Jump to content


Photo

Flash on Skate?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#21
Pelemane

Pelemane

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade & Huawei U8800

  • 0

#22
Matty-p

Matty-p

    Addict

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 682 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:orange sanfransico, g300

Sorry, no sale then.

+1

  • 1

#23
ThermalDroid

ThermalDroid

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Interests:Law and hacking, good mix;)
  • Devices:San Fran 2.3.4

Hi all

We had a query regarding whether the Skate would be able to play Flash. This isn't really one for a Blade forum... I'm sure there'll be a more suitable home for this one soon. But until that time, here's the ZTE view regarding Flash on Skate.

"There seems to be some confusion as people are under the impression that the Skate is an ARMv7 device so will naturally support Adobe’s Flash 10.3. This appears to be a misunderstanding. The Skate is not ARMv7, but rather high performance ARMv6. That said, while this can technically support Flash – commercial agreements need to be put in place between ZTE, the operators carrying the Skate and Adobe, which mean the Skate will not support Flash."

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.. :blink:


Hasn;t there been delays over which processor is to be used? Could you confirm?

  • 0
Current phones:

San Francisco Pretty much dead.
Atrix my beautiful atrix!
HTC Desire don't like it, it's sitting in a draw.

#24
ThermalDroid

ThermalDroid

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Interests:Law and hacking, good mix;)
  • Devices:San Fran 2.3.4

800 MHz: http://www.netonnet....te/158103.5538/
1 GHz: http://www.netonnet....te/158107.5538/


Notice how the Orange site gives no details as to which version could be coming :blink: Fingers crossed! :huh:

  • 0
Current phones:

San Francisco Pretty much dead.
Atrix my beautiful atrix!
HTC Desire don't like it, it's sitting in a draw.

#25
WilliamB

WilliamB

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Notice how the Orange site gives no details as to which version could be coming :blink: Fingers crossed! :)


The Orange press release states theirs will have 800Mhz processor http://newsroom.oran...-across-the-uk/

The one on Hantec states 1Ghz MSM 7227-T. so it won't play flash either. With all the speculation surrounding the processor nobody seems to have noticed it only has 256MB RAM http://www.handtec.c...-free-unlocked- and they want £227.99 for pre-order :huh:

I personally think the Orange price will be around £120. Anymore than that and the Huawei U8800 / Ideos X5 would just be to tempting at £173.95. Smaller 3.8 inch screen but 1Ghz processor that can be overclocked to 1.5Ghz, 512MB RAM, Flash, 802.11n WI-FI and 720p video recording.

I've held off buying a second hand SGS for ages waiting for this phone. but I now think it is a bit of a disappointment. No flash, No deal!

Edited by WilliamB, 09 July 2011 - 05:19 PM.

  • 0

#26
chemicalbuz

chemicalbuz

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 305 posts

800 MHz: http://www.netonnet....te/158103.5538/
1 GHz: http://www.netonnet....te/158107.5538/

:blink: 2 versions! but quite expansive in sweden: 800mhz=250euros 1ghz=300euros ...zte promised that it will cost in france under 200euros... let's hope

  • 0

#27
ThermalDroid

ThermalDroid

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Interests:Law and hacking, good mix;)
  • Devices:San Fran 2.3.4
Hmm forgot about the orange spec sheet, and If its anything over £150 its pointless because I can get a much classier Samsung ACE for that much....

  • 0
Current phones:

San Francisco Pretty much dead.
Atrix my beautiful atrix!
HTC Desire don't like it, it's sitting in a draw.

#28
Atomix86

Atomix86

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 750 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:See sig

Hmm forgot about the orange spec sheet, and If its anything over £150 its pointless because I can get a much classier Samsung ACE for that much....

Precisely, glad to see somebody else on here with some sense. Even IF the Monte Carlo ends up with a 1ghz CPU, its still ancient 7227 architecture, and its coupled with the decaying Adreno 200. Think I might just give up on it tbh.

  • 0
Nasty budget phones, begone! Hello sexy brand new Galaxy S2!

#29
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,656 posts

The Orange press release states theirs will have 800Mhz processor http://newsroom.oran...-across-the-uk/

The one on Hantec states 1Ghz MSM 7227-T. so it won't play flash either. With all the speculation surrounding the processor nobody seems to have noticed it only has 256MB RAM http://www.handtec.c...-free-unlocked- and they want £227.99 for pre-order :blink:


They are listing incorrect specs. The Skate is definitely 512MB RAM.

  • 0

#30
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,656 posts

Precisely, glad to see somebody else on here with some sense. Even IF the Monte Carlo ends up with a 1ghz CPU, its still ancient 7227 architecture, and its coupled with the decaying Adreno 200. Think I might just give up on it tbh.


Aye, it is a little disappointing they didn't put a better CPU into this thing. But I believe there aren't any 1GHz 7227 CPUs so... if it IS 1GHz... what CPU is it :blink:

  • 0

#31
k0zmic

k0zmic

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,134 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:HTC Hero & HTC Sensation XE

if it IS 1GHz... what CPU is it :blink:


I want to know that as well.

I very much doubt it, but could it be this as it's the lowest end 1GHz Qualcomm processor I could find, but it's ARM v7 and it's a 7230.

Edited by k0zmic, 09 July 2011 - 07:31 PM.

  • 0

#32
ThermalDroid

ThermalDroid

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Interests:Law and hacking, good mix;)
  • Devices:San Fran 2.3.4

I want to know that as well.

I very much doubt it, but could it be this as it's the lowest end 1GHz Qualcomm processor I could find, but it's ARM v7 and it's a 7230.


+1

  • 0
Current phones:

San Francisco Pretty much dead.
Atrix my beautiful atrix!
HTC Desire don't like it, it's sitting in a draw.

#33
ThermalDroid

ThermalDroid

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Interests:Law and hacking, good mix;)
  • Devices:San Fran 2.3.4
@ZTE_SeanJacko Can we have any kind of confirmation on what models to expect?

  • 0
Current phones:

San Francisco Pretty much dead.
Atrix my beautiful atrix!
HTC Desire don't like it, it's sitting in a draw.

#34
k0zmic

k0zmic

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,134 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:HTC Hero & HTC Sensation XE
Just found this: http://www.modem3g.c...smartphone.html

Quick Overview


* 5.0 Mega Pixel camera with high clearity

* 4.3 inches TFT color touchscreen

* Memory capacity up to 32 GB

* Android OS, v2.3(Gingerbread)

* 800 MHz Scorpion processor


The processor linked above in my last post, the MSM 7230 is also a Scorpion,

Type: MSM7230
Manufacturer: Qualcomm
Year Released: 2010

Instruction Set
Supported Instruction Set(s): ARMv7
CPU Core: Qualcomm Scorpion


Edited by k0zmic, 09 July 2011 - 09:03 PM.

  • 0

#35
ThermalDroid

ThermalDroid

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Interests:Law and hacking, good mix;)
  • Devices:San Fran 2.3.4

Just found this: http://www.modem3g.c...smartphone.html
The processor linked above in my last post, the MSM 7230 is also a Scorpion,


I was thinking about getting an ACE but since this has much higher screen res and I take it it's definitly ARM7?

  • 0
Current phones:

San Francisco Pretty much dead.
Atrix my beautiful atrix!
HTC Desire don't like it, it's sitting in a draw.

#36
k0zmic

k0zmic

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,134 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:HTC Hero & HTC Sensation XE

I was thinking about getting an ACE but since this has much higher screen res and I take it it's definitly ARM7?


No, I wouldn't rely on just one source TBH. It might be wrong but it's the only thing I could find so I felt it might be worth a mention.

Personally, if I were in your position I'd wait if it's confirmed by ZTE or if some website gets a hands on with an ARM v7 Skate and actually confirms it.

I'm still confused though.

  • 0

#37
ThermalDroid

ThermalDroid

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Interests:Law and hacking, good mix;)
  • Devices:San Fran 2.3.4

No, I wouldn't rely on just one source TBH. It might be wrong but it's the only thing I could find so I felt it might be worth a mention.

Personally, if I were in your position I'd wait if it's confirmed by ZTE or if some website gets a hands on with an ARM v7 Skate and actually confirms it.

I'm still confused though.


I think there was an android police article stating that ZTE had switched "an unannounced phone" to a 1GHz processor with ARM7, and they had a pic of the skate, again can't remember if it was android police or not Posted Image

  • 0
Current phones:

San Francisco Pretty much dead.
Atrix my beautiful atrix!
HTC Desire don't like it, it's sitting in a draw.

#38
sej7278

sej7278

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,647 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

The Skate is not ARMv7, but rather high performance ARMv6. That said, while this can technically support Flash


how can it technically support flash when it doesn't have an arm7 instruction set? the speed is irrelevant, you could give us a 2ghz arm6 and it still wouldn't run flash (or firefox, or google talk video) as adobe et al don't build for arm6.

Edited by sej7278, 26 July 2011 - 05:00 PM.

  • 0

#39
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,656 posts

how can it technically support flash when it doesn't have an arm7 instruction set? the speed is irrelevant, you could give us a 2ghz arm6 and it still wouldn't run flash (or firefox, or google talk video) as adobe et al don't build for arm6.


Actually... Adobe do have an ARM6 build of Flash they only provide to manufacturers. The MSM7227-T is one of the chipsets that can run this version of flash correct. But I do not know if it'll be installed on the phone... not long to wait!

  • 0

#40
sej7278

sej7278

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,647 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

Actually... Adobe do have an ARM6 build of Flash they only provide to manufacturers. The MSM7227-T is one of the chipsets that can run this version of flash correct. But I do not know if it'll be installed on the phone... not long to wait!


interesting, but we've still got to hope its that specific chip and that zte does a deal (as its not on market) and that still leaves us out of luck with firefox/gtalk :(

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users