Jump to content


Photo

[ROM][GingerBread]CM7 working on Gen2 ZTE Light/V9 [2011-08-15]

* * * * * 5 votes

  • Please log in to reply
530 replies to this topic

#61
rulinho

rulinho

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

Good for you!

I noticed that Telefonica started selling this tablet (also heard ZTE did some marketing thing with it during a tennis tournament just recently).
I've had the Swedish ZTE Light for about two weeks now (got it shipped to Catalunya by a colleague in Sweden) and so far I have nothing bad to say about this tablet.
- And with kallt_kaffe's CM7 it get's even better. The only thing I miss right now is the FM Radio, but I think I'll try to cope without it...


Telefonica Movistar now called gave me the tablet by mistake :-) In the tennis tournament in Madrid, gave a few.

With CyanogenMod going well because the original rom has a lot of nonsense that can not be deleted. It has some minor bugs, but it is much better.

The only bad thing is that the light zte pro cyanogen is multitouch and I can not take advantage of this. Do you think there any solution?

  • 0

#62
garfin

garfin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Devices:Optus MyTab (ZTE V9)
Since switching to CM7 , i now have the WIFI not auto reconnecting comming out of sleep mode , issue... this was not apparent on Generic V9.. anyone had success with any of the many WIFI WAKEUP apps ?

e.g.... i'm connected via wifi ... i tap power to poweroff the screen, wait a couple of minutes, then tap power to 'restore' the screen... when it comes back .. no wifi ... i have to disable/re-enable WIFI to reconnect.

Seems to be related to how long its in 'sleep' state for ...
I dropped screen timeout from 10 to 2 minutes , and immediately on screen going blank .. it drops the wifi connection .. (i can monitor connected devices via my access point.) If i wait then say 2~3 minutes , and then wake up the Tab , Wifi reconnects as expected.. leave it in sleep state for a longer period , and fails to reconnect on wake up .. (unsure exactly on the 'timing' for that.. )

Edited by garfin, 27 May 2011 - 11:04 AM.

  • 0

#63
garfin

garfin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Devices:Optus MyTab (ZTE V9)

Hey mate does does z4root_blade_perm_root_v2 let you achieve perm root after flashing the optus 2.2 prepaid rom?

Also, does this mean if I ever wanted to return the tablet back to stock for warranty purposes I can just flash the above rom with the ZTE flashing tool?


Yes , and Yes.. :P

  • 0

#64
Caustic Soda

Caustic Soda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

With this working I could make an AHB overclocking addon that doesn't needs updating if something is changed in the initital ramdisk.


So has anyone figured anything out regarding OC'ing the tab yet?
Must confess, I know nothing in this respect, so I don't know if this quote should be self-explanatory or not.

  • 0

#65
rulinho

rulinho

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
I can´t use multitouch on my zte light pro but it is enabled. In opera minibrowser works fine but not in others programs. I´m sure it is easy to solve this issue. Can anyone help me?

  • 0

#66
Caustic Soda

Caustic Soda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
OK Folks,

I have had a shot at tidying up my instructions for updating to 2.3.4

Instructions: http://www.mediafire...f0pf5ppfruec3v8
Tools required: http://www.mediafire...gyd42g574to7kc7

Note that you will still need to download a 2.2 ROM (if you are only running 2.1) and a 2.3.4 ROM - links for each are provided in the instructions.

Let me know if there is anything that needs to be clearer in the instructions, and I will try to update it as soon as I can.

  • 0

#67
rulinho

rulinho

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

I can´t use multitouch on my zte light pro but it is enabled. In opera minibrowser works fine but not in others programs. I´m sure it is easy to solve this issue. Can anyone help me?



Solved editing some archives.

  • 0

#68
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad

So has anyone figured anything out regarding OC'ing the tab yet?
Must confess, I know nothing in this respect, so I don't know if this quote should be self-explanatory or not.

There's nothing to figure out. I know exactly how to overclock it but cannot do it without the kernel source. The only thing I can do is hexedit the kernel and overclock the AHB bus which gives a ~10% performance increase.

  • 0
Blog - App

#69
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad

I noticed 3.1.0.2 is out now... I'll build a new version at the weekend when Im back home/

Thanks.

  • 0
Blog - App

#70
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad
New version in first post.

  • 0
Blog - App

#71
boutsism

boutsism

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Athens
are u sure that the new version works?cause i tried to install it from recovery mod but it show me a error and aborted...can u check it please?

  • 0

#72
neos_83

neos_83

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

are u sure that the new version works?cause i tried to install it from recovery mod but it show me a error and aborted...can u check it please?


the error happened to me as well

  • 0

#73
garfin

garfin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Devices:Optus MyTab (ZTE V9)

Since switching to CM7 , i now have the WIFI not auto reconnecting comming out of sleep mode


I think i can confirm this as a bug...

Tried this ..

Settings,

Wireless & Networks,

WiFi Settings,

(Here, Click the Menu Button.. Go to Advanced)

WiFi Sleep Policy: NEVER

(Click the Menu Button..) Save.



However , ZTE V9 seems to ignore this setting change , and continues to drop the WIFI connection when screen switches off.

  • 0

#74
droidmania

droidmania

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:ZTE light
latest update is corrupt, I can't install it into my handheld

  • 0

#75
metoriaN

metoriaN

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Unable to connect to the network in updates above xxxxxxxxxxx-20110521. When selecting the airplain mod to "on" and back to "off" the network is unavailable as well.
My network is life:) Belarus.

  • 0

#76
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

Thanks.


ok I have a build of 3.2.0.0 with a 16mb RamDisk... how do I test this kernel replacement thing?

  • 0

#77
truerusader

truerusader

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia
  • Devices:Motorola Defy, ZTE V9, SEX1
Cheers on all your work in here Boys!!!! I.m new just joined but I've reading up in here since I bought my V9 yesterday and did official OPTUS upgrade this morn & gosh it works much better, and will be happy with that for a week or 2 but knowing me will soon be wanting to flash CM7 a little later on when it becomes a bit more official i.e beta, so have been downing all the necessary bits (clockworkmod, one click reco, gapps etc) just getting ready...

Do have a few questions though,
1, before the official upgrade, I noticed there was no Settings/aboutphone/systemupdates installer in the Tablet :rolleyes: , like there was on my Moto defy,
& it was by sheer luck I stumbled upon the upgrade tool, but the systemupdate installer appeared after the upgrade which begs the question..
If an official Gingerbread update is as much an insurmountable pipe dream as I've been lead to believe in some forums, then why add an update installer with 2.2?, are optus planning an extended future for the mytab/ V9? <_<
2. Also I was quite annoyed to find the cpu clock is already set to it's max value in every cpu O/C app I can find ( please guys we need O/C modules?), and the lcd density can't be played with either without forcing a reboot( heart palpitates! :D , did I see the second last nightly in the first post have HDPI Profiles installed then removed, next evening? plz make it work?) so it seems just a simple root is not worth it yet unless you wanna go the full CM7 install which is too early for my liking, also what of the prospects of deodexing?/ baseband switching?/ vsel setting?, and other small contributions I've seen go into CM7 port for Defy ( which is still beta 6 but a huge success, my daily handset :D ) it seems the V9 maybe a bit further off being allowed CM7 official status but work hard please guys coz I and a bunch of others in Oz will be... er... rooting for ya, almost literally :(

gonna continue reading this spot while I learn more about this device, but will look forward to testing some stuff soon
Cheers again and Love the Work you have not yet done.
G :P

  • 0

#78
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad

ok I have a build of 3.2.0.0 with a 16mb RamDisk... how do I test this kernel replacement thing?

I'll make an AHB overclock update for CM7 as soon as I get time. Thanks again.

  • 0
Blog - App

#79
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad

ok I have a build of 3.2.0.0 with a 16mb RamDisk... how do I test this kernel replacement thing?


First install CM7 and after booting run this: dmesg |grep 0.22
You should now see the frequency table.

Now install the attached update and after boot, do the same thing again.

The AHB bus frequency should now have changed from 160000 to 240000 for the 480000kHz level and from 200000 to 300000 for the 600000kHz level.

Attached Files


  • 0
Blog - App

#80
boutsism

boutsism

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Athens

First install CM7 and after booting run this: dmesg |grep 0.22
You should now see the frequency table.

Now install the attached update and after boot, do the same thing again.

The AHB bus frequency should now have changed from 160000 to 240000 for the 480000kHz level and from 200000 to 300000 for the 600000kHz level.



What do u mean when u say "run this: dmesg |grep 0.22" cause i didnt understand it...

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users