Jump to content


Photo

[ROM] Gingerounay 3.0.1 (05/11/2011)

* * * * * 9 votes

  • Please log in to reply
663 replies to this topic

#21
Slurpy2k11

Slurpy2k11

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Devices:Acer S120

vache I wanted to say that the rom is like a dream:) everything works great ... to the 'only thing is that the search and menu buttons back home do not vibrate ... how can I fix this? because you're a legend:)


Can someone PLEASE explain to me in detail step 2. I've spent 2 hrs looking around and am more confused. Does my phone have to be rooted to flash this ROM? Can someone give me clear instructions on how to root? Nothing Ive tried has worked. Recovery MT works, and just resets the phone.

  • 0

#22
Mercutius

Mercutius

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:acer liquid metal
Hi vache ! I installed your rom and so far, love it ! It runs smoothly, and I just looove that you kept the notifications bar from Acer UI.

I had one problem though : after trying to apply ad2sd, the phone went into bootlooping. I had to wipe all user data to get it to work.

  • 0

#23
redshift13

redshift13

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal

Can anyone provide simple instructions for step 2? I'm already on the correct ROM (Gingerbread Final)


download the file Recovery2.zip...
1) extract it...
2) connect you phone to PC...
3) enable USB debugging under settings->applications->development
4) now run the .cmd script on PC with phone conected..
5) follow instructions and done...

pls dont do this if you are unsure/dont know what you are doing...u might brick your phone...

cheers...

  • 0

#24
redshift13

redshift13

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal

vache I wanted to say that the rom is like a dream:) everything works great ... to the 'only thing is that the search and menu buttons back home do not vibrate ... how can I fix this? because you're a legend:)


settings->sound->enable Haptic feedback

  • 0

#25
vache

vache

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,038 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer CloudMobile
  • Twitter:@vachounet

Hi vache ! I installed your rom and so far, love it ! It runs smoothly, and I just looove that you kept the notifications bar from Acer UI.

I had one problem though : after trying to apply ad2sd, the phone went into bootlooping. I had to wipe all user data to get it to work.


Did you restore some apps before activating a2sd ?

  • 0

#26
CedricGatay

CedricGatay

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tours, France
  • Interests:Software development
  • Devices:Nexus 4 / Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@Cedric_Gatay
Seems not to like a second partition on sdcard (512M Fat32 + 7Gig FAT32) leads to bootlooping

  • 0
Take the time to try out my apps !
Come visit my Blog, need developers, ask for code-troopers !

#27
Slurpy2k11

Slurpy2k11

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Devices:Acer S120

download the file Recovery2.zip...
1) extract it...
2) connect you phone to PC...
3) enable USB debugging under settings->applications->development
4) now run the .cmd script on PC with phone conected..
5) follow instructions and done...

pls dont do this if you are unsure/dont know what you are doing...u might brick your phone...

cheers...


I did all this. At the end it says press enter to reset the phone.. it resets, back to normal.. and then what? How do I flash the ROM? At what point can I access the recovery menu? I already copied it as a zip to the SD.

Edited by Slurpy2k11, 23 June 2011 - 06:48 AM.

  • 0

#28
Mercutius

Mercutius

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:acer liquid metal
@ vache

Yep, indeed.

In fact, I first restored with Titanium half of my apps then applied ad2sd. It worked flawlessly.
Then, I restored the other half. I applied ad2sd again, as I did with Metalounay, and that's when it failed.

I might add I got a 16Gb sdcard, with a 2gb ext2 partition.

Edited by Mercutius, 23 June 2011 - 06:52 AM.

  • 0

#29
CedricGatay

CedricGatay

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tours, France
  • Interests:Software development
  • Devices:Nexus 4 / Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@Cedric_Gatay
Reformatted app2sd partition and all went smoothly

  • 0
Take the time to try out my apps !
Come visit my Blog, need developers, ask for code-troopers !

#30
Slurpy2k11

Slurpy2k11

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Devices:Acer S120

Reformatted app2sd partition and all went smoothly


After I install the recovery, do I use the caer tool to flash Gingerounay???

  • 0

#31
vache

vache

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,038 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer CloudMobile
  • Twitter:@vachounet

@ vache

Yep, indeed.

In fact, I first restored with Titanium half of my apps then applied ad2sd. It worked flawlessly.
Then, I restored the other half. I applied ad2sd again, as I did with Metalounay, and that's when it failed.

I might add I got a 16Gb sdcard, with a 2gb ext2 partition.


You don't have to apply a2sd again, once activated it's enought. Also it's better to activate it before restoring apps/data.

Edited by vache, 23 June 2011 - 06:58 AM.

  • 0

#32
Mercutius

Mercutius

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:acer liquid metal
Ho, sorry, didn't know that. Thanx !

Edited by Mercutius, 23 June 2011 - 06:59 AM.

  • 0

#33
Slurpy2k11

Slurpy2k11

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Devices:Acer S120

Ho, sorry, didn't know that. Thanx !


Vache, can you tell me step by step how to flash after the recovery is successfully installed? It says sending and writing recovery OK.. then what?

Edited by Slurpy2k11, 23 June 2011 - 07:11 AM.

  • 0

#34
davidevinavil

davidevinavil

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,005 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Crevoladossola (VB)
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal
@Vache

[codebox] Noop scheduler (instead of CFS)[/codebox]

What is this?
And how did you managed it without kernel source?

Edited by davidevinavil, 23 June 2011 - 07:17 AM.

  • 0
If you like my work, offer me a beer

#35
astuermer

astuermer

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 293 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal S120
  • Twitter:@AndreasBloggt

You are freeing space in System ROM partition - if you have donate version of Titanium, you can integrate your apps info the rom space :)


no, i meant freeing up some memory by unintalling - for example - live wallpapers, office, etc from the system partition.
on a stock rom a do a full wipe and instead of 113 mb there are around 135 mb free then.
but doing a full wipe with gingerounay also wipes gingerounay...

right?!

any further plans regarding the full wipe issue in recovery with battstats and dalvik?

Edited by astuermer, 23 June 2011 - 07:17 AM.

  • 0
--
Acer Liquid MT | Android 2.3.6 (Stock Build 4.000.13 + Root)
Samsung Galaxy Tab | CyanogenMod9 (HumberOSv4 + Root)
Viewsonic Viewpad 7 | Android 2.2.2 (Stock Build 4027.3.620 + Root)

More on Tablets and Tech @ AndreasBloggt

#36
vache

vache

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,038 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer CloudMobile
  • Twitter:@vachounet

@Vache

Noop scheduler (instead of CFS)

What is this?
And how did you managed it without kernel source?



http://en.wikipedia..../Noop_scheduler
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CFQ

They are both I/O scheduler and avalaible in Acer kenel.

  • 0

#37
paugustin

paugustin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer Liquid E2
  • Twitter:@acerclubfr
You removed Gingerbreak screen-off animation, is it possible to get it back ?

So far so good everything is working, Ad2sd is working, WiFi, market, apps,... Excellent performance, no FC yet...

Edited by paugustin, 23 June 2011 - 07:25 AM.

  • 0

#38
vache

vache

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,038 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer CloudMobile
  • Twitter:@vachounet

no, i meant freeing up some memory by unintalling - for example - live wallpapers, office, etc from the system partition.
on a stock rom a do a full wipe and instead of 113 mb there are around 135 mb free then.
but doing a full wipe with gingerounay also wipes gingerounay...

right?!

any further plans regarding the full wipe issue in recovery with battstats and dalvik?


Wrong, doing a full wipe is ok, but wiping dalvik-cache only will also do a full wipe. I'll look at this issue.

Removing system app will not give you more memory if you not remove corresponding data too.

  • 0

#39
Slurpy2k11

Slurpy2k11

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Devices:Acer S120
I like how absolutely everyone is ignoring my question. Thanks guys. After installig recovery, clicking on adb or fastboot does absolutely nothing.

  • 0

#40
vache

vache

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,038 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer CloudMobile
  • Twitter:@vachounet

You removed Gingerbreak screen-off animation, is it possible to get it back ?


Set "Animations" to all or some of them in Settings.
Animations are disable by default and also disable screen-off animation.

  • 0




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users