Jump to content


Photo

Froyo Beta Battery life (07/07/2011)


  • Please log in to reply
76 replies to this topic

#21
Leeds

Leeds

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Curitiba, Brazil
  • Devices:Omnia II     Galaxy S II

Small advice. You need root access for cpu control apps.

Here is a script to get your devices rooted. http://www.modaco.co...h...st&id=70136
Otherwise the apps are useless.


Yes indeed, that's a good advice!
Too bad that in my case this wasn't the reason why SetCPU wasn't working.. :o
I always make sure my Android is rooted before doing anything haha

Hey robbert, I couldn't test the CPU Tuner you've talked about because I can't get my market to work :D
It's really hard to find the apk to download from the internet, could you share it? It's free right?

Thanks in advance!
:D

Edited by Leeds, 06 June 2011 - 09:36 PM.

  • 0

#22
hirophang

hirophang

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
  • Devices:i8000

No need to flash anything!!!
"CPU Tuner" did it. CPU speed stepping (266-800MHZ) and other options work now with JJ1 phone part. Internet connections (Wifi,3G) are disconnected during standby.
Battery temperature decreased from 59° to 24° celsius. Without data sync battery went from 80% to 79% during standby in ~ 2hrs . That's similar to WinMo.
CPU speed stepping should be managed by the kernel. But unfortunately it's not correctly implemented. Maybe it will be fixed in the next releases. In the meanwhile use an app to activate speed stepping (setcpu, cpu master or cpu tuner (my favorite and it's free)).

Another hint. Kill market app in the background. It consumes more ressources than whats up and facebook together. Close market app immediately after usage. This will extend your battery life significantly.



wow!!thanks a lot man!!
i use the cpu tuner that u recommended,
and my battery life get longer A LOT!!!!

from my last change of battery, it work for more than 15hour already,
i made a few call, listen to music about 2 hour, reading ebook, playing some game,
now still have 20percent of battery, which i cant made it before using CPU TUNER~!cheers~~!

ps*before use CPU Tuner, my battery life only a few hours if listen to music & play games..

  • 0

#23
dabiz

dabiz

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Devices:samsung omnia II

Small advice. You need root access for cpu control apps.

Here is a script to get your devices rooted. http://www.modaco.co...h...st&id=70136
Otherwise the apps are useless.


mmm how do we install this .sh? I try to run it from android but didn't work...

I though that the beta was already rooted

  • 0

#24
r14n

r14n

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:i8000
Hi, i'm using the old one i8000DXIJ1 on froyo 2.2.2
since unpluged 10h15m8s ago, it's remaining 47% battery

thanks

  • 0

#25
robbert4u

robbert4u

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
I don't have the .apk file ... but that is not the best solution for your android

take the "Fix By mihai_mihai" here http://forum.xda-dev...amp;postcount=2
Put the files at root in "My Storage". I did it in WinMo and then booted to Android. Very simple. Registration and access to Market worked immediately.

Then try following tools to optimize RAM and battery life:
- CPU Tuner
- Advanced Task Kill (autokill active when suspending) - available RAM 50-60 MB
- DataSwitch app with a shortcut on the homescreen ((de)activates mobile data access manually)
- I replaced ADW with launcher pro in 3D drawer style(don't know why but its a lot faster than 2D)

Deactivating mobile data access before standby extends battery life and reduces temperature to 21 (with data access ~27) degrees celsius. This should be done by Android itself....
untill its fixed you can try my workaround. Lower temperature extends your battery life cycle and makes your phone longer available.

So you will have more fun with your phone using Markets.

I reached now 40 hours and 23% left. According to my experience the last % will drop faster maybe 3-4hrs. but that's ok. Close to WinMo with Sense UI.
Launcher Pro UI is really comfortable and fast while "whats up" and facebook are running in the background. There are a lot of beautiful themes for download.
NO crashes so far!

Android is prepared for daily usage! Hope that the mentioned issues will be solved in the next releases. No further issues for me so far.

Next i will be testing 3d capabilities and adobe flash support but that's a different story.

Have fun with testing!

  • 0

#26
Leeds

Leeds

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Curitiba, Brazil
  • Devices:Omnia II     Galaxy S II

Hi, i'm using the old one i8000DXIJ1 on froyo 2.2.2
since unpluged 10h15m8s ago, it's remaining 47% battery

thanks

Nice battery life on that one!
Thank you for sharing, I added your PHONE part to the list :D


I don't have the .apk file ... but that is not the best solution for your android

take the "Fix By mihai_mihai" here http://forum.xda-dev...amp;postcount=2
Put the files at root in "My Storage". I did it in WinMo and then booted to Android. Very simple. Registration and access to Market worked immediately.

Then try following tools to optimize RAM and battery life:
- CPU Tuner
- Advanced Task Kill (autokill active when suspending) - available RAM 50-60 MB
- DataSwitch app with a shortcut on the homescreen ((de)activates mobile data access manually)
- I replaced ADW with launcher pro in 3D drawer style(don't know why but its a lot faster than 2D)

Deactivating mobile data access before standby extends battery life and reduces temperature to 21 (with data access ~27) degrees celsius. This should be done by Android itself....
untill its fixed you can try my workaround. Lower temperature extends your battery life cycle and makes your phone longer available.

So you will have more fun with your phone using Markets.

I reached now 40 hours and 23% left. According to my experience the last % will drop faster maybe 3-4hrs. but that's ok. Close to WinMo with Sense UI.
Launcher Pro UI is really comfortable and fast while "whats up" and facebook are running in the background. There are a lot of beautiful themes for download.
NO crashes so far!

Android is prepared for daily usage! Hope that the mentioned issues will be solved in the next releases. No further issues for me so far.

Next i will be testing 3d capabilities and adobe flash support but that's a different story.

Have fun with testing!

Thanks robbert but unfortunatelly that isn't the case, I did applyied the fix by mihai_mihai when I first installed Froyo and since then I've been trying to fix this "Google Talk Authentication failed" error with no success..
I've tryied a lot of different fixes but none of them work, it just won't login, I can browse and even press the install button to download the apps but a few seconds later it tells me the download was unsuccessful.. :D so I can't download anything from market..
Here is a topic I've made explaining my problem incase anyone can help:
http://www.modaco.co...ication-failed/

But I'll try those tweaks and see if I get a better battery life
Thanks a lot

  • 0

#27
Extremegmx

Extremegmx

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Location:Slovenija
  • Devices:Samsung I8000
My experiences last four days with (I8000XXIL2): With normal/overall usage I get around 36-40h(from this 12h airplane mode) ;)
Btw I'm using setCPU 266-800MHz,task panel for killing apps and minfreemanager.

  • 0

#28
Leeds

Leeds

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Curitiba, Brazil
  • Devices:Omnia II     Galaxy S II

My experiences last four days with (I8000XXIL2): With normal/overall usage I get around 36-40h(from this 12h airplane mode) ;)
Btw I'm using setCPU 266-800MHz,task panel for killing apps and minfreemanager.

Thanks for the update :P

  • 0

#29
dabiz

dabiz

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Devices:samsung omnia II
After this post I tried again the whole thing to see if the phone part really was the cause and if I could fix the f**** SOD.

After lot of time, research and test I can say:
-IL2 seems to help about this problem, but it is not the only factor

-After trying the normal install as well as some ISO install I tried the manual My storage install with ubuntu, and it makes a big difference:
The system is faster and more stable than before, and I think that reading from My storage and not from the memory card helps also in consumtion.

-setCPU didn't work for me as it report it can't not change the CPU freq (under sttings you can check this). With this I still get SODs. I tried No-frills CPU control and seems to work better.

Because of my lazyness I didn't want to do the complete instalation, but it worths the effort. Now the speed of the system is like the SO was build really for this mobile. I'm still waiting to see what happens with the SOD but it seems more stable now.

I don't know my exact comsumption now, but it is similar to WM if I let the 3g and the wifi off.

Edited by dabiz, 08 June 2011 - 06:40 PM.

  • 0

#30
carlospaco

carlospaco

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts

After this post I tried again the whole thing to see if the phone part really was the cause and if I could fix the f**** SOD.

After lot of time, research and test I can say:
-IL2 seems to help about this problem, but it is not the only factor

-After trying the normal install as well as some ISO install I tried the manual My storage install with ubuntu, and it makes a big difference:
The system is faster and more stable than before, and I think that reading from My storage and not from the memory card helps also in consumtion.

-setCPU didn't work for me as it report it can't not change the CPU freq (under sttings you can check this). With this I still get SODs. I tried No-frills CPU control and seems to work better.

Because of my lazyness I didn't want to do the complete instalation, but it worths the effort. Now the speed of the system is like the SO was build really for this mobile. I'm still waiting to see what happens with the SOD but it seems more stable now.

I don't know my exact comsumption now, but it is similar to WM if I let the 3g and the wifi off.

Hey i have install cpu tuner, but what is the best configuration for saving battery?
And launcher pro is much better and takes not that much memory ram.
Thanks and regards

  • 0

#31
dabiz

dabiz

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Devices:samsung omnia II

Hey i have install cpu tuner, but what is the best configuration for saving battery?
And launcher pro is much better and takes not that much memory ram.
Thanks and regards

As I said, CPU tuner didn't work for me, check if it is really setting the CPU speed (under settings of the software there is an autotest feature) so I tried the no frills software and worked. Put the minimun freq to 266MHz to avoid SOD.

right now:
24h uptime
83% battery
8h since unplugged


Launcher pro is free too? do I have to uninstall ADW or is possible to select which launcher to use? The truth is that ADW goes very fast on my config anyway.

  • 0

#32
carlospaco

carlospaco

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts

As I said, CPU tuner didn't work for me, check if it is really setting the CPU speed (under settings of the software there is an autotest feature) so I tried the no frills software and worked. Put the minimun freq to 266MHz to avoid SOD.

right now:
24h uptime
83% battery
8h since unplugged
Launcher pro is free too? do I have to uninstall ADW or is possible to select which launcher to use? The truth is that ADW goes very fast on my config anyway.

i have uninstall it, but you can leave it and choose between the two.
How do i know if my phone is rooted, i have install froyo on my storage with ubuntu, but can i see if it is rooted?

  • 0

#33
dabiz

dabiz

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Devices:samsung omnia II

i have uninstall it, but you can leave it and choose between the two.
How do i know if my phone is rooted, i have install froyo on my storage with ubuntu, but can i see if it is rooted?



I'll try when I have time then.

I think the phone is not rooted by default, but what I tell you is to check if the software CPU tuner works properly, this you can check directly on the software under the program options (clicking on the hexagone button on the main screen of the software will show you the option) and then search in te options. If you have something in red telling that the frequency can't not be change, then you will probably get a SOD in a random time...

  • 0

#34
faisad

faisad

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S2

I don't have the .apk file ... but that is not the best solution for your android

take the "Fix By mihai_mihai" here http://forum.xda-dev...amp;postcount=2
Put the files at root in "My Storage". I did it in WinMo and then booted to Android. Very simple. Registration and access to Market worked immediately.

Then try following tools to optimize RAM and battery life:
- CPU Tuner
- Advanced Task Kill (autokill active when suspending) - available RAM 50-60 MB
- DataSwitch app with a shortcut on the homescreen ((de)activates mobile data access manually)
- I replaced ADW with launcher pro in 3D drawer style(don't know why but its a lot faster than 2D)

Deactivating mobile data access before standby extends battery life and reduces temperature to 21 (with data access ~27) degrees celsius. This should be done by Android itself....
untill its fixed you can try my workaround. Lower temperature extends your battery life cycle and makes your phone longer available.

So you will have more fun with your phone using Markets.

I reached now 40 hours and 23% left. According to my experience the last % will drop faster maybe 3-4hrs. but that's ok. Close to WinMo with Sense UI.
Launcher Pro UI is really comfortable and fast while "whats up" and facebook are running in the background. There are a lot of beautiful themes for download.
NO crashes so far!

Android is prepared for daily usage! Hope that the mentioned issues will be solved in the next releases. No further issues for me so far.

Next i will be testing 3d capabilities and adobe flash support but that's a different story.

Have fun with testing!





where can i download the cpu tuner app i tried it to search in the andriod market i didnt find it

i am using omnia i8000 andriod OS

  • 0

#35
pato_master

pato_master

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Omnia 2

mmm how do we install this .sh? I try to run it from android but didn't work...

I though that the beta was already rooted


How did you execute the script file?

Thanks!

  • 0

#36
dabiz

dabiz

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Devices:samsung omnia II

where can i download the cpu tuner app i tried it to search in the andriod market i didnt find it

i am using omnia i8000 andriod OS


is in the market. search for CPU and should appear in the liste. By the way I recomend better the No-frills CPU control, which works with not rooted phones.

  • 0

#37
dabiz

dabiz

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Devices:samsung omnia II

How did you execute the script file?

Thanks!


Finally I didn't do it... But I think it should be done through the terminal emulator (just my though) in android. You can find it in the "Dev Tools" app included on the package at the end of the list.

  • 0

#38
pato_master

pato_master

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Omnia 2

Finally I didn't do it... But I think it should be done through the terminal emulator (just my though) in android. You can find it in the "Dev Tools" app included on the package at the end of the list.


Yep I have tried through the emulator but I got Access denied when attemp to put the following command: ln -s ../system/xbin/su su.
Thanks anyway.

Edited by pato_master, 09 June 2011 - 05:13 PM.

  • 0

#39
paranoiadk

paranoiadk

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Devices:Omnia II
I used to barely get through the day with JJ1. even if mostly in sleep mode...
Today, I unplugged the phone at 8AM (it was charging overnight) and it is now past 11.30PM, I had no calls, no texts, no nothing (rarely happens, but today it did) and I still have 82% left!!
I did cheat, though. ;)
Cheat #1: Phone part IL1
Cheat #2: The infamous "turn airplane mode on, wait for sleep, wait a bit, wake up, turn airplane mode off" hack.
Cheat #3: CPU Tuner (pretty much standard "screen off" setting)

And unbelievable. It works.

After 15h 7m 28s unplugged -> Cell standby 65%, Phone idle 35%
I do have a very high "Time without signal" though, 75%. But I live in an area where I have to leave the house to make a call. Still, no airplane mode, the phone was on and searching for networks.
Amazing! :P

  • 0

#40
carlospaco

carlospaco

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts

I used to barely get through the day with JJ1. even if mostly in sleep mode...
Today, I unplugged the phone at 8AM (it was charging overnight) and it is now past 11.30PM, I had no calls, no texts, no nothing (rarely happens, but today it did) and I still have 82% left!!
I did cheat, though. ;)
Cheat #1: Phone part IL1
Cheat #2: The infamous "turn airplane mode on, wait for sleep, wait a bit, wake up, turn airplane mode off" hack.
Cheat #3: CPU Tuner (pretty much standard "screen off" setting)

And unbelievable. It works.

After 15h 7m 28s unplugged -> Cell standby 65%, Phone idle 35%
I do have a very high "Time without signal" though, 75%. But I live in an area where I have to leave the house to make a call. Still, no airplane mode, the phone was on and searching for networks.
Amazing! :P

Hy, can you please write the configurations what you did for cpu tuner?
I have try it for two days and my battery is in 10 hours empty, and i didn't call that much and didn't do that much with the phone.
My phone is rooted, but by me cpu tuner isn't working .
thanks

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users