soup Thief

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,046 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin
  • Devices:Nexus 5 (N4 etc retired)
  • Twitter:@TheSoupThief
Just confirming that on my UK OLED gen2 blade running n41 this crash (read, reboot) happened consistently this morning running maps and or GPS Test a short while after starting up google maps or GPS test, sometimes after achieving a fix, sometimes, before fixing any satellites in the absence of any temperature spikes (as logged with Battery Monitor widget)
Old news, but just just wanted to confirm that this appears not directly related to the previously rectified erroneous temperature reading problems
edit
Oddly I just did a 40 minute journey w Google navigation and no reboot. Started on wifi at home then switched to 3g. All fine

Edited by The Soup Thief, 21 April 2011 - 01:27 PM.

  • 0

#37
OckoTomBrok

OckoTomBrok

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (German BASE lutea)
  • Twitter:@OckoTomBrok

Observed that too. Once you get a GPS App running and get a fix, you can also start other GPS Apps without problem. The problem seems to be the GPS initialization.

I hope this finding might give the Devs a hint. Is anyone in contact with the devs, or do they follow this thread?

@OckoTomBrok: Did you try N39 with the 'old' gen2 converter ver3? This worked on my Base Lutea.

Just realised that there are two. I tried the one from the first post (Md5:f340...328b)
Unsure if I should try the second as well.


Ok, just finished the build from current sources (post nightly41).

On my ZTE-1001 (Base Lutea)

- wipe/factory reset, wipe dalvik, format /system
- flash post nightly41 (using wbaw's modified gps.conf)
- flash universal converter
- reboot
(....)

Why did you use the converter? Your phone is Gen2 and N41 as well...? Just to get the old kernel in the system?

Best,
Jan

  • 0

#38
OckoTomBrok

OckoTomBrok

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (German BASE lutea)
  • Twitter:@OckoTomBrok
I think we (me including) should be carefull with our language... Can everyone confirm that with crashes he means REBOOT? (Just editing your posts will be the easiest).
If you see forced closure or something else please report - because that might be unrelated.

Best,
Jan

  • 0

#39
OckoTomBrok

OckoTomBrok

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (German BASE lutea)
  • Twitter:@OckoTomBrok
Tried to alter my GPS.conf to the suggestions above as well. I'm running now:
CM7 # N39 with converter on a GEN2 phone.

Maps still reboots phone after seconds (actually although in rooms without any windows, so it might be not really satellite fix related)
The same with GPSTest, but it takes longer to go into reboot.

# I think it definitely has something to do with GPS initialisation but not directly with the satellite fix.
# It happens on all Gen2 devices not on Gen1 with N41 + converter
# It also happens on Gen2 devices with N39 + converter

For me that means either there is something wrong with the firmware (was this flashed during Gen1->Gen2 conversion), but this is a little bit unlikely due to the working SS. Or the libs / Kernel are defect.

Hopefully someone figures out a solution soon, because I mostly use my phone together with GPS and it's pretty useless in the moment...


Best,
Jan

  • 0

#40
dibbles

dibbles

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 812 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth, for now
  • Interests:Life and family :)
  • Devices:Moto G Excite Pro Nexus 7
As noted I am back to a SS 2.2 at the moment as I need a working GPS. For those still on n41, as I mentioned on the previous page, it might be time to file a bug report. It is best to include logs like...

last_kmsg
logcat.log

The devs will be more inclined to notice the issue if posted there rather than in this thread only.

Just remember when submitting a bug...

NO NIGHTLIES, home-builds, or anything "based on" CyanogenMod.


If a bug is submitted then a link to that for others to add would be useful.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users