Jump to content


Photo

Repartition NAND for optimal CM7 setup [2011-08-15]

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#41
Gaz14

Gaz14

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Devices:ZTE V9, Huawei U8300

i dont know what i am doing wrong but it just keeps booting into recovery


Try booting with the volume + button

  • 0

#42
Pushpak

Pushpak

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade, Huawei U8150
Update done successfully, but lost the IMEI. Followed the exact process given here by Decado. But all i get is fail in restore NV. I reflashed again and this time the process did not went through the back NV and Restore NV steps at all.

Will do some more experiment as I have not seen this in any of the updates I did (for other also) :(

  • 0

#43
blackjack13

blackjack13

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:zte v9


Try booting with the volume + button


me also

  • 0

#44
Fgroia

Fgroia

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ideos X3

Hi

OK, two part answer here and it just comes from my own experiences.

Firstly, A Possible prevention

I've now done 7 or 8 of these and only on 2 of them was the IMEI number ever changed. I *think* the reason is as follows

Most people just use the patched Sales tool to flash their tab. It's quite true that you can just click on the .exe file and ignore a few error messages that appear for some and it will flash the ROM for you. It also changes the IMEI or at least it does for me. I "think?" it is just the patched salestool .exe that KK has included in the link above.

I found that if instead I started off installing the tool from the unpatched tool in the first link here by Sebastian404 (click here for link) which does a full install process and THEN copy the patched .exe to the install folder and made a link to the patched .exe that the tool FIRST backs up your Channel1.nvm file which contains the IMEI number BEFORE FLAHING the rom and then restores it afterwards.

Secondly, A cure

If it is too late and you have you have already changed your IMEI number then if you've installed the "sales tool" as outlined above and copied the patched exe accross then you can choose "Backup NV" and run the tool. A file called "Channel1.nvm" will be created in the folder where the sales tool installed to in the \program files directory.

Take this file (it will be about 70kb in size) and with any free hex editor edit the IMEI which can be found at offset 0x1205 (it will begin most likely with 3a) to your correct one and then save it.

So for example, if your real IMEI number from the case was

345678901234567

then you will find the characters at 0x1205 starting with 3a and replace as follows

3a 54 76 98 10 32 54 76

Yes, it's back to front which is why the 3 at the front (03) becomes 3a

Once edited, save the file and place the edited file back into the sales tool's install folder and run "Restore NV" and your IMEI number will be restored.

Hope this helps

As KK and all the crew say, perfom this proceedure at your own risk yada yada. Having said that, it works for me.

Hope this helps

Dec (aka vk4ari from whirlpool forums)


I am having sometrouble with this, can you help me or can i send you the file and the imei number?

Tanhks

  • 0

#45
stop75

stop75

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Layout: /system 136Mb /data 300Mb /cache 5Mb
Installs CM7 2011-08-15 + google apps 20110613 from http://goo-inside.me/gapps/

NOTE: Just like the leaked 2.2 update (or any official 2.2 update) this will convert the device to Gen2 and there is no way back to Gen1 and Android 2.1

Download: http://www.mediafire...hi7rhddjb2j33iv
Instructions

  • Turn the device off and then turn it on with Volume-down pressed.
  • If you have a stock recovery you will see the text FTM on the screen. If not it will get "stuck" on the splash-logo. Both alternatives are OK.
  • Connect the device to the computer with an USB cable
  • Find out (with the Device Manager) on which COM port the DFU interface appears (ZTE Handset Diagnostic Interface (DFU))
  • Start Sales_MultiDL_MSM7227_patched.exe
  • Choose Option->Port Config and configure the COM on Line 1 -- DIAG to be the one that the DFU uses. Click OK when finished.
  • Choose "Backup NV" and click "Start All". Now a file called Channel1.nvm will be created. Make a copy of it for safekeeping! It can be useful if the IMEI becomes corrupt. (If you allready have a copy of it then you can skip this step)
  • Switch to "Download" and click on "SW Directory". Choose the "files" folder.
  • Click "Start All" and pour a cup of coffee.
  • After 3-4 minutes it should have finished flashing. Disconnect the USB cable and remove the battery.
  • Put the battery back and power up the device.
  • Enjoy your coffee while it boots.
NOTE! This install will also install Clockwork recovery 4.0.1.4.

EVERYTHING IS DONE AT YOUR OWN RISK (as usual)!


Hi i do everthing you say here but i am stuck in ftm mode i cant go in recovery mode with volume down i power button and no start up (no android start up) :S

  • 0

#46
Reversedhex

Reversedhex

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Xperia X1
is it possible to only change partition table and then restore backup through recovery?
like this;
create backup from the cm rom
restart in bootloader mode
fastboot flash boot boot.img, taken from the files folder
reboot in recovery and restore backup

Edited by Reversedhex, 30 December 2011 - 08:57 PM.

  • 0

#47
wsl2011

wsl2011

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Devices:ZTE V9

Layout: /system 136Mb /data 300Mb /cache 5Mb
Installs CM7 2011-08-15 + google apps 20110613 from http://goo-inside.me/gapps/

NOTE: Just like the leaked 2.2 update (or any official 2.2 update) this will convert the device to Gen2 and there is no way back to Gen1 and Android 2.1

Download: http://www.mediafire...hi7rhddjb2j33iv
Instructions

  • Turn the device off and then turn it on with Volume-down pressed.
  • If you have a stock recovery you will see the text FTM on the screen. If not it will get "stuck" on the splash-logo. Both alternatives are OK.
  • Connect the device to the computer with an USB cable
  • Find out (with the Device Manager) on which COM port the DFU interface appears (ZTE Handset Diagnostic Interface (DFU))
  • Start Sales_MultiDL_MSM7227_patched.exe
  • Choose Option->Port Config and configure the COM on Line 1 -- DIAG to be the one that the DFU uses. Click OK when finished.
  • Choose "Backup NV" and click "Start All". Now a file called Channel1.nvm will be created. Make a copy of it for safekeeping! It can be useful if the IMEI becomes corrupt. (If you allready have a copy of it then you can skip this step)
  • Switch to "Download" and click on "SW Directory". Choose the "files" folder.
  • Click "Start All" and pour a cup of coffee.
  • After 3-4 minutes it should have finished flashing. Disconnect the USB cable and remove the battery.
  • Put the battery back and power up the device.
  • Enjoy your coffee while it boots.
NOTE! This install will also install Clockwork recovery 4.0.1.4.

EVERYTHING IS DONE AT YOUR OWN RISK (as usual)!

Hi, Kallt Kaffe.

I have a ZTE V9 from 3AT. with 2.1 rooted. I want to flash update 2.2 on it. But i can't get into the FTM mode. I tried with Volume - with Power, only in Recovery Mode; with Volime + and Power i got device started again, And idea?
Thanks in advance

  • 0

#48
Cyndi13

Cyndi13

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:ZTE V9 2.2 (Filemate Light)
  • Twitter:@cyndi_pa
Okay I'm at my wits' end. I have a "Wintec Filemate Light" (aka ZTE V9 gen 2 with Froyo 2.2 stock). When trying to fix google Play, the damn thing froze. The only "stock" ROM I could find with working links was for the Optus MyTab. So I flashed it with that. It worked. For a day. Then, the screen stopped responding as well as the three bottom buttons (Power and Volume still worked). Was able to get back into the FTM screen and flashed again with CM7. Still no touch screen. Flashed again with instructions in this forum, so now it's partitioned AND has Clockwork Recovery on it, but it doesn't flipping matter because I still can't use the flipping touch screen! I tried rebooting with the Vol + pressed, no luck. Tried simple reboot, no luck. I'm thinking I just have NO LUCK.

100 karma points to anyone who can help me get this working. I need it for nursing school and really can't afford another!!! :angry2: :blush: :( :excl: :excl: :excl:

  • 0

#49
SmithyTrek

SmithyTrek

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade, ZTE Light
Hi, retard here :D
I've got the lastest version of CM7 for ZTE V9 (stable, 7.2) .
Can i use this method for repartition my Light ?
In first post you're recommend a cm from 18.05.11 :D

Sorry for my bad english :P

Edit : Okay, it works, i'm stupid :P

Edited by SmithyTrek, 04 August 2012 - 05:55 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users