Jump to content


Photo

Getting Google Music (here's what I did)

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
65 replies to this topic

#21
mimminito

mimminito

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chelmsford
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@mimminito

Ive edited in the lines posted but mines still saying Transformer under model number?

everything else has changed, 3.1 etc (wish it was lol)


Same. Hopefully someone will clarify this is ok (maybe its a hardware setting, not sure) and hopefully will get an inv soon!

  • 0

#22
DaBeeeenster

DaBeeeenster

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Devices:Orange M500

It took a while for the music app to register the Music Beta. keep it running for an hour and see if it picks up on it. If not, clear its data and reboot, leaving it running again for a while and you'll get a prompt to allow access to Google Music.

Clearing the storage through settings then re-running the app sorted it out.

There's no option to set where it caches the files though which is *really* annoying! I want them on the MicroSD...

  • 0

#23
DaBeeeenster

DaBeeeenster

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Devices:Orange M500

Clearing the storage through settings then re-running the app sorted it out.

There's no option to set where it caches the files though which is *really* annoying! I want them on the MicroSD...

I wonder if I could root the device and put a symlink in to point to the SD?

  • 0

#24
DonVincenzo

DonVincenzo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London/Edinburgh, UK
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, Asus Transformer

Same. Hopefully someone will clarify this is ok (maybe its a hardware setting, not sure) and hopefully will get an inv soon!


Me too - I've had it sitting with the build.prop modified for about 12 hours now and still nothing...

Also, did everyone who had success follow Paul's path all the way along (i.e. after adjusting the build.prop, hard reset, setup tablet and use market etc for a few hours, then restore nandroid)?

Thanks!

  • 0

#25
kartman_21

kartman_21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:vario
hi all,

I tried to edit the build.prop both with full example of Paul but also using the Galaxy S2 base build.prop.
unfortunately this is not succesfull, as after edit and reboot of phone, the phone keeps rebooting (bootloop), after I have to reflash my phone.
Does someone have any idea how to make this work for the SGS2?

original build.prop
---
# begin build properties
# autogenerated by buildinfo.sh
ro.build.id=GINGERBREAD
ro.build.display.id=GINGERBREAD.XWKDD
ro.build.version.incremental=XWKDD
ro.build.version.sdk=10
ro.build.version.codename=REL
ro.build.version.release=2.3.3
ro.build.date=Tue Apr 26 09:00:32 KST 2011
ro.build.date.utc=1303776032
ro.build.type=user
ro.build.user=root
ro.build.host=DELL103
ro.build.tags=release-keys
ro.product.model=GT-I9100
ro.product.brand=samsung
ro.product.name=GT-I9100
ro.product.device=GT-I9100
ro.product.board=GT-I9100
ro.product.cpu.abi=armeabi-v7a
# Samsung Specific Properties
ro.build.PDA=I9100XWKDD
ro.build.hidden_ver=I9100XWKDD
ro.build.changelist=161513
ro.product.cpu.abi2=armeabi
ro.product.manufacturer=samsung
ro.product.locale.language=en
ro.product.locale.region=GB
ro.wifi.channels=
ro.board.platform=s5pc210
# ro.build.product is obsolete; use ro.product.device
ro.build.product=GT-I9100
# Do not try to parse ro.build.description or .fingerprint
ro.build.description=GT-I9100-user 2.3.3 GINGERBREAD XWKDD release-keys
ro.build.fingerprint=samsung/GT-I9100/GT-I9100:2.3.3/GINGERBREAD/XWKDD:user/release-keys
# Samsung Specific Properties
ro.build.PDA=I9100XWKDD
ro.build.hidden_ver=I9100XWKDD
ro.build.changelist=161513
ro.tether.denied=false
ro.flash.resolution=1080
# end build properties
#
# system.prop for asop5000
#

rild.libpath=/system/lib/libsec-ril.so
rild.libargs=-d /dev/ttyS0
ro.sf.lcd_density=240
dalvik.vm.heapsize=64m

# Samsung USB default mode
persist.service.usb.setting=0

#
# ADDITIONAL_BUILD_PROPERTIES
#
ro.url.legal=http://www.google.com/intl/%s/mobile/android/basic/phone-legal.html
ro.url.legal.android_privacy=http://www.google.com/intl/%s/mobile/android/basic/privacy.html
ro.com.google.locationfeatures=1
ro.com.google.clientidbase=android-samsung
ro.com.google.gmsversion=2.3_r3
media.stagefright.enable-player=false
media.stagefright.enable-meta=false
media.stagefright.enable-scan=false
media.stagefright.enable-http=true
media.stagefright.enable-rtsp=false
ro.url.legal=http://www.google.com/intl/%s/mobile/android/basic/phone-legal.html
ro.url.legal.android_privacy=http://www.google.com/intl/%s/mobile/android/basic/privacy.html
ro.com.google.locationfeatures=1
keyguard.no_require_sim=true
ro.config.ringtone=01_Minimal_tone.ogg
ro.config.notification_sound=01_Sherbet.ogg
ro.config.alarm_alert=Good_Morning.ogg
ro.config.media_sound=Media_preview_Touch_the_light.ogg
ro.opengles.version=131072
ro.setupwizard.mode=OPTIONAL
ro.secdevenc=true
ro.wtldatapassword=true
net.bt.name=Android
dalvik.vm.stack-trace-file=/data/anr/traces.txt
----

thanks

  • 0

#26
macray76

macray76

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire
I'm trying to work out the build.prop for the SGS2.

I think if you change the ro.build.platform and ro.product.board it causes it to boot loop. I've kept the Samsung stuff in but changed everything else.

I've cleared the data from the Market and Music apps but when I go in to accept the terms of the Market it is still referring to the UK market in them so I'm not convinced that Google see me as a US Xoom owner.

  • 0

#27
macray76

macray76

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire

I'm trying to work out the build.prop for the SGS2.

I think if you change the ro.build.platform and ro.product.board it causes it to boot loop. I've kept the Samsung stuff in but changed everything else.

I've cleared the data from the Market and Music apps but when I go in to accept the terms of the Market it is still referring to the UK market in them so I'm not convinced that Google see me as a US Xoom owner.


Ok, so changing the ro.product.board definitely stops it from booting.

Other than that I have changed everything in the build.prop as per Paul's version. So I shall await an invite... :P

Edited by macray76, 27 May 2011 - 12:16 PM.

  • 0

#28
kartman_21

kartman_21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:vario

Ok, so changing the ro.product.board definitely stops it from booting.

Other than that I have changed everything in the build.prop as per Paul's version. So I shall await an invite... :P

Ok, I will try that.
Keep me informed if it works for you with the invite.
I am not at home..so have to wait till tonight.

  • 0

#29
mimminito

mimminito

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chelmsford
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@mimminito
Still no inv for me :P

  • 0

#30
macray76

macray76

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire
No invite here so have reset my SGS2 back.

I might try over the weekend on my Vega tablet being a tegra board already it has more common parts with the Xoom. Worth a go anyway.

  • 0

#31
kartman_21

kartman_21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:vario
Just tried again, so changed my original build.prop but keeps booting...
new build.prop I made.
---

# begin build properties
# autogenerated by buildinfo.sh
ro.build.id=HMJ37
ro.build.display.id=HMJ37
ro.build.version.incremental=124251
ro.build.version.sdk=12
ro.build.version.codename=REL
ro.build.version.release=3.1
ro.build.date=Sat May 7 02:22:32 PDT 2011
ro.build.date.utc=1304760152
ro.build.type=user
ro.build.user=android-build
ro.build.host=android-test-7.mtv.corp.google.com
ro.build.tags=release-keys
ro.product.model=Xoom
ro.product.brand=verizon
ro.product.name=trygon
ro.product.device=stingray
ro.product.board=GT-I9100
ro.product.cpu.abi=armeabi-v7a
ro.product.cpu.abi2=armeabi
# Samsung Specific Properties
ro.build.PDA=I9100XWKE7
ro.build.hidden_ver=I9100XWKE7
ro.build.changelist=215725
ro.product.cpu.abi2=armeabi
ro.product.manufacturer=Motorola
ro.product.locale.language=en
ro.product.locale.region=US
ro.wifi.channels=
ro.board.platform=tegra
# ro.build.product is obsolete; use ro.product.device
ro.build.product=stingray
# Do not try to parse ro.build.description or .fingerprint
ro.build.description=trygon-user 3.1 HMJ37 124251 release-keys
ro.build.fingerprint=verizon/trygon/stingray:3.1/HMJ37/124251:user/release-keys
ro.build.characteristics=tablet
# Samsung Specific Properties
ro.build.PDA=I9100XWKE7
ro.build.hidden_ver=I9100XWKE7
ro.build.changelist=215725
ro.tether.denied=false
ro.flash.resolution=1080
# end build properties
#
# system.prop for asop5000
#

rild.libpath=/system/lib/libsec-ril.so
rild.libargs=-d /dev/ttyS0
ro.sf.lcd_density=240
dalvik.vm.heapsize=64m

# Samsung USB default mode
persist.service.usb.setting=0
dev.sfbootcomplete=0
#
# ADDITIONAL_BUILD_PROPERTIES
#
ro.url.legal=http://www.google.com/intl/%s/mobile/android/basic/phone-legal.html
ro.url.legal.android_privacy=http://www.google.com/intl/%s/mobile/android/basic/privacy.html
ro.com.google.locationfeatures=1
ro.com.google.clientidbase=android-samsung
ro.com.google.gmsversion=2.3_r3
media.stagefright.enable-player=false
media.stagefright.enable-meta=false
media.stagefright.enable-scan=false
media.stagefright.enable-http=true
media.stagefright.enable-rtsp=false
ro.url.legal=http://www.google.com/intl/%s/mobile/android/basic/phone-legal.html
ro.url.legal.android_privacy=http://www.google.com/intl/%s/mobile/android/basic/privacy.html
ro.com.google.locationfeatures=1
keyguard.no_require_sim=true
ro.config.ringtone=S_Over_the_horizon.ogg
ro.config.notification_sound=01_Sherbet.ogg
ro.config.alarm_alert=Good_Morning.ogg
ro.config.media_sound=Media_preview_Touch_the_light.ogg
ro.opengles.version=131072
ro.setupwizard.mode=OPTIONAL
ro.secdevenc=true
ro.wtldatapassword=true
net.bt.name=Android
dalvik.vm.stack-trace-file=/data/anr/traces.txt

--
any suggestions

  • 0

#32
mimminito

mimminito

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chelmsford
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@mimminito
Ill give it another go when I get home, once my tablet is charged again.

  • 0

#33
sitic

sitic

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
for Linux-Users:
The Music Manager Installer does not work in wine, but the actual Music Manager works fine with wine 1.3 (wine Ubuntu ppa):
Music Manager without Installer
md5: dd76c2d72997aeb6cad682621c9c320e

  • 0

#34
manicyaz

manicyaz

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:HTC Desire Froyo Modaco R7 ROM
It's been two days and stil no invite. :P I replaced the build.prop found under system and replaced it using Root explorer and rebooted. Under about it says Android Version 3.1. But it refers to the model as Transformer TF101. Should this say Motorola Xoom? I changed all the lines as per the above instructions.

Cheers,

  • 0
"They tell us "Rock'n'roll is the devil's music." Well, let's say we know that rock is the the devil's music, and we know that it is, for sure... At least he f*ckin' jams! If it's a choice between eternal Hell and good tunes, and eternal Heaven and New Kids on the f*ckin' Block...I'm gonna be surfin' on the lake of fire, rockin' out." - Bill Hicks R.I.P

#35
3shirts

3shirts

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 562 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus S
All I did was request an invite on PC via a proxy then wait. I did use MarketAccess to get the Music app so I may have entered Google's radar at that point but I'm only using a Nexus S with CM 7 so nothing special on the ROM setup.

  • 0

#36
kingmob

kingmob

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Just got my invite!

I changed the build.prop as per the first post on my VegaComb running Advent Vega.

Cheers for the instructions.

Tim

  • 0

#37
gumbald

gumbald

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Desire, SGS2
  • Twitter:@gumbald
Just tried going to the Google Music site using key from hostizzle.com and OpenVPN. I'm shown as being in Ohio on other sites, but Google still gives me the outside US message. Could they have blocked the VPN address too? Bit reluctant to sign up for a VPN subscription when the only thing I'd immediately need it for is this! I've got a Desire too, so can't use the Xoom method. Anyone else used one of the free VPNs, or is there something in my Google account I have to change too to make me appear US?

  • 0

#38
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,657 posts
No need to edit your build.prop, it makes no difference. All I did was register using my US server and I got an invite. Simples.

  • 0

#39
gumbald

gumbald

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Desire, SGS2
  • Twitter:@gumbald

No need to edit your build.prop, it makes no difference. All I did was register using my US server and I got an invite. Simples.


I think the point is, not all of us have access to a US server!

EDIT: I'm confused, I can get hulu.com using the VPN but Google still seems to think I'm outside the US...

Edited by gumbald, 03 June 2011 - 08:39 AM.

  • 0

#40
Mixy

Mixy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Devices:Desire
Any idea why i get the "We're sorry. Music Beta is currently only available in the United States"

When i am connected to VPN in USA? Checked it with iplocator or something, placed me in Chicago. Also changed the settings for my account to say country "US".

Thanks

EDIT: Booted computer and restarted VPN. Did the trick :D

Edited by Mixy, 04 June 2011 - 03:23 AM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users