Jump to content


Photo

[ROM][GingerBread]CM7 working on Gen2 ZTE Light/V9 [2011-08-15]

* * * * * 5 votes

  • Please log in to reply
530 replies to this topic

#101
CTFunkmonkey

CTFunkmonkey

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540

Hi,
First time poster here :D
With LOTS of messing around I found some things out,
FIRST:
For Optus users you MUST flash the GENERIC Firmware FIRST! I am assuming the Optus firmware has some sort of lock which causes CM7 to boot loop.

SECOND:
I could not get date29 firmware to work straight from GENERIC 2.2

THIRD:
You can flash GENERIC 2.2 using patched tool, install recovery, reboot then flash date25, then date29, then GAPPS, then Overclock pack. Then WIPE!!!! Then boot. You will have date29 with overclock working :D


I have just dowloaded the 25 date rom and tried this method. I dont know what im doing wrong or what but i still cant get past the skateboard. Fortunately i still seem to be able to rescue everything with the generic updater

  • 0

#102
CTFunkmonkey

CTFunkmonkey

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540

I have just dowloaded the 25 date rom and tried this method. I dont know what im doing wrong or what but i still cant get past the skateboard. Fortunately i still seem to be able to rescue everything with the generic updater



Uh.. hehe :$ before tooling around any more before fixing it again i managed to reboot it into recovery which didnt seem to work last time. I wiped all the caches again and rebooted and lo and behold, i now have cm7 running. Havent yet updated to that 29 build as it doesnt seem to be available the url points to some mediafire signup page. But nice one Bohdans!

  • 0

#103
garfin

garfin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Devices:Optus MyTab (ZTE V9)

Havent yet updated to that 29 build as it doesnt seem to be available the url points to some mediafire signup page.



Try this ...

http://www.mediafire...2kic2bb9dz2k2bj

  • 0

#104
CTFunkmonkey

CTFunkmonkey

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540

Try this ...

http://www.mediafire...2kic2bb9dz2k2bj


Downloading now. Nice one thanks. Just out of interest, what is the difference between the 25 and 29 builds? Is it even worth me doing another update as this seems to be running fine?

  • 0

#105
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad
New version in first post. Don't forget to upgrade Clockwork to the modified version. No need to reinstall google apps if you are just upgrading from a previous version.

  • 0
Blog - App

#106
garfin

garfin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Devices:Optus MyTab (ZTE V9)

Downloading now. Nice one thanks. Just out of interest, what is the difference between the 25 and 29 builds? Is it even worth me doing another update as this seems to be running fine?


I'm a firm believer in , if it ain't broke... it don't need fix'n .. , so unless there is something listed in the changelog (1st post)........ :D

  • 0

#107
XeKToReX

XeKToReX

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Devices:HTC Trophy, i8000, V9 MyTab
Just installed the 31-5 update, worked a treat, will update as I have a play :D

Thanks kk/Seb!

  • 0

#108
j4cky_zh3ng

j4cky_zh3ng

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:ZTE v9
hi guys,

i guess with a lot of hard work and fiddling around, i finally managed to install gingerbread pack 20110531 on that optus zte v9. that was a long and hard struggle since am quite a newbie at this (android). got everything except for the overclock part. cannot seem to get that to work at all. if i understood correctly, it has to be installed through clockworks recovery 3.2.0.0, right ? same way we installed the gingerbread roms i assume, yet the frequency seem to be the same, max 600MHz. i wanted to up that frequency to around 850MHz or even more. i think i've seen a benchmark run of ZTE v9 with 1024MHz. quite impressive.

anyways, thx guys for all that. am off testing this newly gingerbread born tablet. :D

  • 0

#109
garfin

garfin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Devices:Optus MyTab (ZTE V9)

got everything except for the overclock part. cannot seem to get that to work at all.



Yeah having same issue i believe ...

DMESG shows
160000 @ 480000 and 200000 @ 600000
not
240000 @ 480000 and 300000 @ 600000

i'm running the latest 0531 nightly and have re-applied the OC zip just to be sure ...

  • 0

#110
forforum

forforum

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Devices:Desire HD, ZTE V9, Huawei S7

Yeah having same issue i believe ...

DMESG shows
160000 @ 480000 and 200000 @ 600000
not
240000 @ 480000 and 300000 @ 600000

i'm running the latest 0531 nightly and have re-applied the OC zip just to be sure ...


I think, your problem might be not enough room in /tmp. I flashed the overclocked kernel prior to installing gapps. It worked for me.

  • 0

#111
garfin

garfin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Devices:Optus MyTab (ZTE V9)

I think, your problem might be not enough room in /tmp. I flashed the overclocked kernel prior to installing gapps. It worked for me.

Bingo!

  • 0

#112
j4cky_zh3ng

j4cky_zh3ng

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:ZTE v9
what ? cannot understand what you guys did to make that work.. does that mean that i have to restart from the beginning ? and make sure to install overclock before gapps.. or is it install mod, boot.. then install overclock, boot.. then install gapps, boot.. making sure to wipe before each boot in clockworks.. sorry for newbie questions..

  • 0

#113
rulinho

rulinho

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
How can i know if the overclock is working for me?

  • 0

#114
allannn

allannn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
For some reason after installing clockwork recovery, I can't go into FTM mode anymore, and it just gets stuck on the green android logo when booting pressing Power & Volume - . I'm using the Optus 2.2 rom and since a previous post said that I need to flash the generic 2.2 rom before flashing CM7, what should I do?

Edited by allannn, 01 June 2011 - 12:15 PM.

  • 0

#115
modacool

modacool

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
my impression (I havent installed the OC yet, since mediafire seems to be extremely slow for me right now)
is the OC is just a modified kernel.
You should be able to install it before or after gapps, and it wouldnt matter.
Then you'd need to either use the built in CM7 overclock, or setcpu to change the freq.

Also, you should be able to update your CM without loosing the settings by flashing the new version without wiping.
that should not be an issues from CM7 to CM7 roms

Edited by modacool, 01 June 2011 - 12:19 PM.

  • 0

#116
forforum

forforum

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Devices:Desire HD, ZTE V9, Huawei S7

what ? cannot understand what you guys did to make that work.. does that mean that i have to restart from the beginning ? and make sure to install overclock before gapps.. or is it install mod, boot.. then install overclock, boot.. then install gapps, boot.. making sure to wipe before each boot in clockworks.. sorry for newbie questions..


You may have re-flash one of KK's earlier rom, the one on the 25th of May is a good starting point. Also make sure you have Sebastian's 3.2.0.0 reovery. After that, flash the newer rom if you like. Just make sure you flash the overclock kernel prior to install gapps.

Or you can wait for Sebastian to release a newer recovery with larger /tmp.

Edit: Just found out that KK has released the updated recovery to overcome the problem.

Edited by forforum, 01 June 2011 - 12:34 PM.

  • 0

#117
skygunner

skygunner

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:Optus MyTab (ZTE V9/Light)
Hello everyone, first post since register in 2005:)
I followed Caustic Soda's instructions in #66, flashed the 2011-05-25 build as instructed in the document;

then upgraded ClockworkMod recovery to a modified version of Sebastians 3.2.0.0 (64Mb /tmp) by installing and run the apk
from the link in the first post (http://www.mediafire...2lzep9ljnykq2nv)

reboot into the ClockworkMod Recovery and flashed the new build 2011-05-31, wipe data/factory reset, wipe Dalvik cache in advance, fix permission, reboot, works fine;

flashed the gapps build for 2.3.4, works fine;

flashed the overclock kernel, wipe cache partition, wipe Dalvik cache, reboot, checked the dmesg, result is as expected, so AHB bus overclock seems to work.

Thanks very much.

Note for Optus users, you need to add the the primary prepaid APN to use mobile internet. see #57. The CM7 built in 'internet' 'yesinternet' Optus APN doesn't seem to work for me.

Edited by skygunner, 01 June 2011 - 12:23 PM.

  • 0

#118
forforum

forforum

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Devices:Desire HD, ZTE V9, Huawei S7

my impression (I havent installed the OC yet, since mediafire seems to be extremely slow for me right now)
is the OC is just a modified kernel.
You should be able to install it before or after gapps, and it wouldnt matter.
Then you'd need to either use the built in CM7 overclock, or setcpu to change the freq.

Also, you should be able to update your CM without loosing the settings by flashing the new version without wiping.
that should not be an issues from CM7 to CM7 roms


Please see KK's post #85 in pervious page for the /tmp space issue.

  • 0

#119
skygunner

skygunner

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:Optus MyTab (ZTE V9/Light)

my impression (I havent installed the OC yet, since mediafire seems to be extremely slow for me right now)
is the OC is just a modified kernel.
You should be able to install it before or after gapps, and it wouldnt matter.
Then you'd need to either use the built in CM7 overclock, or setcpu to change the freq.

Also, you should be able to update your CM without loosing the settings by flashing the new version without wiping.
that should not be an issues from CM7 to CM7 roms


The current AHB overclocking kernel seems only have modified the AHB bus, won't let you set the cpu frequency to higher than 600MHz

  • 0

#120
garfin

garfin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Devices:Optus MyTab (ZTE V9)

How can i know if the overclock is working for me?


As detailed on post #79 , where you got the zip file.. you need to go into 'Terminal' App, and type ...

dmesg |grep 0.22

You should now see the frequency table.

The AHB bus frequency should now have changed from 160000 to 240000 for the 480000kHz level and from 200000 to 300000 for the 600000kHz level.

  • 0




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users