Jump to content


Photo

The android for B7610 collection thread

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
144 replies to this topic

#1
ErnstJanF

ErnstJanF

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 572 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Devices:Omnia QWERTY, Galaxy S II
Android for B7610 collection thread

This thread will be ready by the end of the day :-)

Contents:
- Step by Step: Install android on SD-card (Windows)
- Step by Step: Install android on My Storage (Ubuntu)
- Step by Step: Setting up VMware Player running Ubuntu (Windows)
- Known Issues and Fixes

Edited by ErnstJanF, 26 April 2011 - 07:37 PM.

  • 0

#2
ErnstJanF

ErnstJanF

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 572 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Devices:Omnia QWERTY, Galaxy S II
Step-by-step: Install android on SD-card

1. Requirements
You will need the files below before you proceed:

Android installation
2D/3D drivers
B7610 support files

2. Unpacking files
You will need the 3 downloaded files, so I recommend to unpack them to a location that isn't that hard to find.
Attached File  1.png   107.45KB   1233 downloads

You can unzip it like this:
Attached File  2.png   100.35KB   1260 downloads

3. Putting the files on 'My storage'
Put the phone into 'Mass storage' and select 'My Storage'.
You will see it on Windows (computer):
Attached File  3.png   114.85KB   991 downloads

Copy the contents from 'Froyo_beta1_1024' to 'My Storage' likt this:
Attached File  4.png   95.97KB   1538 downloads

4. Install Android
First, unplug your phone from the computer.
NOTE: You will need more than 1GB of free space on your SD-card before proceeding!

On your phone, open your file manager and go to 'My storage'.
Next, open the folder 'o2beta'. You will see 4 files:
haret.exe, sd.cpio.gz, startup.txt, zImage.

Launch haret.exe and click 'Run'.

If the installation fails, look at the error message and check the 'known issues below this post'.

Your phone will now reboot back into Windows Mobile.

5. Installing updates
Plug your phone back in, so you get the 'My Storage' on your computer.
Copy the file I selected in the screenshot below to 'My Storage':
Attached File  5.png   102.03KB   1623 downloads

You will now have the following in 'My Storage':
Attached File  6.png   106.37KB   1458 downloads

Unplug the phone again
Go back into the filemanager on your phone, and launch the haret.exe on your 'My Storage'. NOT the one you used in step 4, but the one next to the log.txt.

You will now see Android boot (It can take about 5 minutes the first time..).
Once you can use Android, DO NOT do anything. Instead, hold the END_CALL (Hangup) button and press 'Reboot' or 'Shutdown'.
You are now back in Windows Mobile.

6. Install support files for B7610
Hook up the phone to your computer (yes, again! I promise this is the last time).

Go into your downloaded files folder, and select these files:
Attached File  7.png   96.99KB   1139 downloads

Copy those to 'My storage'. You will get a warning that 'zImage' already exists, overwrite it.
Attached File  8.png   51KB   351 downloads

Check if you have the same as me:
Attached File  9.png   101.64KB   580 downloads

Unplug your phone, and launch haret.exe like you did in step 5. (From my storage, not from o2beta folder!)

Enjoy :-)

Edited by ErnstJanF, 22 April 2011 - 08:37 AM.

  • 1

#3
ErnstJanF

ErnstJanF

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 572 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Devices:Omnia QWERTY, Galaxy S II
Reserved

  • 0

#4
ErnstJanF

ErnstJanF

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 572 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Devices:Omnia QWERTY, Galaxy S II
Reserved

  • 0

#5
ErnstJanF

ErnstJanF

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 572 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Devices:Omnia QWERTY, Galaxy S II
Known issues and fixes

Screen goes off while in-call, and phone call ends
Install 'call light' from the market

My SD-card doesn't get mounted
Use FAT32 or FAT for your data partition (the one your files are on)

I get the 'request_sleep_wake_suspended' error on boot
You didn't install the correct 2D/3D drivers, you can find them in my tutorial above.

Wifi/Bluetooth does not work?
That's right, it's not finished yet.


I'm sure there are more errors, but these are the most common ones and I will add more later

Edited by ErnstJanF, 26 April 2011 - 07:35 PM.

  • 0

#6
ErnstJanF

ErnstJanF

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 572 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Devices:Omnia QWERTY, Galaxy S II
Reserved

  • 0

#7
ErnstJanF

ErnstJanF

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 572 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Devices:Omnia QWERTY, Galaxy S II
Reserved.

Please don't reply on this topic yet, there's no need to do so..

  • 0

#8
ErnstJanF

ErnstJanF

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 572 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Devices:Omnia QWERTY, Galaxy S II
Maybe another reserved post

  • 0

#9
ErnstJanF

ErnstJanF

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 572 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Devices:Omnia QWERTY, Galaxy S II
Last one :)

  • 0

#10
PankajM

PankajM

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pune
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia Pro B7610

Android for B7610 collection thread

This thread will be ready by the end of the day :-)

Contents:
- Step by Step: Install android on SD-card (Windows)
- Step by Step: Install android on My Storage (Ubuntu)
- Step by Step: Setting up VMware Player running Ubuntu (Windows)
- Known Issues and Fixes

First of all, my apologies for replying before the thread is ready.

In my opinion, there is no need to handle the hassle for installing VMWare and Ubuntu which is very heavy. I use Tiny Core linux installed on my pendrive and boot from it. So far i have not faced any issue and it works perfectly ok. Tiny core is around 10 MB distro and boots perfectly and has all the tool needed for installation on mystorage. I'll try to make a tutorial (about how i did it) and hope that some people will benefit from it.

EDIT: I sincerely thank ErnstJanF for your efforts and in no way mean to hurt you by writing this.

Edited by PankajM, 22 April 2011 - 04:50 PM.

  • 0

#11
carlsberg

carlsberg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:b7610
Hello , nice guide .
But Wifi doesnt work ?

Thanks .

  • 0

#12
erikcas

erikcas

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,061 posts
  • Location:Castricum, Holland
  • Devices:Samsung B7610
  • Twitter:@castwitz

Hello , nice guide .
But Wifi doesnt work ?

Thanks .

Correct! Not working yet. B7610 uses another chip for wifi then I8000. The devs give priority to stable I8000 android version first.
Might be solved in the future
If you know how to code, feel free to try to make it work. You can start reading somewhere here.

grtz Erik

  • 0

=====================================

Samsung Cooper, Fit, Gio & Mini Development

CM9 && CM10.1

AndroidArmv6 // Jellaxy

My Github

=====================================


#13
erikcas

erikcas

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,061 posts
  • Location:Castricum, Holland
  • Devices:Samsung B7610
  • Twitter:@castwitz

Android for B7610 collection thread

This thread will be ready by the end of the day :-)

Contents:
- Step by Step: Install android on SD-card (Windows)
- Step by Step: Install android on My Storage (Ubuntu)
- Step by Step: Setting up VMware Player running Ubuntu (Windows)
- Known Issues and Fixes

I wrote you a nice guide for install on My storage earlier :)

  • 0

=====================================

Samsung Cooper, Fit, Gio & Mini Development

CM9 && CM10.1

AndroidArmv6 // Jellaxy

My Github

=====================================


#14
ErnstJanF

ErnstJanF

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 572 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Devices:Omnia QWERTY, Galaxy S II

I wrote you a nice guide for install on My storage earlier :)


Yeah I will use that one, rewrite it a little and add screenshots to it :-)

  • 0

#15
erikcas

erikcas

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,061 posts
  • Location:Castricum, Holland
  • Devices:Samsung B7610
  • Twitter:@castwitz

Yeah I will use that one, rewrite it a little and add screenshots to it :-)

Super!

  • 0

=====================================

Samsung Cooper, Fit, Gio & Mini Development

CM9 && CM10.1

AndroidArmv6 // Jellaxy

My Github

=====================================


#16
silvestero

silvestero

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Step-by-step: Install android on SD-card



If the installation fails, look at the error message and check the 'known issues below this post'.



can't find :) could you say me please where it stands, thanks.

  • 0

#17
ErnstJanF

ErnstJanF

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 572 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Devices:Omnia QWERTY, Galaxy S II

can't find :) could you say me please where it stands, thanks.


It's not finished yet :)

  • 0

#18
Da Phoenix

Da Phoenix

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
When I install using Ubuntu I get this error.
[   7.249684] VFS: Mounted root (ext4 filesystem) on device
  179.2.
[   7.265357] Freeing init memory: 144K
[   7.273286] BFS CPU scheduler v0.310 by Con Kolivas.
[   7.282213] Warning: unable to open an initial console.
[   7.290416] Failed to execute /init.  Attempting defaults
...
[   7.305995] Kernel panic - not syncing: no init found. T
ry passing init=option to kernel.

  • 0

#19
ErnstJanF

ErnstJanF

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 572 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Devices:Omnia QWERTY, Galaxy S II

When I install using Ubuntu I get this error.

[   7.249684] VFS: Mounted root (ext4 filesystem) on device
  179.2.
[   7.265357] Freeing init memory: 144K
[   7.273286] BFS CPU scheduler v0.310 by Con Kolivas.
[   7.282213] Warning: unable to open an initial console.
[   7.290416] Failed to execute /init.  Attempting defaults
...
[   7.305995] Kernel panic - not syncing: no init found. T
ry passing init=option to kernel.


Reinstall, be sure to use sudo for tar.. and change the partition number in default/startup.txt!

  • 0

#20
Da Phoenix

Da Phoenix

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Reinstall, be sure to use sudo for tar.. and change the partition number in default/startup.txt!


I've tried in but I still get the same error.
Here are some screenshots of my Ubuntu shizzle.


Attached File  1.JPG   171.21KB   198 downloads

Attached File  2.JPG   403.67KB   149 downloads

Attached File  3.JPG   504.55KB   159 downloads

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users