Jump to content


Photo

Streak LCD screen broken need to get rid of the Streak


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1
Tinashce

Tinashce

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I have just broken my screen on my streak and I have realized the cost of repairing it is too much.I need someone to point me to where I can go if I need to get rid of it for minimal price.

you can PM me

  • 0

#2
cdzo72

cdzo72

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts

I have just broken my screen on my streak and I have realized the cost of repairing it is too much.I need someone to point me to where I can go if I need to get rid of it for minimal price.

you can PM me


Too much???? You can get the glass, the tools and the LCD screen for less than $60... how can you say that is too much?

  • 0

#3
ClippinWings

ClippinWings

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak

Too much???? You can get the glass, the tools and the LCD screen for less than $60... how can you say that is too much?



Please do tell me where you can get it for that price.

Cheapest i have found it $100 and now I've been using a shattered Streak for 3 months because $100 is too much... and nothing out now, really makes it worth buying a new phone.

If I can get the parts for $60 than I may just hang on to my streak until the HTC Holiday or maybe the Opus comes out.

Edited by ClippinWings, 20 June 2011 - 04:17 PM.

  • 0

#4
Bazabaza

Bazabaza

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Location:Stoke on Trent
  • Devices:Advent Vega, Dell Streak
one here. cannot vouch for quality though

http://cgi.ebay.co.u...=item3cb8dbce18

  • 0
Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak

#5
marvin02

marvin02

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 70 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Streak, Inspire, Vizio Tablet
$46 including shipping.

I put that one in my watch list because I read a thread where someone had purchased from that vendor with good results.

  • 0

#6
ClippinWings

ClippinWings

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak

$46 including shipping.

I put that one in my watch list because I read a thread where someone had purchased from that vendor with good results.



WOW, I looked high and low a couple months back and $100 seemed to be the cheapest... looks like I may have to do this now.

Thanks.

  • 0

#7
nalpt

nalpt

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
  • Devices:dell streak

WOW, I looked high and low a couple months back and $100 seemed to be the cheapest... looks like I may have to do this now.

Thanks.


I've damaged mine as well (a small triangle on the right upper corner of dead/black pixels on the lcd). Please post feedback here on this, if you buy the screen, as I'd like to go this route myself.

Does anyone know if these screens have easy instructions? Is any soldering needed?

Thanks

  • 0

#8
Alperin.1

Alperin.1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak

I've damaged mine as well (a small triangle on the right upper corner of dead/black pixels on the lcd). Please post feedback here on this, if you buy the screen, as I'd like to go this route myself.

Does anyone know if these screens have easy instructions? Is any soldering needed?

Thanks

No soldering.

Do a search and you will find atleast on document on how to change the lcd. I wrote it. :)

  • 0

#9
Alperin.1

Alperin.1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak
Here is the link.

http://android.modac...cd-replacement/

There is anther thread about replcing the lcd too, you may want to have a look at it too, you will have to search for it

  • 0

#10
rebski

rebski

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak

Here is the link.

http://android.modac...cd-replacement/

There is anther thread about replcing the lcd too, you may want to have a look at it too, you will have to search for it

Here is one on xda

http://forum.xda-dev...ad.php?t=961608

Might as well try and keep these links in one place.

  • 0

#11
Truenash

Truenash

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak, HTC Hero
Talk to Dell on Twitter. I said I smashed my screen, gave them my service tag, they sent a courier to collect my streak and a new one was delivered 2 hours later. No charge, no questions asked. Genius.

Edited by Truenash, 23 June 2011 - 09:31 AM.

  • 0

#12
nalpt

nalpt

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
  • Devices:dell streak
Alperin.1 and rebski,

Thanks for the links. I'm going to read your guides and then decide if I have the hands to try this:)

Tks

  • 0

#13
nalpt

nalpt

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
  • Devices:dell streak
Hi,

I took a chance and did it, but something did not go well. I followed the guide and read the info, but I might be missing something: dell lights up, but does not start up. Seems like all power is on everywhere, keys are backlit, screen is lit but black, however, no info on screen, no vibrating when turning on etc. If it was a PC, it would be as if starting up without a harddrive, so nothing happens. Mounted old screen again, some situation, so it does not seem related to the new screen, which I remounted again.
Fully charged, the connections seem all fine, the inner SD is there; I'm lost here.
Any help would be appreciated, fellows.

  • 0

#14
aweAMsome

aweAMsome

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Devices:dell streak
  • Twitter:@none
Broken mine last week and ordered a new one from ebay - uk supplier. Took 5 days to come and 1hour later, the new screen worked perfect. Very easy, just follow that Awesome Vietnamese dude from Youtube video and also download PDF file for extra info (be gentle with the motherboard, all ribbon connectors are easy to removed and reconnected and take your times). Should you need help PM. FYi, the complete unit (screen, digitizer and LCD) all-in-one cost £29.99 + free P&P, you can get it cheaper from HK suppliers but i rather not risk it.

Edited by aweAMsome, 24 July 2011 - 06:04 PM.

  • 0

#15
aweAMsome

aweAMsome

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Devices:dell streak
  • Twitter:@none

Hi,

I took a chance and did it, but something did not go well. I followed the guide and read the info, but I might be missing something: dell lights up, but does not start up. Seems like all power is on everywhere, keys are backlit, screen is lit but black, however, no info on screen, no vibrating when turning on etc. If it was a PC, it would be as if starting up without a harddrive, so nothing happens. Mounted old screen again, some situation, so it does not seem related to the new screen, which I remounted again.
Fully charged, the connections seem all fine, the inner SD is there; I'm lost here.
Any help would be appreciated, fellows.


Sorry to hear that mate, you may have done this already but I would disassemble it again and ensure all the connectors are clean and free of dust. when re-assemble it back together, ensure that all ribbons are properly mating with the M/B connectors (also before re-assemble the unit back together, remove the internal SD card and test it on your PC to ensure that the data on it or SD card is not corrupted or damaged). On completion, should the problem still exist then I can only think the motherboard is damaged some way. Also try out streak flash QDL tool to ensure it's not software related (may not be but at least we tried). Good Luck Mate.

  • 0

#16
nalpt

nalpt

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
  • Devices:dell streak
Thanks for the repplyes. I removed the inner sd and put in on the pc: the pc said it need to format it. Should it do that? It does not do it with the other SD card.
I suspect I might have cause some damage to the mb.
The whole process, despite my bad luck, is easy enough. The hardest part is taking the glass/screen out of the plastic back, the PDF is clear and easy to follow. The only problem is tha you really have to be gentle with the whole kit and the connections.Also, it really does hepl save time and searching under the desk if you tape the buttons (volume, camera, power).:)

  • 0

#17
marvin02

marvin02

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 70 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Streak, Inspire, Vizio Tablet

Thanks for the repplyes. I removed the inner sd and put in on the pc: the pc said it need to format it. Should it do that? It does not do it with the other SD card.
I suspect I might have cause some damage to the mb.
The whole process, despite my bad luck, is easy enough. The hardest part is taking the glass/screen out of the plastic back, the PDF is clear and easy to follow. The only problem is tha you really have to be gentle with the whole kit and the connections.Also, it really does hepl save time and searching under the desk if you tape the buttons (volume, camera, power).:)

Those links, especially the first, discuss the internal SD Card. Formatting it on your PC won't put it in the proper format for the Streak to use. From what I read a factory reset will also reformat the card unless it is bad.

  • 0

#18
nalpt

nalpt

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
  • Devices:dell streak
Ok, I used QDL, it gave me a green result, so I assume software wise all is ok. I also tried a SDHC C4, 4g, I have from a camera, same results, i.e. no screen imagery, but the screen turns on. And it seems that QDL tool is reaching the sdcard, so the output from the sdcard does not not reach the screen or anywhere else (it dos not react, apparently, to touch-button presses, nor does it issue any sound). Even with the battery cover off, neither the warning that the cover is off or dell logo show up, but the screen is on.

My guess is (unfortunately) a hardware issue - mb or somewhere else (connections at the touch button screen or lcd casing), as the problem persists with the old and the new screen. However, I'm going to try disassembling and reassembling it one more time. The connectors are tiny, but as far as I an see with magnifying glass, they are dust free.

  • 0

#19
aweAMsome

aweAMsome

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Devices:dell streak
  • Twitter:@none

Ok, I used QDL, it gave me a green result, so I assume software wise all is ok. I also tried a SDHC C4, 4g, I have from a camera, same results, i.e. no screen imagery, but the screen turns on. And it seems that QDL tool is reaching the sdcard, so the output from the sdcard does not not reach the screen or anywhere else (it dos not react, apparently, to touch-button presses, nor does it issue any sound). Even with the battery cover off, neither the warning that the cover is off or dell logo show up, but the screen is on.

My guess is (unfortunately) a hardware issue - mb or somewhere else (connections at the touch button screen or lcd casing), as the problem persists with the old and the new screen. However, I'm going to try disassembling and reassembling it one more time. The connectors are tiny, but as far as I an see with magnifying glass, they are dust free.



NO RETREAT NO SURRENDER, I like it!

Should there be no joy then try here for parts http://www.dellstrea....uk/spares.html

Second though, don't even go there, way toooooo expensive (LCD for £75... they're having a giraffe). Go ebay is your best bet.

Edited by aweAMsome, 25 July 2011 - 11:12 PM.

  • 0

#20
nalpt

nalpt

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
  • Devices:dell streak
Thanks to all for the help and suggestions. Couldn´t repair yet. I think it was mb damage, or probably broke the cable that connects from the mb to the back case. Bought a second streak, kept the fisrt for parts. When I get some time, I'll try to fix the first again, mixing and matching parts with the new, again, fiddling more freely, since I no longer have to worry about breaking it:) lol.

All and all, this proccess has made me more, not less confident, about fiddling with the hardware and playing with the roms. I've tried 4 in the first 2 days of the new streak (stock, upgraded stock 2.2.2, streakdroid 1.9.1 and have been on simplestreak 1.2 for a few days.) Posted elesewhere here asking if anyone knows best rom for gps usage, thats a deciding factor for me.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users