Jump to content


Photo

Froyo 2.2.2 stock rom

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez
thanks to this update here: http://android.modac...r-chinese-v880/

and hedgepigdaniels work here http://android.modac...howtopic=342403

I'm now running 2.2.2 on my blade with the china unicom amss.mbn fully working. actual rom name is UNI_CN_P729CUV1.0.0B14, froyo release 2.2.2.

still working through this, but it looks ideal for someone to make a froyo rom on a stock rom with a build date of 24th June 2011

here's the bad news, china unicom amss.mbn does not enable HSUPA, cant test other frequencies like 850 as not available in uk.

downgraded back to gen1 and kept imei, chinese amss.mbn also deactivates 256mb ram so no point using.

romdump of it is here http://www.multiupload.com/SM85UI9PWD

there is no android market in the rom, and the libs need changing to work with european blades, and the stock launcher is to MIUI for my tastes

Edited by hecatae, 29 June 2011 - 09:50 PM.

  • 0

#2
shmizan

shmizan

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 574 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
ok, so, I really wanna try the 850 MHz frequency.
currently running Cyanogen Green v5 with wbaw's GEN 2 TPT v7b.
what needs to be done to turn MY blade to v880 with network?
and how can I reverse everything in case I need to?

  • 0

Orange San Francisco, Upgraded to Gen 2 with TPT Helper (custom partition layout: 150-sys, 302-data, 4-cache)
CyanogenMod 10


#3
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez
grab this China Unicom B14 (28/06/2011 - image.bin update) from hedgepigdaniels thread here http://android.modac...mware-packages/ boot blade in FTM and flash, then test

  • 0

#4
wbaw

wbaw

    account closed

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,885 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
It's appsboot.mbn which limits the ram to 256mb. you could probably use one from a european gen2 update (but not from my tpt with the modified partition sizes).

  • 0

#5
ThermalDroid

ThermalDroid

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Interests:Law and hacking, good mix;)
  • Devices:San Fran 2.3.4

It's appsboot.mbn which limits the ram to 256mb. you could probably use one from a european gen2 update (but not from my tpt with the modified partition sizes).


Quick question wbaw what do you use to recompress a ROM? I always get errors with the default mac archive:S

Edited by ThermalDroid, 30 June 2011 - 08:15 PM.

  • 0
Current phones:

San Francisco Pretty much dead.
Atrix my beautiful atrix!
HTC Desire don't like it, it's sitting in a draw.

#6
shmizan

shmizan

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 574 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
hecatae should I revert to Gen 1 before applying this?
this essentially upgrades my phone to Gen 2 using the Windows Method = permanent Gen 2, right?
it means I can't revert to Gen 1 unless using the way described in the windows flashing method topic?

  • 0

Orange San Francisco, Upgraded to Gen 2 with TPT Helper (custom partition layout: 150-sys, 302-data, 4-cache)
CyanogenMod 10


#7
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez
thats correct, I would revert to gen1 first before trying this, you can revert to gen1 after the gen2 windows flash following hedgepigdaniels sticky at the top of this forum.

  • 0

#8
shmizan

shmizan

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 574 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
ok testing is done.
3G 850 MHz is NOT available using the Chinese amss.mbn
I guess that means 3G 850 MHz isn't available at all. not in the Chinese or any other firmware.
this is really strange since it DOES say it supports it in the phone specs, but we have tried every single amss.mbn out there (Chinese + all european) and none provide it.

what do you think?

  • 0

Orange San Francisco, Upgraded to Gen 2 with TPT Helper (custom partition layout: 150-sys, 302-data, 4-cache)
CyanogenMod 10


#9
KACE_231

KACE_231

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 305 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco (White)

ok testing is done.
3G 850 MHz is NOT available using the Chinese amss.mbn
I guess that means 3G 850 MHz isn't available at all. not in the Chinese or any other firmware.
this is really strange since it DOES say it supports it in the phone specs, but we have tried every single amss.mbn out there (Chinese + all european) and none provide it.

what do you think?


I think the supposedly enabled band is 2G(GSM) only, NOT 3G(UMTS) so can you test that as well?

Edited by KACE_231, 01 July 2011 - 12:59 PM.

  • 0
<a href="http://giffgaff.com/...ffiliate/gagira" target="_blank"><img src="http://giffgaff.com/...r/06_250x52.png" width="250" height="52" alt="Get a free Giffgaff Sim" /></a>

#10
shmizan

shmizan

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 574 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
why would you think that? in ZTE's website, the info on the v880 model says "UMTS 850(900), 2100" = 3G
I have no way to check 2G 850 MHz. but enabling that was never a problem. single NV item that can be changed in any firmware..

  • 0

Orange San Francisco, Upgraded to Gen 2 with TPT Helper (custom partition layout: 150-sys, 302-data, 4-cache)
CyanogenMod 10


#11
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez

why would you think that? in ZTE's website, the info on the v880 model says "UMTS 850(900), 2100" = 3G
I have no way to check 2G 850 MHz. but enabling that was never a problem. single NV item that can be changed in any firmware..


yep zte specifications state 850mhz 3g for the v880, and we have just fully flashed all software via flasher and it's not been enabled, at a loss of what to do now

  • 0

#12
shmizan

shmizan

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 574 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
we've covered the entire Software front.
I see no other option but a Hardware difference.

any thoughts?

also, hecatae, how did you get hsUpa a few months back?

  • 0

Orange San Francisco, Upgraded to Gen 2 with TPT Helper (custom partition layout: 150-sys, 302-data, 4-cache)
CyanogenMod 10


#13
k0zmic

k0zmic

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,134 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:HTC Hero & HTC Sensation XE

also, hecatae, how did you get hsUpa a few months back?


I think HSUPA was enabled as part of the Gen 2 Radio?

  • 0

#14
shmizan

shmizan

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 574 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
no. it wasn't enabled in none of the TPT versions by wbaw and not by the windows flashing method.

  • 0

Orange San Francisco, Upgraded to Gen 2 with TPT Helper (custom partition layout: 150-sys, 302-data, 4-cache)
CyanogenMod 10


#15
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez

we've covered the entire Software front.
I see no other option but a Hardware difference.

any thoughts?

also, hecatae, how did you get hsUpa a few months back?


combination of a bad network provider called o2 uk and a dodgy speed test application

  • 0

#16
hedgepigdaniel

hedgepigdaniel

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 850 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, ZTE Blade (OLED)

combination of a bad network provider called o2 uk and a dodgy speed test application


lol, now you tell me!

  • 0

#17
shmizan

shmizan

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 574 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
yeah haha we were counting on that, now our dreams are shattered :)
cpg, hedgepigdaniel and myself have nothing to live for now :rolleyes:

  • 0

Orange San Francisco, Upgraded to Gen 2 with TPT Helper (custom partition layout: 150-sys, 302-data, 4-cache)
CyanogenMod 10


#18
hedgepigdaniel

hedgepigdaniel

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 850 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, ZTE Blade (OLED)

yeah haha we were counting on that, now our dreams are shattered :)
cpg, hedgepigdaniel and myself have nothing to live for now :rolleyes:

I have no stone to call my own...

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users