Jump to content


Photo

ZTE T-U880 (Variant Of Blade)

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
135 replies to this topic

#1
solidchips

solidchips

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 249 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:China
  • Devices:Captivate / HTC HD2
I got a new blade, ZTE T-U880.

Curious to inspect what's different in it.

The first thing i noticed it's running Android 2.2.2 and it's blazing fast.

Quick-sysinfo
revealed the following details:
CPU : Marvell 88SV331x rev 0 (v5I) @ 806 Mhz
RAM: 483MB (512MB for sure)
System storage: 200MB
Camera 5MP

Settings-Status:
Model number: ZTE T-U880
Android ver: 2.2.2
Baseband Ver: TTD_CP_01.06.049_P4: TTD_TVRTD_MSA_1.08.042_P2
Kernel Ver: 2.6.32.9
Build Num: U880V1.0.0B03
Release time: 2011/06/16 08:00 PM
Hardware ver: MBV1.0



I tried the pigfish utility on this device:

ram_console: 0x000..
system_console: 0x000...

I guess it's neither GEN1 nor GEN2.

----------------------------------------------------
Latest development
----------------------------------------------------

1. Rooted
2. ClockWorkMod Recovery functional (nandroid is not working).
3. Market is Up.
4. App2SD


I'm posting this bcoz i thought it might be helpful for the developers on the forum.

Edited by solidchips, 15 July 2011 - 07:48 AM.

  • 3
Faisal
Nokia 5230 / Pulse / V880 GEN2 / Xperia Neo / Google Nexus S / Captivate / HTC HD2.
Current device(s): Captivate / HTC HD2

#2
hedgepigdaniel

hedgepigdaniel

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 850 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, ZTE Blade (OLED)

I got a new blade, ZTE T-U880.

Curious to inspect what's different in it.

The first thing i noticed it's running Android 2.2.2 and it's blazing fast.

Quick-sysinfo
revealed the following details:

CPU : Marvell 88SV331x rev 0 (v5I) @ 806 Mhz
RAM: 483MB (512MB for sure)
System storage: 200MB


I tried the pigfish utility on this device:

ram_console: 0x000..
system_console: 0x000...

I guess it's neither GEN1 nor GEN2.

I'm posting this bcoz i thought it might be helpful for the developers on the forum.


sounds to me like it may aswell be a completely different phone

  • 1

#3
KACE_231

KACE_231

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 305 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco (White)
I checked this out further, did you get it from the UK, and how much did it cost.


Some websites also show that it may have 720p video recording, it may be the next step up from the blade if it is roughly the same price. Also does the processor support Flash?

I think it also has WiFi b/g and n support

Edited by KACE_231, 13 July 2011 - 11:41 AM.

  • 0
<a href="http://giffgaff.com/...ffiliate/gagira" target="_blank"><img src="http://giffgaff.com/...r/06_250x52.png" width="250" height="52" alt="Get a free Giffgaff Sim" /></a>

#4
The Soup Thief

The Soup Thief

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,044 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin
  • Devices:Nexus 5 (N4 etc retired)
  • Twitter:@TheSoupThief
Welcome to GEN 3!
I think you're in China aren't you Solidchips?
Was it on sale to the public or a sample of some kind?
Googled it and found some pictures which looked very much like a standard Blade chasis, though my Chinese isn't so good so I can't be sure what they were describing
Looks very much like it is on sale - can any mandarin speakers have a crack at this?

  • 0

#5
hedgepigdaniel

hedgepigdaniel

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 850 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, ZTE Blade (OLED)
Well its not like Gen1 or Gen2 - the hardware is totally different.

  • 0

#6
Hans Gruber

Hans Gruber

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 302 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

Looks very much like it is on sale - can any mandarin speakers have a crack at this?


From that link it looks like it has a TV built in as well

  • 0

#7
solidchips

solidchips

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 249 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:China
  • Devices:Captivate / HTC HD2

I think you're in China aren't you Solidchips?


Yea, i'm in china and it's on sale with the tag ZTE Blade T-U880 (T-CMDA/GSM).

From hardware point of view, it's quite different from the standard blade (marvell cpu). Chassis is almost very similar.

It has a built in Mobile-TV application, i did'nt tried it yet.

Right now, my biggest concern is to run "Market" on it. I tried many versions of market, it just splashes and then comes back to launcher's main screen.

Any suggestion regarding this issue will be warmly welcome.

  • 0
Faisal
Nokia 5230 / Pulse / V880 GEN2 / Xperia Neo / Google Nexus S / Captivate / HTC HD2.
Current device(s): Captivate / HTC HD2

#8
solidchips

solidchips

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 249 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:China
  • Devices:Captivate / HTC HD2
just to let you guys know, i managed to root it and ADB is working (no fastboot).

I tried GEN1/GEN2 recoveries, but the screen went black when i tried to boot into recovery.

Then i found a recovery version on chinese site, which is running on the device, in that recovery nandroid is not functional.

  • 0
Faisal
Nokia 5230 / Pulse / V880 GEN2 / Xperia Neo / Google Nexus S / Captivate / HTC HD2.
Current device(s): Captivate / HTC HD2

#9
Lew247

Lew247

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 830 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK
  • Devices:Galaxy S3

ZTE Product Highlights

Blade U880, one of ZTE's flagship smartphones, is powered by the MarvellĀ® PXA920 and features a 3.5 inch WVGA capacitive touchscreen at a resolution of 800 x 480 pixels, delivering exquisite pictures with rich colors and multi-touch. Other features include Android 2.2 support, a TD-SCDMA +WLAN dual wireless Web connection, WLAN-AP wireless routing, CMMB (MBBMS) mobile phone TV, a 5 megapixel auto-focus camera, 720p high-definition video, GPS/AGPS navigation and a 3D graphics processing accelerator.


Time Division Synchronous Code Division Multiple Access (TD-SCDMA) or UTRA/UMTS-TDD 1.28 Mcps Low Chip Rate (LCR),[1][2] is an air interface[1] found in UMTS mobile telecommunications networks in China as an alternative to W-CDMA.

It wont work in Europe as it doesn't have GSM or the version of 3G that we use.

  • 0

#10
hedgepigdaniel

hedgepigdaniel

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 850 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, ZTE Blade (OLED)

Time Division Synchronous Code Division Multiple Access (TD-SCDMA) or UTRA/UMTS-TDD 1.28 Mcps Low Chip Rate (LCR),[1][2] is an air interface[1] found in UMTS mobile telecommunications networks in China as an alternative to W-CDMA.

It wont work in Europe as it doesn't have GSM or the version of 3G that we use.


From memory I think it has GSM, so it will work with 2g only everywhere else

  • 0

#11
solidchips

solidchips

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 249 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:China
  • Devices:Captivate / HTC HD2
Wow, at last, market is UP.


Here is the addon for installing market on ZTE T-U880 (flash using ClockWorkMod Recovery).

Attached File  addon_market_Zte_T-U880.zip   4.53MB   317 downloads

  • 0
Faisal
Nokia 5230 / Pulse / V880 GEN2 / Xperia Neo / Google Nexus S / Captivate / HTC HD2.
Current device(s): Captivate / HTC HD2

#12
iKrautDroid

iKrautDroid

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 686 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, HD2, Galaxy S
Ok, can we improve our gen1/gen2 phones with this?

Edited by iKrautDroid, 13 July 2011 - 06:52 PM.

  • 0

#13
hedgepigdaniel

hedgepigdaniel

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 850 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, ZTE Blade (OLED)

Ok, can we improve our gen1/gen2 phones with this?


no

  • 0

#14
solidchips

solidchips

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 249 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:China
  • Devices:Captivate / HTC HD2

no


Sure, you can improve it in some aspects.

It has few handful utilities which in my opinion are useful, (backup utility, new dialer, etc)

i will upload soon.

Also, keep in mind that it only differs from the previous versions of blade in CPU/Gfx.

Maybe, developers can make use of its Wifi/RIL libs which i think are would be similar.

Edited by solidchips, 14 July 2011 - 04:06 AM.

  • 0
Faisal
Nokia 5230 / Pulse / V880 GEN2 / Xperia Neo / Google Nexus S / Captivate / HTC HD2.
Current device(s): Captivate / HTC HD2

#15
iKrautDroid

iKrautDroid

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 686 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, HD2, Galaxy S
Devs just love this libs! :)

  • 0

#16
iKrautDroid

iKrautDroid

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 686 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, HD2, Galaxy S
Oh solidchips,how much did this superblade cost?

  • 0

#17
Androiders

Androiders

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
u880 are only sold in china,so discussing it is meaningless

  • 0

#18
solidchips

solidchips

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 249 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:China
  • Devices:Captivate / HTC HD2

Oh solidchips,how much did this superblade cost?


It's around USD-170.

  • 0
Faisal
Nokia 5230 / Pulse / V880 GEN2 / Xperia Neo / Google Nexus S / Captivate / HTC HD2.
Current device(s): Captivate / HTC HD2

#19
lordofangels

lordofangels

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northumbria
  • Devices:ZTE Blade & ZTE-U V880
  • Twitter:@lordofangels
[quote name='solidchips' timestamp='1310703986' post='1759906']
It's around USD-170edit I have a U-V880

Edited by lordofangels, 16 July 2011 - 07:33 AM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#20
solidchips

solidchips

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 249 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:China
  • Devices:Captivate / HTC HD2

which Clockwork version did you use?


Well i tried to install clockwork GEN1/GEN2, didn't worked.

I found one version of clockwork on a chinese forum, it's working.

The only thing missing in that version of clockwork recovery is "nandroid", you can't make backups/restore.

I'm attaching it.

Attached Files


Edited by solidchips, 15 July 2011 - 07:47 AM.

  • 0
Faisal
Nokia 5230 / Pulse / V880 GEN2 / Xperia Neo / Google Nexus S / Captivate / HTC HD2.
Current device(s): Captivate / HTC HD2




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users